Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on September 3, 2026 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8, 13, and 19 have been amended. Claims 17-18 and 24 have been canceled. Claims 1-16, 19-23, and 25-26 are pending and rejected in the application.
Objected Subject Matter
Claims 21, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if all the objected claims were rewritten in independent claim including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims. The amendment will not overcome the 35 USC § 101 rejection.
Arguments
Applicant Argues
However, that characterization omits a material requirement of the claim. Claim 1 does not merely require a person to review a query and formulate filtered results. Claim 1 requires:
1. generating, using a large language model and the unstructured query, the plurality of structured queries; and
2. providing aggregated results to a large language model to produce filtered results.
The Office Action's mental-process analysis therefore fails to address the actual
machine-learning operation required by the claim. A limitation falls within the mental-process grouping only when it can practically be performed in the human mind. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A). The USPTO has specifically cautioned examiners not to expand the mental-process grouping to encompass AI limitations that cannot practically be performed mentally.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 101 arguments with respect to claims 1-16, 19-23, and 25-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) provides:
“The courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, but have instead illustrated how it is evaluated in numerous decisions. These decisions, and a detailed explanation of how examiners should evaluate this consideration are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a). In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel").”
The claimed use of an LLM does not, by itself, remove the recited operations from the mental-process grouping. The first LLM is recited functionally as generating a plurality of structured queries based on an unstructured query, and the second LLM is recited as producing filtered results from aggregated results. These limitations, when considered at the level of the claimed functions rather than the particular implementation of the LLM, recite the processing, organization, and evaluation of information that can be performed in the human mind, including interpreting an input, formulating corresponding queries, aggregating information, and determining which results are relevant or should be filtered. The fact that the claim specifies that these functions are performed “using” an LLM does not necessarily impose a particular technological implementation or improvement to the LLM itself.
Moreover, the Applicant's argument improperly focuses on isolated claim elements rather than considering the claim as a whole. The claim recites receiving an unstructured query, generating structured queries, identifying knowledge sources based on aspects of those queries, obtaining and aggregating results, filtering the aggregated results using a second LLM, and displaying the resulting information. These steps amount to obtaining, organizing, and evaluating information to provide a response to a query. The recitation of machine-learning terminology does not, without more, establish that the claimed functions cannot practically be performed in the human mind. Accordingly, the claimed LLM-based operations do not, merely by virtue of being implemented with an LLM, preclude their characterization under the mental-process grouping.
Applicant Argues
The Office Action characterizes claim 25 at a high level as (1) after requesting a response to an unstructured query, receiving the response, (2) displaying the response and an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, and (3) displaying the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query. The Office Action concludes that these operations can be performed mentally or with pencil and paper.
However, that characterization omits that the claim provides material improvements to computer capabilities instead of merely invoking the computer system as a tool. MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I). Claim 25 recites displaying, within a user interface including a response to an unstructured query, an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query. Additionally, claim 25 recites specifically displaying the explanation in response to detecting an input corresponding to the affordance. Such limitations are an improvement to the user interface of the computer system, and therefore the capabilities of the
computer system, as recited user interface provides an option to display the explanation. Such an option demonstrates the availability of the explanation and provides a selectable control, without cluttering the user interface by always displaying the explanation. Additionally, the entirety of the scope of claim 25 cannot be performed mentally. Specifically, one cannot mentally or with a pencil and paper both (1) display an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query and (2) display the explanation in response to detecting an
input corresponding to the affordance. Therefore, the rejection fails to address the material improvements to computer capabilities of the claim and has not established that the claim recites a mental process or another recognized abstract-idea grouping.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 101 arguments with respect to claims 1-16, 19-23, and 25-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) provides:
“The courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, but have instead illustrated how it is evaluated in numerous decisions. These decisions, and a detailed explanation of how examiners should evaluate this consideration are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a). In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel").”
