DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/903,489, filed on 10/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuechen (Yuechen Li et al, Soft and flexible PEDOT / PSS films for applications to soft actuators, 2014 Smart Mater. Struct., and 23 (7)(2014.06.17.)) in view of Park (KR 20220081447 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yuechen teaches a method for producing a biosignal measurement electrode, the method comprising: preparing a conductive polymer ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films) including a coil-type chain structure having a coil shape (Fig 1); producing an electrode source (Figure 9 that when a DC voltage is applied through the PEDOT/PSS/Xyl electrodes) including an expanded chain structure in which the coil-type chain structure is expanded and linearly arranged Figure 1; [Pg 3, Para 2] The PEDOT/PSS has a hierarchical structure (figure 1). The sequence of monomer units of PEDOT and PSS (primary structure) forms a poly ion complex between PEDOT cations and PSS anions through electrostatic interactions (secondary structure)…Therefore, the PEDOT/PSS colloidal gel particles can be shaped into various shapes (quaternary structure) such as thin coatings on various substrates [19–21], microfibers [22–24], and free-standing films, which can be applied to electrical and optical devices such as diodes [25], field-effect transistors [26, 27], soft actuators [28–30], and transparent electrodes for touch panels [31, 32] and flexible displays) by providing a sugar alcohol ([abstract] xylitol) and a water-soluble polymer to the conductive polymer ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films); forming a coating layer by providing the electrode source on a substrate ([Pg 2, Para 2] the PEDOT/PSS colloidal gel particles can be shaped into various shapes (quaternary structure) such as thin coatings on various substrates [19–21]).
Yuechen fails to teach and producing the biosignal measurement electrode by annealing the coating layer.
However, Park teaches and producing the biosignal measurement electrode by annealing the coating layer ([Pg 9, Para 1] The conductive and optical composition prepared in Preparation Example 4 was coated on a PET film substrate. After uniform coating to a thickness of 10 μm on a PET film using a doctor blade, the obtained thin film was dried in an oven at 60° C. for 10 minutes, and then dried at room temperature. After removing the thin film from the substrate, and fixing it on the wrist with medical tape). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include producing the biosignal measurement electrode by annealing the coating layer. Doing so allows for the electrode to be exposed from the coating for measurement of the biosignals.
Regarding claim 2, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sugar alcohol has a hydroxyl group (xylitol composition), and a hydrogen bond with a non-conductive region of the conductive polymer is formed through the hydroxyl group to expand the coil-type chain structure ([Pg 2, Para 2] However, thick films of the PEDOT/PSS are hard and brittle due to the hydrogen bonding between sulfonic acid groups of the PSS on the surface of the colloidal particles [34]. Recently, we have developed stretchable and highly conductive PEDOT/PSS films by adding sugar alcohols and subsequent heating [35]) ([Pg 7, Para 3] xylitol had two functions as (i) plasticizer to weaken hydrogen bonds between PSS of colloidal particles by replacing with that between xylitol and PSS).
Regarding claim 3, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the conductive polymer of the expanded coil-type chain structure has an amorphous structure ([Pg 4, Para 2] The PEDOT/PSS film shows a halo, indicative of amorphous without orientation of polymer chains, where numerous particles with diameters of several tens nm are densely and randomly packed to form the solid film), and the water-soluble polymer has a linear structure and is bonded with the conductive polymer having the expanded coil-type chain structure so as to linearly rearrange the coil-type chain structure according to the linear structure (Figure 1; [Pg 3, Para 2] The PEDOT/PSS has a hierarchical structure (figure 1). The sequence of monomer units of PEDOT and PSS (primary structure) forms a poly ion complex between PEDOT cations and PSS anions through electrostatic interactions (secondary structure)…Therefore, the PEDOT/PSS colloidal gel particles can be shaped into various shapes (quaternary structure) such as thin coatings on various substrates [19–21], microfibers [22–24], and free-standing films, which can be applied to electrical and optical devices such as diodes [25], field-effect transistors [26, 27], soft actuators [28–30], and transparent electrodes for touch panels [31, 32] and flexible displays).
