DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 03/07/2024, coinciding with the filing date of the Republic of Korea application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US12358529, referred to as Oh).
Regarding claim 1: Oh discloses: A driving control apparatus, comprising: a sensor device; a memory storing at least one instruction; and a processor operatively coupled to the sensor device and the memory, wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: ([0057] The location awareness module 210 may receive cognitive information from the cognitive sensor 201 . The location awareness module 210 may receive location information of the vehicle from the GPS 208 . The location awareness module 210 may receive high-definition map information from the high-definition map transmission module 205 . The location awareness module 210 may compare the cognitive information, the location information of the vehicle, and the high-definition map information and may output the location information of the vehicle and location awareness reliability information. The location awareness module 210 may transfer, to the road information convergence module 215 , the accurate location of the host vehicle that is a vehicle controlled by the vehicle control apparatus itself.) identify, based on a driving path, a situation in which a lane change is required for a host vehicle while controlling the host vehicle based on the driving path; based on information received from the sensor device, determine whether to perform biased driving, using a first distance from a lane change end point of a target lane to the host vehicle and a second distance from the lane change end point to a parked or stopped vehicle, wherein determining whether to perform the biased driving is based on the parked or stopped vehicle being identified in the target lane; and perform, based on a determination to perform the biased driving, the biased driving towards the target lane, ([0050] Referring to FIG. 1 C, the vehicle control apparatus may be configured such that a vehicle 131 travels while following a travel path 132 passing through the last lane adjacent to the shoulder of a road. When there is another vehicle 133 parked or stopped on the shoulder adjacent to the travel path 132 , the vehicle control apparatus may control the vehicle 131 such that the vehicle 131 travels along a bypass path 134 that bypasses the other vehicle 133 . [0051] The vehicle control apparatus may be configured such that a vehicle 141 travels while following a travel path 142 along which the vehicle 141 travels straight ahead on a specified lane. When there is another vehicle 143 that stops across a line while making a lane change in front of the travel path 142 , the vehicle control apparatus may control the vehicle 141 such that the vehicle 141 travels along a bypass path 144 that bypasses the other vehicle 143 . [0052] The vehicle control apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may control a vehicle such that the vehicle travels along a bypass path, by determining an optimum bypass path among a plurality of bypass paths based on a risk level in a drivable area around a travel path, a detour distance of a bypass path, and a preceding vehicle path and calculating a travel strategy through a selection of intersection of another vehicle on the bypass path, cut-in of another vehicle, in-pass of another vehicle, or another vehicle that is deflected.) using at least one of a position of the parked or stopped vehicle, a lateral length of the parked or stopped vehicle, or a lateral distance between the parked or stopped vehicle and the host vehicle, or any combination thereof. ([0104] Referring to FIG. 8, when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths.)
Regarding claim 2: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: determine a situation in which the lane change to the target lane is required, based on: an identified intersection at which a right turn is required within a specified distance from a current position of the host vehicle, the driving path, and the host vehicle not traveling in the target lane, and wherein the lane change end point corresponds to an end point capable of making the right turn. ([0104] Referring to FIG. 8, when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths.)
Regarding claim 3: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: based on information received from the sensor device, identify at least one other vehicle included in the target lane; and identify a first other vehicle, among the at least one other vehicle, meeting a speed condition as the parked or stopped vehicle, and wherein the first other vehicle is determined based on: a real-time driving speed of the first other vehicle being less than or equal to a first speed, or a real-time driving speed of the first other vehicle being less than or equal to a second speed greater than the first speed and a history of traveling at the first speed during a first time. ([0064] The control tracking path output module 245 may calculate a control tracking path of the vehicle based on the bypass path in the bypass situation. When the bypass situation is released, the control tracking path output module 245 may calculate the control tracking path of the vehicle, based on the general travel path. The control tracking path output module 245 may transfer the control tracking path to the speed profile output module 250 . [0065] The speed profile output module 250 may output a speed profile of the vehicle through information such as the curvature of the control tracking path, the gradient of the control tracking path, the speed limit of the control tracking path, and a preceding vehicle on the control tracking path. The speed profile output module 250 may transfer the speed profile and the control tracking path to the control parameter output module 255 . [0066] The control parameter output module 255 may calculate a controller input parameter, based on the speed profile and the control tracking path. The vehicle control apparatus 200 may control the vehicle to travel along a path set by calculating the controller input parameter. [0067] FIG. 3 is a view illustrating a situation in which a bypass path is required during travel of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0068] The vehicle control apparatus may control a vehicle 151 such that the vehicle 151 travels along a specified travel path 152 . Various situations may occur during autonomous driving of the vehicle 151 . For example, another vehicle 153 may be located in front of the travel path 152 . In another example, when the vehicle 151 crosses a railroad, a stop signal at the crossroads, an intersection with signals, a T-shaped intersection, a merge section, a highway, or a driving situation in a low-visibility environment may occur.)