Although claim 25 recites a client computing device, display generation components, input devices, and an “affordance,” these limitations do not establish an improvement to the functioning of the computer or to another technology. The claim is directed to receiving a response to an unstructured query, displaying the response with an option to obtain an explanation of its relevance, detecting selection of that option, and displaying the explanation. These operations concern the presentation and organization of information and the user’s selection of information to be displayed. The mere recitation of an affordance for selectively displaying information does not specify any particular improvement to the underlying display technology, input technology, or computer architecture. Rather, the claim uses conventional computer components to implement the presentation and selection of information.
Further, Applicant’s contention that the entire claim cannot be performed mentally because a person cannot literally “display” an affordance or detect a computer input does not establish that the claim falls outside the mental-process grouping. The relevant inquiry is directed to the underlying claimed concept, not whether every physical act of a computer implementation can literally be performed in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Here, the underlying activities providing a response, identifying or communicating that an explanation of relevance is available, recognizing a selection requesting that explanation, and providing the explanation can be performed as mental activities or through ordinary human communication. The claimed computer implementation merely automates those activities by using a display and input device. Accordingly, the recitation of an affordance and displaying the explanation in response to a corresponding input does not, without a specific technological improvement, remove the claim from the mental-process grouping and does not demonstrate the type of improvement.
Applicant Argues
Independent claims 1, 8, 13, and 19 incorporate the subject matter of objected claim 24. Specifically, claim 1 now recites "generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query," claim 8 recites "generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query," claim 13 recites "a first large language model (LLM) generates a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query; a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query," and claim 19 recites "the filtered results are generated using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query that produces a query understanding object.. a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query." As independent claims 1, 8, 13, and 19 have incorporated the subject matter of objected claim 24, Li and Gomes fail to disclose the features of claims 1, 8. 13, and 19.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 103 arguments with respect to claims 1-16 and 19-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant Argues
Based on above correspondence, the Applicant believes that the combination of Chao and Zhang fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest the limitations of claim 25 recited above because the combination does not disclose, teach, and/or suggest, in the user interface including a response to a query, an affordance to display an explanation of relevance, an input directed to the affordance, and, specifically in response to detecting the input, the explanation of relevance. At most, the combination teaches that an explanation of relevance is displayed alongside the response, without an affordance or detecting an input directed to the affordance. Claim 26 depends from independent claims 25. Accordingly, the combination of Chao and Zhang fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest claim 26 at least based on their dependency on independent claim 25.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 103 arguments with respect to claims 25-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Zhang discloses while displaying the user interface including the response and the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query (Figure 10, paragraph[0063], the reference describes explaining why songs where recommended based on the query.); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query(Figure 10, paragraph[0063], the reference describes explaining why songs where recommended based on the query.).
Here, Zhang expressly discloses that the recommendation and the explanation for why the recommendation is made are displayed on the user interface, and that the user thereafter provides input through the interface indicating a preference for different music. See Zhang, FIG. 10 and paragraph[0063]. In particular, Zhang describes the user first viewing the recommended track and its explanation, then providing input indicating that a different track is desired, including natural-language input specifying desired features.
Accordingly, the Applicant’s assertion that Zhang merely displays an explanation alongside the response does not accurately characterize the disclosed interactive operation. Zhang expressly teaches displaying the recommendation and its reasoning, receiving user input through the interface concerning the recommendation, and, in response to that input, generating and displaying another recommendation together with an explanation of why the new recommendation is recommended. Zhang further explains that the system is designed for conversational interaction and iterative refinement of recommendations. See Zhang, paragraphs paragraph[0018] and [0063]. Thus, Zhang provides the claimed interactive relationship between the displayed recommendation, user input, and subsequent display of recommendation-relevance reasoning, and Applicant’s argument does not overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16, 19-23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-7, 21, and 22 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 1 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 1 recites a method, comprising, at a server computing device:
generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query;
for each structured query of the plurality of structured queries:
identifying, based on at least one aspect of the structured query, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the structured query, and providing the structured query to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results;
aggregating the results to produce aggregated results;
providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results.
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a client computing device”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a client computing device”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 1 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for a first large language model (LLM), “generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query;” encompasses mentally a person generating a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query;.
