DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that the word is has been misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12131237 in view of Xian-Sheng Hua US 20160217349 (hereinafter Hua).
With respect to independent claims 1, 6 and 11 of the instant application, claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12131237 teach all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11 respectively, except for: causing output, by the trained machine learning model, of a classification of at least one file associated with the second organization; however, Hua discloses: (“the classifying module 120 may compare the second label resulting from classification with the first label associated with the new positive multimedia data item. Based at least in part on identifying the misclassification, the updating module 208 may adjust at least some of the model vectors. For instance, if the classifying module 120 determines that the new positive multimedia data item is incorrectly classified as the second label, the updating module 208 may scale down the model vector associated with the second label and may scale up the model vector associated with the first label.” Hua: para. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miserendino with the teaching of Hua to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would be applied to further refine the classifier (Hua para. 58).
Claim 16 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12131237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher T. Symons US 20150067857 (hereinafter Symon) in view of Xian-Sheng Hua US 20160217349 (hereinafter Hua).
As per claim 1, Symons teaches: A method comprising:
receiving first information associated with a first plurality of files associated with a first organization (“The physical or external process is defined by the computing session in which data is received and/or processed or during the time in which a program is running that begins when the data is received” Symons: para. 41);
based on the first information and second information associated with a second plurality of files associated with a second organization, training a machine learning model usable by the second organization for classifying files (“The device may identify a sufficient (small) number of network flows that are normal and benign activities on their network. In training a red-teaming is performed by either the support or IT team to provide examples of a small number of attacks of the type they want to identify. For example, maybe they don't want the device to alert on probes, only on exploits, so they use a variety of exploits run against the network. These known behaviors, the normals, and the attacks, are labeled as such for the device, and the machine-learning detection model for the device is then trained either on a separate, more powerful machine, or on the device itself The deployed device then uses this model to make alerting decisions.” Symons: para. 40);
Symons does not teach; however, Hua discloses: causing output, by the trained machine learning model, of a classification of at least one file associated with the second organization (“the classifying module 120 may compare the second label resulting from classification with the first label associated with the new positive multimedia data item. Based at least in part on identifying the misclassification, the updating module 208 may adjust at least some of the model vectors. For instance, if the classifying module 120 determines that the new positive multimedia data item is incorrectly classified as the second label, the updating module 208 may scale down the model vector associated with the second label and may scale up the model vector associated with the first label.” Hua: para. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Symons with the teaching of Hua to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would be applied to further refine the classifier (Hua para. 58).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Symons does not teach; however, Hua discloses: the first information comprises a first feature vector representation of the first plurality of files, and wherein the first feature vector representation comprises non-sensitive data associated with the first organization (Hau: para. 97).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches: the first plurality of files is associated with a first plurality of adjudicated classifications (“In training a red-teaming is performed by either the support or IT team to provide examples of a small number of attacks of the type they want to identify. For example, maybe they don't want the device to alert on probes, only on exploits, so they use a variety of exploits run against the network.” Symons: para. 40).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches:
the training uses at least a portion of each of the first information and the second information to form a training data set, the method further comprising:
receiving an indication of an amount of each portion of each of the first information and the second information to be used in the training data set (“Selected semi-supervised learning may depend on the choice of features, choice of event definition, etc. In this disclosure an event is any collection of features that quantify what has occurred in a network, on a host, etc. over a specified period of time. The time period may be an n-second time window or may be based on the period in which a network connection is sustained.” Symons: para. 14).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches:
the first information indicates at least one of a file header property, a component of a file, or a binary sequence (Symons: para. 30).
As per claim 6, this claim defines a computing device that corresponds to the method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 7, this claim defines a computing device that corresponds to the method of claim 2 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 8, this claim defines a computing device that corresponds to the method of claim 3 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 9, this claim defines a computing device that corresponds to the method of claim 4 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 10, this claim defines a computing device that corresponds to the method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 11, this claim defines a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instruction that corresponds to the method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 12, this claim defines a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instruction that corresponds to the method of claim 2 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 13, this claim defines a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instruction that corresponds to the method of claim 3 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 14, this claim defines a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instruction that corresponds to the method of claim 4 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 15, this claim defines a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instruction that corresponds to the method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 16, Symons teaches: A system comprising: receive first information associated with a first plurality of files associated with a first organization (“The physical or external process is defined by the computing session in which data is received and/or processed or during the time in which a program is running that begins when the data is received” Symons: para. 41);
based on the first information and second information associated with a second plurality of files associated with a second organization, train a machine learning model usable by the second organization for classifying files (“The device may identify a sufficient (small) number of network flows that are normal and benign activities on their network. In training a red-teaming is performed by either the support or IT team to provide examples of a small number of attacks of the type they want to identify. For example, maybe they don't want the device to alert on probes, only on exploits, so they use a variety of exploits run against the network. These known behaviors, the normals, and the attacks, are labeled as such for the device, and the machine-learning detection model for the device is then trained either on a separate, more powerful machine, or on the device itself The deployed device then uses this model to make alerting decisions.” Symons: para. 40);
at least one second computer device configured to:
send, to the at least one first computing device, the first information (“The physical or external process is defined by the computing session in which data is received and/or processed or during the time in which a program is running that begins when the data is received.” Symons: para. 41).
Symons does not teach; however, Hua discloses: cause output, by the trained machine learning model, of a classification of at least one file associated with the second organization (“the classifying module 120 may compare the second label resulting from classification with the first label associated with the new positive multimedia data item. Based at least in part on identifying the misclassification, the updating module 208 may adjust at least some of the model vectors. For instance, if the classifying module 120 determines that the new positive multimedia data item is incorrectly classified as the second label, the updating module 208 may scale down the model vector associated with the second label and may scale up the model vector associated with the first label.” Hua: para. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Symons with the teaching of Hua to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would be applied to further refine the classifier (Hua para. 58).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein. Symons does not teach; however, Hua discloses: the first information comprises a first feature vector representation of the first plurality of files, and wherein the first feature vector representation comprises non-sensitive data associated with the first organization (Hau: para. 97).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches: the first plurality of files is associated with a first plurality of adjudicated classifications (“In training a red-teaming is performed by either the support or IT team to provide examples of a small number of attacks of the type they want to identify. For example, maybe they don't want the device to alert on probes, only on exploits, so they use a variety of exploits run against the network.” Symons: para. 40).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches: the training uses at least a portion of each of the first information and the second information to form a training data set, wherein the at least one first computing device us further configured to:
receive an indication of an amount of each portion of each of the first information and the second information to be used in the training data set (“Selected semi-supervised learning may depend on the choice of features, choice of event definition, etc. In this disclosure an event is any collection of features that quantify what has occurred in a network, on a host, etc. over a specified period of time. The time period may be an n-second time window or may be based on the period in which a network connection is sustained.” Symons: para. 14).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein. Symons teaches: the first information indicates at least one of a file header property, a component of a file, or a binary sequence (Symons: para. 30).
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493