DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/1/24 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hino et al. (US 2006/0232818).
Regarding claim 1, Hino teaches an information processing apparatus communicably connected to a cutting machine that cuts a sheet medium printed and processing information transmitted and received to and from the cutting machine (printing system; ¶¶ 0127-0140, Figs. 1 and 2), the information processing apparatus comprising:
a memory device that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the set of instructions to (RAM and CPU; ¶¶ 0248-0249, Fig. 9):
obtain ability information about cutting ability of the cutting machine from the cutting machine (classify cutting function of processing device and create stylesheet; ¶¶ 0208-0213, Fig. 16 S1602-S1609 and ¶¶ 0229-0236, Fig. 18);
obtain a print job including print condition information about a print condition (analyze JDF data; ¶ 0176, Fig. 9 S1301 and ¶ 0260, Fig. 20 S1301); and
generate cut condition information related to a cut condition in cutting the sheet medium with the cutting machine based on the ability information obtained and the print condition information included in the print job obtained (stylesheet applied to JDF data; ¶ 0178, Fig. 9 and ¶ 0261, Fig. 20), wherein the sheet medium is cut by the cutting machine based on the cut condition information generated (cutting machine; ¶ 0139, Fig. 2, ¶ 0182, Fig. 10, and ¶ 0228).
Regarding claim 2, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is communicatively connected to an apparatus storing a print driver, and wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to obtains the print job from the print driver (printing control program and related data; ¶¶ 0248-0255, Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 3, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a setting unit configured to set the print job, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to obtain the print job from the setting unit (JDF creation application 11 to create JDF data and print server 20 interprets the JDF data, and executes a job for the MFP; ¶¶ 0134-0136, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to allow a user to select whether to cut the sheet medium by the cutting machine (work order form; ¶¶ 0303-0306, Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 5, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein a plurality of cutting machines are communicatively connected to the information processing apparatus (finisher A and B; ¶ 0132, Fig. 1 and ¶ 0335), and wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to allow the user to select a desired cutting machine from among the plurality of cutting machines (¶ 0207).
Regarding claim 6, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to allow the user to select a connection method with the cutting machine (¶ 0145).
Regarding claim 7, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to enable an operation by the user to instruct obtaining the ability information in a case where the user selects to cut the sheet medium by the cutting machine (¶ 0207).
Regarding claim 8, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to enable an operation by the user to instruct obtaining the print job in a case where the user operates to instruct obtaining the ability information (¶ 0207).
Regarding claim 9, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to enable an operation by the user to instruct transmitting the cut condition information in a case where the user operates to instruct obtaining the print job (¶ 0209).
Regarding claim 10, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to enable an operation by the user to instruct cutting the sheet medium by the cutting machine in a case where the user operate to instruct transmitting the cut condition information (¶ 0207 and ¶ 0213).
Regarding claim 11, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to generate, as the cut condition information, at least one of parameters including a force pressing a cutting blade against the sheet medium in cutting, a cut speed in cutting the sheet medium, and number of times of cutting on one place in cutting the sheet medium (¶ 0228 and ¶ 0283).
Regarding claim 12, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the print condition information includes a type of the sheet medium to be printed, and wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to generate information about the parameter corresponding to the type of the sheet medium as the cut condition information (¶¶ 0233-0234).
Regarding claim 13, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to transmit the cut condition information to the cutting machine (¶ 0131).
Regarding claim 14, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13, further comprising a memory unit configured to store the cut condition information, wherein the at least one processor executes instructions in the memory device to be capable of transmitting the cut condition information stored in the memory unit to the cutting machine after printing (¶ 0263).
Regarding claim 15, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display unit configured to display a preview image showing a sample of a cutting area on the sheet medium (¶¶ 0268-0273, Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 16, Hino teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus comprises an image forming apparatus that is capable of printing (MFP; ¶ 0135).
Regarding claim 17, Hino teaches an information processing system comprising (printing system; ¶¶ 0127-0140, Figs. 1 and 2):
a cutting machine configured to cut a sheet medium printed (cutting machine; ¶ 0139, Fig. 2, ¶ 0182, Fig. 10, and ¶ 0228); and
an information processing apparatus communicably connected to the cutting machine and processing information transmitted to and received from the cutting machine (Fig. 2), the information processing apparatus comprising:
a memory device that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the set of instructions to (RAM and CPU; ¶¶ 0248-0249, Fig. 9):
obtain ability information about cutting ability of the cutting machine from the cutting machine (classify cutting function of processing device and create stylesheet; ¶¶ 0208-0213, Fig. 16 S1602-S1609 and ¶¶ 0229-0236, Fig. 18);
obtain a print job including print condition information about a print condition (analyze JDF data; ¶ 0176, Fig. 9 S1301 and ¶ 0260, Fig. 20 S1301); and
generate cut condition information related to a cut condition in cutting the sheet medium with the cutting machine based on the ability information obtained and the print condition information included in the print job obtained (stylesheet applied to JDF data; ¶ 0178, Fig. 9 and ¶ 0261, Fig. 20), wherein the sheet medium is cut by the cutting machine based on the cut condition information generated (cutting machine; ¶ 0139, Fig. 2, ¶ 0182, Fig. 10, and ¶ 0228).
Claims 18 and 19 recite similar limitations as claim 1 thus, arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 18 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okada et al. (US 2007/0019224) teaches a printing system capable of increasing the working efficiency of an operator engaged in a post-process.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681