DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 17-19 have been amended. Claim 20 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0318003 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” Ito et al. (JP 2007278548 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Ito,” and Cole et al. (US 2006/0242971 A1), hereafter referred to as “Cole.”
Regarding Claim 1: Lee teaches a refrigerator (paragraph [0014]) comprising: a tray (11, 12) configured to form a cell (113, 141); a cooler (paragraph [0003]) configured to supply cold air to the cell (paragraph [0003]).
Lee fails to teach the following:
a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell; a water supply valve configured to control a flow of water to the cell; and a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein when the tray is at a water supply position, the controller is configured to control the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the cell, wherein the controller turns on the water supply valve when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a set temperature, and moves the tray to an ice making position after a water supply is completed.
Kim teaches a water supply valve (112) configured to control a flow of water to a cell (122); and a controller (160) configured to control the water supply valve (112, paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (160) is configured to control the water supply valve (112, paragraph [0047]) so that cold air from a cooler (evaporator, paragraph [0042]) is supplied to the cell (122) before the water supply valve (112) is turned on (paragraph [0047], step 1, air flow controlled by 170; paragraph [0076], paragraph [0042]), and the water is supplied to the cell (122) after the cold air is supplied to the cell (step 1 to step 2, see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a water supply valve configured to control a flow of water to the cell; and a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein the controller is configured to control the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the cell to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously control the steps of the ice making process based on automation (see Kim, paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
Cole teaches a temperature sensor (160) configured to sense a temperature of a cell (66 of 20); wherein a controller (30, 34) turns on a water supply valve (step 1610) when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (160) reaches a set temperature (paragraphs [0086] and [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell; when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a set temperature to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Cole in order to advantageously provide the tray to be cool enough for freezing (see Cole, paragraphs [0086] and [0106], see Figure 16A, step 1608).
Ito teaches a controller (201) configured to move a tray (102) to a water supply position (Figures 4A-4B), moves the tray (102) to an ice making position (Figure 4C) after a water supply is completed (Figure 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the controller configured to move the tray is at a water supply position, and moves the tray to an ice making position after a water supply is completed to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Ito in order to advantageously provide distinct controller steps for controlling each position of the tray and measured time during the water supply process (see Ito, page 5 of machine translation).
Regarding Claim 2: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the set temperature is a temperature of 0 degrees Celsius or less.
Cole teaches a set temperature is a temperature of 0 degrees Celsius or less (paragraphs [0086] and [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the set temperature is a temperature of 0 degrees Celsius or less to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Cole in order to advantageously provide the tray to be cool enough for freezing (see Cole, paragraphs [0086] and [0106], see Figure 16A, step 1608).
Regarding Claim 3: Lee modified supra teaches further comprising an additional tray (11 of Lee) configured to form a portion of the cell (113 of Lee), wherein the tray (12 of Lee) is configured to form another portion of the ice making cell (141 of Lee) and capable of moving relative to the additional tray (via 21, paragraph [0028] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 4: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the tray (12 of Lee) waits until the water supply valve (212 of Kim) is turned on (S2 of Figure 15 of Kim) at the water supply position (see Figure 6 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 10: Lee teaches a refrigerator (paragraph [0014]) comprising: a first tray (11) configured to form a portion of a cell (113); a second tray (12) configured to form another portion of the cell (141) and capable of moving relative to the first tray (via 21, paragraph [0028]); a cooler configured to generate cold air to be supplied to the cell (paragraphs [0003] and [0037]).
Lee fails to teach the following:
a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell;
a water supply valve configured to adjust a flow of water to the cell; and
a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein the controller is configured to move the second tray to a water supply position; cool the cell by the cool air of the cooler; operate the water supply valve to supply the water to the cell; and move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein when the second tray is at the water supply position, the controller controls the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the cell, and wherein the controller turns on the water supply valve, when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a set temperature.