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM), “for each structured query of the plurality of structured queries:
identifying, based on at least one aspect of the structured query, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the structured query, and providing the structured query to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results;” encompasses mentally a person for each structured query of the plurality of structured queries, identifying, based on at least one aspect of the structured query, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the structured query, and providing the structured query to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results.
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM), “aggregating the results to produce aggregated results;” encompasses mentally a person aggregating the results to produce aggregated results.
Next, but for a second LLM, “providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results;” encompasses mentally a person providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results. The mere nominal recitation of a system do not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
Next, “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component.
In addition, “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” amounts to an insignificant post extra-solution activity of outputting data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 1 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere retrieving and filtering data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 1 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” and “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Here, “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” is merely displaying filtered results. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0134905) paragraph[0054] is proof of displaying filtered data and shows the limitation is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” and “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query.” of dependent claim 2 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 2 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results.” of dependent claim 3 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 3 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content.” of dependent claim 4 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 4 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein the one or more knowledge sources include: at least one web search engine” of dependent claim 5 is abstract because the claim amounts to mere generic computer components. In addition, “at least one question and answer (Q&A) knowledge source” of dependent claim 5 is abstract because the claim amounts to mere generic computer components. Next, “at least one knowledge graph” of dependent claim 5 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining at least one knowledge graph. Further, “at least one approximate nearest-neighbor (ANN) index;” is abstract because the claim amounts to mere generic computer components. Next, “at least one other LLM; or some combination thereof.” is abstract because the claim amounts to mere generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 5 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value;” of dependent claim 6 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value. Next, “and at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value.” of dependent claim 6 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 6 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device;” of dependent claim 7 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “the at least one conversation history is provided to: the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results;” of dependent claim 7 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “and the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.” of dependent claim 7 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 7 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “in accordance with a determination that the first LLM is in a first mode, the plurality of structured queries do not include a structured query that relies on a result of another structured query;” of dependent claim 21 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining in accordance with a determination that the first LLM is in a first mode, the plurality of structured queries do not include a structured query that relies on a result of another structured query. Further, “in accordance with a determination that the first LLM is in a second mode, the plurality of queries includes a second structured query that relies on a result of a first structured query included in the plurality of queries;” of dependent claim 21 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining in accordance with a determination that the first LLM is in a second mode, the plurality of queries includes a second structured query that relies on a result of a first structured query included in the plurality of queries. Next, “the second mode is different from the first mode” of dependent claim 21 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the second mode is different from the first mode. Next, “the second structured query is different from the first structured query.” of dependent claim 21 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the second structured query is different from the first structured query. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 21 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “in response to producing the plurality of structured queries: in accordance with a determination that the plurality of structured queries has an expected first latency, implementing a latency limitation;” of dependent claim 22 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining in response to producing the plurality of structured queries: in accordance with a determination that the plurality of structured queries has an expected first latency, implementing a latency limitation. Further, “in accordance with a determination that the plurality of structured queries has an expected second latency, forgoing implementation of the latency limitation, wherein the expected second latency is different from the expected first latency.” of dependent claim 22 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining in accordance with a determination that the plurality of structured queries has an expected second latency, forgoing implementation of the latency limitation, wherein the expected second latency is different from the expected first latency. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 22 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 8-12 and 23 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 8 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 8 recites a method, comprising, at a server computing device:
generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;
for each task of the plurality of tasks:
identifying, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and providing the task to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results;
aggregating the results to produce aggregated results;
providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results.
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a client computing device”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a client computing device”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 8 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for a first large language model (LLM), “generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;” encompasses mentally a person generating a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;.
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM), “for each task of the plurality of tasks:
identifying, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and providing the task to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results;” encompasses mentally a person for each task of the plurality of tasks, identifying, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and providing the task to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results.
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM), “aggregating the results to produce aggregated results;” encompasses mentally a person aggregating the results to produce aggregated results.
Next, but for a second LLM, “providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results;” encompasses mentally a person providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 8 recites receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
Next, “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component.
