DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, 13, 15, 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: The applicant recites “regen” which should be changed to –regenerative--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the brake torque target" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, it is unclear which brake torque target the applicant is referring to.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the brake torque target" in lines 29-30. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, it is unclear which brake torque target the applicant is referring to.
Claim 1 recites “a first wheel/tire assembly” and “a second wheel/tire assembly”. Slashes (/) connote alternative limitations. It is unclear how the claimed brake system would work if a tire were used in place of a wheel. The Examiner suggests changing “wheel/tire” to --wheel-- or --wheel and tire--.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 19 each recite braking and/or deceleration torques, but make no mention of wheels or any other rotating body. It is unclear how the invention can provide the claimed torques without acting on a rotating part such as a wheel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2021/0394728) in view of Hwang (US 2021/0370899) and further in view of Johnson et al (US 2018/0290640).
As per claim 1, Yoo discloses a vehicle (Title) comprising:
a chassis ([0005]);
a first wheel/tire assembly ([0021]) coupled to the chassis;
a second wheel/tire assembly ([0021]) coupled to the chassis;
an electric motor (170; [0054], [0056]) configured to power the second wheel/tire assembly;
a first pedal position sensor (110; [0023]), configured to detect a position of a brake pedal ([0024]) and provide first pedal position data ([0024]);
a first brake (FL, FR), configured to provide first deceleration torque to the first wheel/tire assembly ([0022]);
a electronic brake front module (120, 140), comprising:
a first electronic control unit (120); and
a first pressure management device (140), electrically coupled to the first ECU (Fig. 1; [0026]) and comprising a first hydraulic cylinder (144) and a first electric motor (142), the first electric motor configured to, based on first electrical commands received from the first ECU, cause the first hydraulic cylinder to generate first hydraulic pressure to operate the first brake ([0045]);
a second brake (RR, RL), configured to provide second deceleration torque to the second wheel/tire assembly ([0022]) and comprising a rear brake ([0022]) and an electronic parking brake (180; [0058]);
a electronic brake rear module (130, 150), physically separate from the EBFM (Fig. 1, 6) and comprising:
a second ECU (130); and
a second pressure management device (150), electrically coupled to the second ECU ([0049], [0050]) and comprising a second hydraulic cylinder (154) and a second electric motor (152), the second electric motor configured to, based on second electrical commands received from the second ECU, cause the second hydraulic cylinder to generate second hydraulic pressure to operate the second brake ([0050]);
wherein, in a first configuration, the first ECU is configured to:
receive the first pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine that the first pedal position data indicates a first braking request (S220);
determine, based on the first pedal position data, a first total deceleration torque ([0053]);
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque, a first brake torque target (S320; [0076]) and a second brake torque target (S320; [0076]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target equals the first total deceleration torque ([0076]);
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S320; [0076]); and
communicate, to the second ECU, the second brake torque target (S310, S320; [0075], [0076]); and
wherein, in the first configuration, the second ECU is configured to:
receive the second brake torque target (S320; [0076]); and
electrically operate the second pressure management device to hydraulically operate the rear caliper of the second brake based on the second brake torque target (S320; [0076]). Yoo discloses rear brakes ([0022]), determining a first brake torque target (S320; [0076]) and a second brake torque target (S320; [0076]) based on the first total deceleration torque and cooperative regenerative braking ([0055]), but does not clearly disclose a rear brake caliper or determining a regenerative deceleration amount produced by the electric motor; determining a brake torque target based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount or wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target, and the regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque.
Hwang discloses an electrohydraulic brake system configured to:
determine a regen deceleration amount (S221a; [0048]) produced by the electric motor;
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount, a brake torque target ([0048])
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target, and the regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S222; [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by accounting for hydraulic and regenerative brake forces while performing cooperative regenerative braking as taught by Hwang in order to provide user-responsive braking. Yoo and Hwang do not disclose brake calipers.
Johnson et al discloses a vehicle braking system comprising a rear caliper (114; [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brakes of Yoo by using disk brakes having calipers as taught by Johnson et al in order to provide improved heat dissipation.
As per claim 2, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 1. Yoo further discloses wherein the first ECU is further configured to:
determine an EBRM fault and place the EBFM into a second configuration (S330; [0078]).
As per claim 3, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 2. Yoo further discloses wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is configured to:
receive the first pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine, based on the first pedal position data, a first total deceleration torque ([0053]);
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S340; [0078]).
Hwang discloses a configuration to:
determine a commanded regen deceleration amount (S241a; [0056]);
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount, the first brake torque target (S242; [0058]);
cause the electric motor to operate according to the commanded regen deceleration amount (S241b; [0057]); and
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S242; [0058]).
