DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2025 and 10/01/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 8, 14 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 lines 11, the occurrence of “functionailty” should be amended to --- “functionality”---
In claim 5 lines 1, the occurrence of “extablishing” should be amended to --- “establishing”---
In claim 8 lines 6, the occurrence of “plurlaity” should be amended to --- “plurality”---
In claim 14 lines 2, the occurrence of “communiation” should be amended to --- “communication”---
In claim 14 lines 2, the occurrence of “equipement” should be amended to --- “equipment”---
In claim 15 lines 5, the occurrence of “confgured” should be amended to --- “configured”---
In claim 15 lines 8, the occurrence of “plurlaity” should be amended to --- “plurlaity”---
In claim 15 lines 13, the occurrence of “detecing” should be amended to --- “detecting”---
In claim 16 lines 3, the occurrence of “equipement” should be amended to --- “equipment”---
In claim 17 lines 1, the occurrence of “teh” should be amended to --- “the”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 18 is objected because it is claiming the one or more storage devices in the preamble. However, claim 15 is a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium claim and it is not claiming any storage device. Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 8-12 and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 13-20 of Patent No. (US 12,132,767 B2) in view of Kakadia et al. [hereinafter as Kakadia], US 2009/0196183 A1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 8, the claim 1 of patent application discloses A system, the system comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
electronically establish communication with first one or more user equipment devices;
during a first time frame:
electronically receive one or more health check messages, each health check message being trans-mitted from at least one foreign node of one or more foreign nodes, each foreign node of the one or more foreign nodes having established communication with one or more user equipment devices;
electronically inspect each health check message of the one or more health check messages to determine whether a respective foreign node of the one or more foreign nodes is not operational;
electronically identify second one or more user equipment devices which were in communication with the respective foreign node before the respective foreign node was not operational based on at least one health check message received from the respective foreign node, wherein the second one or more user equipment devices are separate from the first one or more user equipment devices;
electronically record data indicating that the second one or more user equipment devices were previously connected to the respective foreign node before the foreign node was not operational;
electronically establish communication with the second one or more user equipment devices such that the system manages the established communications with the first one or more user equipment devices and the second one or more user equip-ment devices; and
during a second time frame after the first time frame:
electronically determine that the respective foreign node has become operational based on a health check message received from the respective foreign node; and
based on the determination that the respective foreign node has become operational:
electronically utilize the recorded data to identify the second one or more user equipment devices that were previously connected to the respective foreign node and to which communication has been established;
electronically re-establish communication with the respective foreign node after the respective foreign node has become operational, such that additional health check messages are able to be received from the respective foreign node; and
electronically cause the second one or more user equipment devices to re-establish communication with the respective foreign node.
The patent application does not disclose A system, the system comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: establish, by a node of a plurlaity of nodes, communication with one or more user equipment devices; manage, by the node, one or more network sessions for the one or more user equipment devices; communicate, by the node, with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions; transmit, by the node, a health check message to one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes; and in response to a resolution of a failure in a node during which connection to the one or more user equipment devices was lost and during which the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices were transferred to the one or more other nodes:
cause the node to resume communication with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions by transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node.
However, Kakadia discloses in response to a resolution of a failure in a node during which connection to the one or more user equipment devices was lost and during which the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices were transferred to the one or more other nodes (Fig.2-3 [0016] and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to the one or more user equipment devices was lost and during which the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices were transferred to the one or more other nodes as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 8 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 1 by eliminating the term "during a first time frame: electronically identify second one or more user equipment devices which were in communication with the respective foreign node before the respective foreign node was not operational based on at least one health check message received from the respective foreign node, wherein the second one or more user equipment devices are separate from the first one or more user equipment devices; electronically record data indicating that the second one or more user equipment devices were previously connected to the respective foreign node before the foreign node was not operational; during a second time frame after the first time frame: electronically utilize the recorded data to identify the second one or more user equipment devices that were previously connected to the respective foreign node and to which communication has been established; electronically re-establish communication with the respective foreign node after the respective foreign node has become operational, such that additional health check messages are able to be received from the respective foreign node …” from claim 1 from patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 9, the patent application does not disclose the health check message comprises a list of one or more user equipment devices.