Regarding claim 4, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein when the biosignal measurement electrode is attached to a skin, the water-soluble polymer is gelled ([Pg 2, Para 2] Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4 styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/PSS), which is commercially available in the form of aqueous dispersion as colloidal gel particles), the sugar alcohol forms a hydrogen bond with the conductive polymer and the water-soluble polymer ([Pg 3, Para 4] the interaction between PEDOT/PSS and xylitol through hydrogen bending at the molecular level and/or the freezing point depression of xylitol).
Yuechen fails to teach a swelling force to increase the swelling force of the water-soluble polymer and decrease a degree of gelation.
However, Park teaches a swelling force ([Pg 6, Para 7] The surface energy can be increased to increase the size of the pores. The size of the pores may vary according to pH) to increase the swelling force of the water-soluble polymer and decrease a degree of gelation ([Pg 6, Para 7] Referring to FIG. 10 , according to the present invention, in the case of a thin film formed by a composition containing gelatin, polyvinyl alcohol, a pH adjusting agent, and a conductive carbon material prepared according to the concentration of the pH adjusting agent, the GEL domain in the film is pore was observed to have a change in It controls the ionic repulsion of the amine and carboxyl groups on the gelatin surface above a certain concentration of the pH adjusting agent, so that the electrostatic attraction is relatively decreased in acid and the electrostatic attraction is relatively increased in basic, so that the length of the gelatin chain in solution becomes longer. The surface energy can be increased to increase the size of the pores) ([Pg 4, Para 3] The pH adjusting agent added to the composition of the present invention controls the ionic repulsion of the amine and carboxyl groups on the surface of the gelatin, so that the electrostatic attraction is relatively decreased in acidity and the electrostatic attraction is relatively increased in basicity, so that the length of the gelatin chain in solution The pore size can be controlled by controlling the surface energy. The porosity decreases as the pH of the composition decreases, and the porosity increases as the pH of the composition increases). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include a swelling force to increase the swelling force of the water-soluble polymer and decrease a degree of gelation. Doing so allows for the gel to effectively contact the skin without discomfort and with effective sensing ability.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuechen (Yuechen Li et al, Soft and flexible PEDOT / PSS films for applications to soft actuators, 2014 Smart Mater. Struct., and 23 (7)(2014.06.17.)) in view of Park (KR 20220081447 A), further in view of Masayuki (JP 7085070 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein in the preparing of the conductive polymer, the conductive polymer has a benzoid structure, and in the producing of the electrode source, the benzoid structure is converted into a quinoid structure.
However, Masayuki teaches wherein in the preparing of the conductive polymer, the conductive polymer has a benzoid structure, and in the producing of the electrode source, the benzoid structure is converted into a quinoid structure ([Pg 3, Para 8] The conductive polymer has a molecular structure including a quinoid structure and a benzoid structure… When a cross-linking agent is added to PEDOT and replaced with the cations contained in the cross-linking agent, PEDOT is benzoidized from the state of quinoid structure to a benzoid structure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein in the preparing of the conductive polymer, the conductive polymer has a benzoid structure, and in the producing of the electrode source, the benzoid structure is converted into a quinoid structure. Doing so allows for increased flexibility and stretchability to create an effective film.
Regarding claim 6, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the producing of the electrode source includes: producing a mixed solution including 10 wt% or greater to 20 wt% or less of a mixture of the sugar alcohol and the water-soluble polymer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The EDOT (0.5wt%) and PSS (1.5wt%) were mixed in pure water containing 0.84 wt% of Na2S2O8 (Junsei Chemical) as an oxidant); and providing 10 wt% or greater to 30 wt% or less of the mixed solution to a solution in which the conductive polymer is dispersed in an amount of 0.1 wt% or greater to 3 wt% or less, and stirring the mixed solution ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h).
Yuechen fails to fully teach wherein the producing of the electrode source includes: producing a mixed solution including 10 wt% or greater to 20 wt% or less of a mixture of the sugar alcohol and the water-soluble polymer and providing 10 wt% or greater to 30 wt% or less of the mixed solution to a solution in which the conductive polymer is dispersed in an amount of 0.1 wt% or greater to 3 wt% or less, and stirring the mixed solution.
