DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18903976 filed on 10/01/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on provisional application US 63/587,614 filed on 10/03/2023.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grant et al. (hereafter Grant) US 20200264378 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a lightguide (i.e. as waveguide display with the waveguide e.g. 101, used in near eye displays, e.g. AR,VR,HMD apparatus, 100, see, paragraphs [05-20, 42-50,82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, and equivalents in Figs. 2-4,6,10) comprising:
an incoupler configured to direct display light representative of an image into a body of the lightguide (i.e. input grating 102, and equivalents, directing image generator 107 beam 107A into waveguide 101, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101], Figs. 1-4,6); and
a combined exit pupil expansion and outcoupling structure including an array of louver retroreflectors configured to expand an eyebox of the image and direct at least a portion of the display light out of the lightguide (i.e. as grating structure 103 with integrated gratings 105,106 (and equivalents Figs. 2-4, 6,10) with array of crossed grating lines/grooves that reflect and that perform two-dimensional beam expansion and extraction of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]), wherein each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors includes a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (as surfaces of two crossed grating lines/grooves of each section/element of crossed gratings, see Figs. 1,2,3,4C, of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]), the first reflective surface arranged substantially orthogonal to the second reflective surface (as surfaces of two crossed grating lines/grooves of each section/element of crossed gratings are substantially orthogonal, as depicted in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]).
In regard to independent claim 9, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a head-wearable display (HWD) (i.e. as near eye displays, e.g. AR,VR,HMD apparatus, 100 with waveguide display and waveguide e.g. 101, , see, paragraphs [05-20, 42-50,82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, and equivalents in Figs. 2-4,6,10) comprising:
an optical engine configured to emit display light representative of an image (i.e. image generator 107 providing image beam 107A for 100 and waveguide 101, paragraphs [2-90, 92-101], Figs. 1-4); and
a lightguide waveguide e.g. 101, used in near eye displays, e.g. AR,VR,HMD apparatus, 100, see, paragraphs [05-20, 42-50,82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, and equivalents in Figs. 2-4,6,10) including
a combined exit pupil expansion and outcoupling structure that includes an array of louver retroreflectors configured to expand an eyebox of the image and direct at least a portion of the display light out of the lightguide (i.e. as grating structure 103 with integrated gratings 105,106 (and equivalents Figs. 2-4, 6,10) with array of crossed grating lines that reflect and that perform two-dimensional beam expansion and extraction of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]),
wherein each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors includes a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (as surfaces of two crossed grating lines of each section of crossed gratings, see Figs. 1,2,3,4C, of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]), the first reflective surface arranged substantially orthogonal to the second reflective surface (two crossed grating lines of each section of crossed gratings are substantially orthogonal, as depicted in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]).
In regard to independent claim 17, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a lightguide (i.e. as waveguide display with the waveguide e.g. 101, used in near eye displays, e.g. AR,VR,HMD apparatus, 100, see, paragraphs [05-20, 42-50,82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, and equivalents in Figs. 2-4,6,10), comprising:
one or more reflective structures configured to direct display light representative of an image into a body of the lightguide (i.e. input grating 102, and equivalents, directing image from image generator 107 as beam 107A into waveguide 101, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101], Figs. 1-4,6); and
an array of louver retroreflectors configured to expand an eyebox of the image and direct at least a portion of the display light out of the lightguide (i.e. as grating structure 103 with integrated gratings 105,106 (and equivalents Figs. 2-4, 6,10) with array of crossed grating lines that reflect and that perform two-dimensional beam expansion and extraction of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]), wherein each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors includes a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (as surfaces of two crossed grating lines of each section of crossed gratings, see Figs. 1,2,3,4C, of light from the waveguide 101, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]), the first reflective surface arranged substantially orthogonal to the second reflective surface (two crossed grating lines of each section of crossed gratings are substantially orthogonal, as depicted in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113], e.g. Figs. 1, 2-4,6,10]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that for each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors, a side of the first reflective surface is joined with a side of the second reflective surface to form an edge of the louver retroreflector (as surfaces of two crossed grating lines/grooves of each section/element are joined at an edge of that section, as depicted in Fig. 1-2,3,4C, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113]).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 19, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors is arranged such that the first reflective surface of the louver retroreflector is parallel to the first reflective surface of each other louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors (as first surface of each section/element of crossed gratings is parallel to first surface of each other grating section given the substantially orthogonal arrangement of grating elements, see Figs. 4C, e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113]).
Regarding claims 5, and 12, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that one or more louver retroreflectors of the array are arranged so as to cover at least a portion of one or more other retroreflectors of the array (i.e. as best understood given that one or more section/element covers one or more other grating section/elements in at least one sideview, see Figs. 1-2,4,10 e.g. paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113]).
Regarding claims 6, and 13, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that at least one selected from a group of a height, roll angle, or edge angle of a first louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors different from the at least one selected from a group of a height, roll angle, or edge angle of a second louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors. (i.e. as integrated, multiplexed gratings with grating section/elements can have different size(s), different grating vectors and grating slat (s), see paragraphs [44,71, 82-84,91-94,101], Figs. 1,2-4,10).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that the array of louver retroreflectors is configured to split the display light into two or more portions and direct the two or more portions out of the lightguide (i.e. as integrated grating with grating section/elements is configured to expand image generator 107 image beam 107A fields of view into different directions and extract the from the waveguide, see paragraphs [82-84,86-92,101,108,112-113]).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 20, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) the lightguide waveguide (display with the waveguide) further includes: a one-dimensional outcoupling structure configured to direct light received from the combined exit pupil expansion and outcoupling structure out of the lightguide (i.e. as best understood, in case with integrated first and second gratings, with first and second prescriptions 602,603, and with third and fourth prescriptions 604,605, see Fig. 6, whit active area 606 containing four multiplexed gratings, as 605 can be configured to provide beam expansion in a second direction for incident light and to extract the light out of the waveguide, and/or 603 can be configured to provide beam expansion in the first direction for incident light and to extract the light out of the waveguide, e.g. paragraphs [105-109], Fig. 6,7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al. (hereafter Grant) US 20200264378 A1 in view of Lao et al. (hereafter Lao) US 20250076649 A1.
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 18, Grant teaches (see Figs. 1-13) each louver retroreflector of the array of louver retroreflectors includes a top surface (i.e. as each section/element of two crossed grating lines/grooves with top surface, as depicted in Fig. 1-2,3,4C, paragraphs [82-90, 92-101,105-108,112-113]) but is silent regarding having a cutout.
However, Lao teaches in the same field of invention of a waveguide display with multiple joined fields of view (see Figs. 3-5, 10-11,13-19, title, abstract, including waveguide substrate with input coupler and output coupler 2-D gratings with pupil expansion and with substantially orthogonal lines/grooves of grating elements, see Figs. 5, 10-11,13-19 with descriptions, e.g. paragraphs [108-113,123-133,138-143]) and further teaches that each of retroreflectors includes the top surface having a cutout (i.e. as crossed 2-D gratings with two-dimensional arrays of grating elements, e.g. microstructures that have cutout on the top surface as depicted in e.g. Fig. 19, where such shape, and/or alignment direction of the grating elements may be selected to achieve the desired grating vectors and performance, and/or to support multiple FOVs in waveguide displays, see paragraphs [123-133,138-143]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify each grating section/element of integrated grating structure of Grant to include top surface having a cutout according to teachings of Lao in order to select to achieve the desired grating vectors and performance, and/or to support multiple FOVs in waveguide displays (see Lao paragraphs [126, 138-143]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al US 20230341597 A1 also discloses features of instant invention (see Figs 25A-31Q and their descriptions).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872