DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laurash et al. (US 5,547,227; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Laurash et al. teaches a laminated label form (12; label combination) comprising a bottom ply (62; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of die cuts (86, 84) forming two label release sections (80, 78) and a first release material (77; release coating) disposed on an upper side (first side) of the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) surrounding the two label release sections (80, 78) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30). Laurash et al. further teaches a top ply (60; label substrate) comprising label die cut (72, 70) forming a label portion (68) and a tab portion (66), and an adhesive coating (64) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30). Laurash et al. further teaches a second release material (77; release coating) forming in the central area of the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) between the label release sections (80,78) and the card section (82), such that when the label is assembled, it is disposed in a center lane portion of the top ply (60; label section) with the adhesive coating disposed thereon (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 4, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
The limitations reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, at least one liner die cut remains as a portion of the liner substrate and an additional liner die cut remains adhered to the backside of the label substrate in areas that at least correspond to middle of the removable label” in claim 2, “wherein the at least one liner die cut that remains as a portion of the liner substrate is a single liner die cut, 6 line die cuts, or 7 liner die cuts” in claim 3, and “where one of the additional liner die cut that remains adhered to the backside of the label substrate is a single liner die cut or 3 liner die cuts” in claim 4 are considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Laurash et al. discloses the structure of claim 1 as described above.
Furthermore, the laminated label form taught by Laurash et al. is capable of performing in the manner claimed. Laurash et al. teaches that when the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) is peeled away from the remainder of the laminated label form (12; label combination), leaving the tab and label release sections (78, 80) adhered to the tab and label portions (66,68) and the remaining top ply is adhered to the desired surface (col. 9 Ln. 1-23).
Regarding claim 8, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that at least one of the liner die cuts includes a tab shape (78) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
Regarding claim 9, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the multiple ply label forms are compatible with thermal transfer and direct thermal printers (col. 4 Ln. 15-25) and therefore would inherently comprise a thermally activated coating.
Regarding claim 10, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the multiple ply label forms are compatible laser printers (col. 4 Ln. 15-25) and therefore would inherently comprise a coating for laser printing.
Regarding claim 11, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the upper side of each portion of the label can be printed with mailing information or other indicia as desired (col. 2 Ln. 5-18).
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 15, Laurash et al. teaches a laminated label form (12; label combination) comprising a bottom ply (62; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of die cuts (86, 84) forming two label release sections (80, 78) and a first release material (77; release coating) disposed on an upper side (first side) of the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) surrounding the two label release sections (80, 78) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30). Laurash et al. teaches that the label forms may be adhered to one another in a continuous web (i.e. roll) divided by perforations (col. 11 Ln. 60-67).
Laurash et al. further that each label comprises a top ply (60; label substrate) comprising label die cut (72, 70) forming a label portion (68; removable label), a tab portion (66; removable label) and a card portion (74; primary label), and an adhesive coating (64) on the underside of the top ply (60; label substrate)(Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
The limitations reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, at least one liner die cut remains as a portion of the liner substrate and at least one additional liner die cut remains adhered to the backside of the removable label” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Laurash et al. discloses the structure of claim 1 as described above.
Furthermore, the laminated label form taught by Laurash et al. is capable of performing in the manner claimed. Laurash et al. teaches that when the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) is peeled away from the remainder of the laminated label form (12; label combination), leaving the tab and label release sections (78, 80) adhered to the tab and label portions (66,68) and the remaining top ply is adhered to the desired surface (col. 9 Ln. 1-23).
Regarding claim 14, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above and further teaches a second release material (77; release coating) forming in the central area of the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) between the label release sections (80,78) and the card section (82), such that when the label is assembled, it is disposed in a center lane portion of the top ply (60; label section) with the adhesive coating disposed thereon (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
Regarding claim 16, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above and further teaches as shown by Figure 3 that the plurality of liner die cuts (84, 86) are aligned with label die cuts (70, 72) pertaining to the label portion (68; removable label), a tab portion (66; removable label) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
Regarding claim 17, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above.