In addition, “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” amounts to an insignificant post extra-solution activity of outputting data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 8 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere retrieving and filtering data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 8 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” and “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Here, “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” is merely displaying filtered results. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0134905) paragraph[0054] is proof of displaying filtered data and shows the limitation is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device” and “causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, providing the filtered results to the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, or some combination thereof.” of dependent claim 9 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, providing the filtered results to the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, or some combination thereof. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 9 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content.” of dependent claim 10 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 10 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information” of dependent claim 11 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information. Next, “and the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task.” of dependent claim 11 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 11 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device;” of dependent claim 12 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “the at least one conversation history is provided to: the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results;” of dependent claim 12 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “and the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.” of dependent claim 12 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 12 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein the query understanding object includes an expanded query, generated by the first LLM, of the unstructured query, and wherein the expanded query includes additional information not included in the unstructured query.” of dependent claim 23 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining wherein the query understanding object includes an expanded query, generated by the first LLM, of the unstructured query, and wherein the expanded query includes additional information not included in the unstructured query. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 23 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 13-16 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 13 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 13 recites a method, comprising, by an application executing on a client computing device:
a first large language model (LLM) generates a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query;
and
the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a client computing device”, “an operating system”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a client computing device”, “an operating system”, “a first large language model (LLM)”, and “a second LLM” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 13 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for a first large language model (LLM) and second LLM, “a first large language model (LLM) generates a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query;” encompasses mentally a person generating a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query.
For example, but for a first large language model (LLM) and second LLM, “the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results; and” encompasses mentally a person determining the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results;
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM) and second LLM, “in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.” encompasses mentally a person in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 13 recites obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;
in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;
in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results;
Next, “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component.
Next, “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, an operating system and the client computing device are mere generic computer components.
In addition, “in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, an operating system is a mere generic computer component. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 13 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere retrieving and filtering data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 13 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” and “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” and “in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results;” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Here, “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Here, “in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” and “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” and “in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results;” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein the filtered results are further provided to: a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content, or some combination thereof.” of dependent claim 14 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person assigning, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, and determining to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content, or some combination thereof. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 14 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value” of dependent claim 15 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value. Next, “and at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value.” of dependent claim 15 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 15 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein: the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated the user;” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “the at least one conversation history is provided to: the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results;” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Next, “and the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the client computing device in conjunction with providing aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 16 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 19-20 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 19 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 19 recites a method, comprising, by an application executing on a client computing device:
the filtered results are generated using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query that generates a query understanding object;
the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties;
each task of the plurality of tasks is (1) used to identify, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and (2) provided to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results, and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a client computing device”, “an operating system”, and “an interface” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a client computing device”, “an operating system”, and “an interface” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 19 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for an interface, “the filtered results are generated using a first large language model (LLM) that produces a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, each task of the plurality of tasks is (1) used to identify, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and (2) provided to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results, and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results” encompasses mentally a person determining the filtered results are generated using a first large language model (LLM) that produces a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, each task of the plurality of tasks is (1) used to identify, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task, and (2) provided to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results, and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results.
Next, but for a first large language model (LLM) and second LLM, “in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results” encompasses mentally a person in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 19 recites obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;
in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;
a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;
in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
Next, “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component.
Next, “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component.
Next, “a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Next, “in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and, as stated above, a client computing device is a mere generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 19 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere retrieving and filtering data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 19 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” and
“in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” “a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;”, and
“in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, “in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, “a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, ““in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:”” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device;” and
“in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device;” “a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;”, and
“in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein: the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information;” of dependent claim 20 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining wherein: the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information. Next, “and the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task.” of dependent claim 20 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 20 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 25-26 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 25 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 25 recites a method, comprising:
after requesting a response to an unstructured query, receiving the response;
in response to receiving the response, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface including the response and an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query;
while displaying the user interface including the response and the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query; and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query. The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a client computing device” and “display” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a client computing device” and “display” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 25 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, “after requesting a response to an unstructured query, receiving the response” encompasses mentally a person determining after requesting a response to an unstructured query, receiving the response.