However, Masayuki teaches wherein the producing of the electrode source includes: producing a mixed solution including 10 wt% or greater to 20 wt% or less of a mixture of the sugar alcohol and the water-soluble polymer ([Pg 6, Para 7] The content of the plasticizer is preferably 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass, more preferably 1.0 part by mass to 90 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the conductive composition. It is more preferably parts by mass to 70 parts by mass. If the content is within the above-mentioned preferable range, the cured product obtained by using the conductive composition can have excellent toughness and flexibility) ([Pg 6, Para 4] When a cross-linking agent is contained, the content of the cross-linking agent is preferably 1.5 parts by mass or less, more preferably 0.01 parts by mass to 1.5 parts by mass, and 0. 2 parts by mass to 1.2 parts by mass is more preferable, and 0.4 parts by mass to 1.0 part by mass is most preferable); and providing 10 wt% or greater to 30 wt% or less of the mixed solution to a solution in which the conductive polymer is dispersed in an amount of 0.1 wt% or greater to 3 wt% or less, and stirring the mixed solution ([Pg 10, Para 6] The contents of the conductive polymer, the binder resin and the plasticizer with respect to 100.00 parts by mass of the conductive composition were 11.24 parts by mass, 29.59 parts by mass and 59.17 parts by mass, respectivel) ([Pg 9, Para 5] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment may contain 0.01 parts by mass to 1.5 parts by mass of a cross-linking agent) ([Pg 9, Para 6] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment can contain 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass of a plasticizer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein the producing of the electrode source includes: producing a mixed solution including 10 wt% or greater to 20 wt% or less of a mixture of the sugar alcohol and the water-soluble polymer and providing 10 wt% or greater to 30 wt% or less of the mixed solution to a solution in which the conductive polymer is dispersed in an amount of 0.1 wt% or greater to 3 wt% or less, and stirring the mixed solution. Doing so allows for an effective composition of conductive polymer, water soluble polymer, and sugar alcohol for a bio electrode.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the producing of the electrode source includes: producing a mixed solution including 10 wt% or greater to 20 wt% or less of a mixture of the sugar alcohol and the water-soluble polymer and providing 10 wt% or greater to 30 wt% or less of the mixed solution to a solution in which the conductive polymer is dispersed in an amount of 0.1 wt% or greater to 3 wt% or less, and stirring the mixed solution, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Yuechen teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the sugar alcohol is provided in an amount of 50 wt% or greater to 70 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the mixture ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h) ([abstract] The electrical conductivity of the PEDOT/PSS/Xyl film containing 50wt% of xylitol significantly increased from 115 Scm−1 to 407 Scm−1 by heating at 140 °C in air for 1h).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the sugar alcohol is provided in an amount of 50 wt% or greater to 70 wt% or less based on 100 wt% of the mixture, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuechen (Yuechen Li et al, Soft and flexible PEDOT / PSS films for applications to soft actuators, 2014 Smart Mater. Struct., and 23 (7)(2014.06.17.)) in view of Shanxin (Shanxin et al, the Conductivities enhancement of poly (3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) / poly (styrene sulfonate) transparent electrodes with diol additives, polymer Bulletin, vol 70, pp237-247(2012.08.28.)).
Regarding claim 8, Yuechen teaches a biosignal measurement electrode comprising: a conductive polymer ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films); a sugar alcohol ([abstract] xylitol); and a water-soluble polymer ([abstract] (PSS) poly(4 styrenesulfonate)), wherein the biosignal measurement electrode includes an expanded chain structure in which the conductive polymer, the sugar alcohol, and the water-soluble polymer are bonded ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films), and the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil shape of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged ([abstract] poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/ PSS)) (benzoid-to-quinoid transformation).
Yuechen fails to fully teach the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil shape of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged.
However, Shanxin teaches the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil shape of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged ([Pg 6, Para 2] the transformation of the benzenoid structure into the quinoid structure would involve a red-shift of the Ca=Cb symmetric stretching line as observed for PEDOT:PSS after the EG treatment. This is caused by the molecular conformation change as that the benzenoid structure may be the favorite structure for a coil conformation, while the quinoid structure may be the favorite structure for a linear or expanded-coil structure [7]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil shape of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged. Doing so allows for increased flexibility and stretchability to create an effective film.
