DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-6,10-15,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" from IDS
Regarding claims 1,18-20 “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (PAGE.12, PAGE.13 , UE ,NETWORK NODE) receive a plurality of reference signals that correspond to a plurality of subsets of antenna ports of a set of antenna ports; (page 12, RS with the same spatial pattern. For A1-1-revised, which is suitable for both Type 1 and Type 2 spatial adaptations, the CSI-RS resources should have different antenna port subset for type 1 adaptation for accurate CSI feedback and should have different number of antenna elements for type 2 adaptations. Hence, the CSI-RS resources should be associated with different SD pattern)measure a set of parameters based at least in part on the plurality of reference signals, wherein the set of parameters corresponds to different subsets of antenna ports of the plurality of subsets of antenna ports, ( page 19 , LG Electronics Proposal #6: For a CSI report configuration that contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where each sub-configuration corresponds to a different number of antenna ports, independent/separate CodebookConfig higher layer parameters are configured for each sub-configuration)and wherein the different subsets of antenna ports are associated with a wireless channel between the UE and a network equipment; and transmit a report comprising feedback information corresponding to the set of parameters(page 17 , vivo Proposal 3: One CSI report configuration includes multiple sub-configurations, where each sub-configuration at least includes the following in spatial domain: For A1-1, Group identity of NZP CSI-RS resource(s) in a resource set for channel measurement codebook Config (including codebookSubsetRestriction/ ri-Restriction).
Regarding claim 3, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) that is received via a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource(see page 21 , Proposal 8: Report quantities can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 9: Time/frequency resource for CSI report can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 10: Common approach should be supported for association between NZP CSI-RS resource(s) and CSI sub-configuration(s) for A1-1 and A1-2).
Regarding claim 4, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) received via multiple non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources over a same slot(see page 29 , Proposal 4: For overhead reduction with multiple CSIs being reported, a two-step approach would effectively reduce the details in the reported multiple CSIs as follows: - The UE first reports a 'representative information' with respect to N spatial patterns, which can comprise one or more "low-overhead" parameters with respect to each subset (e.g., CQI, RI, RSRP, etc. or some other performance metric)).
Regarding claim 5, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) received via two non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources, and wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a single port(see page 21 , Proposal 8: Report quantities can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 9: Time/frequency resource for CSI report can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 10: Common approach should be supported for association between NZP CSI-RS resource(s) and CSI sub-configuration(s) for A1-1 and A1-2).
Regarding claim 6, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a pathloss, a wideband channel gain, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR), a Doppler shift, an average delay, or a large-scale channel parameter t(see page 29 , Proposal 4: ,- The UE first reports a 'representative information' with respect to N spatial patterns, which can comprise one or more "low-overhead" parameters with respect to each subset (e.g., CQI, RI, RSRP, etc. or some other performance metric)).
Regarding claim 10, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive the plurality of reference signals over multiple occasions in a sequence of slots in time, wherein an occasion of the sequence of slots in time corresponds to a distinct group of one or more symbols over at least one slot(see page 29 , The UE first reports a 'representative information' with respect to N spatial patterns, which can comprise one or more 'low- overhead' parameters with respect to each subset (e.g., CQI, RI, RSRP, etc. or some other performance metric). - Differential reporting of the parameters can be enabled for further overhead reduction).
Regarding claim 11, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to measure a subset of the set of parameters for the occasion of the sequence of slots(see page 33 , Proposal 23: Consider configuring CSI measurements and reports for different spatial patterns where these reports are spanned in time over multiple CSI reporting occasions/instances).
Regarding claim 12, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to map the plurality of reference signals to the plurality of subsets of antenna ports for one or more occasions of the sequence of slots(see page 33 , Proposal 23: Consider configuring CSI measurements and reports for different spatial patterns where these reports are spanned in time over multiple CSI reporting occasions/instances).
Regarding claim 13, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein, to measure the set of parameters, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to measure one or more parameters for each occasion of the sequence of slots, wherein the feedback information corresponds to the one or more parameters(see page 33 , Proposal 23: Consider configuring CSI measurements and reports for different spatial patterns where these reports are spanned in time over multiple CSI reporting occasions/instances).
Regarding claim 14, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the feedback information corresponds to at least one parameter for each reference signal of the plurality of reference signals(see page 21 , Proposal 8: Report quantities can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 9: Time/frequency resource for CSI report can be configurable and could be part of either each sub-configuration or original CSI configuration. Proposal 10: Common approach should be supported for association between NZP CSI-RS resource(s) and CSI sub-configuration(s) for A1-1 and A1-2).
