DETAILED ACTION
1. The Office Action is in response to Application 18904253 filed on 10/02/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in 18904253 filed on 10/02/2024.
Priority # Filling Data Country
202210365347.0 2022-04-07 CN
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):(d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
6. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 depend on independent claim 11 but fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. For claim 20, it dependents on claim 11, which is a synchronization signal block (SSB) indication method; however, the claim as a whole is a network side device. Therefore, it is not clear if it claims a network side device or a synchronization signal block (SSB) indication method. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1, it recites limitations of “a target-related operation” in “and performing, by the UE, a target-related operation based on the first indication information, wherein the target-related operation is an operation related to a transmission state of the SSB”; However, it is not clear whether “target-related operation” is based on the first indication information or it is based on transmission state of the SSB? Since the first indication information is sent by network side device, and it indicates related information of an SSB; the related information is explained as: “the related information of the SSB comprises at least one of the following: that the SSB is in a disabled state or an enabled state, a disabled time or an enabled time of the SSB, a disabled pattern or an enabled pattern of the SSB, validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB, or a state mask of the SSB on the RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB”; however, it is not clear which one is the transmission state of the SSB and what is the transmission state of the SSB; and how the target-related operation is related to the transmission state of the SSB.
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claim 2-10 are unclear.
13. Claim 11 and its dependent claims 12-14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 11, it recites limitations of “a target-related operation” in “wherein the first indication information is used by the UE to perform a target-related operation, wherein the target-related operation is an operation related to a transmission state of the SSB”; However, it is not clear whether “target-related operation” is based on the first indication information or it is based on transmission state of the SSB? Since the first indication information is sent by network side device, and it indicates related information of an SSB; the related information is explained as: “the related information of the SSB comprises at least one of the following: that the SSB is in a disabled state or an enabled state, a disabled time or an enabled time of the SSB, a disabled pattern or an enabled pattern of the SSB, validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB, or a state mask of the SSB on the RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB”; however, it is not clear which one is the transmission state of the SSB and what is the transmission state of the SSB; and how the target-related operation is related to the transmission state of the SSB.
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claim 2-14, 20 are unclear.
14. Claim 15 and its dependent claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention for the similar reason as for independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim 1-20, are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XUE et al. (EP 4072096) and in view of PAN et al. (CN 111406436).
Regarding claim 1, XUE teaches a synchronization signal block (SSB) indication method (fig. 7A), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by user equipment (UE) (fig. 7A, terminal device), first indication information (fig. 7A, S703) sent by a network side device (fig. 7A, network device), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate related information of an SSB of the network side device (fig. 7A, S701-S703; paragraph 0133, S703: The terminal device receives, from the network device, a SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block, where the SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block includes indication information);
and performing, by the UE, a target-related operation based on the first indication information (fig. 7B, step S712 (note: fig. 7B is continued figure of fig. 7A)), wherein the target-related operation is an operation related to a transmission state of the SSB (as shown in fig. 7B, S712 is related to a transmission state of the SSB), wherein the related information of the SSB comprises at least one of the following: that the SSB is in a disabled state or an enabled state (paragraph 0058, … SIBs 1 corresponding to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks located at different frequency domain positions may be enabled to indicate different RACH occasions), a disabled time or an enabled time of the SSB, a disabled pattern or an enabled pattern of the SSB, validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB, or a state mask of the SSB on the RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB.
It is noticed that XUE does not disclose explicitly of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB.
PAN discloses of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB (fig. 2B, page 35, … , receiving an indication relating to SS block for enabling or disabling one or more of, determining any one of the RACH occasion is valid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB as a modification to the method for the benefit of that RACH occasion can been effectively transmitted in the physical RACH (page 35).
