DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 10/02/2024. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
US Patent No. 11149717
Claim 1-20 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of US Patent No. 11149717 (Application Number: 15/637952).
Regarding Claim 1:
INSTANT – 18/904174, Claim 1
US Patent: 11149717, Claim 1
an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including one or more processors and one or more computer readable storage media storing instructions; and
a user device in communication with the UAV and configured to:
present an interactive user interface identifying a plurality of types of wind turbines;
receive a selection of a type of wind turbine of the plurality of types of wind turbine; and
enable input including one or more values identifying geometry information associated with a wind turbine of the selected type of wind turbine and a stand-off distance for the wind turbine,
obtaining first sensor information by an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the first sensor information describing physical aspects of a wind turbine, including one or more blades of the wind turbine;
wherein the one or more processors of the UAV are configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain the one or more values;
obtain first sensor information describing physical aspects of the wind turbine, including one or more blades of the wind turbine;
determining an orientation of the blades of the wind turbine based on the obtained first sensor information; determining a flight pattern for the UAV to inspect the blades of the wind turbine,
determine an orientation of the blades of the wind turbine based on the obtained first sensor information and the geometry information associated with the wind turbine;
wherein the flight pattern is based on the determined orientation of the blades; and
determine a flight pattern for the UAV to inspect the blades of the wind turbine based on the determined orientation of the blades and the stand-off distance; and
inspecting by the UAV, each of the blades of the wind turbine according to the determined flight pattern, wherein inspecting comprises obtaining second sensor information describing the blades of the wind turbine
inspect each of the blades of the wind turbine according to the determined flight pattern including obtaining second sensor information periodically while navigating the UAV along a first blade of the blades from one or more angles relative to a leading edge of the first blade and obtaining third sensor information periodically while navigating the UAV along a second blade of the blades from one or more angles relative to a leading edge of the second blade.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of the US Patent No. 11149717. That is, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent No. 11149717.
Regarding Claims 8 & 15, Analogous rejection as the rejection of Claim 1 applies.
Regarding Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20:
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 of the instant application are recited in claims 2-9 and 11-18 and 20-27 of US Patent No. 11149717.
US Patent No. 12116979
Claim 1-20 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12116979 (Application Number: 17/475751).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are recited in claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12116979.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Craft et al. (US 2016/0017866, hereinafter Craft).
Regarding claim 1, Craft discloses a system comprising one or more processors and one or more computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to perform operations ([0002], FIG. 1) comprising:
obtaining first sensor information by an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the first sensor information describing physical aspects of a wind turbine, including one or more blades of the wind turbine ([0015], FIG. 1, analyzes the wind turbine tower to collect data on its shape and construct a digital three-dimensional model or obtain reference points using unmanned aircraft systems (UAS));
determining an orientation of the blades of the wind turbine based on the obtained first sensor information ([0015], FIG. 1, analyzes the wind turbine tower to collect data and model indicating the orientation of the blades and other details);
determining a flight pattern for the UAV to inspect the blades of the wind turbine, wherein the flight pattern is based on the determined orientation of the blades ([0015], FIG. 1, determination of a flight path (real-time flight path 410, FIG. 4)); and
inspecting by the UAV, each of the blades of the wind turbine according to the determined flight pattern, wherein inspecting comprises obtaining second sensor information describing the blades of the wind turbine ([0015], FIG. 1, inspection UAS that analyzes the wind turbine tower; [0017], FIG. 2, inspection with an inspection UAS according to flight path and images captured by the camera).
Regarding claim 3, Craft discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operation of determining an orientation of the blades comprises: activating a camera coupled to the UAV, and obtaining at least one image of the wind turbine, including the one or more blades ([0015], FIG. 1, analyzes the wind turbine tower to collect data on its shape and construct a digital);
determining a pose of the camera for each obtained image based on the physical aspects of the wind turbine, the pose indicating at least a position and an orientation of the camera ( Abstract; [0003], obtaining camera images of the equipment, using a camera of the UAS, while traversing the real-time flight path with the UAS); and determining the orientation of the blades based on the determined poses and images of the wind turbine ([0015], FIG. 1, analyzes the wind turbine tower to collect data and model indicating the orientation of the blades and other details).
Regarding claim 5, Craft discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operation of inspecting each of the blades comprises at least: navigating the UAV, via autopilot, along a first blade of the wind turbine from a first blade distal end to a first blade proximal end, the first blade proximal end coupled to a center blade hub of the wind turbine; while navigating the UAV along the first blade periodically obtaining sensor information describing the first blade ([0015], construct three-dimensional model or obtain the reference points during an initial flyby of the wind turbine tower determine flight path (for each blades as shown from the center of the hub to the peripheries of the blades);
navigating the UAV, via autopilot, along a second blade from a second blade proximal end to a second blade distal end, the second blade proximal end coupled to the center blade hub of the wind turbine; and while navigating the UAV along the second blade periodically obtaining sensor information describing the second blade ([0019] a real-time flight path 410 (FIG. 4); [0019], flight path associated with an orientation of the wind turbine tower (blades) that has the highest similarity with the real-time orientation as a starting point for the determining of the real-time flight path).
