Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 09/30/2025.
Claims 13-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
a vehicle having a floor,
a lower opposing surface of mat is not indicated with a reference number in the drawings.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacNeil et al. (US10,011,207), in the first interpretation.
Claim 12. MacNeil discloses: A grommet (132 cap, Fig. 3-6) for a vehicle floor mat (100 floor mat, Fig. 1), the grommet comprising:
a body (cylindrical structure of 314 sidewall, Fig. 4) having a wall (314 sidewall, Fig. 4) and a flange extending outwardly from said wall (318 flange, Fig. 3C), said wall having
an outer surface (316 outer surface, Fig. 4) and an inner surface (326 interior surface, Fig. 4), said inner surface defining a through bore with a closed top end (326 creates a bore up to the interior surface of 304 web wherein 304 creates a closed top end).
Claim 13. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 12, wherein the flange has a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the wall of the body (diameter of 318 is greater than the diameter of 316, Fig. 4).
Claim 18. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 12, wherein the wall includes a plurality of spaced blocks on an inner surface of the wall (330 bead sections, Fig. 3C), said blocks extending from a top edge or a bottom edge of the body to a point between said top edge and said bottom edge of said body (330 extends from the bottom edge to a point between the bottom and top edge, Fig. 3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacNeil et al. (US10,011,207), in the second interpretation, ALONE.
Claim 1. A floor mat (100 floor mat, Fig. 1) for a vehicle having a floor (implicit for a vehicle floor mat; Col. 3, lines 25-26), the mat comprising:
a mat body having a core (102 mat implicitly comprising of a core, Fig. 1), an upper surface (104 upper surface, Fig. 1) and an opposing lower surface (200 lower surface, ,
a grommet (132 cap, Fig. 3-6), said grommet including
a body (cylindrical structure of 314 sidewall, Fig. 4) having a wall (314 sidewall, Fig. 4) and a flange extending outwardly from said wall (318 flange, Fig. 3C), said wall having
an outer surface (316 outer surface, Fig. 4) and an inner surface (326 interior surface, Fig. 4), said inner surface defining a through bore with a closed top end (326 creates a bore up to the interior surface of 304 web wherein 304 creates a closed top end).
MacNeil does not disclose: integrally formed with the mat body and contained between said upper surface and said lower surface.
MacNeil discloses the claimed invention except for the cap being integral to the mat. However, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success, to have made the cap integral or unitary to the mat, rather than from separate components, as it has been held that where the sub-components are used in the same way, constructing formerly separate structures as a one piece construction is a matter of obvious engineering choice and involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04, subsection V, paragraph B & In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Claim 2. MacNeil discloses: The floor mat of claim 1, wherein the flange has a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the wall of the body (diameter of 318 is greater than the diameter of 316, Fig. 4).
Claim 8. MacNeil discloses: The floor mat of claim 1, wherein the wall includes a plurality of spaced blocks on an inner surface of the wall (330 bead sections, Fig. 3C), said blocks extending from a top edge or a bottom edge of the body to a point between said top edge and said bottom edge of said body (330 extends from the bottom edge to a point between the bottom and top edge, Fig. 3C).
Claim 9. MacNeil discloses: The floor mat of claim 8, wherein each of said blocks include an inner guide surface (330 operates as a latch and inherently guides and/or centralizes, Fig. 4).
Claims 3-7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacNeil et al. (US10,011,207), in second interpretation, in view of Price et al. (US10,723,252)
Claim 3. MacNeil discloses: The floor mat of claim 1.
MacNeil does not disclose: the flange includes a plurality of slots.
Price discloses a floor mat with integral grommet is provided for a vehicle having a floor with at least one upstanding post.
Price teaches: the flange (44 flange, Fig. 2) includes a plurality of slots (46 slots, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the flange of MacNeil by including the slots as taught by Price with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow molten plastic that forms the mat to flow through and embed the flange into the core as taught by Price (Col. 3, lines 61-67).
Claim 4. MacNeil discloses: The floor mat of claim 1, wherein the wall includes a plurality of spaced blocks on an inner surface of the wall (330 bead sections, Fig. 3C).
MacNeil does not disclose: blocks extending from a top edge to a bottom edge of the body.