Regarding claim 9, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, but fails to teach wherein the expanded chain structure has a larger amount of non-localized electrons along a linear conjugated pi electromagnetic system in comparison with the coil-type chain structure.
However, Shanxin teaches wherein the expanded chain structure has a larger amount of non-localized electrons along a linear conjugated pi electromagnetic system in comparison with the coil-type chain structure ([Pg 7, Para 1] In the coil conformation, Ca–Ca0 band between the two PEDOT rings likes the r bond which has lower density of p-electrons. Moreover, in the linear or coil-expanded conformation, the two PEDOT rings are almost in the same plane so that the p-electrons are easy to delocalize, which can increase the electrons mobility). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein the expanded chain structure has a larger amount of non-localized electrons along a linear conjugated pi electromagnetic system in comparison with the coil-type chain structure. Doing so allows for increased flexibility and stretchability to create an effective conductive film.
Regarding claim 11, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, wherein, in a range of 1439 cm-1 or greater to 1423 cm-1 or less ([abstract] The electrical conductivity of the PEDOT/PSS/Xyl film containing 50wt% of xylitol significantly increased from 115 Scm−1 to 407 Scm−1 by heating at 140 °C in air for 1h), but fails to teach which is defined as a Cα = Cβ antisymmetric vibration peak, a Raman spectrum peak shifts to a wavenumber that is lower than a wavenumber of the conductive polymer.
However, Shanxin teaches wherein, in a range of 1439 cm-1 or greater to 1423 cm-1 or less, which is defined as a Cα = Cβ antisymmetric vibration peak, a Raman spectrum peak shifts to a wavenumber that is lower than a wavenumber of the conductive polymer ([Pg 6, Para 1] The major characteristic peaks of PEDOT:PSS were observed between 1,200 and 1,600 cm-1. For unmodified PEDOT:PSS film, three principal peaks at 1265, 1444, and 1506 cm-1 are attributed to Ca–Ca0 inter-ring stretching vibration, Ca=Cb symmetric stretching vibration and asymmetrical stretching vibration, respectively [17]. The band at 1,572 cm-1 is related to the doping-induced peak, which is split from the asymmetrical Ca=Cb stretching mode band and consistent to oxidized state of PEDOT:PSS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein, in a range of 1439 cm-1 or greater to 1423 cm-1 or less, which is defined as a Cα = Cβ antisymmetric vibration peak, a Raman spectrum peak shifts to a wavenumber that is lower than a wavenumber of the conductive polymer. Doing so allows for effective conductibility of the film for use in a bio sensing electrode.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein, in a range of 1439 cm-1 or greater to 1423 cm-1 or less, which is defined as a Cα = Cβ antisymmetric vibration peak, a Raman spectrum peak shifts to a wavenumber that is lower than a wavenumber of the conductive polymer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, wherein the water-soluble polymer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The EDOT (0.5wt%) and PSS (1.5wt%) were mixed in pure water containing 0.84 wt% of Na2S2O8 (Junsei Chemical) as an oxidant) and the sugar alcohol ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h) are included in a weight ratio of 4:6 (difference of about the 4:6 weight ratio). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, wherein the water-soluble polymer is included in a weight ratio of 4:6, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, wherein the conductive polymer includes poly3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene:polystyrene sulfonate ([abstract] poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/ PSS)), the water-soluble polymer includes at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene oxide, polyacryl amide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyacrylic acid, polystyrenesulfonic acid ([Pg 2, Para 2] Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4 styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/PSS), which is commercially available in the form of aqueous dispersion as colloidal gel particles, is one of the most successful conducting polymers during the last two decades) ([Pg 2, Para 2] sulfonic acid groups of the PSS on the surface), polysilicic acid, polyphosphoric acid, polyethylenesulfonic acid, polymaleic acid, polyamines, polyacrylamide, poly polyvinylpyrrolidone, and polyethylene glycol, and the sugar alcohol includes at least one of sorbitol, ethylene glycol, glycerol, erythritol, threitol, arabitol, xylitol ([abstract] xylitol (Xyl)), ribitol, mannitol, galactitol, fucitol, iditol, inositol, volemitol, isomalt, maltitol, lactitol, maltotritol, maltotetraitol, and polyglycitol.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuechen (Yuechen Li et al, Soft and flexible PEDOT / PSS films for applications to soft actuators, 2014 Smart Mater. Struct., and 23 (7)(2014.06.17.)) in view of Shanxin (Shanxin et al, the Conductivities enhancement of poly (3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) / poly (styrene sulfonate) transparent electrodes with diol additives, polymer Bulletin, vol 70, pp237-247(2012.08.28.)), further in view of Park (KR 20220081447 A).
