DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US Patent Application 20240250547) in the view of Kumagai (US Patent Application 20210074336).
As per claim 1, Klein teaches an operating method [400, fig. 4] of a storage device comprising an auxiliary power supply [230, fig. 2], the operating method comprising:
adjusting a value [vary the battery charge rate of battery backup unit 230: 0031] of preset electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, based on information about first required energy [minimum charge stored in the first register: 0031] according to process variability of a main system [0031, as pointed out from the listed paragraph the charge of the auxiliary batter can be adjusted or varying where a register stored that value and used to adjust based on the system utilization or power consumption of the electronic device or information handling system. For example, battery backup unit 230 may include a battery charger 235 with a register 240. Register 240 may be a programmable register, such as a charge requirement register, that allows management controller 210 to vary the battery charge rate of battery backup unit 230 during run-time operation].
adjusting a value of electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or a value of second required energy [maximum charge stored in the second register: 0031] [0031, the unit includes more than on register for example a second register that stores maximum charge requirement for the auxiliary battery. For example, the battery charge rate of battery backup unit 230 may be varied by adjusting the battery charge rate].
based on information about the second required energy for a temperature of the main system [ambient operational temperature of the information handling system: 0035] and a required performance [maximize performance: 0035] of the main system, to obtain an adjusted value of the electrical energy or an adjusted value of the second required energy [0031, 0035, 0046 as pointed out the charge adjustment take into consideration thermal events for example the operation condition of the electronic device such as idle state and maximum performance state. For example, the battery charge rate may also be reduced to maximize the performance of system 200 when it is operating at the system power limit. The battery charge rate may also be reduced during a thermal event or excursion, such as when the CPU gets overheated or the ambient operational temperature of the information handling system is exceeded].
Klein does not teach based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, outputting a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode.
However, Kumagai teaches based on the adjusted value [change a charge voltage for the PLP capacitor 24: 0044] of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, outputting a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode [0058-0059, 0063, fig. 5 as pointed out the charge is adjusted based on the energy requirement for the backup or charge varying as shown in figure 5 step 108, an error processing can be generated to inform the user that the charge capacitor is defective. For example, when the charge voltage calculated in step S106 is not equal to or lower than the maximum allowable voltage (NO in step S108), the controller 18 performs error processing in step S112. An example of the error processing is to inform a user that the PLP capacitor 24 is defective and sufficient energy is not charged to the PLP capacitor 24 and the PLP function may not be performed].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the design of Klein to include the method of Kumagai to check the charge of the charging capacitor and generate a error message. In this case, it is possible to determine when the energy storage device is faulty.
As per claim 8, Klein teaches a storage device [100, fig. 1] comprising:
an auxiliary power supply [230, fig. 2] configured to provide auxiliary power [0031, as pointed out, Battery backup unit 230 may be configured to provide power backup to the information handling system].
a power supply [205, fig. 2] comprising a power controller [210, fig. 2] configured to output an output voltage based on external power or the auxiliary power [0030, 0031, as pointed the power supply unit 205 provides power to management controller 210 and power manage 220 which control the change of the auxiliary power, for example, management controller 210 to vary the battery charge rate of battery backup unit 230 during run-time operation].
a temperature sensor [thermal measured performed by power manager 220: 0034] configured to measure a temperature of a main system [0034, telemetry data such as system power consumption and thermal].
a controller [210, fig. 2] configured to output information about required energy of the main system [0035, 0050, for example determine the CPU performance of the information handling system by the power manager].
a correction circuit [part of controller 210: fig. 2] configured to:
adjust a value of preset electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, based on information about first required energy according to process variability of the main system [0031, as pointed out from the listed paragraph the charge of the auxiliary batter can be adjusted or varying where a register stored that value and used to adjust based on the system utilization or power consumption of the electronic device or information handling system].
adjust a value of electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or a value of second required energy [0031, the unit includes more than on register for example a second register that stores maximum charge requirement for the auxiliary battery]
based on information about the second required energy for the temperature of the main system and a required performance of the main system, to generate an adjusted value of the electrical energy or an adjusted value of the second required energy [0031, 0035, 0046 as pointed out the charge adjustment take into consideration thermal events for example the operation condition of the electronic device such as idle state and maximum performance state].
Klein does not teach based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, output a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode to the controller.
based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, output a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode to the controller.
However, Kumagai teaches based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, output a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode to the controller [0058-0059, 0063, fig. 5 as pointed out the charge is adjusted based on the energy requirement for the backup or charge varying as shown in figure 5 step 108, an error processing can be generated to inform the user that the charge capacitor is defective].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the design of Klein to include the method of Kumagai to check the charge of the charging capacitor and generate a error message. In this case, it is possible to determine when the energy storage device is faulty.
