DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on October 1, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments filed August 5, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous claim objection; and maintains the previous rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In contrast to Applicant’s arguments (see Response at p. 2-4), Wheeler explicitly discloses that the claimed probability represents a likelihood of encountering a physical object during a subsequent traversal of a road and that the physical object has a particular property. Specifically, Wheeler discloses determining a likelihood of an object being a static object or dynamic object and a probability of it being present when a vehicle traverses the road; see at least Wheeler at [0041]-[0042]. Examiner notes that whether or not the object is static or dynamic is considered a particular property of the physical object, and examiner notes that Wheeler discloses that all of the information is iteratively updated for future road traversals; see at least [0006]. For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Each independent claim recites limitations which are considered new matter. Specifically, the independent claims each recite (1) at least one physical object or similar object to the physical object having a particular property; and (2) the likelihood of encountering the physical object or the similar physical object having the particular property. Applicant indicates that both of these limitations are disclosed by [0073] of the instant application. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The verbiage “particular property” is not found anywhere in the original disclosure, and Applicant’s examples of it appear to pertain to specific scenarios that include a parked vehicle and the timing of a traffic light are, at best, species examples of a claimed genus. Examiner notes that Applicant must claim the individual species rather than the genus as the scope of the original disclosure fails to encompass an overarching processes or determinations of objects having particular properties. Additionally, while the determining the probability of a static vehicle being present in a particular location is an example of the likelihood of encountering the physical object having the particular property, Examiner likewise sees a scope of the original disclosure lacking as it likewise fails to encompass an over arching process or determination and is likewise a disclosure of the species without any indication that the genus was anticipated. In other words, these limitations have a broader scope than what is reasonably anticipated by the original disclosure. Therefore, the claims are rejected as new matter.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 along with the corresponding dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1, 8, and 15 recites at least one of the physical object or a similar physical object to the physical object having a particular property and at least one of the physical object or the similar physical object to the physical object having the particular property. Regarding both limitations in each claim, it is unclear whether the particular property modifies both the physical object and the similar object to the physical object or if the term modifies only the similar object to the physical object. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting the modifying term to pertain to both the physical object and the similar object to the physical object.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 2, and 3-19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,813. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of each of claims 1-20 is fully encompassed by claims 1-2, 2, and 3-19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,813.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0188045 (hereinafter, “Wheeler”).
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler discloses A method comprising:
detecting, via a sensor coupled to a vehicle traversing a road found in a geographical environment, a physical object in the geographical environment (see at least Fig. 9 and [0080]-[0086] and [0108]-[0134] generally; objects may be detected while a vehicle traverses a road, and the data collection may be obtained by a plurality of different vehicles. Any one of the vehicles may qualify as the vehicle);
generating, by at least one computer processor and based at least in part on detecting the physical object, metadata for the physical object that comprises a probability, wherein the probability represents a likelihood of encountering, during subsequent traversal of the road, at least one of the physical object or a similar physical object to the physical object having a particular property (see at least [0006], [0041]-[0042], and [0108]-[0126]; map updates pertaining to detected physical objects and corresponding occupancy probabilities may be generated. Examiner notes that whether or not the object is static or dynamic is considered a particular property of the physical object, and examiner notes that Wheeler discloses that all of the information is iteratively updated for future road traversals);
generating, by the at least one computer processor, a High Definition (HD) mapping, wherein the HD mapping includes a first layer that includes a first image representing the geographical environment and a second layer that includes the metadata (see at least [0108]-[0126]; the HD map includes a landmark map (i.e., geographic environment) and an occupancy map (i.e., metadata)); and
transmitting, by the at least one computer processor the HD mapping, wherein transmitting the HD mapping causes an autonomous vehicle or a partially autonomous vehicle to upload the HD mapping before traversing the road and use the HD mapping and a third sensor to detect the physical object or the similar physical object while in the geographical environment and responsive to detecting the physical object or the similar physical object, perform an action based at least in part on the likelihood of encountering the physical object or similar physical object having the particular property as the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle performs subsequent travels the road (see at least [0006], [0041]-[0042], [0064]-[0066], [0080], [0088], and [0108]-[0126]; the vehicle may be controlled to avoid a high confidence value object found in the HD map that is received at a plurality of vehicles. Any one of the plurality that is not the vehicle may be the autonomous or partially autonomous vehicle. Additionally, one or more sensors at the autonomous or partially autonomous vehicle may be used to detect the objects and environmental surroundings of the vehicle. The particular property may include whether the object is static or dynamic amongst other metadata associated with the object).
