DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 30-35, claim 30 recites ‘from an access device’. However, claims 30-35 are directed to a CRM that cause a computing device to perform the operations. That is, it is not clear who or what is performing the steps. Claims 31-35 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 30 and are rejected for similar reasons. Please review all of your claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 18-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (2011/0299489; Support in provisional 61/121543 filed 11 Dec 2008 and 61/154767, 61/167162, and 61/170093) and further in view of Chung (2009/0088148).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) and from an access device, a radio resource control (RRC) message, (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
wherein the RRC message indicates, for each component carrier of a plurality of component carriers, one or more control channel aggregation levels (See Kim fig. 13, para. 167; RRC signaling includes the aggregation level of each carrier and CCE, control channel element, aggregation level parameter indicates CCE aggregation level of a PDCCH transmitted on each CC; table 2; showing different subsets of aggregation levels) and, for each of the one or more aggregation levels, a respective number of control channel candidates specific to the UE; (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE by using the
determined UE-specific control channel search space. (See Kim para. 91; control info is carried on PDCCH and is known as DCI; see para. 93; eNB transmits DCI to specific UE;para. 198; search space)
Kim also discloses that the search space may be determined based on CCE aggregation level of each carrier and a C-RNTI. (See Kim para. 228; para. 93; C-RNTI is unique to a specific UE) Kim does not explicitly disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. However, Chung does disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. (See Chung para. 94, 95, table 3; UE-specific search spaces and number of candidates and for each aggregation level which is based upon UE-specific identifier; see eq 1 and 2) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Chung discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
using at least one of control channel candidates in the UE-specific control channel search space to transmit at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (See Chung para. 103; fig. 19; BS transmits UE-specific control info on PDCCH in UE-specific search space) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Chung discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the control channel aggregation level indicates a number of control channel elements (CCEs) in a PDCCH. (See Chung para. 87; CCE aggregation level means number of CCEs used to transmit PDCCH) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Chung discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the RRC message further indicates, for at least one component carrier and (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
Kim also discloses indication of the candidate numbers. (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
Kim does not explicitly disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. However, Chung does disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and (See Chung para. 15; common search space monitored by all UEs; table 3; aggregation level 4 – 4 candidates; aggregation level 8 – 2 candidates; see also fig. 17) wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. (See Chung para. 91; size of search space is determined by the number of PDCCH candidates and the size of the CCE aggregation level; para. 95, equation 1; M^(L), the candidate number, in determining search space) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum) and further for efficient broadcast of shared control information (saving spectrum) and further to reduce blind decoding attempts (by searching only within a known range and location).
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Chung discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the RRC message indicates to the UE to disable searching control channel candidates for a particular control channel aggregation level. (See Kim table 2; {1,2} instructs UE not to search 4 or 8; para. 234; UEs supporting CA may be limited to perform blind detection only for two or three adjacent CCE aggregation levels (e.g. disabling other combinations))
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Chung discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the RRC message indicates information for the component carriers, and the UE-specific control channel search space for a particular component carrier is determined also based on a carrier index of the particular component carrier. (See Kim para. 163, 164; CF, coordinated field, includes number of CC indication and index of carriers on which BD is to be performed, indicating CC set, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 24-29 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (2011/0299489; Support in provisional 61/121543 filed 11 Dec 2008 and 61/154767, 61/167162, and 61/170093) and further in view of Chung (2009/0088148).
Regarding claim 24, Kim discloses an access device, comprising:
at least one processor;
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the access device to perform operations comprising: (See Kim para. 272; processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
wherein the RRC message indicates, for each component carrier of a plurality of component carriers, one or more control channel aggregation levels (See Kim fig. 13, para. 167; RRC signaling includes the aggregation level of each carrier and CCE, control channel element, aggregation level parameter indicates CCE aggregation level of a PDCCH transmitted on each CC; table 2; showing different subsets of aggregation levels) and, for each of the one or more aggregation levels, a respective number of control channel candidates specific to the UE; (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE by using the
determined UE-specific control channel search space. (See Kim para. 91; control info is carried on PDCCH and is known as DCI; see para. 93; eNB transmits DCI to specific UE;para. 198; search space)
Kim also discloses that the search space may be determined based on CCE aggregation level of each carrier and a C-RNTI. (See Kim para. 228; para. 93; C-RNTI is unique to a specific UE) Kim does not explicitly disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. However, Chung does disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. (See Chung para. 94, 95, table 3; UE-specific search spaces and number of candidates and for each aggregation level which is based upon UE-specific identifier; see eq 1 and 2) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 25, Kim in view of Chung discloses the access device of claim 24, wherein the operations further comprise:
using at least one of control channel candidates in the UE-specific control channel search space to transmit at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (See Chung para. 103; fig. 19; BS transmits UE-specific control info on PDCCH in UE-specific search space) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of Chung discloses the access device of claim 24, wherein the control channel aggregation level indicates a number of control channel elements (CCEs) in a PDCCH. (See Chung para. 87; CCE aggregation level means number of CCEs used to transmit PDCCH) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 27, Kim in view of Chung discloses the access device of claim 24, wherein the RRC message further indicates, for at least one component carrier and (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
Kim also discloses indication of the candidate numbers. (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
Kim does not explicitly disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. However, Chung does disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and (See Chung para. 15; common search space monitored by all UEs; table 3; aggregation level 4 – 4 candidates; aggregation level 8 – 2 candidates; see also fig. 17) wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. (See Chung para. 91; size of search space is determined by the number of PDCCH candidates and the size of the CCE aggregation level; para. 95, equation 1; M^(L), the candidate number, in determining search space) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum) and further for efficient broadcast of shared control information (saving spectrum) and further to reduce blind decoding attempts (by searching only within a known range and location).