As per claim 15, Klein teaches a storage device [100, fig. 1] comprising:
an auxiliary [230, fig. 2] power supply configured to provide auxiliary power [0031, as pointed out, Battery backup unit 230 may be configured to provide power backup to the information handling system].
a power supply [205, fig. 2] comprising a power controller [210, fig. 2] [210, fig. 2] configured to output an output voltage based on external power or the auxiliary power [0030, 0031, as pointed the power supply unit 205 provides power to management controller 210 and power manage 220 which control the change of the auxiliary power, for example, management controller 210 to vary the battery charge rate of battery backup unit 230 during run-time operation].
a temperature sensor [thermal measured performed by power manager 220: 0034] configured to measure a temperature of a main system [0034, telemetry data such as system power consumption and thermal].
the main system configured to operate based on the output voltage and perform a dump operation of backing up data based on a sudden power-off occurring [0056, enable the saving or persisting of the data sudden power lost].
a correction circuit [part of controller 210: fig. 2] configured to:
adjust a value of preset electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, based on information about first required energy according to process variability of the main system [0031, as pointed out from the listed paragraph the charge of the auxiliary batter can be adjusted or varying where a register stored that value and used to adjust based on the system utilization or power consumption of the electronic device or information handling system]
adjust a value of electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or a value of second required energy [0031, the unit includes more than on register for example a second register that stores maximum charge requirement for the auxiliary battery].
based on information about the second required energy for the temperature of the main system and a required performance of the main system, to obtain an adjusted value of the electrical energy or an adjusted value of the second required energy [0031, 0035, 0046 as pointed out the charge adjustment take into consideration thermal events for example the operation condition of the electronic device such as idle state and maximum performance state].
Klein does not teach based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, output a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode to the main system.
However, Kumagai teaches based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, output a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode to the main system [0058-0059, 0063, fig. 5 as pointed out the charge is adjusted based on the energy requirement for the backup or charge varying as shown in figure 5 step 108, an error processing can be generated to inform the user that the charge capacitor is defective].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the design of Klein to include the method of Kumagai to check the charge of the charging capacitor and generate a error message. In this case, it is possible to determine when the energy storage device is faulty.
As per claim 2, Klein teaches wherein the first required energy represents minimum energy required for the main system to operate in an idle state at a first temperature [0031, 0035, first energy requirement is related to idle state which reduce the discharge of the battery].
wherein the second required energy represents minimum energy required for the main system to perform a first operation at a second temperature [0031, 0035, the second requirement is related to a maximize performance of the system].
wherein a value of the second temperature is greater than a value of the first temperature [0035, temperature exceeding temperature threshold during increasing performance or CPU overheating which is related to a maximizing performance performance].
As per claim 3, Klein teaches wherein the adjusting the value of the preset electrical energy to be stored [value stored in register to charge auxiliary power supply: 0031] in the auxiliary power supply comprises:
comparing a largest value among values of a plurality of first required energies according to the process variability of the main system with the value of the preset electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply [0050, 0054, fig. 5 as pointed out a comparison is done between one watt and 20 watts changing rate and based on the determination or requirement the battery can then be charged at 20 watts].
based on the largest value among the values of the plurality of first required energies being greater than the value of the preset electrical energy, changing the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply to the largest value among the values of the plurality of first required energies by adjusting a charging voltage of the auxiliary power supply [0054, based on the determination power usage of the information handling system, the batter can be charged at 20 watts].
As per claim 7, Klein does not teach the fail mode represents a state in which a power supply is unable to provide auxiliary power to the main system through the auxiliary power supply based on a sudden power-off occurring.
However, Kumagai teaches the fail mode represents a state in which a power supply is unable to provide auxiliary power to the main system through the auxiliary power supply based on a sudden power-off occurring [0063, as pointed out when the energy storage is defective and cannot be charged].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the design of Klein to include the method of Kumagai to check the charge of the charging of the auxiliary power and determine when it is defective.
As per claims 8-10, 14-17, and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 8-10, 14-17 and 20 are also rejected as being unpatentable over Du in view of Kumagai and in the view of Fritz for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US Patent Application 20240250547) in the view of Kumagai (US Patent Application 20210074336) and in the view of Fritz (US Patent Application 20210336464).
As per claim 1, Klein and Kumagai do not teach wherein the adjusting of the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy comprises: requesting information about required energy of the main system at a second temperature from the main system, based on temperature measurement information of a temperature sensor; receiving the information about the second required energy that is minimum energy required for the main system to perform a first operation at the second temperature; and comparing the value of the second required energy with the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply.