Next, but for the display generation components, “in response to receiving the response, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface including the response and an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query;” encompasses mentally a person or person drawing on paper the response and an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query.
Next, but for the display generation components, “while displaying the user interface including the response and the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query” encompasses mentally a person or person drawing on paper the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query.
Next, but for the display generation components, “in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query.” encompasses mentally a person or person drawing on paper the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured. The mere nominal recitation of a system do not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 25 recites at a client computing device that includes one or more input devices and one or more display generation components:
Next, “at a client computing device that includes one or more input devices and one or more display generation are recited at a high level of generality such tat it amounts to no more than mere generic computer components implementing an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 25 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere displaying explanations cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 25 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein the response includes an affordance to perform an operation, the method further comprising: while displaying the affordance to perform the operation, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to perform the operation;” of dependent claim 26 is abstract because the claim amounts to mere insignificant instructions which does not amount to an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 26 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. U.S. Patent (2019/0236130; hereinafter: LI) in view of Xu et al U.S. Patent Publication (2026/0187082; hereinafter: Xu) and further in view of Gomes Pereira et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0414168; hereinafter: Gomes)
Claim 1
As to claim 1, LI discloses a method, comprising, at a server computing device:
receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device (paragraph[0277], the reference describes receiving a natural language query.);
for each structured query of the plurality of structured queries:
identifying, based on at least one aspect of the structured query, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the structured query (paragraph[0292], the reference describes identifying the structured query and sending the queries to a corresponding a knowledge base (i.e., knowledge sources, as claimed).),
and providing the structured query to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results (paragraph[00282], the reference describes obtaining results from the one or more domain sources.);
aggregating the results to produce aggregated results(paragraph[0303], the reference describes collecting and ranking the results.);
LI does not appear to explicitly disclose
generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query;
providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
However, Xu discloses generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a plurality of structured queries, wherein a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query (paragraph[0047], the reference describes generating structured queries based on using NL queries (i.e., unstructured queries) and a LLM. The reference describes sending the structured queries to different data sources.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to convert unstructured queries to structured queries which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to efficiently organize store and retrieve information (Xu: paragraph[0002]).
The combination of LI and Xu do not appear to explicitly disclose providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
However, Gomes discloses providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results (Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]) to filter results. The optimization program includes a machine learning model.); and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results (paragraph[0043], the reference describes presenting the filtered results.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to filter search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to efficiently generate optimized search results (Gomes: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 4
As to claim 4, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Li further disclose prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results:
providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content (paragraph[0263]-paragraph[0264], the reference describes the media a music.).
Claim 5
As to claim 5, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Gomes further disclose wherein the one or more knowledge sources include:
at least one web search engine (paragraph[0002], the reference describes using a search engine.);
at least one question and answer (Q&A) knowledge source;
at least one knowledge graph;
at least one approximate nearest-neighbor (ANN) index; at least one other LLM; or some combination thereof.
Claim 6
As to claim 6, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Li further disclose wherein:
at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value (paragraph[0338]-paragraph[0339], the reference describes determining a set of values in the structured query.); and
at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value (paragraph[0338]-paragraph[0339], the reference describes mapping the values to the results.).
Claim 8
As to claim 8, LI discloses a method, comprising, at a server computing device:
receiving an unstructured query from a client computing device (paragraph[0277], the reference describes receiving a natural language query.);
for each task of the plurality of tasks:
identifying, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task (paragraph[0289], the reference describes identifying what song the user is requesting to play and using task flows from the natural language input.), and providing the task to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results (paragraph[0292], the reference describes the execution of a task flow using a knowledge base.);
aggregating the results to produce aggregated results (paragraph[0303], the reference describes collecting and ranking the results.);
LI does not appear to explicitly disclose generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;
providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
However, Xu discloses disclose generating, using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query, a query understanding object, wherein the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties, and wherein a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query(paragraph[0047], the reference describes generating structured queries based on using NL queries (i.e., unstructured queries) and a LLM. The reference describes sending the structured queries to different data sources.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to convert unstructured queries to structured queries which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to efficiently organize store and retrieve information (Xu: paragraph[0002]).