As per claim 4, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 3. Yoo further discloses wherein the determining the EBRM fault comprises:
determining a lack of data replies from the second ECU or receiving an error message from the second ECU (136, [0038]; S330).
As per claim 5, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 3. Hwang further discloses wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target and the commanded regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S242; [0058]).
As per claim 6, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 3. Yoo further discloses wherein the first ECU is electrically coupled to the EPB ([0041]), and
wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is further configured to:
operate, based on the first total deceleration torque, the EPB to generate an EPB deceleration torque (S340; [0078]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target and the EPB deceleration torque equals the first total deceleration torque (S340; [0078]).
Hwang discloses wherein the first ECU is electrically coupled to the EPB (120; [0019]), and
wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is further configured to:
operate, based on the first total deceleration torque, the EPB to generate an EPB deceleration torque (S244; [0060]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the EPB deceleration torque, and the commanded regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S244; [0060]).
As per claim 7, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 1. Yoo further discloses wherein the second ECU is further configured to:
determine a lack of commands from the first ECU or receive an error message from the first ECU (126, [0030]); and
determine an EBFM fault based on the lack of commands or the error message (S350); and
place the EBRM into a third configuration (S350; [0080]).
As per claim 8, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 7. Yoo further discloses wherein in the third configuration, the second ECU is configured to:
determine a second braking request (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine, based on the second braking request, a third total deceleration torque ([0053]); and
electrically operate the second pressure management device to hydraulically operate the second brake in accordance with the third total deceleration torque (S360; [0080]).
As per claim 9, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 8, further comprising:
a pedal position sensor (110; [0023]), configured to detect the position of the brake pedal and provide second pedal position data,
wherein the braking request is determined based on the second pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]), and
wherein the third total deceleration torque is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0053]). Yoo does not disclose a second pedal position sensor.
Johnson et al discloses a second pedal position sensor (216), configured to detect the position of the brake pedal and provide second pedal position data,
wherein the second braking request is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0027]), and
wherein the third total deceleration torque is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by providing a redundant brake pedal sensor as taught by Johnson et al in order to provide operational redundancy.
As per claim 11, Yoo discloses a system (Title) comprising:
a first pedal position sensor (110; [0023]), configured to detect a position of a brake pedal ([0024]) and provide first pedal position data ([0024]);
a first brake (FL, FR);
an electric motor (170; [0054], [0056]);
a electronic brake front module (120, 140), comprising:
a first electronic control unit (120); and
a first pressure management device (140), electrically coupled to the first ECU (Fig. 1; [0026]) and comprising a first hydraulic cylinder (144) and a first electric motor (142), the first electric motor configured to, based on first electrical commands received from the first ECU, cause the first hydraulic cylinder to generate first hydraulic pressure to operate the first brake ([0045]);
a second brake (RR, RL), comprising a rear brake ([0022]) and an electronic parking brake (180; [0058]);
a electronic brake rear module (130, 150), physically separate from the EBFM (Fig. 1, 6) and comprising:
a second ECU (130); and
a second pressure management device (150), electrically coupled to the second ECU ([0049], [0050]) and comprising a second hydraulic cylinder (154) and a second electric motor (152), the second electric motor configured to, based on second electrical commands received from the second ECU, cause the second hydraulic cylinder to generate second hydraulic pressure to operate the second brake ([0050]);
wherein, in a first configuration, the first ECU is configured to:
receive the first pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine that the first pedal position data indicates a first braking request (S220);
determine, based on the first pedal position data, a first total deceleration torque ([0053]);
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque, a first brake torque target (S320; [0076]) and a second brake torque target (S320; [0076]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target, equals the first total deceleration torque ([0055], [0076]);
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S320; [0076]); and
communicate, to the second ECU, the second brake torque target (S310, S320; [0075], [0076]); and
wherein, in the first configuration, the second ECU is configured to:
receive the second brake torque target (S320; [0076]); and
electrically operate the second pressure management device to hydraulically operate the rear caliper of the second brake based on the second brake torque target (S320; [0076]). Yoo discloses rear brakes ([0022]), determining a first brake torque target (S320; [0076]) and a second brake torque target (S320; [0076]) based on the first total deceleration torque and cooperative regenerative braking ([0055]), but does not clearly disclose a rear brake caliper or determining a regenerative deceleration amount produced by the electric motor; determining a brake torque target based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount or wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target, and the regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque.
Hwang discloses an electrohydraulic brake system configured to:
determine a regen deceleration amount (S221a; [0048]) produced by the electric motor;
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount, a brake torque target ([0048])
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the brake torque target, and the regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S222; [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by accounting for hydraulic and regenerative brake forces while performing cooperative regenerative braking as taught by Hwang in order to provide user-responsive braking. Yoo and Hwang do not disclose brake calipers.