Regarding claim 15, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the plurality of reference signals comprises two reference signals, and wherein the report includes a first of two parameter values in a differential form with respect to a value of a second of the two parameter values(see page 29 , Proposal 4: For overhead reduction with multiple CSIs being reported, a two-step approach would effectively reduce the details in the reported multiple CSIs as follows: - The UE first reports a 'representative information' with respect to N spatial patterns, which can comprise one or more "low-overhead" parameters with respect to each subset (e.g., CQI, RI, RSRP, etc. or some other performance metric)).
Regarding claim 17, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" teaches wherein the report is configured with a periodic time-domain behavior, and wherein to transmit the report, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the report via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)( see page 37, SP CSI reporting, prioritize PUSCH reporting [SP or Semi-Persistent is also a form of periodic]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,7-9,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" in view of MANOLAKOS to (WO 2021183662 A1)
Regarding claims 2, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a tracking reference signal (TRS)
However, wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a tracking reference signal (TRS)( [0203] , UE, comprising: receiving, from a base station, an indication of a quasi co-location relationship indicating a relationship between a plurality of tracking reference signals and a demodulation reference signal of a data channel, the plurality of tracking reference signals comprising at least a first tracking reference signal and a second tracking reference signal)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" include wherein a reference signal of the plurality of reference signals corresponds to a tracking reference signal (TRS), as suggested by MANOLAKOS. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claims 7, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" and MANOLAKOS teaches wherein the plurality of reference signals is quasi-collocated (QCLed) with at least one of a synchronized signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS),( MANOLAKOS [0079] UE 115 may assume that a reference signal (e.g., non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS)) and a DMRS are QCLed. The UE 115 may determine large scale properties of a downlink channel (e.g., PDSCH, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) through which a DMRS is transmitted based on the CSI-RS) wherein the SS/PBCH, the TRS, and the CSI-RS are configured with Doppler shift properties, Doppler spread properties, or both(MANOLAKOS [079] Discloses the QCL information in radio resource control (RRC) signaling and may be signaled through an individual information element. A first QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeA) may indicate a Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread. A second QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeB) may indicate a Doppler shift, and Doppler spread. A third QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeC) may indicate a Doppler shift and average delay)
Regarding claims 8, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" and MANOLAKOS teaches wherein a subset of reference signals of the plurality of reference signals is quasi-collocated (QCLed) with at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with a repetition parameter or a tracking reference signal (TRS) parameter, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (MANOLAKOS [0079] UE 115 may assume that a reference signal (e.g., non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS)) and a DMRS are QCLed. The UE 115 may determine large scale properties of a downlink channel (e.g., PDSCH, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) through which a DMRS is transmitted based on the CSI-RS) according to at least one of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a delay spread(MANOLAKOS [0123] ,the QCL relationship includes an indication that a Doppler shift between the DMRS and the plurality of TRSs is within a first threshold value, or the QCL relationship includes an indication that a Doppler spread between the DMRS and the plurality of TRSs is within a second threshold value, or both. In some cases, the QCL relationship further includes the Doppler shift, the Doppler spread, an average delay, and a delay spread).
Regarding claims 9, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" and MANOLAKOS teaches wherein a subset of reference signals of the plurality of reference signals is quasi-collocated (QCLed) with a sounding reference signal (SRS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), (MANOLAKOS [0079] UE 115 may assume that a reference signal (e.g., non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS)) and a DMRS are QCLed. The UE 115 may determine large scale properties of a downlink channel (e.g., PDSCH, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) through which a DMRS is transmitted based on the CSI-RS) or both according to at least one of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a delay spread, wherein the SRS is associated with a spatial transmit filter(MANOLAKOS [079] Discloses the QCL information in radio resource control (RRC) signaling and may be signaled through an individual information element. A first QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeA) may indicate a Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread. A second QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeB) may indicate a Doppler shift, and Doppler spread. A third QCL assumption (e.g., QCL-TypeC) may indicate a Doppler shift and average delay).
Regarding claims 16, “FL summary#2 for SD and PD adaptation for R18 NES" and MANOLAKOS teaches wherein the report includes an indication of a reference signal from the plurality of reference signals(MANOLAKOS [0199] ,the UE, a report indicating a first Doppler shift value associated with the first TRP and a second Doppler shift value associated with the second TRP, or a first Doppler spread value associated with the first TRP and a second Doppler spread value associated with the second TRP, or both)
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461