The limitations reciting “wherein the at least one liner die cut that remains as a portion of the liner substrate provides structural integrity to a liner waste when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. It is further limiting the intended use limitations recited in claim 12.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Laurash et al. discloses the structure of claim 12 as described above, and the laminated label form taught by Laurash et al. is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above and further teaches that the upper side of each portion of the label can be printed with mailing information or other indicia as desired (col. 2 Ln. 5-18).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Laurash et al. teaches a laminated label form (12; label combination) comprising a bottom ply (62; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of die cuts (86, 84) forming two label release sections (80, 78) and a first release material (77; release coating) disposed on an upper side (first side) of the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) surrounding the two label release sections (80, 78) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30). Laurash et al. further teaches a top ply (60; label substrate) comprising label die cut (72, 70) forming a removable label portion (68) and a removable tab portion (66), and an adhesive coating (64) on the underside of the top ply (60; label substrate) (Figure 3, col. 8 Ln. 20-col. 9 Ln. 30).
The limitations reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, a portion of the liner substrate is defined by the at least one line die cut remains adhered to a backside of the removable label” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Laurash et al. discloses the structure of claim 1 as described above and is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Furthermore, the laminated label form taught by Laurash et al. is capable of performing in the manner claimed. Laurash et al. teaches that when the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) is peeled away from the remainder of the laminated label form (12; label combination), leaving the tab and label release sections (78, 80) adhered to the tab and label portions (66,68) and the remaining top ply is adhered to the desired surface (col. 9 Ln. 1-23).
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francoeur (US 2009/0145540).
Regarding claim 1, Francoeur teaches a multipart pharmacy label comprising a release liner (3; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of separation lines (13; die cuts) forming a first portion (9) of the release liner (3; liner substrate) and a second portion (11) of the release liner (3; liner substrate), and a label sheet (1; label substrate) comprising label die cuts (17A-E) defining auxiliary labels (7A-7E; removable labels), and the plurality of liner die cuts are aligned to correspond with a middle and sides of the removable label (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]). The backside of the label sheet (1; label substrate) comprises an adhesive and the release liner (3; liner substrate) is coated with a silicone based release coating, wherein a first coating is present on the first portion (9) of the release liner (3; liner substrate) and a second coating is present on a second portion (11) of the release liner (3; liner substrate), such that when the label is formed, the adhesive and the second coating is present on a second portion (11) overlap (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 4, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
The limitations reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, at least one liner die cut remains as a portion of the liner substrate and an additional liner die cut remains adhered to the backside of the label substrate in areas that at least correspond to middle of the removable label” in claim 2, “wherein the at least one liner die cut that remains as a portion of the liner substrate is a single liner die cut, 6 line die cuts, or 7 liner die cuts” in claim 3, and “where one of the additional liner die cut that remains adhered to the backside of the label substrate is a single liner die cut or 3 liner die cuts” in claim 4 are considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Francoeur discloses the structure of claim 1 as described above and would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches, as shown in Figure 3 that the liner die cut includes a tab shape (13C) protruding to an edge of the label substrate.
Regarding claim 9, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the label laminate can be a thermally activated substrate, thermally activated paper or comprise a thermally activated coating for ([0022, 0024-0026, 0032, 0049, 0052; claim 11).
Regarding claim 10, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the label laminate can be printed on with a laser printer ([0025, 0052]), and therefore would inherently have a laser coating.
Regarding claim 11, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the label can be printed with indicia or traces ([0008, 0023-0026]).
Regarding claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, Francoeur teaches a multipart pharmacy label comprising a release liner (3; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of separation lines (13; die cuts) forming a first portion (9) of the release liner (3; liner substrate) and a second portion (11) of the release liner (3; liner substrate), and a label sheet (1; label substrate) comprising a main label (5; primary label) and label die cuts (17A-E) defining auxiliary labels (7A-7E; removable labels), and the plurality of liner die cuts are aligned to correspond the middle and sides of the auxiliary labels (7A-7E; removable labels) (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]). The backside of the label sheet (1; label substrate) comprises an adhesive to adhere to the release liner (3; liner substrate), and the release liner (3; liner substrate) is coated with a silicone based release coating, wherein a first coating is present on the first portion (9) of the release liner (3; liner substrate) and a second coating is present on a second portion (11) of the release liner (3; liner substrate), such that when the label is formed, the adhesive and the second coating is present on a second portion (11) overlap (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]). Francoeur further teaches that the label laminate can be in the form of a roll such that multiple label sheets are present on one substantially continuous release liner, wherein the labels are separated by perforations ([0025]).
