DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to objections to claims 97, 100, 108/109, and 115 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of amendments. The objections of claims 97, 100, 108/109, and 115 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 114 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of amendments. The 112(b) rejection of claim 114 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-7, with respect to the 35 USC 112(d) rejection of claims 99-101, 111, and 112 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The electronic device (smartphone, tablet, computer), positional sensors, and intravaginal device are not positively recited features, as outlined in the Non-Final Rejection. Applicant argues that claims 99-101 narrow the electronic device and the manner in which the output is displayed, and 111 and 112 narrow the location/type of the sensors. These components cannot be further narrowed since they are not positively recited in/required by claim 97. The limitations introduced in dependent claims must be directed to the “software application”. As such, the 112(d) rejection of claims 99-101, 111, and 112 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-9, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 97-116 have been fully considered. The examiner agrees that amendments to claim 97 to include “stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium” now causes the claims to a fall under one of the four patent eligible categories and therefore pass step (1) of the analysis. However, upon further analysis, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter of abstract ideas under the mental processes and mathematical concepts groupings. Applicant argues that the claims are directed to “a particular software implementation that performs specified functions”; however, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, the data processing steps could be performed in a person’s mind utilizing mental judgments/observations and mathematical concepts. For example, a person could perform difference calculations and derivatives when given a list of sensor angle data points, and could further identify when the calculated derivative is zero. Applicant further argues that the claims are integrated into a practical application. The examiner disagrees. The limitation of providing an alert to the user amounts to nothing more than the post-solution activity of providing results using generic components. The claims, as written, do not involve the user receiving any additional guidance, suggestions, or adjustments to treatment as a result of the alert. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection of the claims is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, with respect to the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 97-107 and 111-116 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of amendments. The 102(a)(1) rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-12, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 108-110 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that the combination of Siegel and Zemp do not teach determining when a change in sensor angle threshold is exceeded, and determining the beginning or ending of a pelvic floor maneuver when a derivative of change in sensor angle is equal to zero. The examiner disagrees. Zemp teaches in [0024-0025] (emphasis added):
Determining calibration values is important to account for a user's anatomy and the position of the device relative to the pelvic floor muscles and the buttocks of the user. Preferably the calibration values are taken to be the maximum value x.sub.2 of the sensed signal reached by a wilful contraction of the pelvic floor muscles, and the minimum value x.sub.1 of the sensed signal reached by the user sitting on the device without wilful contraction of the pelvic floor muscles, i.e. the idle state. Embodiments of the processing of received data are described below… Preferably the step of processing the received data comprises normalising the received data with the calibration values, deriving data indicative of a quantity and/or a dynamics of the contraction of the pelvic floor muscles from the normalised data, and using the derived data in a software representing tasks for the training... Data indicative of a quantity of the contraction characterises the static behaviour of the pelvic floor muscles, whereas data indicative of a dynamics of the contraction describes the change of contraction/relaxation over time, e.g. the speed. Hence deriving such data may comprise signal processing, such as linearising a response function of the sensor, and/or translating the electrical signal of the sensor into physical quantities, e.g. speed or force, and/or taking time derivatives, and/or taking time values, and/or taking force values, and/or others.
Zemp discusses determining a minimum value of the sensed signal without willful contraction/pelvic floor movement; the occurrence of a pelvic floor movement would necessarily exceed this minimum value/threshold. Zemp further discusses deriving data indicative of a quantity of contractions including taking time derivatives/time values. Since the start/end of a pelvic floor movement would be characterized by a period of no motion, the angular acceleration (derivative of the change in sensor angle with respect to time, as claimed) would necessarily be equal to zero. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the teachings of Zemp, specifically to record when angular acceleration is zero as the start/end of a pelvic floor movement, since a period of no motion would be characterized by an acceleration value of zero. This is a mathematical principle/relationship well understood in the art. Zemp’s discussion of time derivatives, time values, and data indicative of a quantity of contractions meets the limitations of the claim.
Applicant further argues that the office has not explained why one of ordinary skill that would have led a person of ordinary skill to the claimed algorithm. The examiner disagrees. The rationale provided in the Non-Final Rejection pg. 14-15 references [0024-0025] of Zemp, which states that signal processing may be performed to derive data indicative of contraction dynamics. A person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to perform signal processing (i.e., taking derivatives and finding when they hit zero) to identify the beginning/ending of a pelvic floor movement, as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 99-101, 111-112 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Independent claim 97 is directed to a software application. However, dependent claims 99-101, 111, 112 are directed to an electronic device and/or an intravaginal device. These features individually fail to further limit the software application of claim 97 because the electronic and/or intravaginal devices are physically separate and distinct from the software application. The preamble of claim 97 recites “[a] software application stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium and configured to run on an electronic device during use by a subject of an intravaginal device comprising two or more positional sensors”; but “electronic device”, “intravaginal device” and “positional sensors” are not positively recited features, and thus the current claimed invention is solely directed to a software application.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter of abstract ideas under the mental processes and mathematical concepts groupings, without significantly more.