Kim teaches a water supply valve (112) configured to adjust a flow of water to a cell (122); and a controller (160) configured to control the water supply valve (112, paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (160) is configured to move a tray (120) to a water supply position (see Figure 6); cool the cell by cool air of a cooler (evaporator, air flow controlled by 170; paragraph [0076], step 1; paragraph [0042]); operate the water supply valve (112) to supply the water to the cell (122); and move the tray (120) to an ice making position (see Figure 6, 8) after completion of a water supply (step 4, see Figure 7), wherein the controller (160) controls the water supply valve (112) so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on (via 170), and the water is supplied to the cell (122) after the cold air is supplied to the cell (step 1), wherein the controller turns on the water supply valve (step 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a water supply valve configured to adjust a flow of water to the cell; and a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein the controller is configured to move the second tray to a water supply position; cool the cell by the cool air of the cooler; operate the water supply valve to supply the water to the cell; and move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein the controller controls the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the cell to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously control the steps of the ice making process based on automation (see Kim, paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
Cole teaches a temperature sensor (160) configured to sense a temperature of a cell (66 of 20); wherein a controller (30, 34) turns on a water supply valve (step 1610, paragraph [0086]), when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (160) reaches a set temperature (paragraphs [0086] and [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell; wherein the controller turns on the water supply valve, when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a set temperature to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Cole in order to advantageously provide the tray to be cool enough for freezing (see Cole, paragraphs [0086] and [0106], see Figure 16A, step 1608).
Ito teaches a controller (201) configured to move a tray (102) to an ice making position (Figure 4C) after completion of a water supply (Figures 4A-4B), wherein when the tray (102) is at the water supply position (Figure 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the controller configured to move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein when the second tray is at the water supply position to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Ito in order to advantageously provide distinct controller steps for controlling each position of the tray and measured time during the water supply process (see Ito, page 5 of machine translation).
Regarding Claim 11: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the set temperature is a sub-zero temperature in degrees Celsius.
Cole teaches a set temperature is a sub-zero temperature in degrees Celsius (paragraphs [0086] and [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the set temperature is a sub-zero temperature in degrees Celsius to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Cole in order to advantageously provide the tray to be cool enough for freezing (see Cole, paragraphs [0086] and [0106], see Figure 16A, step 1608).
Claims 5-9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0318003 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” Ito et al. (JP 2007278548 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Ito,” and Cole et al. (US 2006/0242971 A1), hereafter referred to as “Cole,” as applied to claims 1 and 10-11 above, and further in view of An et al. (US 2018/0187941 A1), hereafter referred to as “An.”
Regarding Claim 5: Lee modified supra fails to teach further comprising: a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies the cold air to make transparent ice.
An teaches a heater (130) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold air to make transparent ice (paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies cold air to make transparent ice to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously create transparent ice using a preexisting heater in the ice maker (see An, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 6: Lee modified supra teaches further comprising an additional tray (11 of Lee) configured to form a portion of the cell (113 of Lee), wherein the tray (12 of Lee) is configured to form another portion of the ice making cell (141 of Lee) and capable of moving relative to the additional tray (via 21, paragraph [0028] of Lee), and wherein the heater (130 of An) is configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141 of Lee) when the tray (12 of Lee) is located at the ice making position (ice making cycle as taught by paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090] of An).
Regarding Claim 7: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the heater (130, paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090], of An) is configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141 of Lee) after the water supply valve (112 of Kim) is turned off (water supplied to cell to begin ice making see Figure 7 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 8: Lee teaches further comprising an additional heater (18) configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141) in an ice separation process (see Figure 9, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 9: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the heater (130 of An) is configured to supply heat to the tray (12 of Lee), and the additional heater (18 of Lee) is configured to supply heat to the additional tray (11 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 12: Lee modified supra fails to teach further comprising a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies the cold air to make transparent ice.
An teaches a heater (130) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold air (paragraph [0003]) to make transparent ice (paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies the cold air to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously create transparent ice using a preexisting heater in the ice maker (see An, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 13: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the heater is configured to supply heat to the cell when the second tray is located at the ice making position.
An teaches a heater (130) is configured to supply heat to a cell (112) when a tray (110) is located at an ice making position (ice making cycle as taught by paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heater is configured to supply heat to the cell when the second tray is located at the ice making position to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously create transparent ice using a preexisting heater in the ice maker (see An, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 14: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the heater (130 of An) is configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141 of Lee) after the water supply valve (112 of Kim) is turned off (ice making cycle as taught by paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090] of An).
Regarding Claim 15: Lee teaches further comprising an additional heater (10) configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141) in an ice separation process (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 16: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the heater (130 of An) is disposed adjacent to the second tray (12 of Lee), and the additional heater (18 of Lee) is disposed adjacent to the first tray (11 of Lee).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0318003 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” Cole et al. (US 2006/0242971 A1), hereafter referred to as “Cole,” and Ito et al. (JP 2007278548 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Ito.”
