DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
SC 101 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed on 09/24/2026, with respect to the pending 101 rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, and 15-19 has been withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the previous rejection of now canceled claims 4 and 14, Applicant argues that the cited portions of Isaacson fail to teach calculating a weight for generating new programming values based on an amount of time elapsed. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that while Isaacson discloses weighting values within a single window, Isaacson further discloses weighting temporal data within the window ([0056] IMD 110 may weight temporal data within the window and/or may weight calculated features (e.g., within the morphology of the temporal data) of the temporal data within the window). Specifically, Isaacson discloses the weighting may be different for different portions of the window [0056]. Examiner notes that these different portions of the window would each represent an elapsed period of time. As currently written, newly amended claim 1 requires weighting data observed during one or more events, and does not require the weighting to be based on an amount of time elapsed between events. Instead, claim 1 recites “…weighting the patient data observed during the one or more events…wherein the calculation of the weights uses a discount that reduces effects of the respective measurements…based on an amount of time elapsed”. Isaacson expressly teaches the weighting may be configured to emphasize the evoked response or the artifact [0056] and further discloses weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window [0075] which would necessarily require weighting the temporal data based on a duration of the artifact (time elapsed) within the sensing window. Isaacson further discloses adjusting stimulation parameters based on a characteristic value of the sensed artifact or the sensed evoked response [0076].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacson et al (US 2024/0001125) hereinafter Isaacson in view of Esteller et al (US 2022/0323764) hereinafter Esteller.
Regarding claim 1, Isaacson discloses a device for adapting a neurostimulation programming model used for neurostimulation treatment (Fig. 2), the device comprising:
at least one processor ([0077] processing circuitry 201) and at least one memory ([0063] storage device 212);
event data processing circuitry ([0063] processing circuitry 210), operably coupled with the processor and the memory (Fig. 2 shows processor 201 containing processing circuitry 210 and storage device 212 which are in communication with each other; [0067]), the event data processing circuitry configured to:
obtain patient data observed during a prior time period (sensed evoked response signal), the patient data for a human patient having a neurostimulation treatment delivered with a neurostimulation device (IMD 110; [0063] Examiner notes IMD 200 is an example of IMD 110) to treat a medical condition [0055-0056];
identify one or more events (noise/artifact interference) during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data ([0025] Stimulation artifacts typically have amplitudes many times that of the evoked response signal; [0056] artifact or noise within the sensed evoked signal); and
determine weighted data by weighting the patient data observed during the one or more events, with a calculation of weights for the patient data throughout the prior time period for respective measurements of the patient data, wherein the calculation of the weights uses a discount that reduces effects of the respective measurements on the neurostimulation programming model based on an amount of time elapsed ([0056] weighting may be configured to emphasize the evoked response or the artifact; [0075] weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window; Examiner notes this would require weighting the temporal data based on a duration of the artifact (elapsed time) within the sensing window); and
neurostimulation programming circuitry ([0063] stimulation generation circuitry 202), operably coupled with the at least one processor and the at least one memory [0068], the neurostimulation programming circuitry configured to:
modify the neurostimulation programming model based on the weighted data to generate updated programming parameters for the neurostimulation treatment ([0076] processing circuitry 210 may, in response to determining that the characteristic value of at least one of the artifact or the sensed evoked response signal is greater than the amplitude threshold, alternate the polarity of the stimulation electrodes),
wherein the weighting of the patient data reduces effects of the patient data during the one or more events on the neurostimulation programming model ([0075] weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window); and
communicate at least one command to the neurostimulation device, the at least one command to control the neurostimulation device to use the updated programming parameters to deliver modulated energy to the human patient with a plurality of leads of the neurostimulation device ([0076-077] processing circuitry 210 may change the polarity of the stimulation electrodes, control stimulation generation circuitry 202 to deliver a probe pulse and a mask the neural response, change a number of interleaved pulses of the stimulation parameters, etc.).
While Isaacson discloses identifying one or more events (noise/artifact) during the prior time period that cause variance in the measurements of the patient data [0056] as discussed above, Issacson does not explicitly disclose identifying one or more events experienced by the human patient since it is unclear if the patient would necessarily experience the artifact/noise in the evoked signal. However, Esteller discloses identifying one or more events experienced by the human patient (posture/activity) during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data using a sensed artifact feature ([0061] stimulation artifact features as sensed can be used to determine a posture or activity of the patient). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Isaacson with identifying one or more events experienced by the human patient during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data as taught by Esteller. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of adjusting a therapy based on a detected posture/activity (Esteller, [0071]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Isaacson discloses wherein the one or more events include an intervention event (stimulus pulse) that is related to treatment of the medical condition of the human patient ([0056] artifact resulting from stimulus pulse), and
wherein to determine the weighted data for the intervention event includes to calculate a weight that reduces the effects of the patient data throughout a duration of the intervention event ([0075] weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Isaacson discloses wherein the one or more events include a confounding event (Noise interference) that is not related to treatment of the medical condition of the human patient ([0056] noise within the sensed evoked response signal), and wherein to determine the weighted data for the confounding event includes to calculate a weight that reduces the effects of the patient data throughout a duration of the confounding event ([0056] IMD 110 may ignore that outlier signal or assign the outlier signal with a weight of 0).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Isaacson discloses wherein to determine the weighted data corresponding to a respective event of the one or more events, includes to calculate weights for the patient data based on a duration for the respective event ([0075] By weighting an area of the window having the artifact (this would require determining the duration of the artifact) with a lower weight than the other areas of the window, processing circuitry 210 may reduce or remove the artifact from the sensed evoked response signal).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Isaacson discloses wherein to determine the weighted data corresponding to a respective event of the one or more events, includes to calculate weights for the patient data based on an estimated impact of the respective event on data relevance ([0075] By weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window), and wherein the estimated impact differs based on a type or severity of the respective event ([0025] Stimulation artifacts typically have amplitudes many times that of the evoked response signal; [0075]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Isaacson discloses neurostimulation programming circuitry further configured to:
identify, with the use of the neurostimulation programming model, the updated programming parameters for use with the neurostimulation device ([0076] processing circuitry 210 may change stimulation parameters in an attempt to improve the quality of the sensed evoked response signal); and
communicate, to the neurostimulation device, the at least one command to cause the use of the updated programming parameters ([0076-077] processing circuitry 210 may change the polarity of the stimulation electrodes, control stimulation generation circuitry 202 to deliver a probe pulse and a mask the neural response, change a number of interleaved pulses of the stimulation parameters, etc.).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Isaacson discloses wherein the updated programming parameters specify operation of a neurostimulation program including one or more of: pulse patterns, pulse shapes, a spatial location of pulses, waveform shapes, or a spatial location of waveform shapes, for the modulated energy provided to the human patient with the plurality of leads of the neurostimulation device ([0076-077] processing circuitry 210 may change the polarity of the stimulation electrodes, control stimulation generation circuitry 202 to deliver a probe pulse and a mask the neural response, change a number of interleaved pulses of the stimulation parameters, change a pulse shape, etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Isaacson discloses a method for use to adapt a neurostimulation programming model used for neurostimulation treatment, the method comprising a plurality of operations executed with at least one processor of a computing device, the plurality of operations comprising:
obtaining patient data (sensed evoked response signal) observed during a prior time period (window), the patient data for a human patient having a neurostimulation treatment delivered with a neurostimulation device (IMD 110) to treat a medical condition [0055-0056];
identifying one or more events (noise/artifact interference) during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data ([0025] Stimulation artifacts typically have amplitudes many times that of the evoked response signal; [0056] artifact or noise within the sensed evoked signal);
determining weighted data by weighting the patient data observed during the one or more events, with a calculation of weights for the patient data throughout the prior time period for respective measurements of the patient data, wherein the calculation of the weights uses a discount that reduces effects of the respective measurements on the neurostimulation programming model based on an amount of time elapsed ([0056] weighting may be configured to emphasize the evoked response or the artifact; [0075] weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window; Examiner notes this would require weighting the temporal data based on a duration of the artifact (elapsed time) within the sensing window);
modifying the neurostimulation programming model based on the weighted data to generate updated programming parameters for the neurostimulation treatment ([0076] processing circuitry 210 may, in response to determining that the characteristic value of at least one of the artifact or the sensed evoked response signal is greater than the amplitude threshold, alternate the polarity of the stimulation electrodes),
wherein the weighting of the patient data reduces effects of the patient data during the one or more events on the neurostimulation programming model ([0075] weighting an area of the window having the artifact with a lower weight than the other areas of the window); and
communicating at least one command to the neurostimulation device, the at least one command to control the neurostimulation device to use the updated programming parameters to deliver modulated energy provided to the human patient with a plurality of leads of the neurostimulation device ([0076-077] processing circuitry 210 may change the polarity of the stimulation electrodes, control stimulation generation circuitry 202 to deliver a probe pulse and a mask the neural response, change a number of interleaved pulses of the stimulation parameters, etc.).
Isaacson fails to expressly disclose identifying one or more events experienced by the human patient during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data. However, Esteller discloses identifying one or more events (posture/activity) experienced by the human patient during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data ([0061] stimulation artifact features as sensed can be used to determine a posture or activity of the patient). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Isaacson with identifying one or more events experienced by the human patient during the prior time period that cause variance in measurements of the patient data as taught by Esteller. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of adjusting a therapy based on a detected posture/activity (Esteller, [0071]).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacson (US 2024/0001125) in view of Esteller (US 2022/0323764) and further in view of Giuffrida et al (US 2014/0005743) hereinafter Giuffrida.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the modified Isaacson discloses the system/method of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein to modify the neurostimulation programming model includes to perform reinforcement or re-training of the neurostimulation programming model using the weighted data, and wherein the neurostimulation programming model is implemented as an artificial neural network or as a machine learning classifier.
However, Giuffrida discloses wherein to modify the neurostimulation programming model includes to perform reinforcement or re-training of the neurostimulation programming model using the weighted data ([0138] each network is preferably trained three times with randomized initial weights and biases), and wherein the neurostimulation programming model is implemented as an artificial neural network or as a machine learning classifier ([0135] artificial neural network 14 to output suggested stimulation parameters).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system/method as taught by Isaacson with reinforcement or re-training of the neurostimulation programming model using the weighted data, and wherein the neurostimulation programming model is implemented as an artificial neural network or as a machine learning classifier as taught by Giuffrida. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of minimizing program iterations to reduce surgical and outpatient tuning session time (Giuffrida, [0135]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner has not found any prior art that teaches or suggests in combination the limitations recited in claims 5 and 15. Specifically, Examiner has not found any art that teaches:
“…to calculate the weights for the patient data based on a rate of decrease in a reliability value and a maximum value occurring for the data reliability value”.
Isaacson discloses weighting temporal data to emphasize an artifact or a sensed evoked signal ([0056], [0075]), but fails to teach weighting patient date based on a rate of decrease in a reliability value and a maximum value occurring for the data reliability value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLOW GRACE WELCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796