The combination of LI and Xu do not appear to explicitly disclose
providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results.
However, Gomes discloses providing the aggregated results to a second LLM to produce filtered results (Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]) to filter results. The optimization program includes a machine learning model.); and
causing the client computing device to display at least a portion of the filtered results (paragraph[0043], the reference describes presenting the filtered results.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to filter search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to efficiently generate optimized search results (Gomes: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 10
As to claim 10, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 8, as noted above, and Li further disclose further comprising, prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content (paragraph[0263]-paragraph[0264], the reference describes the media a music.).
Claim 11
As to claim 11, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 8, as noted above, and Li further disclose wherein: the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information (paragraph[0290], the reference describes the task of finding the music title and Artist.); and
the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task (paragraph[0314]-paragraph[0315], the reference describes generating a task.).
Claim 13
As to claim 13, LI discloses a method, comprising, by an application executing on a client computing device:
obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device (paragraph[0277], the reference describes receiving a natural language query.);
in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device(paragraph[0075], the reference describes using an operating system. In addition, paragraph[0281], the reference describes natural language being processed by a neural network.);
wherein:
each structured query of the plurality of structured queries is provided to respective one or more knowledge sources that are selected based on at least one aspect of the structured query and provide respective results(paragraph[00282], the reference describes obtaining results from the one or more domain sources.),
LI does not appear to explicitly disclose in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
a first large language model (LLM) generates a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query;
a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query;
the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
However, Xu discloses a first large language model (LLM) generates a plurality of structured queries using the unstructured query(paragraph[0047], the reference describes generating structured queries based on using NL queries (i.e., unstructured queries) and a LLM.);
a combination of performing the plurality of structured queries results in a response to the unstructured query(paragraph[0047], the reference describes sending the structured queries to different data sources.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to convert unstructured queries to structured queries which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to efficiently organize store and retrieve information (Xu: paragraph[0002]).
The combination of LI and Xu do not appear to explicitly disclose in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query, wherein:
the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
However, Gomes discloses in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query(Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]), and
the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to generate the filtered results(Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]); and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results(paragraph[0043], the reference describes presenting the filtered results.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to filter search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to efficiently generate optimized search results (Gomes: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 15
As to claim 15, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 13, as noted above, and Li further disclose wherein:
at least one structured query of the plurality of structured queries includes at least one placeholder value(paragraph[0338]-paragraph[0339], the reference describes determining a set of values in the structured query.); and
at least one respective result for at least one other structured query of the plurality of structured queries is assigned to the at least one placeholder value (paragraph[0338]-paragraph[0339], the reference describes mapping the values to the results.).
Claim 19
As to claim 19, LI discloses a method, comprising, by an application executing on a client computing device:
obtaining an unstructured query from a user of the client computing device(paragraph[0277], the reference describes receiving a natural language query.);
in response to obtaining the unstructured query, providing the unstructured query to an operating system (OS) executing on the client computing device(paragraph[0075], the reference describes using an operating system. In addition, paragraph[0281], the reference describes natural language being processed by a neural network.);
, wherein:
the filtered results are generated using a first large language model (LLM) and the unstructured query that generates a query understanding object;
the query understanding object includes a plurality of tasks, and each task of the plurality of tasks includes a respective category and respective one or more properties(paragraph[0227]-paragraph[0229], the reference describes the system determining a task from the natural query input and related property node (i.e., a respective category and one or more properties, as claimed).), each task of the plurality of tasks is (1) used to identify, based on the respective category and the respective one or more properties, respective one or more knowledge sources to produce respective results for the task(paragraph[0289], the reference describes identifying what song the user is requesting to play and using task flows from the natural language input.), and (2) provided to the respective one or more knowledge sources to produce the respective results(paragraph[0292], the reference describes the execution of a task flow using a knowledge base.),
LI does not appear to explicitly disclose a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query;
in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query
and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
However, Xu discloses a combination of performing the plurality of tasks results in a response to the unstructured query(paragraph[0047], the reference describes generating structured queries based on using NL queries (i.e., unstructured queries) and a LLM. The reference describes sending the structured queries to different data sources.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to convert unstructured queries to structured queries which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu to efficiently organize store and retrieve information (Xu: paragraph[0002]).