However, Kakadia discloses the health check message comprises a list of one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0041] and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the health check message comprises a list of one or more user equipment devices as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 10, the patent application does not disclose the list of one or more user equipment devices includes at least one network address for each user equipment device identified in the list of one or more user equipment devices.
However, Kakadia discloses the list of one or more user equipment devices includes at least one network address for each user equipment device identified in the list of one or more user equipment devices (Fig.3 [0058] and Fig.3 [0059]-[0060]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the list of one or more user equipment devices includes at least one network address for each user equipment device identified in the list of one or more user equipment devices as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 11, the patent application does not disclose periodically generate a new health check message; and transmit the new health check message to the one or more other nodes.
However, Kakadia discloses periodically generate a new health check message; and transmit the new health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0055] and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include periodically generate a new health check message; and transmit the new health check message to the one or more other nodes as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 12, the patent application does not disclose the system further comprises a session border controller.
However, Kakadia discloses the system further comprises a session border controller (Fig.1 [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the system further comprises a session border controller as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 14, the patent application does not disclose a SIP request is transmitted to the one or more user equipment devices to establish communiation with the one or more user equipement devices.
However, Kakadia discloses a SIP request is transmitted to the one or more user equipment devices to establish communiation with the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1 [0051][0053] and Fig.14 [0103]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include a SIP request is transmitted to the one or more user equipment devices to establish communiation with the one or more user equipement devices as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 15, the claim 13 of patent application discloses A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores at least one of instructions or data, the instructions or data, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
establish communication with first one or more user equipment devices;
during a first time frame:
receive one or more health check messages, each health check message being transmitted from at least one foreign node of one or more foreign nodes, each foreign node of the one or more foreign nodes having established communication with one or more user equipment devices;
inspect each health check message of the one or more health check messages to determine whether a respective foreign node of the one or more foreign nodes is not operational;
identify second one or more user equipment devices which were in communication with the respective foreign node before the respective foreign node was not operational based on at least one health check message received from the respective foreign node, wherein the second one or more user equipment devices are separate from the first one or more user equipment devices;
record data indicating that the second one or more user equipment devices were previously connected to the respective foreign node before the foreign node was not operational;
establish communication with the second one or more user equipment devices such that the system manages the established communications with the first one or more user equipment devices and the second one or more user equipment devices; and
during a second time frame after the first time frame:
determine that the respective foreign node has become operational based on a health check message received from the respective foreign node; and
based on the determination that the respective foreign node has become operational:
utilize the recorded data to identify the second one or more user equipment devices that were previously connected to the respective foreign node and to which communication has been established;
re-establish communication with the respective foreign node after the respective foreign node has become operational, such that additional health check messages are able to be received from the respective foreign node; and
cause the second one or more user equipment devices to re-establish communication with the respective foreign node.
The patent application does not disclose A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores at least one of instructions or data, the instructions or data, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method comprising:
communicating, by a node of a plurality of nodes, with one or more user equipment devices via one or more network sessions, the node being confgured to manage the one or more network sessions;
transmitting, by the node, a health check message to one or more other nodes of the plurlaity of nodes;
in response to a loss of connection from the one or more user equipment devices due to a failure in the node, wherein the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices have been transferred to the one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes:
detect that the failure in the node has been resolved;
in response to detecing the resolution of the failure in the node:
transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes; and
re-establishing, by the node, communication with the one or more user equipement devices.
However, Kakadia discloses in response to a loss of connection from the one or more user equipment devices due to a failure in the node, wherein the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices have been transferred to the one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes (Fig.2-3 [0016], and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices have been transferred to the one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 15 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 13 by eliminating the term "during a first time frame: wherein the second one or more user equipment devices are separate from the first one or more user equipment devices;
record data indicating that the second one or more user equipment devices were previously connected to the respective foreign node before the foreign node was not operational; during a second time frame after the first time frame: utilize the recorded data to identify the second one or more user equipment devices that were previously connected to the respective foreign node and to which communication has been established …” from claim 1 from patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the patent application does not disclose the health check message comprises an indication of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipement devices.
However, Kakadia discloses the health check message comprises an indication of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1 [0041] and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the health check message comprises an indication of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipement devices as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 17, the patent application does not disclose teh health check message comprises an indication of a network address of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices.
