DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications for the present US application number 18/903,869 last filed on October 01st, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined, directed to COMMUNICATION METHOD AND COMMUNICATIONS APPARATUS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2019/0394814 A1 to Bakker, Jan (referred to hereafter as “Bakker”).
As to claim 1, Bakker further discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device, a non-access stratum (NAS) message transmitted by a second device (Bakker discloses of overall system that can accept NAS REGISTRATION ACCEPT messages from a UE, such as with respect to emergency situations, e.g., Bakker: ¶¶ 25),
wherein the NAS message comprises a first information element (IE), the first IE comprises a first information element identifier (IEI), and the first IE carries a second IE (the NAS message would contain additional elements or IEs. In the example with the emergency message, that can contain at least two or more IEs or URNs, with at least one that has an identifier. The emergency IE type can be further identified using labels/identifiers (e.g., Bakker: ¶¶ 19, 24-33, 35-38 and Table 1 for reference and pages 4-5 with the example and notes following).
As to claim 2, Bakker further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second IE comprises a second IEI, and a type of the second IE is determined based on the first IEI and the second IEI (Emergency service types example, e.g., Bakker: ¶¶ 17 and 19 and Table 1).
As to claim 5, Bakker further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the NAS message is a registration accept message (e.g., Bakker: ¶¶ 25 and 30).
As to claim 6, Bakker further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first IE is an IE of a type 6 (e.g., Bakker: ¶ 38).
As to claim 7, Bakker further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second IE is an IE of a type 6 or a type 4 (e.g., Bakker: ¶ 38).
As to claim 8, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 1 as Bakker also discloses of the system that can carry out the claimed steps (e.g., Bakker: ¶¶ 262-265).
As to claim 9, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 12, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 13, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 14, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 7.
As to claim 15, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 16, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 19, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 20, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. US No. US 2019/0394814 A1 to Bakker in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2019/0174449 A1 to Shan et al. (referred to hereafter as “Shan”).
As to claim 3, Bakker does not fully further disclose of the method according to claim 1, wherein the first IE or an IE carried in the first IE or both are IEs that are allowed to be ignored by the first device (Bakker does not explicitly describe of when the system can ignore various IE parts of a request from a UE.
Shan more expressly discloses of a similar scope and context wherein in an emergency scenario, an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) can ignore unknown or unsuccessfully registration responses while continuing with the rest of what’s available in an emergency call/request (e.g., Shan: ¶¶ 125 and 230).
Based on Shan’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to combine and incorporate Shan’s teachings, such that in the resulting combined system, in the case of emergencies, can ignore unknown IEs and proceed with processing what’s available in the request).
As to claim 10, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 17, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 3.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. US No. US 2019/0394814 A1 to Bakker in view of U.S. Patent No. US 10,349,257 B1 to Bakker et al. (referred to hereafter as “BakkerB1”).
As to claim 4, Bakker does not fully further disclose of the method according to claim 1, wherein the first IE is an IE of a type 6, and a value range of the first IEI is 70 to 7F in hexadecimal (While Bakker discloses that the Extended Emergency Number List IE is a type 6 IE (¶ 38), Bakker does not expressly disclose about the use of hexadecimals.
In a different but similar scenario, BakkerB1 more expressly disclosed about the use of hex digits (e.g., BakkerB1: col. 28, ll. 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to combine and incorporate this hexadecimal functionality, to increase overall functionality. The incorporation of the use of hex digits, along with the type 6 IE aspect, would also mean that the range is between 70-7F (as based upon what was explained from the filed Specifications ¶ [0062]).
As to claim 11, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 4.
As to claim 18, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
/Xiang Yu/Examiner, Art Unit 2455