Price further teaches: blocks extending from a top edge to a bottom edge (58 blocks extending across the length of 32, Fig. 3) of the body (32 body, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blocks of MacNeil by including the blocks and/or ribs as taught by Price with a reasonable expectation of success in order to for the blocks and ribs to prevent inadvertent upward movement as taught by Price (Col. 4, lines 25-31).
Claim 5. MacNeil in view of Price teach: The floor mat of claim 4, wherein each of said blocks include an inner guide surface (Price: 40 inner surface inherently guides and/or centralizes, Fig. 3).
Claim 6. MacNeil in view of Price teach: The floor mat of claim 4, further comprising a plurality of ribs (Price: 56 rib like member, Fig. 3-4), each of said ribs extending between a different pair of said blocks (Price: rib-like member connected at respective ends to generally vertically-projecting blocks; Col. 4, lines 26-28).
Claim 7. MacNeil in view of Price teach: The floor mat of claim 6, wherein each of said ribs includes an inclined surface and a substantially flat upper surface (Price: as depicted, the rib includes an inclined surface on the bottom and top end, the upper surface of the rib is flat; Fig. 3-4).
Claim 10. MacNeil in view of Price teach: The floor mat of claim 8, further comprising a plurality of ribs (Price: plurality of 56, Fig. 2), each of said ribs extending between a different pair of said blocks (Price: plurality of 56 extends between a plurality of 58, Fig. 2).
Claim 11. MacNeil in view of Price teach: The floor mat of claim 1, further comprising an annular rib extending about an entire circumference of said inner surface of said wall (Price: 72 rib extends the entire circumference of the inner surface in a different embodiment, Fig. 7-10).
Claims 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacNeil et al. (US10,011,207), in first interpretation, in view of Price et al. (US10,723,252)
Claim 14. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 12.
MacNeil does not disclose: the flange includes a plurality of slots.
Price discloses a floor mat with integral grommet is provided for a vehicle having a floor with at least one upstanding post.
Price teaches: the flange (44 flange, Fig. 2) includes a plurality of slots (46 slots, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the flange of MacNeil by including the slots as taught by Price with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow molten plastic that forms the mat to flow through and embed the flange into the core as taught by Price (Col. 3, lines 61-67).
Claim 15. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 12, the wall includes a plurality of spaced blocks on an inner surface of the wall.
MacNeil does not disclose: blocks extending from a top edge to a bottom edge of the body.
Price further teaches: blocks extending from a top edge to a bottom edge (58 blocks extending across the length of 32, Fig. 3) of the body (32 body, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blocks of MacNeil by including the blocks and/or ribs as taught by Price with a reasonable expectation of success in order to for the blocks and ribs to prevent inadvertent upward movement as taught by Price (Col. 4, lines 25-31).
Claim 16. MacNeil in view of Prices teach: The grommet of claim 15, further comprising a plurality of ribs (Price: 56 rib like member, Fig. 3-4), each of said ribs extending between a different pair of said blocks (Price: rib-like member connected at respective ends to generally vertically-projecting blocks; Col. 4, lines 26-28).
Claim 17. MacNeil in view of Prices teach: The grommet of claim 16, wherein each of said ribs includes an inclined surface and a substantially flat upper surface (Price: as depicted, the rib includes an inclined surface on the bottom and top end, the upper surface of the rib is flat; Fig. 3-4).
Claim 19. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 18.
MacNeil does not disclose: further comprising a plurality of ribs, each of said ribs extending between a different pair of said blocks.
Price further teaches: further comprising a plurality of ribs (Price: 56 rib like member, Fig. 3-4), each of said ribs extending between a different pair of said blocks (Price: rib-like member connected at respective ends to generally vertically-projecting blocks; Col. 4, lines 26-28).
Claim 20. MacNeil discloses: The grommet of claim 12.
MacNeil does not disclose: further comprising an annular rib extending about an entire circumference of said inner surface of said wall.
Price further teaches: further comprising an annular rib extending about an entire circumference of said inner surface of said wall (Price: 72 rib extends the entire circumference of the inner surface in a different embodiment, Fig. 7-10).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676 /TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676