DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on August 20, 2026 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 6-9, and 13-15 have been amended; and claims 2, 4-5, and 10-12 are canceled. Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 6-9, and 13-15 are pending in this application, with an action on the merits to follow regarding claims 1, 3, 6-9, and 13-15,
Because of the applicant's amendment, the following in the office action filed May 21, 2026, are hereby withdrawn:
Double Patenting rejection (as a terminal disclaimer has been approved);
Objections to the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the membrane (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 7 recites, “when the body is in the relaxed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are spaced from the plane defined by the supporting surface of the body”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 8 recites, “when the body is in the compressed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are positioned on or below the plane defined by the supporting surface of the body”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7-9 (and claims 3, 6, and 13-15 at least for depending from a rejected claim) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “a membrane at a dorsal surface spanning a top edge of each of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls”. First, as the claim is formatted, it is unclear if the membrane is a part of the body or a structure in addition to the body. In addition, as the claim previously recites, “a convex dorsal surface”, it is unclear if “a dorsal surface” is referring to the convex dorsal surface previously recited or to an addition/different dorsal surface. Further, as a membrane is not pointed to in the drawings, and as a membrane generally refers to a thin pliable sheet of material, it is unclear as to what is meant by a membrane in terms of the disclosed invention. Instead, what is shown in Fig. 15b is an insole body 50 that comprises the previously claimed dorsal surface 48. Therefore, for purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted the membrane to be the portion of 43 that creates the dorsal surface 48 and from which the plurality of walls project downward.
Claim 7 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein, when the body is in the relaxed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are spaced from the plane defined by the supporting surface of the body.” First, “the bottom edges” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear if “the bottom edges” is referring to the plantar surface or a different part of the vertical walls. Further “the supporting surface of the body” also lacks antecedent basis in the claims and as Figs. 15A-C shows the supporting surface at 60 which is not part of the body of the arch support, it is unclear what structure “the supporting surface of the body” is referring to.
Claim 8 is indefinite as it recites, “when the body is in the compressed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are positioned on or below from the plane defined by the supporting surface of the body.” First, “the bottom edges” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear if “the bottom edges” is referring to the plantar surface or a different part of the vertical walls. Further “the supporting surface of the body” also lacks antecedent basis in the claims and as Figs. 15A-C shows the supporting surface at 60 which is not part of the body of the arch support, it is unclear what structure “the supporting surface of the body” is referring to.
Claim 9 is indefinite as it recites, “when the body is in the compressed position, a top edge of each of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls is configured deform the membrane to produce a plurality of stimuli on the arch of the foot.” First, it is unclear if “a top edge” is referring to the same top edge recited in claim 1 or a different top edge. Further, such a limitation is a functional limitation but does not claim any structural limitation such as differences in materials and the hardness thereof that would result in such stimuli and therefore it is unclear how the top edges deform the membrane. Therefore it is unclear as to the meaning of the claim and when infringement would occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardiner (US 2013/0312280).
Regarding claim 1, Gardiner discloses an arch support (30, see Figs. 30-36) for a shoe that receives a foot (as understood from para. 0002), the arch support comprising: a body (40) and configured to interface with an arch of the foot (see para. 0073), wherein the body includes a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40, disclosed as resiliently deformable, see para. 0075-0076) extending downwardly from a convex dorsal surface (surface seen where 40 is pointing in Fig. 35); a membrane at a dorsal surface spanning a top edge of each of the plurality of resiliently deformable wall (as best as can be understood based on the 35 USC 112(b) rejections above, the upper portion of the body that includes the dorsal surface and connects to the top edge of each of walls is considered the membrane, see annotated Fig. 35); wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of deformable vertical walls includes a plantar surface, wherein the plantar surfaces of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are aligned to form a collective plantar surface (see annotated Fig. 35, and note the plantar surfaces can be connected by a line and form a surface that faces downward); wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of vertical walls are interconnected (honeycomb pattern, best seen in Fig. 33 and disclosed in para. 0092).
Regarding claim 13, Gardiner discloses wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40) form a honeycomb pattern (see para. 0092)
Regarding claim 14, Gardiner discloses wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are connected to the membrane (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 35).
Regarding claim 15, Gardiner discloses wherein each wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are selected from the group consisting of a honeycomb pattern, a plurality of polygons, a plurality of circles, and a plurality of oblong rounded shapes (see para. 0092).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 2019/0035849) in view of Gardiner.
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses an arch support (14) for a shoe (1) that receives a foot (as understood from Fig. 1), the arch support comprising: a body (body of having a dome shape (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5, the area 141 is a dome shape) and configured to interface with an arch of the foot (see para. 0020), wherein the body includes a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls extending downwardly from a convex dorsal surface (see annotated Fig. 4-5 and para. 20 where 14 is elastically deformable and therefore the structures of 14 are as well); and a membrane at a dorsal surface spanning a top edge of each of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (as best as can be understood based on the 35 USC 112(b) rejections above, the upper portion of the body that includes the dorsal surface and connects to the top edge of each of walls is considered the membrane); wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls includes a plantar surface, wherein the plantar surfaces of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are aligned to form a collective plantar surface (see annotated Fig. 5, and note the plantar surfaces/bottom surface can be connected by a line and form a surface that faces the insole 16).
The vertical walls of Hsieh appear to be interconnected from Figs. 4 and 5, but Hsieh does not expressly disclose wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are interconnected.
Gardiner teaches a dynamic arch stabilization and rehabilitation insole device and wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40) are interconnected (honeycomb pattern, best seen in Fig. 33 and disclosed in para. 0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to interconnect the vertical walls of Hsieh, as taught by Gardiner, to effectively prevent the walls from being buckled, by ideally and evenly distributing the weight of the wearer, even though repeated fatigue loads are generated due to the long-term use.
Regarding claim 3, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses wherein the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls define a plurality of holes (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses wherein the body is configured to move between a relaxed position and a compressed position during use (see para. 0020).
Regarding claim 7, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses when the body is in the relaxed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are spaced from the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5, there is a space 4, the portion of which above the plane is between the bottom edges of the vertical walls and the outer wall).
Regarding claim 8, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses wherein, when the body is in the compressed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are positioned on or below the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body (as when compressed by the weight of at least one wearer, the bottom edges would touch insole 16 and therefore be at or below the plane shown in annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses when the body is in the compressed position, the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are configured to produce a plurality of stimuli on the arch of the foot (as when compressed with enough weight, the material creating the walls would produce at least a small amount of stimulation at each top edge for at least one wearer with high sensitivity).
Regarding claim 13, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (as the walls of Hsieh have been modified to be like the walls between each cavity 100 of 40 of Gardiner) form a honeycomb pattern (see para. 0092 of Gardiner)
Regarding claim 14, the modified arch support Hsieh discloses wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are connected to the membrane (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, the modified arch support of Hsieh discloses wherein each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (as the walls of Hsieh have been modified to be like the walls between each cavity 100 of 40 of Gardiner) are selected from the group consisting of a honeycomb pattern, a plurality of polygons, a plurality of circles, and a plurality of oblong rounded shapes (see para. 0092 of Gardiner).
Annotated Fig. 4 (Hsieh)
Annotated Fig. 5 (Hsieh)
Annotated Fig. 35 (Gardiner)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 20, 2026, with respect to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections of claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. Applicant’s arguments, which appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Kim (US 2009/0145003) and Conforti (US 2008/0313927) each teaches arch supports with honeycomb patterns projecting downwards, and Polifroni (US 6681501) and Alzner (US 3543765) each teaches arch supports with vertical walls,
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732