Regarding claim 28, Kim in view of Chung discloses the access device of claim 24, wherein the RRC message indicates to the UE to disable searching control channel candidates for a particular control channel aggregation level. (See Kim table 2; {1,2} instructs UE not to search 4 or 8; para. 234; UEs supporting CA may be limited to perform blind detection only for two or three adjacent CCE aggregation levels (e.g. disabling other combinations))
Regarding claim 29, Kim in view of Chung discloses the access device of claim 24, wherein the RRC message indicates information for the component carriers, and the UE-specific control channel search space for a particular component carrier is determined also based on a carrier index of the particular component carrier. (See Kim para. 163, 164; CF, coordinated field, includes number of CC indication and index of carriers on which BD is to be performed, indicating CC set, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 30-35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (2011/0299489; Support in provisional 61/121543 filed 11 Dec 2008 and 61/154767, 61/167162, and 61/170093) and further in view of Chung (2009/0088148).
Regarding claim 30, Kim discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions, that when executed by one or more processors, cause a computing device to perform operations comprising: (See Kim para. 272; processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) and from an access device, a radio resource control (RRC) message, (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
wherein the RRC message indicates, for each component carrier of a plurality of component carriers, one or more control channel aggregation levels (See Kim fig. 13, para. 167; RRC signaling includes the aggregation level of each carrier and CCE, control channel element, aggregation level parameter indicates CCE aggregation level of a PDCCH transmitted on each CC; table 2; showing different subsets of aggregation levels) and, for each of the one or more aggregation levels, a respective number of control channel candidates specific to the UE; (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE by using the
determined UE-specific control channel search space. (See Kim para. 91; control info is carried on PDCCH and is known as DCI; see para. 93; eNB transmits DCI to specific UE;para. 198; search space)
Kim also discloses that the search space may be determined based on CCE aggregation level of each carrier and a C-RNTI. (See Kim para. 228; para. 93; C-RNTI is unique to a specific UE) Kim does not explicitly disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. However, Chung does disclose determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id. (See Chung para. 94, 95, table 3; UE-specific search spaces and number of candidates and for each aggregation level which is based upon UE-specific identifier; see eq 1 and 2) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of determining a UE-specific control channel search space for each carrier including the respective number of control channel candidates for each of the one or more aggregation levels based on number of candidates for each of aggregation levels based upon UE specific id of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 31, Kim in view of Chung discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise:
using at least one of control channel candidates in the UE-specific control channel search space to transmit at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (See Chung para. 103; fig. 19; BS transmits UE-specific control info on PDCCH in UE-specific search space) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 32, Kim in view of Chung discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 30, wherein the control channel aggregation level indicates a number of control channel elements (CCEs) in a PDCCH. (See Chung para. 87; CCE aggregation level means number of CCEs used to transmit PDCCH) The motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum).
Regarding claim 33, Kim in view of Chung discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 30, wherein the RRC message further indicates, for at least one component carrier and (See Kim fig. 13, para. 176; eNB (e.g. an access device) transmits to a UE a CF, coordination field, inside an RRC signaling and acquires CA, carrier aggregation, information)
Kim also discloses indication of the candidate numbers. (See Kim para. 163; CCE aggregation level, number of candidate PDCCH; para. 168; adjusting the number of candidate PDCCHs for each CCE aggregation level to a UE (e.g. UE specific); see also para. 239)
Kim does not explicitly disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. However, Chung does disclose a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and (See Chung para. 15; common search space monitored by all UEs; table 3; aggregation level 4 – 4 candidates; aggregation level 8 – 2 candidates; see also fig. 17) wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs. (See Chung para. 91; size of search space is determined by the number of PDCCH candidates and the size of the CCE aggregation level; para. 95, equation 1; M^(L), the candidate number, in determining search space) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to include the teaching of a common search space/candidate numbers for a group of UEs and wherein the method further comprises: based on the respective number of further control channel candidates for each of the one or more further aggregation levels and common to the set of UEs, determining a common search space for the set of UEs of Chung with the motivation being to ensure synchronization between the UE and network with regard to which resources are going to be used to ensure that the UE is not wasting battery power searching in the wrong areas and further to reduce battery usage and maximize limited resources by sending control info in the designated areas (as opposed to telling the UE to look somewhere and then sending the info somewhere else which wastes limited resources including wireless spectrum) and further for efficient broadcast of shared control information (saving spectrum) and further to reduce blind decoding attempts (by searching only within a known range and location).
Regarding claim 34, Kim in view of Chung discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 30, wherein the RRC message indicates to the UE to disable searching control channel candidates for a particular control channel aggregation level. (See Kim table 2; {1,2} instructs UE not to search 4 or 8; para. 234; UEs supporting CA may be limited to perform blind detection only for two or three adjacent CCE aggregation levels (e.g. disabling other combinations))
Regarding claim 35, Kim in view of Chung discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 30, wherein the RRC message indicates information for the component carriers, and the UE-specific control channel search space for a particular component carrier is determined also based on a carrier index of the particular component carrier. (See Kim para. 163, 164; CF, coordinated field, includes number of CC indication and index of carriers on which BD is to be performed, indicating CC set, etc.)
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461