The framework for establishing a prima facie case of lack of subject matter eligibility requires that the Examiner determine: (1) Does the claim fall within the four categories of patent eligible subject matter; (2a) Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon and (2a) Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application; and (2b) Does the claim recite additional elements that amount of significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step (1)
The claimed invention in claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116 are directed to a software application stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium, and thus, the claims all fall under one of the four patent eligible categories.
Step (2a) Prong 1 (Judicial Exception)
Regarding claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116, the recited steps are directed towards mental processes of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper and utilizing mathematical concepts (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III)).
Independent claim 97 recites:
process data received from the two or more sensors.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation requires receiving data from sensors and analyzing it. These limitations are processes that, as drafted, cover that which can be wholly performed in a person’s mind via a series of mental observations and judgements and utilizing mathematical concepts. In particular, a person can analyze a given dataset obtained from sensors. These are data gathering and processing steps (processing as recited in the claim is not specific) that reflect mental processes.
Accordingly, claim 97 is directed to a judicial exception including one or more abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Independent claim 97 recites the corresponding apparatus associated with the system/method, including an electronic device, intravaginal device, and positional sensors. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these claims also recite a judicial exception including one or more abstract ideas under the mental processes bucket.
The additional limitations in claims 99-101, 103-109, 111-116 (further limitations of electronic device, providing a signal to the subject, score calculation, detecting start/end of pelvic floor movement utilizing derivatives and thresholds, determining physiological indicia) comprise additional abstract ideas and/or further limit the abstract ideas of claim 97.
Step (2a) Prong 2 (Integration into a Practical Application)
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d).
For claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Regarding claim 97, the additional elements of the intravaginal device and the types of data received from the sensors amount to recitation of a generic intravaginal device and sensors. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these elements are nothing more than the pre-solution activity of mere data gathering using generic components.
Regarding claim 97, the additional elements of displaying an output of the processed data that comprises guidance for the subject and providing an alert regarding the start/finish of a pelvic floor movement amounts to recitation of a generic display. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these elements are nothing more than the post-solution activity of providing results using generic components.
Regarding claim 97, the additional element of an electronic device amounts to recitation of a generic computing device. This additional element merely defines the field of user of the current claim. This additional element does not practically integrate the judicial exception because this element does not provide improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any the technical field under MPEP 2106.05(a). Furthermore, when the claims, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it is still in the mental processes grouping unless the claim limitation cannot practically be performed in the mind. Likewise, performance of a claim limitation using generic computer components does not preclude the claim limitation from being in the mental processes grouping.
Step (2b) (Inventive Concept)
The claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements of an electronic device, intravaginal device, and positional sensors in the field of pelvic floor training are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry as indicated in the following references:
Siegel (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0196802) teaches an electronic device (software component 20, Fig. 1), intravaginal device (device 25, Fig. 3), and positional sensors ([0059], sensors can be accelerometers).
Levy et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0319103) teaches an electronic device (computer device 120, Fig. 1), intravaginal device (vaginal probe device 110, Fig. 1), and positional sensors (orientation sensor 112, Fig. 1).
Dependent claims 111-113 recite additional sensors, which are also recited at a high level of generality and are considered to be well-known, routine and conventional in the art as indicated in the following references:
Siegel (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0196802) teaches additional sensors ([0059], sensor types).
Levy et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0319103) teaches additional sensors (force sensor 114, Fig. 1, [0045], accelerometer).
Accordingly, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116 are thus rejected under 35 USC 101 for reciting patent-ineligible subject matter- abstract ideas and mathematical concepts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 97, 99-101, 103-109, 111-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0196802), hereinafter ‘Siegel’, in view of Zemp et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0384311), hereinafter ‘Zemp’.
Regarding claim 97, Siegel teaches a software application (software component 20, Fig. 1) stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium and configured to run on an electronic device (smartphone 95, Fig. 1) during use by a subject of an intravaginal device (device 25, Fig. 3), comprising two or more positional sensors (sensors 60A-60C, Fig. 7, [0084], measuring position/direction/orientation of contraction), wherein the software application is configured to:
(a) process data (Fig. 2, step S102, data interpretation) received from the two or more sensors ([0132], interpreting raw data received from sensors), the data comprising one or more of:
(i) a change in sensor angle for each of the sensors ([0084], measuring position/direction/orientation to monitor angle during pelvic muscle exercise), wherein the change in sensor angle is the difference between an angle during a pelvic floor lift and an angle during pelvic floor relaxation ([0059], sensors detect contraction/relaxation of pelvic muscles to record frequency/position);
(ii) a change in sensor angle with respect to time ([0081, 0084], timing of when signals are received, [0139], number of pelvic floor contractions within a period of time); and
(b) display an output of the processed data on the electronic device (Figs. 1, 14, [0149], outputs provided on display), whereby the output comprises guidance for the subject during the use of the intravaginal device ([0091], feedback to user) by identifying the start or finish of the pelvic floor movement ([0090], indication of the beginning of an exercise); and
(c) provide an alert regarding the start or finish of the pelvic floor movement ([0090], motor vibrates that indicates the beginning of an exercise).