The limitation in lines 10-13 of claim 12 reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, at least one liner die cut remains as a portion of the liner substrate and an additional liner die cut remains adhered to the backside of the removable label” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Francoeur discloses the structure of claim 12 as described above and would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above.
The limitations reciting “wherein the at least one liner die cut that remains as a portion of the liner substrate provides structural integrity to a liner waste when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. It is further limiting the intended use limitations recited in claim 12.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Francoeur discloses the structure of claim 1 as described above, and the laminated label form taught by Francoeur is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above and further teaches that the label can be printed with indicia or traces ([0008, 0023-0026]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Francoeur teaches a multipart pharmacy label comprising a release liner (3; liner substrate) comprising a plurality of separation lines (13; die cuts) forming a first portion (9) of the release liner (3; liner substrate) and a second portion (11) of the release liner (3; liner substrate), and a label sheet (1; label substrate) comprising label die cuts (17A-E) defining auxiliary labels (7A-7E; removable labels), and the separation lines (13; die cuts) are aligned to correspond with the auxiliary labels (7A-7E; removable labels) (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]). The backside of the label sheet (1; label substrate) comprises an adhesive and the release liner (3; liner substrate) is coated with a silicone based release coating (Figure 2, 3; [0023-0037]).
The limitation in lines 7-9 of claim 19reciting “wherein when the label substrate is separated from the liner substrate, a portion of the liner substrate defined by the at least one liner die cut remains adhered to a backside of the removable label” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and/or method of using the product, and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
The method of using the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Francoeur discloses the structure of claim 19 as described above and would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurash et al. (US 5,547,227; cited on IDS) in view of Mertens (US 4,895,746; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and while Laurash et al. teaches various label portions being removed (i.e. peel force), the reference does not expressly teach the first peel force of 6-8 grams per inch and a second peel force of 20-25 grams per inch.
Mertens teaches a stack of aligned sheets, wherein a first low release peel force less than 15 grams per inch between adjacent sheets within the stack to allow for easy initiation of peeling a sheet off of the stack and a second peel force greater than 20 grams per inch to firmly adhere the label form during handling until the label form is to be adhesively secured to a package (col. 3 Ln. 25-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the peel forces of Laurash et al. removable label areas to be within the ranges disclosed by Mertens to allow for the labels to be easily peel when it is desired to remove the removable portions but to remain adhered during handling until the desired time to remove the labels.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurash et al. (US 5,547,227; cited on IDS) in view of Kraft et al. (US 5,580640; cited on IDS).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Laurash et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, however the reference does not expressly teach that the first release coating and the second release coatings are different types, wherein one of the first or second release coatings is a non-silicone release coating.
Kraft et al. teaches integrated labels having controlled release, wherein a first release coating is a paper or synthetic resin film and the second release coating is a silicone type coating known in the art that is partially applied to a release sheet (col. 4 Ln. 20-25, 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bottom ply (62; liner substrate) of the laminated label form (12; label combination) to have different areas with different release properties thereon as taught by Kraft et al. to reduce the peeling force at different portions of the label as Laurash et al. teaches that it is necessary to ensure that each portion is readily separable from the first ply (see col. 2 Ln. 10-20).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francoeur (US 2009/0145540) in view of Mertens (US 4,895,746; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Francoeur teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, however the reference does not expressly teach the first peel force of 6-8 grams per inch and a second peel force of 20-25 grams per inch.
Mertens teaches a stack of aligned sheets, wherein a first low release peel force less than 15 grams per inch between adjacent sheets within the stack to allow for easy initiation of peeling a sheet off of the stack and a second peel force greater than 20 grams per inch to firmly adhere the label form during handling until the label form is to be adhesively secured to a package (col. 3 Ln. 25-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the peel forces of Francoeur removable label areas to be within the ranges disclosed by Mertens to allow for the labels to be easily peel when it is desired to remove the removable portions but to remain adhered during handling until the desired time to remove the labels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Glasier (US 2006/0078701) teaches a label-on-label array as shown by Figures 1 and 2.
Lamb et al. (US 2022/0246066) teaches a label with a liner separation feature offset from the main label as shown in Figures 1-4.
LAURA POWERS
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785