DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Göblet al. (US Patent Application Publication No 9,530,712) hereinafter referred to as Göbl.
Per Claim 1 Göbl discloses a power semiconductor module device, (see figure 1) comprising
a substrate (2) having a power semiconductor component (3) arranged thereon;
a connecting device (3) with a potting body (8);
a pressure device (5) having external terminal elements (50/52); and
a preformed housing (described in column 5 lines 3-8);
wherein the substrate (2) has an insulant body (20) and substrate conductor tracks (22) arranged thereon; (see figure 1)
wherein the power semiconductor component (3) is arranged on one of these substrate conductor tracks (22) and is electrically conductively connected thereto;
wherein the connecting device (3) is embodied as a film stack having a first electrically conductive film (34), a second electrically conductive film (30), with and an electrically insulating film (32) therebetween; wherein the connecting device (3) is covered, preferably completely, by the potting body (8);
wherein the external terminal elements (50/52) are arranged on the preformed housing (8) (or connected thereto in a positively locking manner) and each has a contact device to an assigned substrate conductor track (22) (as described in column 7 lines 1-5) The examiner notes that the term "on" includes "directly on" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly on" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween). The examiner notes that the term "connected" includes "directly connected" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly connected " (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween).
Additionally, claim 1 recites the performance properties of the device(i.e. wherein the pressure device (5) is embodied to exert pressure on the potting body either directly by means of a spring element or indirectly exclusively by way of a metal plate on the potting body). This functional limitation does not distinguish the claimed device over the prior art, since it appears that this limitation can be performed by the prior art structure of Göbl. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) See MPEP 2114.
Per Claim 2 Göbl discloses the device of claim 1including, (see figure 1) where the electrically conductive films (34) each embody film conductor tracks. (see figure 7c)
Per Claim 3 Göbl discloses the device of claim 1including, (see figure 1) where the potting body (5) is embodied as an epoxy resin. ( see column 7 lines 25-26)
Per Claim 9 Göbl discloses the device of claim 1including, (see figure 1) where a surface of the potting body (8) facing away from the substrate (2) has a contour element (corners)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 14-15 are allowed.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Kroneder (US 2015/0325494) is provided as for teaching an analogous device including power semiconductor module.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818