However, Kakadia discloses teh health check message comprises an indication of a network address of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices (Fig.3 [0058] and Fig.3 [0059]-[0060]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include teh health check message comprises an indication of a network address of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 18, the patent application does not disclose periodically generating a new health check message; and transmitting the new health check message to the one or more other nodes.
However, Kakadia discloses periodically generating a new health check message; and transmitting the new health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0055] and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include periodically generating a new health check message; and transmitting the new health check message to the one or more other nodes as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 19, the patent application does not disclose establishing, by the node, communication with at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices via a SIP request transmitted to the at least one user equipment device.
However, Kakadia discloses establishing, by the node, communication with at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices via a SIP request transmitted to the at least one user equipment device (Fig.1 [0051][0053] and Fig.14 [0103]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include establishing, by the node, communication with at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices via a SIP request transmitted to the at least one user equipment device as taught by Kakadia is to be added in the patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakadia et al. [hereinafter as Kakadia], US 2009/0196183 A1 in view of Shukla et al. [hereinafter as Shukla], US 2018/0167420 A1 further in view of Hua et al. [hereinafter as Hua], US 2014/0359340 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kakadia discloses wherein a method in a node of a plurality of nodes (Fig.1 [0037], a radio access network/base station node), the method comprising:
establishing communication with one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0037], serving/establishing communication with one or more client devices/user equipment devices);
managing, one or more network sessions for the one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0014], managing one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more client devices/user equipment devices);
communicating, with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more
network sessions (Fig.1 [0037], the one or more mobile devices 13 are communicating to the base station node via the one or more multimedia network sessions);
transmitting, a health check message to one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes (Fig.1 [0041]-[0042], transmitting SIP signaling/health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43, a number of Session Border Controllers 45 and 47/ one or more other nodes and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages);
determining that the node has regained functionality after a failure in the node, which
caused a lost connection with the one or more user equipment devices and the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices being transferred to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2 [0044]-[0045][0055], detecting/determining that the node has recovered/ regained functionality after a rapid failure in the node and, which caused a fault i.e., lost connection with the one or more mobile devices 13 and the one or more multimedia network sessions of the one or more mobile devices 13 being forwarded/transferred to the one or more other nodes and Fig.13 [0099], B2BUA1 fails and the one or more mobile stations 13 has lost their connection to the RAN base station node after a failure in the node); and
based on a determination that the node has regained functionailty after the failure in the
node (Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], recovery from failure in the node):
transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other
nodes (Fig.1-2 [0044]-[0046], transmitting SIP traffic signaling/additional health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43 or 53 via various SIP servers),
the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node (Fig.11 [0095]-[0096], the SIP traffic signaling/additional health check message indicating that the B2BUA1 has recovered/regained e.g., reroute decision functionality following the detected failure in the B2BUA1 node and Fig.13 [0099], resuming SIP peering session with remote SIP Proxy); and
causing the one or more network sessions with the one or more user equipment
devices to be transferred back to the node (Fig.1 [0009][0043]-[0044], causing the one or more multimedia network sessions of the one or more mobile devices 13 to be forwarded/transferred back to the B2BUA1 node).
Even though Kakadia discloses wherein transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node, in the same field of endeavor, Shukla teaches wherein transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2&4 [0045], at block 430 communicating the active SIP session/ health check messages to the SIP server/the respective foreign node based on a session ID),
the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node (Fig.1-2&4-5 [0046]-[0047], the active session information message indicating that the SIP server is, at block 440 re-establishing/resuming the failover management of the one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more user agents/user equipment devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia to incorporate the teaching of Shukla in order to achieve media identification and negotiation.
It would have been beneficial to use the failover management system which provides the active session ID and the peer SIP server may access the active session information from the active session data store. The failover management system
may continue to re-establish sessions on one or more peer SIP servers from the unavailable SIP server as taught by Shukla to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia to provide services for multimedia communication sessions over a network connection. (Shukla, Fig.1 [0010], Fig.1-2&4 [0044]-[0046] and Fig.5 [0047])
Even though Kakadia and Shukla discloses wherein transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node, in the same field of endeavor, Hua teaches wherein
based on a determination that the node has regained functionailty after the failure in the
node (Fig.1-2 [0040], at step 208 based on the determination that the primary application server is available/ recovery from failure in the node and Fig.4 [0047], the primary application server 330 recovers):
transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other
nodes (Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], at step 210 transmitting a notification of heartbeat signaling to presence server/the respective other node, communication with the serving network element that the primary application server has become available and Fig.4 [0048], presence server 350 is identifying the application server 330 responds of recovering based on its SIP address in the SIP PUBLISH request/additional health check messages are received from the application server 330 with a SIP 200 OK); and causing the one or more network sessions with the one or more user equipment
devices to be transferred back to the node (Fig.1-2 [0043], at step 212, switch back to the primary application server/ resuming management of the one or more network sessions with the one or more user equipment devices to provide the service and Fig.4 [0048], switches back to the application server 330 by sending SIP requests for the service again available at the application server 330 instead of application server 340 with the SIP 200 OK/reestablish communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia and Shukla to incorporate the teaching of Hua in order to provide various voice and data services.