Regarding claim 10, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 8, the sugar alcohol forms a hydrogen bond with the conductive polymer and the water-soluble polymer to provide flexibility ([Pg 7, Para 3] adding xylitol and subsequent heating, where the xylitol had two functions as (i) plasticizer to weaken hydrogen bonds between PSS of colloidal particles by replacing with that between xylitol and PSS and (ii) the additional capability of increasing the mobility of charge carriers between the colloidal particles. The resulting stretchable and highly conductive PEDOT/PSS/ Xyl films can be applied to organic electronics).
Yuechen fails to fully teach wherein when the biosignal measurement electrode is attached to a skin, the water-soluble polymer forms a hydrogen bond with a body fluid to provide adhesion.
However, Park teaches wherein when the biosignal measurement electrode is attached to a skin, the water-soluble polymer forms a hydrogen bond with a body fluid to provide adhesion ([Pg 4, Para 1] Gelatin has low antigenicity and excellent cell adhesion, spreadability and proliferation ability. The present invention secures air permeability by introducing pores into a carbon electrode that contains conductive carbon and has an optimal hydrogen bond based on the physical bonding of gelatin and polyvinyl alcohol with high elasticity as a natural biomaterial for biomedical applications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein when the biosignal measurement electrode is attached to a skin, the water-soluble polymer forms a hydrogen bond with a body fluid to provide adhesion. Doing so allows for effective connection to the skin for accurate sensing of biosignals.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuechen (Yuechen Li et al, Soft and flexible PEDOT / PSS films for applications to soft actuators, 2014 Smart Mater. Struct., and 23 (7)(2014.06.17.)) in view of Shanxin (Shanxin et al, the Conductivities enhancement of poly (3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) / poly (styrene sulfonate) transparent electrodes with diol additives, polymer Bulletin, vol 70, pp237-247(2012.08.28.)) and Masayuki (JP 7085070 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Yuechen teaches a biosignal measurement electrode comprising: a first layer ([abstract] poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/ PSS)); a second layer stacked on the first layer ([Pg 5, Para 2] removal of the insulating PSS-rich layer from the surface of the colloidal particles); and a third layer stacked on the second layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h), wherein the first to third layers include an expanded chain structure in which a conductive polymer ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films), a sugar alcohol ([abstract] xylitol), and a water-soluble polymer are bonded ([abstract] conductive PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films), and the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil structure of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged ([abstract] poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) doped with poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/ PSS)) (benzoid-to-quinoid transformation).
Yuechen fails to fully teach a first layer attached to a skin; and the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil structure of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged.
However, Masayuki teaches a first layer attached to a skin ([Pg 10, Para 2] the bioelectrode formed by using the conductive composition according to the present embodiment has high conductivity and can reduce irritation to the skin, it is attached to a biosensor, particularly the skin of a living body, and has high conductivity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include a first layer attached to a skin. Doing so allows for the conductive polymer to contact the skin for effecting sensing of biosignals.