Regarding claim 4: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: based on information received from the sensor device, identify at least one other vehicle included in the target lane; and identify a second other vehicle, among the at least one other vehicle, meeting a position condition as the parked or stopped vehicle, and wherein the second other vehicle is determined based on: a separation distance from a right line of the target lane being less than or equal to a first value and an average driving speed of an adjacent lane being greater than or equal to a third speed, or at least part of a vehicle body of the second other vehicle passing through the right line. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 5: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 3,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: after an identification of a third other vehicle, among the at least one other vehicle, not meeting the speed condition, determine the third other vehicle as the parked or stopped vehicle, based on the third other vehicle meeting the speed condition and a position condition during a second time greater than the first time. ([0064] The control tracking path output module 245 may calculate a control tracking path of the vehicle based on the bypass path in the bypass situation. When the bypass situation is released, the control tracking path output module 245 may calculate the control tracking path of the vehicle, based on the general travel path. The control tracking path output module 245 may transfer the control tracking path to the speed profile output module 250 . [0065] The speed profile output module 250 may output a speed profile of the vehicle through information such as the curvature of the control tracking path, the gradient of the control tracking path, the speed limit of the control tracking path, and a preceding vehicle on the control tracking path. The speed profile output module 250 may transfer the speed profile and the control tracking path to the control parameter output module 255 . [0066] The control parameter output module 255 may calculate a controller input parameter, based on the speed profile and the control tracking path. The vehicle control apparatus 200 may control the vehicle to travel along a path set by calculating the controller input parameter. [0067] FIG. 3 is a view illustrating a situation in which a bypass path is required during travel of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0068] The vehicle control apparatus may control a vehicle 151 such that the vehicle 151 travels along a specified travel path 152 . Various situations may occur during autonomous driving of the vehicle 151 . For example, another vehicle 153 may be located in front of the travel path 152 . In another example, when the vehicle 151 crosses a railroad, a stop signal at the crossroads, an intersection with signals, a T-shaped intersection, a merge section, a highway, or a driving situation in a low-visibility environment may occur.)
Regarding claim 6: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 3,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: after an identification of a fourth other vehicle included within a specified distance in a direction towards the host vehicle from the lane change end point, among the at least one other vehicle, determine the fourth other vehicle as the parked or stopped vehicle, based on the fourth other vehicle meeting the speed condition and a position condition during a third time greater than the first time. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 7: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: determine that there is a need to perform the biased driving, based on: the first distance from a first point of the host vehicle to the lane change end point being less than or equal to a first threshold distance; and the second distance from the lane change end point to a second point of a first parked or stopped vehicle furthest away from the host vehicle among parked or stopped vehicles including the parked or stopped vehicle being less than or equal to a second threshold distance smaller than the first threshold distance. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 8: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: identify a section corresponding to the lateral length of the parked or stopped vehicle as a biased driving maintenance section for the biased driving;
identify, using the lateral distance between the parked or stopped vehicle and the host vehicle and a width of the host vehicle, an offset; identify, based on the lateral distance and the offset, a biased target lateral distance; and perform the biased driving during the biased driving maintenance section, based on a biased driving path spaced apart from the center of the parked or stopped vehicle at the biased target lateral distance. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 9: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: identify a section from a first parked or stopped vehicle furthest away from the host vehicle to a second parked or stopped vehicle closest to the host vehicle, among parked or stopped vehicles including the parked or stopped vehicle, as a biased driving maintenance section for the biased driving; identify a specified parked or stopped vehicle with a smallest lateral distance from the host vehicle among the parked or stopped vehicles; identify, using a minimum lateral distance between the specified parked or stopped vehicle and the host vehicle and a width of the host vehicle, an offset; identify, based on the minimum lateral distance and the offset, a biased target lateral distance; and perform the biased driving during the biased driving maintenance section, based on a biased driving path spaced apart from the center of the specified parked or stopped vehicle at the biased target lateral distance. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 10: Oh discloses: The driving control apparatus of claim 1,
Oh further discloses: wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the driving control apparatus to: control the host vehicle to travel adjacent to the target lane at specified lateral acceleration or less, until the host vehicle enters a starting point of a biased driving maintenance section from a time point when it is determined that there is a need to perform the biased driving; control the host vehicle to travel along a biased driving path spaced apart from the center of the parked or stopped vehicle at a biased target lateral distance, until the host vehicle overtakes the parked or stopped vehicle from the starting point of the biased driving maintenance section; and perform lane change control to the lane change end point after the host vehicle overtakes the parked or stopped vehicle. ([0102] FIG. 8 is a view illustrating a method of determining a risk level in consideration of an expected path and collision time according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [0103] The vehicle control apparatus may calculate one bypass path by analyzing a plurality of paths. The most preferred path among the plurality of paths generated according to the method described with reference to FIG. 7 may be determined to be the one bypass path. [0104] Referring to FIG. 8 , when the preference criterion for determining the one bypass path is set to safety of the host vehicle during travel, among the paths along which the distance between the host vehicle and another vehicle is greater than or equal to a threshold value, a path along which the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is maximum may be set to be the one bypass path. However, without being limited thereto, the preference criterion may be changed or complemented by another method of ensuring driving stability, riding quality, or smoothness of driving. [0105] An expected path of the other vehicle and an expected path of the host vehicle calculated by the vehicle control apparatus may include location information of an object for each time. The vehicle control apparatus may calculate the expected relative distance dpoints (t) between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time by using the expected path of the other vehicle and the expected path of the host vehicle. [0106] When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle at arbitrary time t is shorter than a minimum threshold value Min_T, the vehicle control apparatus may determine that the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is very short enough to cause actual collision. The minimum threshold value Min_T may be minimum time during which the host vehicle is able to respond to prevent collision. When the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is shorter than the minimum threshold value Min_T, the corresponding path may cause a high risk, and therefore the vehicle control apparatus may exclude the corresponding path from candidate bypass paths. [0107] When the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may determine the path as a safe path. To determine whether the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time is consistently increased, the vehicle control apparatus may select a situation in which the interval between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is determined to be longer, by using values having meaningful statistical significance, such as the sum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle for each time, the average of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, the minimum of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle, or the median of the distances between the host vehicle and the other vehicle.)
Regarding claim 11: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A