It would have been beneficial to use serving network element 130 which receives the notification in step 210, and switches back to primary application server 140 as taught by Hua to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia and Shukla to provide a service for a session. (Hua, Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.1-2 [0040], Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], Fig.4 [0047] and Fig.4 [0048])
Regarding claim 2, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses generating, the health check message, wherein the health check message indicates each user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0041], a number of Session Border Controllers of the core network 39/a foreign node is generating the SIP signaling and indicating the users’ mobile stations 13 are in communication with the RAN base station node and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 3, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the health check message includes a network address for each user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices indicated by the health check message (Fig.3 [0058], the SIP signaling is including the source IP address for the SIP Client 61 and Fig.3 [0059]-[0060], the network address of the address(es) listed for each SIP client).
Regarding claim 4, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses periodically generating, a new health check message (Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], SBC foreign node is generating another/new health heart beat information/health check message when the BFD session is operating); and
periodically transmitting, the new health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0055], transmitting the SIP signaling/ the one or more health check messages periodically to check or ‘ping’ and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 5, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses extablishing communication with the one or more user equipment devices comprises a SIP request (Fig.1 [0051], communicating with the detected SIP client includes SIP requests, Fig.1 [0053], including a SIP request; Fig.14 [0103]).
Regarding claim 6, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the node comprises a session border controller (Fig.1 [0042], the base station node includes a session border controller “SBC” devices).
Regarding claim 8, Kakadia discloses wherein a system (Fig.1 [0034], a system), the system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.17-18 [0110], one or more processors); and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system (Fig.17-18 [0110], various types of memory storage media coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system) to:
establish, by a node of a plurlaity of nodes, communication with one or more user
equipment devices (Fig.1 [0037], serving/establishing communication with one or more client devices/user equipment devices);
manage, by the node, one or more network sessions for the one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0014], managing one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more client devices/user equipment devices and Fig.1 [0110]-[0111], one or more processors);
communicate, by the node, with the one or more user equipment devices via the
one or more network sessions (Fig.1 [0037], the one or more mobile devices 13 are communicating to the base station node via the one or more multimedia network sessions and Fig.1 [0110]-[0111], one or more processors);
transmit, by the node, a health check message to one or more other nodes of the
plurality of nodes (Fig.1 [0041]-[0042], transmitting SIP signaling/health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43, a number of Session Border Controllers 45 and 47/ one or more other nodes and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages); and
in response to a resolution of a failure in a node during which connection to the
one or more user equipment devices was lost and during which the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices were transferred to the one or more other nodes (Fig.2-3 [0016], losing connection from the one or more clients/user equipment devices due to a failure in the node and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], a particular SIP signaling node is subject to less than a desired level of performance e.g., falls to some level/a failure in the node and during which the one or more multimedia network sessions of the one or more mobile devices 13 being forwarded/transferred to the one or more other nodes and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], recovery from failure in the node):
cause the node to resume communication with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions by transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0009][0043]-[0044], causing the one or more multimedia network sessions by the B2BUA1 node and Fig.1-2 [0044]-[0046], transmitting SIP traffic signaling/additional health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43 or 53 via various SIP servers and Fig.13 [0099], resuming SIP peering session with remote SIP Proxy),
the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node (Fig.11 [0095]-[0096], the SIP traffic signaling/additional health check message indicating that the B2BUA1 has recovered/regained e.g., reroute decision functionality following the detected failure in the B2BUA1 node and Fig.13 [0099], resuming SIP peering session with remote SIP Proxy).