The combination of LI and Xu do not appear to explicitly disclose in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query
and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results; and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results.
However, Gomes discloses in response to providing the unstructured query to the OS, receiving filtered results associated with the unstructured query(Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]) to filter results. The optimization program includes a machine learning model.)
and the results are aggregated and filtered by a second LLM to produce filtered results(Figure 1, paragraph[0038] and paragraph[0040]-paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a search optimization program to filter results. The reference describes an optimizing program using Natural Language and Machine Learning techniques (i.e., a second LLM, as claimed) (e.g., paragraph[0038]) to filter results. The optimization program includes a machine learning model.); and
in response to receiving the filtered results, performing at least one action associated with the filtered results(paragraph[0043], the reference describes presenting the filtered results.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to filter search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu and Gomes to efficiently generate optimized search results (Gomes: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 20
As to claim 20, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 19, as noted above, and Li further disclose wherein:
the respective category of a given task corresponds to album information, artist information, beats per minute (BPM) information, composer information, conductor information, content group information, copyright information, cover art information, disk number information, encoding information, genre information, initial key information, mood information, original artist information, publisher information, release date information, subtitle information, track title information, track number information, and/or year information(paragraph[0290], the reference describes the task of finding the music title and Artist.); and
the respective one or more properties of the given task function as values for the respective category of the given task(paragraph[0314]-paragraph[0315], the reference describes generating a task.).
Claims 2, 3, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. U.S. Patent (2019/0236130; hereinafter: LI) in view of Xu et al U.S. Patent Publication (2026/0187082; hereinafter: Xu) and further in view of Gomes Pereira et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0414168; hereinafter: Gomes) and further in view of Chao et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0403373; hereinafter: Chao)
Claim 2
As to claim 2, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose and further disclose prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results:
providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query.
However, Chao discloses further disclose prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results:
providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query (paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Gomes, Xu, and Chao to provide explanations of the relevant search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Gomes, Xu, and Chao to efficiently search and rank data sets within a data sharing platform (Chao: paragraph[0002]).
Claim 3
As to claim 3, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising, prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results.
However, Chao discloses further comprising, prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results: providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results (paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to provide explanations of the relevant search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to efficiently search and rank data sets within a data sharing platform (Chao: paragraph[0002]).
Claim 9
As to claim, the combination of Xu, Li, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 8, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising, prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results:
providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, providing the filtered results to the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, or some combination thereof.
However, Chao discloses further comprising, prior to causing the client computing device to display the at least a portion of the filtered results:
providing the filtered results to a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query, providing the filtered results to the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results, or some combination thereof(paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to provide explanations of the relevant search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to efficiently search and rank data sets within a data sharing platform (Chao: paragraph[0002]).
Claim 14
As to claim 14, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 13, as noted above, and Li further disclose wherein the filtered results are further provided to:
at least one artificial intelligence (AI) engine to generate media content that pertains to the filtered results, wherein the media content comprises image content, audio content, and/or video content, or some combination thereof(paragraph[0263]-paragraph[0264], the reference describes the media a music.).
The combination of Li and Gomes do not appear to explicitly disclose
a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query,
the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results,
However, Chao discloses a third LLM to assign, to each result of one or more results of the filtered results, a respective explanation as to why the result is relevant to the unstructured query (paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.),
the third LLM to assign, to the filtered results, one or more words that summarize the filtered results(paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to provide explanations of the relevant search results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Chao to efficiently search and rank data sets within a data sharing platform (Chao: paragraph[0002]).