Johnson et al discloses a vehicle braking system comprising a rear caliper (114; [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brakes of Yoo by using disk brakes having calipers as taught by Johnson et al in order to provide improved heat dissipation.
As per claim 12, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 11. Yoo further discloses wherein the first ECU is further configured to:
determine an EBRM fault and place the EBFM into a second configuration (S330; [0078]).
As per claim 13, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 12. Yoo further discloses wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is configured to:
receive the first pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine, based on the first pedal position data, a first total deceleration torque ([0053]);
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S340; [0078]).
Hwang discloses a configuration to:
determine a commanded regen deceleration amount (S241a; [0056]);
determine, based on the first total deceleration torque and the regen deceleration amount, the first brake torque target (S242; [0058]);
cause the electric motor to operate according to the commanded regen deceleration amount (S241b; [0057]); and
electrically operate the first pressure management device to hydraulically operate the first brake in accordance with the first brake torque target (S242; [0058]).
As per claim 14, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 13. Yoo further discloses wherein the determining the EBRM fault comprises:
determining a lack of data replies from the second ECU or receiving an error message from the second ECU (136, [0038]; S330).
As per claim 15, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 13. Hwang further discloses wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target and the commanded regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S242; [0058]).
As per claim 16, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 13. Yoo further discloses wherein the first ECU is electrically coupled to the EPB ([0041]), and
wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is further configured to:
operate, based on the first total deceleration torque, the EPB to generate an EPB deceleration torque (S340; [0078]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target and the EPB deceleration torque equals the first total deceleration torque (S340; [0078]).
Hwang discloses wherein the first ECU is electrically coupled to the EPB (120; [0019]), and
wherein, in the second configuration, the first ECU is further configured to:
operate, based on the first total deceleration torque, the EPB to generate an EPB deceleration torque (S244; [0060]),
wherein a total deceleration provided by a sum of the first brake torque target, the EPB deceleration torque, and the commanded regen deceleration amount equals the first total deceleration torque (S244; [0060]).
As per claim 17, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 11. Yoo further discloses wherein the second ECU is further configured to:
determine a lack of commands from the first ECU or receive an error message from the first ECU (126, [0030]); and
determine an EBFM fault based on the lack of commands or the error message (S350); and
place the EBRM into a third configuration (S350; [0080]).
As per claim 18, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 17. Yoo further discloses wherein in the third configuration, the second ECU is configured to:
determine a second braking request (S210; [0024], [0068]);
determine, based on the second braking request, a third total deceleration torque ([0053]); and
electrically operate the second pressure management device to hydraulically operate the second brake in accordance with the third total deceleration torque (S360; [0080]).
As per claim 19, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 18, further comprising:
a pedal position sensor (110; [0023]), configured to detect the position of the brake pedal and provide second pedal position data,
wherein the braking request is determined based on the second pedal position data (S210; [0024], [0068]), and
wherein the third total deceleration torque is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0053]). Yoo does not disclose a second pedal position sensor.
Johnson et al discloses a second pedal position sensor (216), configured to detect the position of the brake pedal and provide second pedal position data,
wherein the second braking request is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0027]), and
wherein the third total deceleration torque is determined based on the second pedal position data ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by providing a redundant brake pedal sensor as taught by Johnson et al in order to provide operational redundancy.
8. Claim(s) 10 and 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2021/0394728) in view of Hwang (US 2021/0370899), Johnson et al (US 2018/0290640) and Meyer et al (US 2022/0340118).
As per claim 10, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the vehicle of claim 1, but do not disclose, wherein the EBFM is disposed in a forward half of the chassis, and wherein the EBRM is disposed in a rearward half of the chassis.
Meyer et al discloses a braking system wherein the EBFM is disposed in a forward half of the vehicle ([0048]), and wherein the EBRM is disposed in a rearward half of the vehicle ([0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by installing the first ECU and actuator in the front half of the vehicle and the second ECU and actuator in the rear half of the vehicle as taught by Meyer et al in order to distribute the equipment weight more evenly.
As per claim 20, Yoo, Hwang and Johnson et al disclose the system of claim 11. Yoo further discloses wherein the EBFM and EBRM are disposed in a chassis ([0005]) of a vehicle (Title), but does not disclose their relative placement.
Meyer et al discloses a braking system wherein the EBFM is disposed in a forward half ([0048]) of a vehicle (Title), and wherein the EBRM is disposed in a rearward half of the vehicle ([0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Yoo by installing the first ECU and actuator in the front half of the vehicle and the second ECU and actuator in the rear half of the vehicle as taught by Meyer et al in order to distribute the equipment weight more evenly.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brake systems
Ko (US 2022/0134888).
Beauvais (US 2018/0029577).
Yamamoto et al (US 2015/0115697).
STEPHEN M. BOWES IV
Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616