Even though Kakadia discloses wherein cause the node to resume communication with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions by transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node., in the same field of endeavor, Shukla teaches wherein cause the node to resume communication with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions by transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2&4 [0045], at block 430 communicating the active SIP session/ health check messages to the SIP server/the respective foreign node based on a session ID),
the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node (Fig.1-2&4-5 [0046]-[0047], the active session information message indicating that the SIP server is, at block 440 re-establishing/resuming the failover management of the one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more user agents/user equipment devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia to incorporate the teaching of Shukla in order to achieve media identification and negotiation.
It would have been beneficial to use the failover management system which provides the active session ID and the peer SIP server may access the active session information from the active session data store. The failover management system
may continue to re-establish sessions on one or more peer SIP servers from the unavailable SIP server as taught by Shukla to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia to provide services for multimedia communication sessions over a network connection. (Shukla, Fig.1 [0010], Fig.1-2&4 [0044]-[0046] and Fig.5 [0047])
Even though Kakadia and Shukla discloses wherein transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node, in the same field of endeavor, Hua teaches wherein
in response to a resolution of a failure in a node during which connection to the
one or more user equipment devices was lost and during which the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices were transferred to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2 [0040], at step 208 based on the determination that the primary application server is available/ recovery from failure in the node and Fig.4 [0047], the primary application server 330 recovers):
cause the node to resume communication with the one or more user equipment devices via the one or more network sessions by transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], at step 210 transmitting a notification of heartbeat signaling to presence server/the respective other node, communication with the serving network element that the primary application server has become available and Fig.4 [0048], presence server 350 is identifying the application server 330 responds of recovering based on its SIP address in the SIP PUBLISH request/additional health check messages are received from the application server 330 with a SIP 200 OK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia and Shukla to incorporate the teaching of Hua in order to provide various voice and data services.
It would have been beneficial to use serving network element 130 which receives the notification in step 210, and switches back to primary application server 140 as taught by Hua to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia and Shukla to provide a service for a session. (Hua, Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.1-2 [0040], Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], Fig.4 [0047] and Fig.4 [0048])
Regarding claim 9, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the health check message comprises a list of one or more user equipment devices (Fig.1 [0041], a list of one or more users’ mobile stations 13 in communication with a number of Session Border Controllers of the core network 39/a foreign node and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 10, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the list of one or more user equipment devices includes at least one network address for each user equipment device in the list of one or more user equipment devices (Fig.3 [0058], the SIP Client 61 is including the source IP address and Fig.3 [0059]-[0060], the network address of the address(es) listed for each SIP client).
Regarding claim 11, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
periodically generate a new health check message (Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], SBC foreign node is generating another/new health heart beat information/health check message when the BFD session is operating); and
transmit the new health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0055], transmitting the SIP signaling/ the one or more health check messages periodically to check or ‘ping’ and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 12, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the system further comprises a session border controller (Fig.1 [0042], the system base station includes a session border controller “SBC” devices).
Regarding claim 14, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses a SIP request is transmitted to the one or more user equipment devices to establish communiation with the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1 [0051][0053], transmitting a SIP request to the one or more mobile/user equipment devices to communicate with the one or more mobile/user equipment devices; Fig.14 [0103]).