Claims 7, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. U.S. Patent (2019/0236130; hereinafter: LI) in view of Xu et al U.S. Patent Publication (2026/0187082; hereinafter: Xu) and further in view of Gomes Pereira et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0414168; hereinafter: Gomes) and further in view of Mulligan et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0267344; hereinafter: Mulligan)
Claim 7
As to claim 7, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein:
the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device;
the at least one conversation history is provided to: the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results; and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.
However, Mulligan discloses wherein: the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device (paragraph[0210], the reference describes using conversation history received from the user’s device.);
the at least one conversation history is provided to:
the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results (paragraph[0210], the reference describes the conversation history being used by the LLM model.); and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results (paragraph[0271], the reference describes the conversation history being removed from the system (i.e., forgotten, as claimed).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to input conversation history into a model which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to efficiently provide improved user intent detection during conversations with chatbots of an interactive platform (Mulligan: paragraph[0027]).
Claim 12
As to claim 12, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 8, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein:
the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device;
the at least one conversation history is provided to: the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results; and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.
However, Mulligan discloses wherein:
the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated and received from the client computing device(paragraph[0210], the reference describes using conversation history received from the user’s device.);
the at least one conversation history is provided to:
the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or the second LLM along with the filtered results (paragraph[0210], the reference describes the conversation history being used by the LLM model.); and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the server computing device in conjunction with providing the aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results(paragraph[0271], the reference describes the conversation history being removed from the system (i.e., forgotten, as claimed).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to input conversation history into a model which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to efficiently provide improved user intent detection during conversations with chatbots of an interactive platform (Mulligan: paragraph[0027]).
Claim 16
As to claim 16, the combination of Li, Xu, and Gomes discloses all the elements in claim 13, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein:
the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated the user;
the at least one conversation history is provided to:
the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or
the second LLM along with the filtered results; and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the client computing device in conjunction with providing aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results.
However, Mulligan discloses wherein:
the unstructured query is paired with at least one conversation history that is associated the user(paragraph[0210], the reference describes using conversation history received from the user’s device.);
the at least one conversation history is provided to:
the first LLM along with the unstructured query, and/or
the second LLM along with the filtered results(paragraph[0210], the reference describes the conversation history being used by the LLM model.); and
the at least one conversation history is forgotten by the client computing device in conjunction with providing aggregated results to the second LLM to produce filtered results (paragraph[0271], the reference describes the conversation history being removed from the system (i.e., forgotten, as claimed).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to input conversation history into a model which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of LI with the teachings of Xu, Gomes, and Mulligan to efficiently provide improved user intent detection during conversations with chatbots of an interactive platform (Mulligan: paragraph[0027]).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chao et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0403373; hereinafter: Chao) in view of Zhang et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2025/0094774; hereinafter: Zhang)
Claim 25
As to claim 25, Chao discloses a method, comprising:
at a client computing device that includes one or more input devices and one or more display generation components (paragraph[0145], the reference describes using a computer device for display results.)
after requesting a response to an unstructured query, receiving the response;
in response to receiving the response, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface including the response and an affordance to display an explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query(paragraph[0041], the reference describes using a LLM model to generate an explanation of the search result relevance.);
Chao do not appear to explicitly disclose
while displaying the user interface including the response and the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query; and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query.
However, Zhang discloses while displaying the user interface including the response and the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query (Figure 10, paragraph[0063], the reference describes explaining why songs where recommended based on the query.); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to display the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the explanation as to why the response is relevant to the unstructured query(Figure 10, paragraph[0063], the reference describes explaining why songs where recommended based on the query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Chao with the teachings of Zhang to provide explanations of multimedia data results which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Chao with the teachings of Zhang to efficiently aid users for the comprehension data (Zhang: paragraph[0016]).
Claim 26
As to claim 26, the combination of Chao and Zhang discloses all the elements in claim 25, as noted above, and Chao further disclose wherein the response includes an affordance to perform an operation, the method further comprising:
while displaying the affordance to perform the operation, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to the affordance to perform the operation (paragraph[0022], the reference describes the user selecting a track on the user interface.); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the affordance to perform the operation, performing the operation(paragraph[0022], the reference describes the user selecting a track on the user interface.).
Conclusion
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152 February 24, 2024