Regarding Claim 17: Lee teaches a refrigerator (paragraph [0014]) comprising: a first tray (11) configured to form a portion of a cell (113); a second tray (12) configured to form another portion of the cell (141) and capable of moving relative to the first tray (via 21, paragraph [0028]); a cooler configured to generate cold air to be supplied to the cell (paragraphs [0003] and [0037]).
Lee fails to teach the following:
a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell; a water supply valve configured to adjust a flow of water to the cell; and a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein the controller is configured to move the second tray to a water supply position; cool the cell by the cool air of the cooler; operate the water supply valve to supply the water to the cell; and move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein when the second tray is at the water supply position, the controller controls the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the ice making cell, and wherein when a time when the second tray waits at the water supply position lapses a set time, the controller turns on the water supply valve.
Kim teaches a water supply valve (112) configured to adjust a flow of water to a cell (122); and a controller (160) configured to control the water supply valve (112, paragraph [0047]), wherein the controller (160) is configured to move a tray (120) to a water supply position (see Figure 6); cool the cell by cool air of a cooler (evaporator, air flow controlled by 170; paragraph [0076], step 1; paragraph [0042]); operate the water supply valve (112) to supply the water to the cell (122); and move the tray (120) to an ice making position (see Figure 6, 8) after completion of a water supply (step 4, see Figure 7), wherein the controller (160) controls the water supply valve (112) so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on (via 170), and the water is supplied to the cell (122) after the cold air is supplied to the ice making cell (step 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a water supply valve configured to adjust a flow of water to the cell; and a controller configured to control the water supply valve, wherein the controller is configured to move the second tray to a water supply position; cool the cell by the cool air of the cooler; operate the water supply valve to supply the water to the cell; and move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein the controller controls the water supply valve so that the cold air from the cooler is supplied to the cell before the water supply valve is turned on, and the water is supplied to the cell after the cold air is supplied to the ice making cell to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously control the steps of the ice making process based on automation (see Kim, paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
Cole teaches a temperature sensor (160) configured to sense a temperature of a cell (66 of 20); when a time when a tray waits at a water supply position lapses a set time (see Figure 16A), a controller (30,34) turns on a water supply valve (step 1610, paragraph [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cell; wherein when a time when the second tray waits at the water supply position lapses a set time, the controller turns on the water supply valve to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Cole in order to advantageously provide the tray to be cool enough for freezing (see Cole, paragraphs [0086] and [0106], see Figure 16A, step 1608).
Ito teaches a controller (201) configured to move a tray (102) to an ice making position (Figure 4C) after completion of a water supply (Figures 4A-4B), wherein when the tray (102) is at the water supply position (Figure 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the controller configured to move the second tray to an ice making position after completion of a water supply, wherein when the second tray is at the water supply position to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Ito in order to advantageously provide distinct controller steps for controlling each position of the tray and measured time during the water supply process (see Ito, page 5 of machine translation).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0318003 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” Ito et al. (JP 2007278548 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Ito,” and Cole et al. (US 2006/0242971 A1), hereafter referred to as “Cole,” as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of An et al. (US 2018/0187941 A1), hereafter referred to as “An.”
Regarding Claim 18: Lee modified supra fails to teach further comprising a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies the cold air to make transparent ice.
An teaches a heater (130) configured to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold air (paragraph [0003]) to make transparent ice (paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heater configured to be turned on in at least partial section while the cooler supplies the cold air to make transparent ice to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously create transparent ice using a preexisting heater in the ice maker (see An, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 19: Lee modified supra teaches wherein the heater (130 of An) is configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141 of Lee) when the second tray (12 of Lee) is located at the ice making position (ice making cycle as taught by paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090] of An, Figure 6 of Lee), or the heater (130 of An) is configured to supply heat to the cell (113, 141 of Lee) after the water supply valve (212 of Kim) is turned off (ice making cycle as taught by paragraphs [0008], [0064], [0082], and [0089]-[0090] of An).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0318003 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” and Cole et al. (US 2006/0242971 A1), hereafter referred to as “Cole,” Ito et al. (JP 2007278548 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Ito,” and An et al. (US 2018/0187941 A1), hereafter referred to as “An,” as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (KR 20050045493 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Jeong.”
Regarding Claim 20: Lee modified supra further comprising a heater case in which the heater is installed.
Jeong teaches a heater case (6) in which a heater is installed (page 3 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heater case in which the heater is installed to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Jeong in order to advantageously provide protection to the heater attached to an ice maker (see Jeong, page 3 of the machine translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hara (4,910,974).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763