DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Each of Figures 8A and 8B are objected to because each individual waveform discussed in the specification must be identified with a separate letter designation adjacent to the vertical axis. 37 C.F.R. 1.84(d).
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 2, line 2, perhaps the language “has the” should be changed to “has a.”
Regarding Claim 5, line 2, it appears that the term “is” should be changed to “that is.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 3 is rejected since it is not clear what is meant by the language “variation of a top portion” recited in the 3rd to the last line.
Regarding Claim 6, the acronyms “SUS301” and “SUS304” are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 7-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toshihiko et al. (JP 2012-64401 A, hereinafter “Toshihiko”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Toshihiko discloses a push switch (Abstract) comprising: a case (2; FIG. 2) having a recess with an open upper portion (3; FIG. 2), and
a fixed contact (13, 14; FIG. 2) inside the recess (FIG. 2), a dome shaped movable contact member (4), formed of a metal plate (¶ [0002] or the attached English machine translation) and accommodated inside the recess of the case (2; FIG. 1), and an operation member (21) configured to press the movable contact member (4), to cause an inversion operation of the movable contact member (4; FIG. 8), wherein the movable contact member (4) has a sidecut shape having both sides of a circular shape forming a pair of linear portions in a top view (FIGS. 2 and 6), and a sidecut ratio represented by (B/A) x 100 within a range of 40% to 70%, where A denotes a diameter of the circular shape (that of 43; FIG. 10, reproduced and annotated below), and B denotes a distance between the pair of linear portions (distance S, FIG. 10; Toshihiko teaches against a ratio utilizing diameter Φ, and not a diameter of 43).
Regarding Claim 2, Toshihiko discloses that the movable contact member (4) has the sidecut ratio that decreases as a height of the dome shape increases, so that the movable contact member (4) exerts a constant actuating force during the inversion operation.
Regarding Claim 7, Toshihiko discloses that the sidecut ratio is within a range of 60% to 70% (FIG. 10 above).
Regarding Claim 8, Toshihiko discloses that the recess of the case (2) has a gap at a position opposing each linear portion of the pair of linear portions of the movable contact member (a gap between an outermost surface of 27 that extends to an outermost surface of 28; FIG. 6(b)).
Regarding Claim 9, Toshihiko discloses a protective sheet (3) covering an upper surface of the case (2) and bonded to the upper surface of the case (2; inherent for device housing requirements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshihiko.
Toshihiko discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed ranges. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize such ranges to provide a reduced size and user-friendly tactile feedback since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 U.S.P.Q. 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Kaneko et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0335558 A1) discloses a push switch comprising a case and a dome portion with cutout portions.
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831