Further, Shanxin teaches the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil structure of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged ([Pg 6, Para 2] the transformation of the benzenoid structure into the quinoid structure would involve a red-shift of the Ca=Cb symmetric stretching line as observed for PEDOT:PSS after the EG treatment. This is caused by the molecular conformation change as that the benzenoid structure may be the favorite structure for a coil conformation, while the quinoid structure may be the favorite structure for a linear or expanded-coil structure [7]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include the expanded chain structure is more expanded than a coil-type chain structure having a coil structure of the conductive polymer before the bonding, and is linearly arranged. Doing so allows for increased flexibility and stretchability of the film when used for an electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Yuechen teaches the biosignal measurement electrode of claim 14, wherein the first layer includes a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the second layer and the third layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The EDOT (0.5wt%) and PSS (1.5wt%) were mixed in pure water containing 0.84 wt% of Na2S2O8 (Junsei Chemical) as an oxidant), and includes a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the second layer and the third layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The EDOT (0.5wt%) and PSS (1.5wt%) were mixed in pure water containing 0.84 wt% of Na2S2O8 (Junsei Chemical) as an oxidant), and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the third layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h), and the third layer includes a smaller amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the first layer and the second layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The EDOT (0.5wt%) and PSS (1.5wt%) were mixed in pure water containing 0.84 wt% of Na2S2O8 (Junsei Chemical) as an oxidant), and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and the second layer ([Pg 3, Para 1] The soft and flexible PEDOT/PSS/Xyl films were fabricated by casting the PEDOT/PSS dispersion containing 0.75wt% of xylitol at 50 °C for 6h and subsequent heat treatment at 140 °C for 1h).
Yuechen fails to fully teach wherein the first layer includes a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the second layer and the third layer, the second layer includes a smaller amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the first layer and a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and the second layer.
However, Masayuki teaches wherein the first layer includes a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the second layer and the third layer ([Pg 6, Para 7] The content of the plasticizer is preferably 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass, more preferably 1.0 part by mass to 90 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the conductive composition. It is more preferably parts by mass to 70 parts by mass. If the content is within the above-mentioned preferable range, the cured product obtained by using the conductive composition can have excellent toughness and flexibility) ([Pg 6, Para 4] When a cross-linking agent is contained, the content of the cross-linking agent is preferably 1.5 parts by mass or less, more preferably 0.01 parts by mass to 1.5 parts by mass, and 0. 2 parts by mass to 1.2 parts by mass is more preferable, and 0.4 parts by mass to 1.0 part by mass is most preferable), the second layer includes a smaller amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the first layer and a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the third layer ([Pg 6, Para 7] The content of the plasticizer is preferably 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass, more preferably 1.0 part by mass to 90 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the conductive composition. It is more preferably parts by mass to 70 parts by mass. If the content is within the above-mentioned preferable range, the cured product obtained by using the conductive composition can have excellent toughness and flexibility), and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the third layer ([Pg 10, Para 6] The contents of the conductive polymer, the binder resin and the plasticizer with respect to 100.00 parts by mass of the conductive composition were 11.24 parts by mass, 29.59 parts by mass and 59.17 parts by mass, respectivel) ([Pg 9, Para 5] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment may contain 0.01 parts by mass to 1.5 parts by mass of a cross-linking agent) ([Pg 9, Para 6] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment can contain 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass of a plasticizer), and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and the second layer ([Pg 10, Para 6] The contents of the conductive polymer, the binder resin and the plasticizer with respect to 100.00 parts by mass of the conductive composition were 11.24 parts by mass, 29.59 parts by mass and 59.17 parts by mass, respectively) ([Pg 9, Para 5] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment may contain 0.01 parts by mass to 1.5 parts by mass of a cross-linking agent) ([Pg 9, Para 6] the conductive composition according to the present embodiment can contain 0.2 parts by mass to 150 parts by mass of a plasticizer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Yuechen to include wherein the first layer includes a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the second layer and the third layer, the second layer includes a smaller amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the first layer and a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and the second layer. Doing so allows for separate layers to be composed of separate composition amounts for effective sensing layers and coating layers.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the first layer includes a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the second layer and the third layer, the second layer includes a smaller amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the first layer and a larger amount of the water-soluble polymer in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and a smaller amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the third layer, and includes a larger amount of the sugar alcohol in comparison with the first layer and the second layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/ASHLEIGH LAUREN KERN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794