Regarding claims 8, 10 and 12, Claims 8. 10 and 12 are drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claims 1, 3 & 5 respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claims 15, 17 & 19 , Claims 15, 17 & 19 are drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the computer storage media of using the same as claimed in claims 1, 3-5, 9 and 10 respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Craft further discloses computer storage media ([0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craft et al. (US 2016/0017866, hereinafter Craft) in view of Hammond et al. (US 2016/0292872, hereinafter Hammond)
Regarding claim 2, Craft discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operation of determining an orientation of the blades comprises: generating, from the stored measurements, a point cloud, the point cloud representing the wind turbine ([0015], scanner 112 collects data on its shape and construct a digital three-dimensional model or obtain reference points).
Although Craft discloses obtaining the scanner 112 information at a safe distance from the wind turbine tower 120 ([0017], FIG. 2).
Craft does not explicitly disclose activating a distance sensor that measures distance from the UAV to the wind turbine, and storing measurements obtained from the distance sensor and determining the orientation of the blades from the generated point cloud.
Hammond from the same field of endeavor teaches activating a distance sensor that measures distance from the UAV to the wind turbine, and storing measurements obtained from the distance sensor ([0034], the rangefinder 118 can include a LIDAR detector, which emits and receives laser light (e.g., IR laser light). emit signals suitable for detecting the distance between the scanner 110 and the objects around it (turbine)) and determining the orientation of the blades from the generated point cloud ([0047], FIG. 5 , tracking function performed by comparing images taken by the UAV 850 while it is in flight, with point cloud information produced by scans taken by the UAV while it is on the ground at positions A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Craft by using distance sensor as taught by Hammond as above in order to provide cost effective and flexible adaptive scanning (Hammond, [0034]).
Craft does not explicitly disclose activating a distance sensor that measures distance from the UAV to the wind turbine, and storing measurements obtained from the distance sensor and determining the orientation of the blades from the generated point cloud.
Hammond teaches generating a point cloud based on the obtained images; and determining the orientation of the blades from the generated point cloud ([0047], FIG. 5 , tracking function performed by comparing images taken by the UAV 850 while it is in flight, with point cloud information produced by scans taken by the UAV while it is on the ground at positions A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Craft by using distance sensor as taught by Hammond as above in order to provide cost effective and flexible adaptive scanning (Hammond, [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the computer storage media of using the same as claimed in claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Craft further discloses computer storage media ([0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the computer storage media of using the same as claimed in claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Craft further discloses computer storage media ([0016]).
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craft et al. (US 2016/0017866, hereinafter Craft) in view of Newman (US 2015/0043769, hereinafter Newman)
Regarding claim 6, Craft discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the operation of inspecting each of the blades comprises at least: navigating the UAV along a first blade for a fixed distance from a first blade proximal end to a first blade distal end, the fixed distance being a value indicating the length of the first blade.
Newman from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the operation of inspecting each of the blades comprises at least: navigating the UAV along a first blade for a fixed distance from a first blade proximal end to a first blade distal end, the fixed distance being a value indicating the length of the first blade ([0056] image the wind turbine blade in position segments to image a sequence of multiple images of all three blades at least once as they pass through the camera and segments broken up by length along the longitudinal axis of the blade scanned incrementally from the inside out as the blades rotate; [0057] reviewing the frame by frame sequence over the full blade length with a distance correction factor to obtain accurate measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Craft by controlled blade inspection as taught by Newman as above in order to provide cost effective economical blade inspection (Newman, [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claim 6, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the computer storage media of using the same as claimed in claim 6, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Craft further discloses computer storage media ([0016]).
Claim 7 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craft et al. (US 2016/0017866, hereinafter Craft) in view of Zell (US 20160305406, hereinafter Zell).
Regarding claim 7, Craft discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the operation of determining an orientation of blades comprises: determining an orientation of blades connected to the wind turbine, the orientation specifying an angle of each blade with respect to a reference associated with the wind turbine.
Zell from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the operation of determining an orientation of blades comprises: determining an orientation of blades connected to the wind turbine, the orientation specifying an angle of each blade with respect to a reference associated with the wind turbine ([0014], [0019], a recording angle of between 80 and 100 degree; [0032] FIG. 4, the alignment of the helicopter (UAV) flying over the rotor blade in different longitudinal positions at specified recording angle; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Craft by controlled blade inspection as taught by Zell as above in order to provide high-quality optical acquisition of turbine blades (Zell, [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 is drawn to an arrangement corresponding to the method of using the same as claimed in claim, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20120300059 A1: unmanned aerial vehicle is guided to the component for wind turbine inspection.US 20120136630 A1: remotely operated aerial platform (ROAP) an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to inspect a wind turbine.
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487