Regarding claim 15, Kakadia discloses wherein a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores at least one of instructions or data, the instructions or data, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method comprising (Fig.1&17-18 [0110]-[0111], a non-transitory processor-readable e.g., various types of memory or storage media (RAM, ROM, EEPROM, cache memory, disk drives, etc.) collectively storing a node reconnection data structure for access and processing by a program executed by at least one or more processors/one computer processor that, when accessed and processed by at least one computer processor including a central processing unit “CPU” for code and data storage and Fig.3 [0058], a new session establish message and Fig.13 [0099], reconnecting SIP peering session):
communicating, by a node of a plurality of nodes, with one or more user equipment
devices via one or more network sessions (Fig.1 [0037], the one or more mobile devices 13 are communicating to the base station node via the one or more multimedia network sessions and Fig.1 [0110]-[0111], one or more processors), the node being confgured to manage the one or more network sessions (Fig.1 [0014], managing one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more client devices/user equipment devices);
transmitting, by the node, a health check message to one or more other nodes of the
plurlaity of nodes (Fig.1 [0041]-[0042], transmitting SIP signaling/health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43, a number of Session Border Controllers 45 and 47/ one or more other nodes and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages);
in response to a loss of connection from the one or more user equipment devices due to a failure in the node, wherein the one or more network sessions of the one or more user equipment devices have been transferred to the one or more other nodes of the plurality of nodes (Fig.2-3 [0016], losing connection from the one or more clients/user equipment devices due to a failure in the node and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], a particular SIP signaling node is subject to less than a desired level of performance e.g., falls to some level/a failure in the node and during which the one or more multimedia network sessions of the one or more mobile devices 13 being forwarded/transferred to the one or more other nodes and Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], recovery from failure in the node):
detect that the failure in the node has been resolved (Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], recovery from failure in the node);
in response to detecing the resolution of the failure in the node (Fig.1 [0044]-[0045], recovery from failure in the node):
transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2 [0044]-[0046], transmitting SIP traffic signaling/additional health check message to the one or more SIP servers 43 or 53 via various SIP servers); and
re-establishing, by the node, communication with the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1-2 [0043], at step 212, switch back to the primary application server/ resuming management of the one or more network sessions with the one or more user equipment devices to provide the service and Fig.4 [0048], switches back to the application server 330 by sending SIP requests for the service again available at the application server 330 instead of application server 340 with the SIP 200 OK/reestablish communication).
Even though Kakadia discloses wherein transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes; and re-establishing, by the node, communication with the one or more user equipement devices, in the same field of endeavor, Shukla teaches wherein transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2&4 [0045], at block 430 communicating the active SIP session/ health check messages to the SIP server/the respective foreign node based on a session ID); and
re-establishing, by the node, communication with the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1-2&4-5 [0046]-[0047], the active session information message indicating that the SIP server is, at block 440 re-establishing/resuming the failover management of the one or more multimedia network sessions with the one or more user agents/user equipment devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia to incorporate the teaching of Shukla in order to achieve media identification and negotiation.
It would have been beneficial to use the failover management system which provides the active session ID and the peer SIP server may access the active session information from the active session data store. The failover management system
may continue to re-establish sessions on one or more peer SIP servers from the unavailable SIP server as taught by Shukla to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia to provide services for multimedia communication sessions over a network connection. (Shukla, Fig.1 [0010], Fig.1-2&4 [0044]-[0046] and Fig.5 [0047])
Even though Kakadia and Shukla discloses wherein transmitting, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes, the at least one additional health check message indicating that the node has regained functionality following the failure in the node, in the same field of endeavor, Hua teaches wherein
in response to detecing the resolution of the failure in the node (Fig.1-2 [0040], at step 208 based on the determination that the primary application server is available/ recovery from failure in the node and Fig.4 [0047], the primary application server 330 recovers):
transmitting, by the node, at least one additional health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], at step 210 transmitting a notification of heartbeat signaling to presence server/the respective foreign node, communication with the serving network element that the primary application server has become available and Fig.4 [0048], presence server 350 is identifying the application server 330 responds of recovering based on its SIP address in the SIP PUBLISH request/additional health check messages are received from the application server 330 with a SIP 200 OK); and
re-establishing, by the node, communication with the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1-2 [0043], at step 212, switch back to the primary application server/ resuming management of the one or more network sessions with the one or more user equipment devices to provide the service and Fig.4 [0048], switches back to the application server 330 by sending SIP requests for the service again available at the application server 330 instead of application server 340 with the SIP 200 OK/reestablish communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia and Shukla to incorporate the teaching of Hua in order to provide various voice and data services.
It would have been beneficial to use serving network element 130 which receives the notification in step 210, and switches back to primary application server 140 as taught by Hua to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia and Shukla to provide a service for a session. (Hua, Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.1-2 [0040], Fig.1-2 [0042]-[0043], Fig.4 [0047] and Fig.4 [0048])
Regarding claim 16, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the health check message comprises an indication of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipement devices (Fig.1 [0041], a number of Session Border Controllers of the core network 39/a foreign node is generating the SIP signaling and indicating the users’ mobile stations 13 are in communication with the RAN base station node and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 17, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses teh health check message comprises an indication of a network address of at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices (Fig.3 [0058], the SIP signaling is including the source IP address for the SIP Client 61 and Fig.3 [0059]-[0060], the network address of the address(es) listed for each SIP client).