Siegel does not specifically teach that the change in sensor angle exceeds a threshold upon an occurrence of a pelvic floor movement or that the derivative is equal to zero at the start/finish of a movement.
Zemp teaches a device for conducting pelvic muscle exercise (abstract), further comprising:
wherein the change in sensor angle with respect to time exceeds a predetermined threshold upon an occurrence of a pelvic floor movement ([0024], calibration values including minimum value of sensed signal); and
a derivative of the change in sensor angle with respect to time, wherein the derivative of the change in sensor angle with respect to time is equal to zero upon the start or finish of the pelvic floor movement ([0024-0025], time derivatives and time values, determining quantity of contractions).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel to incorporate the teachings of Zemp to include that the change in sensor angle exceeds a threshold upon an occurrence of a pelvic floor movement and utilizing the derivative of the change in sensor angle to detect the start or finish of a pelvic floor movement. Doing so would enable the system to derive contraction dynamics and accounting for motion not related to contraction of the pelvic floor muscles, as recognized by Zemp [0024-0025].
Regarding claim 99, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the electronic device is a smartphone, tablet, or computer ([0095], transmission of signals to smartphone, tablet, or computer).
Regarding claim 100, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 99. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to display the output of step (b) on a graphical user interface of the smartphone, tablet, or computer (Figs. 14A-14E, user interfaces).
Regarding claim 101, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 100. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the graphical user interface comprises a touch user interface ([0133-0140], user can see and interact with signals on smartphone).
Regarding claim 103, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the processed data is processed on the electronic device ([0131-0132], electronic device receives and interprets data).
Regarding claim 104, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the alert comprises a visual, audible, or tactile signal to the subject regarding the pelvic floor movement ([0150], different types of feedback including haptic feedback, sounds, and images).
Regarding claim 105, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the application is configured to process the data with an algorithm to calculate a composite score comprising the sensor data ([0144], evaluate correctness of an exercise profile, [0150], interpretation of signals to help user improve over time).
Regarding claim 106, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 105. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the composite score is calculated from a sum of the sensor angles from the two or more sensors ([0132], interpret raw data from sensors including strength of pelvic muscle contraction).
Regarding claim 107, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 105. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to calculate a moving average of the composite score to filter noise ([0138], average force per contraction).
Regarding claim 111, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the two or more sensors are located along a length of the intravaginal device ([0048], sensors positioned in series between ends of device).
Regarding claim 112, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 111. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the sensors are MEMS accelerometers ([0059], sensors are accelerometers embedded in device).
Regarding claim 113, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to determine physiological indicia comprising steps, gait, activity, ballistocardiography, heart rate, heart rate volume, relative stroke volume, respiration rate, rotation, balance, pressure, relative humidity, body composition, temperature, pulse transit time, pulse oxygenation, or blood pressure from one or more additional sensors (sensor 60, Fig. 1, [0047], sensor can be a pressure sensor).
Regarding claim 114, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 113. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the physiological indicia are indicative of a disease or condition ([0151], use of the device to help in diagnosing a disease) or exceed or drop below a predetermined threshold (Table 2, indicator for disease diagnosis).
Regarding claim 115, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the processed data is used establish a baseline measurement of physiological indicia selected from steps, gait, activity, ballistocardiography, heart rate, heart rate volume, relative stroke volume, respiration rate, rotation, balance, pressure, relative humidity, body composition, temperature, pulse transit time, blood pressure, and pulse oxygenation ([0075], baseline measurement of pressure).
Regarding claim 116, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 97. Siegel teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to process and transmit one or more baseline measurements that personalizes operation of the intravaginal device for a user (Fig. 6, [0076], training users utilizing baseline measurements, [0149], provided visually on output device).
Regarding claim 108, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 105. Siegel teaches the system further comprising determining the number of contractions ([0138]), but does not specifically teach detecting the beginning of a pelvic floor movement when the moving average increases above a threshold.
Zemp teaches a device for conducting pelvic muscle exercise (abstract), further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to detect a beginning of the pelvic floor movement when the moving average increases above a predetermined threshold ([0024], minimum value without willful contraction of muscles/the idle state).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel and Zemp to incorporate additional teachings of Zemp to include detecting the beginning of a movement when the muscle contraction increases above a threshold. Doing so would enable the system to derive contraction dynamics and accounting for motion not related to contraction of the pelvic floor muscles, as recognized by Zemp [0024-0025].
Regarding claim 109, Siegel and Zemp teach the system of claim 105. Siegel teaches the system further comprising determining the number of contractions ([0138]), but does not specifically teach detecting the end of a pelvic floor movement when the moving average drops below a threshold.
Zemp teaches a device for conducting pelvic muscle exercise (abstract), further comprising:
wherein the software application is configured to detect an end of the pelvic floor movement when the moving average drops below a predetermined threshold ([0025], static behavior of pelvic floor muscles for quantity of contraction).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siegel and Zemp to incorporate additional teachings of Zemp to include detecting the end of a movement when the muscle contraction drops below a threshold. Doing so would enable the system to derive contraction dynamics and accounting for motion not related to contraction of the pelvic floor muscles, as recognized by Zemp [0024-0025].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792