However, Fritz teaches the adjusting of the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy comprises [0035, charging decision step 203 in figure 2]:
requesting information about required energy of the main system at a second temperature from the main system, based on temperature measurement information of a temperature sensor [0033, 0092, thermal and other information received from a sensor. For example as shown in figures 2-3 like battery change level and so forth].
receiving the information about the second required energy that is minimum energy required for the main system to perform a first operation at the second temperature [0092, receiving information that is related to temperature that affect power behavior such as power and system operating frequency and so forth].
comparing the value of the second required energy with the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply [0037, 0041, figure 2 steps 203, 204, 205, and 207 determine whether fast or normal charging is needed based on the receiving information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the designs of Klein and Kumagai to include the method of Fritz in order to add a request to obtain information from a sensor to determine when to perform charge adjustment.
As per claim 5, Clein and Kumagai do not teach the adjusting the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy further comprises, based on the value of the second required energy being greater than the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, increasing the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply to correspond to the value of the second required energy by adjusting a charging voltage of the auxiliary power supply.
However, Fritz teaches the adjusting the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy further comprises, based on the value of the second required energy being greater than the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, increasing the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply to correspond to the value of the second required energy by adjusting a charging voltage of the auxiliary power supply [0027, 0032, comparison to determine if fast charging is needed the increase the current to charge the auxiliary power as shown in figure 2 steps 207 and 208].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the designs of Klein and Kumagai to include the method of Fritz in order to add a logic that can make determination and increase current level to charge the auxiliary power and user higher volage.
As per claim 6, Klein and Kumagai do not teach the adjusting the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy further comprises, based on the value of the second required energy being greater than the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, reducing the value of the second required energy by adjusting a level of a voltage required for a load in the main system.
However, Fritz teaches the adjusting the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or the value of the second required energy further comprises, based on the value of the second required energy being greater than the value of the electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, reducing the value of the second required energy by adjusting a level of a voltage required for a load in the main system [0029-0030, 0032, fig. 3, turn off fast charging by decreasing voltage or current or simply adjusting charge speed].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the designs of Klein and Kumagai to include the method of Fritz in order to add a logic that can make determination and increase current level to charge the auxiliary power and user higher volage
As per claims 11-13 and 18-19, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 11-13 and 18-19 are also rejected as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Kumagai and in the view of Fritz for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
To help with the prosecution of this application, the following rejection is given for independent claim 1
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US Patent Application 20180069272) in the view of Kumagai (US Patent Application 20210074336).
As per claim 1, Seo teaches an operating method [method shown in figure 2] of a storage device comprising an auxiliary power supply [110, fig. 1], the operating method comprising:
adjusting a value of preset electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply, based on information about first required energy according to process variability of a main system [0026, 0029, 0039, as pointed, adjusting a charging condition of a secondary battery, the method including: determining a charging current and a current temperature of the secondary battery; determining a predicted charging current capable of generating, as Joule's heat through an internal resistance of the secondary battery, a heat amount required to raise the temperature of the secondary battery from the current temperature to a threshold temperature for a preset reference time; determining a predicted charging voltage expected when the predicted charging current flows through an equivalent circuit of the secondary battery; and when a condition of the predicted charging voltage being lower than a preset upper limit charging voltage is satisfied, adjusting the upper limit charging voltage such that the upper limit charging voltage is lowered to the predicted charging voltage. Whereto he adjustment of the charge include temperature condition and so forth].
adjusting a value of electrical energy to be stored in the auxiliary power supply or a value of second required energy, based on information about the second required energy for a temperature of the main system and a required performance of the main system, to obtain an adjusted value of the electrical energy or an adjusted value of the second required energy [0029, 0038-0039, as pointed out the adjustment can be made based on temperature condition as well as load condition where the adjustment value can be made adaptively and predictively].
Seo does not teach based on the adjusted value of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, outputting a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode.
However, Kumagai teaches based on the adjusted value [change a charge voltage for the PLP capacitor 24: 0044] of the electrical energy or the adjusted value of the second required energy being greater than a value of available energy of the auxiliary power supply, outputting a signal indicating that the auxiliary power supply operates in a fail mode [0058-0059, 0063, fig. 5 as pointed out the charge is adjusted based on the energy requirement for the backup or charge varying as shown in figure 5 step 108, an error processing can be generated to inform the user that the charge capacitor is defective. For example, when the charge voltage calculated in step S106 is not equal to or lower than the maximum allowable voltage (NO in step S108), the controller 18 performs error processing in step S112. An example of the error processing is to inform a user that the PLP capacitor 24 is defective and sufficient energy is not charged to the PLP capacitor 24 and the PLP function may not be performed].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to modify the design of Seo to include the method of Kumagai to check the charge of the charging capacitor and generate a error message. In this case, it is possible to determine when the energy storage device is faulty.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Randall (US 20030222505) teaches the system and methods for energy storage in land-based telemetry application.
Goth (US 20150340882) teaches adjustment of a capacitor charge voltage.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176