DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VI, Sub-species B in the reply filed on January 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 1-15 are pending in this application, with an action on the merits to follow regarding claims 1-15.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11058169. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 11058169 includes all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application including a dome shaped body, a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls extending downward from the dorsal surface of the body, and bottom surfaces (which would be part of the bottom edges) of the walls forming a plantar surface.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12102185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 12102185 includes all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application including a body having a dome shape, a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls extending downwardly from a convex dorsal surface, and bottom edges of the walls aligned to form a plantar surface. Further mapping is shown in the following chart.
Claims of 18/903804
relationship
Claims of US 12102185
1
broader than
1
2
same as
2
3
same as
3
4
same as
4
5
same as
5
6
same as
6
7
same as
7
8
same as
8
9
same as
9
10
same as
10
11
same as
11
12
same as
12
13
same as
13
14
same as
14
15
same as
15
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the membrane (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "49” (paras. 0160-0061) and "47" (paras. 0148 and 0161-0162) have both been used to designate intersections and plantar surfaces.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “49” has been used to designate both intersections (para. 0160) and plantar surfaces (para. 0160); and reference character “47” has been used to designate both intersections (para. 0160) and plantar surfaces (para. 0148).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 41 (para. 0137) and 40 (para. 0142).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 1 recites, “a bottom edge” and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 2 recites, “the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls” and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 4 recites, “an outer wall surrounding the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls” which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the outer wall includes a base surface defining a plane”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 7 recites, “when the body is in the relaxed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are spaced from the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 8 recites, “when the body is in the compressed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are positioned on or below the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 10 recites, “wherein the outer wall includes a stepped surface”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 11 recites, “wherein the stepped surface of the outer wall is configured to engage with an insole”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification;
Claim 14 recites, “wherein the body includes an outer wall surrounding the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls”, which has not discussed in the specification and such terminology does not appear in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should recite, “where each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls, wherein the bottom edge[[s]] of each vertical wall of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls”;
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the top edges" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim;
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the top edges" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 9, and 12-15 (and claims 3-8 and 10-11 at least for depending from a rejected claim) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein each vertical wall includes a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are aligned to form a plantar surface.” It is unclear how the bottom edge of each vertically wall forms a plantar surface as “plantar” generally means “of or relating to the sole of the foot” and yet, as shown in Figs. 15b, the bottom edge of the vertical walls appears to be at 49 which faces a support surface and not a sole of the foot.
Claim 2 is indefinite as it recites, “comprising a membrane spanning the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls.” As a membrane is not pointed to in the drawings, and as a membrane generally refers to a thin pliable sheet of material, it is unclear as to what is meant by a membrane in terms of the disclosed invention. Instead, what is shown in Fig. 15b is an insole body 50 that comprises the previously claimed dorsal surface 48. Therefore, for purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted the membrane to be the dorsal surface of the arch support from which the plurality of walls project downward.
Claim 9 is indefinite as it recites, “when the body is in the compressed position, the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are configured to produce a plurality of stimuli on the arch of the foot.” Such a limitation is a functional limitation but does not claim any structural limitation such as differences in materials and the hardness thereof that would result in such stimuli and therefore it is unclear how the top edges would produce stimuli given that there is a dorsal surface above the walls. Therefore it is unclear as to the meaning of the claim and when infringement would occur.
Claims 12-15 are indefinite as each recites, “the resiliently deformable vertical walls of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls”. As this limitation is repetitive it is unclear what meaning Applicant has intended. Further, as claim 1 recites, “each vertical wall”, it is unclear if “the resiliently deformable vertical walls” is referring to each vertical wall or something different. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to recite, “each vertical wall[[s]] of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh (US 2019/0035849).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses an arch support (14) for a shoe (1) that receives a foot (as understood from Fig. 1), the arch support comprising: a body (body of having a dome shape (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5, the area 141 is a dome shape) and configured to interface with an arch of the foot (see para. 0020), wherein the body includes a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls extending downwardly from a convex dorsal surface (see annotated Fig. 4-5 and para. 20 where 14 is elastically deformable and therefore the structures of 14 are as well); wherein each vertical wall includes a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are aligned to form a plantar surface (see annotated Fig. 5, and note the bottom edges can be connected by a line and form a surface that faces the insole 16).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh discloses comprising a membrane spanning the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (as best as can be understood based on the 35 USC 112(b) rejections above, the upper portion of the body that includes the dorsal surface and connects teach of walls is considered the membrane).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh discloses wherein the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls define a plurality of holes (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hsieh discloses wherein the body includes an outer wall surrounding the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (see annotated Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh discloses wherein the outer wall includes a base surface defining a plane (see annotated Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh discloses wherein the body is configured to move between a relaxed position and a compressed position during use (see para. 0020).
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh discloses when the body is in the relaxed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are spaced from the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5, there is a space 4, the portion of which above the plane is between the bottom edges of the vertical walls and the outer wall).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh discloses wherein, when the body is in the compressed position, the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are positioned on or below the plane defined by the base surface of the outer wall of the body (as when compressed by the weight of at least one wearer, the bottom edges would touch insole 16 and therefore be at or below the plane shown in annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Hsieh discloses when the body is in the compressed position, the top edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are configured to produce a plurality of stimuli on the arch of the foot (as when compressed with enough weight, the material creating the walls would produce at least a small amount of stimulation at each top edge for at least one wearer with high sensitivity).
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh discloses wherein the outer wall includes a stepped surface (as can be seen in Fig. 4, the outer wall has a stepped surface as it is formed by a surface that has 2 portions that are at different angles that greater that 90 degrees from each other).
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh discloses wherein the stepped surface of the outer wall is configured to engage with an insole (as at least a portion of the surface, when compressed would engage with insole 16, see Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 1 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardiner (US 2013/0312280).
Regarding claim 1, Gardiner discloses an arch support (30, see Figs. 30-36) for a shoe that receives a foot (as understood from para. 0002), the arch support comprising: a body (40) and configured to interface with an arch of the foot (see para. 0073), wherein the body includes a plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40, disclosed as resiliently deformable, see para. 0075-0076) extending downwardly from a convex dorsal surface (surface seen where 40 is pointing in Fig. 35); wherein each vertical wall includes a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edges of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are aligned to form a plantar surface (see annotated Fig. 35, and note the bottom edges can be connected by a line and form a surface that faces downward).
Regarding claim 12, Gardiner discloses wherein the resiliently deformable vertical walls of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40) are interconnected (honeycomb pattern, best seen in Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 13, Gardiner discloses wherein the resiliently deformable vertical walls of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls (walls between each cavity 100 of 40) form a honeycomb pattern (see para. 0092)
Regarding claim 14, Gardiner discloses wherein the body includes an outer wall surrounding the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls, and wherein the resiliently deformable vertical walls of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are connected to the outer wall (as can be seen in Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 15, Gardiner discloses wherein the resiliently deformable vertical walls of the plurality of resiliently deformable vertical walls are selected from the group consisting of a honeycomb pattern, a plurality of polygons, a plurality of circles, and a plurality of oblong rounded shapes (see para. 0092).
Annotated Fig. 4 (Hsieh)
Annotated Fig. 5 (Hsieh)
Annotated Fig. 35 (Gardiner)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Kim (US 2009/0145003) and Conforti (US 2008/0313927) each teaches arch supports with honeycomb patterns projecting downwards, and Polifroni (US 6681501) and Alzner (US 3543765) each teaches arch supports with vertical walls,
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732