Claim 8 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses the use of processors and memories; see at least Wheeler at [0165]-[0168]. Claim 15 is likewise rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses the use of a non-transitory computer readable medium; see at least Wheeler at [0165]-[0168].
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses further comprising:
detecting, via a fourth sensor coupled to a second vehicle traversing the road, an additional object in the geographical environment (see at least [0108]-[0126]; any one of the vehicles that is not the vehicle or the autonomous/partially autonomous vehicle may be considered the second vehicle. The vehicles update the occupancy map while traversing the road which includes adding new objects such as, for example, a hole in the road);
based at least in part on detecting the additional object in the geographical environment, updating, by the at least one computer processor, the first layer to include a second image of the additional object (see at least [0108]-[0126]; the HD map may include images of the objects associated with the occupancy map via image sensors and may be updated with new image data); and
storing, by the at least one computer processor, the HD mapping to a data store (see at least [0112]; the HD map may store the updated occupancy information and corresponding image data).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses further comprising obtaining, via another sensor coupled to a second vehicle traversing the road, a second indication that another physical object has been detected in the geographical environment, wherein generating the HD mapping is further based on obtaining the second indication that the another physical object has been detected in the geographical environment (see at least [0108]-[0126]; any one of the vehicles that is not the vehicle or the autonomous/partially autonomous vehicle may be considered the second vehicle. The vehicles update the occupancy map while traversing the road which includes adding new objects such as, for example, a hole in the road. The second vehicle may do so via one or more sensors of the second vehicle).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise at least one of a real-time layer, a map priors layer, a semantic map layer, a geometric map layer, or a base map layer (see at least [0026]; the first layer may include geographic information, and the second layer may include an occupancy grid indicating the probability of one or more objects being present in a given portion of the HD map).
Claim 12 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the physical object or the similar physical object comprises a second vehicle, the particular property comprises a parked state of the second vehicle (see at least [0042]; the object may be a second vehicle and may be determined to be moving or not moving), and the action comprises the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle routing around the second vehicle (see at least [0064]; the vehicle may be controlled to avoid the object (i.e., routing around)).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0379468 (hereinafter, “Harvey”) with claim 18 evidenced by U.S. Pub. 2019/0311327 (hereinafter, “Habbaba”).
Regarding claim 5, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Wheeler fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5. Harvey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicle involves performing a shipping operation that includes delivering one or more parcels to destination addresses or drop off points within the geographical environment (see at least [0028] and [0050]-[0051]; a vehicle/autonomous vehicle/semi-autonomous vehicle may be a vehicle that performs a shipping operation for delivering parcels/packages within a mapped area (i.e., geographical environment)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Harvey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide autonomous delivery of parcels saving time of human drivers; see at least Harvey at [0007]-[0008].
Claim 11 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 5. Examiner notes that this is likewise true pertaining to the second vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. However, Wheeler does not explicitly teach the limitation of claim 18. Instead, the limitation wherein the vehicle is a delivery drone that is configured to travel in air space to unload a parcel at a final destination or a drop off point within the geographical environment in response to a request to ship the parcel to the final destination or drop-off point is considered an obvious variant to the limitation found in claim 5 and is rejected under essentially the same reasoning. Specifically, a delivery drone is an obvious variant to a land delivery vehicle as both a drone and land delivery vehicle are known types of delivery vehicles as evidenced by Habbaba at least at [0037].
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Harvey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide autonomous delivery of parcels saving time of human drivers; see at least Harvey at [0007]-[0008].
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0022245 (hereinafter, “Sivertsen”).
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the physical object or the similar physical object comprises a traffic light (see at least [0086]-[0088]; the physical object may be a traffic light),… , and the action comprises the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle adjusting a speed of the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle (see at least [0043]; vehicle responsive actions may include changing the speed of the vehicle). However, Wheeler does not explicitly teach .
Sivertsen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the particular property comprises an amount of time in a current state of the traffic light (see at least [0036]; metadata of traffic signals (i.e., traffic lights) may include timing of the traffic signals).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Sivertsen, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide more comprehensive metadata for traffic lights; see at least Sivertsen at [0036].
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 7.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0130347 which relates to developing a high definition map using data procured from different logistics vehicles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665