Regarding claim 18, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses periodically generating, a new health check message (Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], SBC foreign node is generating another/new health heart beat information/health check message when the BFD session is operating); and
transmitting the new health check message to the one or more other nodes (Fig.1 [0055], transmitting the SIP signaling/ the one or more health check messages periodically to check or ‘ping’ and Fig.7-8 [0082]-[0083], health heart beat information indicating one or more health check messages).
Regarding claim 19, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses establishing, by the node, communication with at least one user equipment device of the one or more user equipment devices via a SIP request transmitted to the at least one user equipment device (Fig.1 [0051], communicating with the detected SIP client includes SIP requests, Fig.1 [0053], including a SIP request; Fig.14 [0103]).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakadia et al. [hereinafter as Kakadia], US 2009/0196183 A1 in view of Shukla et al. [hereinafter as Shukla], US 2018/0167420 A1 in view of Hua et al. [hereinafter as Hua], US 2014/0359340 A1 further in view of Fernandez Alonso et al. [hereinafter as Fernandez Alonso], US 2013/0010804 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the node comprises a proxy call session control function (Fig.1 [0034], SIP signaling for session control purposes and Fig.4 [0069], SIP Proxy server for session control function).
Even though Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose wherein SIP signaling for session control purposes and SIP Proxy server for session control function, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez Alonso teaches wherein the node comprises a proxy call session control function (Fig.1 [0002], the system further comprises a proxy call session control function, hereinafter P-CSCF and Fig.1 [0015], the system further comprises a proxy call session control function, hereinafter P-CSCF server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia, Shukla and Hua to incorporate the teaching of Fernandez Alonso in order to achieve the main challenge of the IMS Restoration procedure.
It would have been beneficial to use the PCEF server with DPI capabilities capturing a first registration message submitted from the UE towards a first P-CSCF server selected from the first list of available P-CSCF servers as taught by Fernandez Alonso to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia, Shukla and Hua to provide for detecting a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) identifier such as a P-CSCF address during the initial IMS registration. (Fernandez Alonso, Fig.1 [0002], Fig.1 [0012] and Fig.1 [0015])
Regarding claim 13, Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Kakadia further discloses the system further comprises a proxy call session control function (Fig.1 [0034], SIP signaling for session control purposes and Fig.4 [0069], SIP Proxy server for session control function).
Even though Kakadia, Shukla and Hua disclose wherein SIP signaling for session control purposes and SIP Proxy server for session control function, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez Alonso teaches wherein the system further comprises a proxy call session control function (Fig.1 [0002], the system further comprises a proxy call session control function, hereinafter P-CSCF and Fig.1 [0015], the system further comprises a proxy call session control function, hereinafter P-CSCF server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Kakadia, Shukla and Hua to incorporate the teaching of Fernandez Alonso in order to achieve the main challenge of the IMS Restoration procedure.
It would have been beneficial to use the PCEF server with DPI capabilities capturing a first registration message submitted from the UE towards a first P-CSCF server selected from the first list of available P-CSCF servers as taught by Fernandez Alonso to have incorporated in the system of Kakadia, Shukla and Hua to provide for detecting a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) identifier such as a P-CSCF address during the initial IMS registration. (Fernandez Alonso, Fig.1 [0002], Fig.1 [0012] and Fig.1 [0015])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chandrasekaran (Pub. No.: US 2022/0046119 A1) teaches Handling SIP Messages with Malformed Header Fields.
Asveren et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0192772 A1) teaches Methods and Apparatus for Detecting, Eliminating and/or Mitigating Split Brain Occurrences in High Availability.
Boucadair et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0034079 A1) teaches Service Management in a Network.
Muravlyannikov et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0306383 A1) teaches Media Flow Control for Direct Routing in Network-Based Telephony.
Farrugia et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0223492 A1) teaches Node Failure Detection System and Method for SIP Sessions in Communication Networks.
Buck et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0389491 A1) teaches Mobile Device Security Using a Secure Execution Context.
Swenson et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0322242 A1) teaches Real-Time Network Monitoring and Subscriber Identification with an On-Demand Appliance.
Michael et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0238449 A1) teaches High Performance Software-Defined Core Network.
Bisht et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0177486 A1) teaches Inline Stateful Monitoring Request Generation for SDN.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414