DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on October 1, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on January 15, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 2, and 3-19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,813. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of each of claims 1-20 is fully encompassed by claims 1-2, 2, and 3-19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,813.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites transmitting, by the at least on computer processor the HD mapping which includes a typo. Specifically “on” should recite “one.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0188045 (hereinafter, “Wheeler”).
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler discloses A method comprising:
detecting, via a sensor coupled to a vehicle traversing a road found in a geographical environment, a physical object in the geographical environment (see at least Fig. 9 and [0080]-[0086] and [0108]-[0134] generally; objects may be detected while a vehicle traverses a road, and the data collection may be obtained by a plurality of different vehicles. Any one of the vehicles may qualify as the vehicle);
generating, by at least one computer processor and based at least in part on detecting the physical object, metadata for the physical object that comprises a probability, wherein the probability represents a property of at least one of the physical object or a similar physical object to the physical object that can be encountered while traversing the road (see at least [0108]-[0126]; map updates pertaining to detected physical objects and corresponding occupancy probabilities may be generated);
generating, by the at least one computer processor, a High Definition (HD) mapping, wherein the HD mapping includes a first layer that includes a first image representing the geographical environment and a second layer that includes the metadata (see at least [0108]-[0126]; the HD map includes a landmark map (i.e., geographic environment) and an occupancy map (i.e., metadata)); and
transmitting, by the at least on computer processor the HD mapping, wherein transmitting the HD mapping causes an autonomous vehicle or a partially autonomous vehicle to upload the HD mapping before traversing the road and use the HD mapping and a third sensor to detect the physical object or the similar physical object while in the geographical environment and responsive to detecting the physical object or the similar physical object, perform an action based at least in part on the probability of encountering the property as the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle traverses the road (see at least [0064]-[0066], [0080], [0088], and [0108]-[0126]; the vehicle may be controlled to avoid a high confidence value object found in the HD map that is received at a plurality of vehicles. Any one of the plurality that is not the vehicle may be the autonomous or partially autonomous vehicle. Additionally, one or more sensors at the autonomous or partially autonomous vehicle may be used to detect the objects and environmental surroundings of the vehicle. The property may include the object type amongst other metadata associated with the object).
Claim 8 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses the use of processors and memories; see at least Wheeler at [0165]-[0168]. Claim 15 is likewise rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses the use of a non-transitory computer readable medium; see at least Wheeler at [0165]-[0168].
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses further comprising:
detecting, via a fourth sensor coupled to a second vehicle traversing the road, an additional object in the geographical environment (see at least [0108]-[0126]; any one of the vehicles that is not the vehicle or the autonomous/partially autonomous vehicle may be considered the second vehicle. The vehicles update the occupancy map while traversing the road which includes adding new objects such as, for example, a hole in the road);
based at least in part on detecting the additional object in the geographical environment, updating, by the at least one computer processor, the first layer to include a second image of the additional object (see at least [0108]-[0126]; the HD map may include images of the objects associated with the occupancy map via image sensors and may be updated with new image data); and
storing, by the at least one computer processor, the HD mapping to a data store (see at least [0112]; the HD map may store the updated occupancy information and corresponding image data).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses further comprising obtaining, via another sensor coupled to a second vehicle traversing the road, a second indication that another physical object has been detected in the geographical environment, wherein generating the HD mapping is further based on obtaining the second indication that the another physical object has been detected in the geographical environment (see at least [0108]-[0126]; any one of the vehicles that is not the vehicle or the autonomous/partially autonomous vehicle may be considered the second vehicle. The vehicles update the occupancy map while traversing the road which includes adding new objects such as, for example, a hole in the road. The second vehicle may do so via one or more sensors of the second vehicle).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise at least one of a real-time layer, a map priors layer, a semantic map layer, a geometric map layer, or a base map layer (see at least [0026]; the first layer may include geographic information, and the second layer may include an occupancy grid indicating the probability of one or more objects being present in a given portion of the HD map).
Claim 12 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the physical object or the similar physical object comprises a second vehicle, the property comprises a parked state of the second vehicle (see at least [0042]; the object may be a second vehicle and may be determined to be moving or not moving), and the action comprises the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle routing around the second vehicle (see at least [0064]; the vehicle may be controlled to avoid the object (i.e., routing around)).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0379468 (hereinafter, “Harvey”) with claim 18 evidenced by U.S. Pub. 2019/0311327 (hereinafter, “Habbaba”).
Regarding claim 5, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Wheeler fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5. Harvey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicle involves performing a shipping operation that includes delivering one or more parcels to destination addresses or drop off points within the geographical environment (see at least [0028] and [0050]-[0051]; a vehicle/autonomous vehicle/semi-autonomous vehicle may be a vehicle that performs a shipping operation for delivering parcels/packages within a mapped area (i.e., geographical environment)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Harvey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide autonomous delivery of parcels saving time of human drivers; see at least Harvey at [0007]-[0008].
Claim 11 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 5. Examiner notes that this is likewise true pertaining to the second vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. However, Wheeler does not explicitly teach the limitation of claim 18. Instead, the limitation wherein the vehicle is a delivery drone that is configured to travel in air space to unload a parcel at a final destination or a drop off point within the geographical environment in response to a request to ship the parcel to the final destination or drop-off point is considered an obvious variant to the limitation found in claim 5 and is rejected under essentially the same reasoning. Specifically, a delivery drone is an obvious variant to a land delivery vehicle as both a drone and land delivery vehicle are known types of delivery vehicles as evidenced by Habbaba at least at [0037].
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Harvey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide autonomous delivery of parcels saving time of human drivers; see at least Harvey at [0007]-[0008].
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0022245 (hereinafter, “Sivertsen”).
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Wheeler discloses wherein the physical object or the similar physical object comprises a traffic light (see at least [0086]-[0088]; the physical object may be a traffic light),… , and the action comprises the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle adjusting a speed of the autonomous vehicle or the partially autonomous vehicle (see at least [0043]; vehicle responsive actions may include changing the speed of the vehicle). However, Wheeler does not explicitly teach .
Sivertsen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the property comprises an amount of time in a current state of the traffic light (see at least [0036]; metadata of traffic signals (i.e., traffic lights) may include timing of the traffic signals).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wheeler with the teachings of Sivertsen, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide more comprehensive metadata for traffic lights; see at least Sivertsen at [0036].
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 7.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0130347 which relates to developing a high definition map using data procured from different logistics vehicles.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665