Regarding claim 11, XUE teaches a synchronization signal block (SSB) indication method (fig. 7A), wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a network side device (fig. 7A, network device), first indication information (fig. 7A, S703) to user equipment (UE) (fig. 7A, terminal device), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate related information of an SSB of the network side device (fig. 7A, S701-S703; paragraph 0133, S703: The terminal device receives, from the network device, a SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block, where the SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block includes indication information);
and performing, by the UE, a target-related operation based on the first indication information (fig. 7B, step S712 (note: fig. 7B is continued figure of fig. 7A)), wherein the target-related operation is an operation related to a transmission state of the SSB (as shown in fig. 7B, S712 is related to a transmission state of the SSB), wherein the related information of the SSB comprises at least one of the following: that the SSB is in a disabled state or an enabled state (paragraph 0058, … SIBs 1 corresponding to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks located at different frequency domain positions may be enabled to indicate different RACH occasions), a disabled time or an enabled time of the SSB, a disabled pattern or an enabled pattern of the SSB, validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB, or a state mask of the SSB on the RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB.
It is noticed that XUE does not disclose explicitly of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB.
PAN discloses of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB (fig. 2B, page 35, … , receiving an indication relating to SS block for enabling or disabling one or more of, determining any one of the RACH occasion is valid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB as a modification to the method for the benefit of that RACH occasion can been effectively transmitted in the physical RACH (page 35).
Regarding claim 15, XUE teaches User equipment (UE) (fig. 7A, terminal device; fig. 10), comprising a processor (fig. 10, processor), a memory (fig. 10, memory), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the UE to perform(paragraph 0189, … The processor is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the terminal device, execute a software program, process data of the software program, and the like. The memory is configured to store the software program and the data):
receiving, by user equipment (UE) (fig. 7A, terminal device), first indication information (fig. 7A, S703) sent by a network side device (fig. 7A, network device), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate related information of an SSB of the network side device (fig. 7A, S701-S703; paragraph 0133, S703: The terminal device receives, from the network device, a SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block, where the SIB 1 corresponding to the first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block includes indication information);
and performing, by the UE, a target-related operation based on the first indication information (fig. 7B, step S712 (note: fig. 7B is continued figure of fig. 7A)), wherein the target-related operation is an operation related to a transmission state of the SSB (as shown in fig. 7B, S712 is related to a transmission state of the SSB), wherein the related information of the SSB comprises at least one of the following: that the SSB is in a disabled state or an enabled state (paragraph 0058, … SIBs 1 corresponding to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel blocks located at different frequency domain positions may be enabled to indicate different RACH occasions), a disabled time or an enabled time of the SSB, a disabled pattern or an enabled pattern of the SSB, validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB, or a state mask of the SSB on the RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB.
It is noticed that XUE does not disclose explicitly of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB.
PAN discloses of validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB (fig. 2B, page 35, … , receiving an indication relating to SS block for enabling or disabling one or more of, determining any one of the RACH occasion is valid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that validity of a random access channel (RACH) occasion corresponding to the SSB as a modification to the UE for the benefit of that RACH occasion can been effectively transmitted in the physical RACH (page 35).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses network side device (fig. 7A, network device; fig. 12), comprising a processor (fig. 12, 1203), a memory (fig. 12, 1206), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of the synchronization signal block (SSB) indication method according to claim 11 are implemented (paragraph 0189, … The processor is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the terminal device, execute a software program, process data of the software program, and the like. The memory is configured to store the software program and the data):
Regarding claim 2, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the first indication information is sent in a case that a working mode of the network side device (fig. 3 shows network device in working mode to work with multiple UEs) is switched to a target mode (fig. 4 shows network device in target mode in which network device talks with only a target UE as a target mode); and the first indication information is used to indicate that the transmission state of the SSB is changed; or the first indication information is used to instruct the UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB (fig. 6, in which, S601 and S602 means the transmission state of the SSB is changed and it instruct UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB in S604-S607).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the SSB comprises any one of the following: an SSB actually transmitted by the network side device in the target mode (as shown in fig. 7A, fig. 6), or all candidate SSBs of the network side device
Regarding claim 4, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 3 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that in a case that the SSB comprises the SSB actually transmitted by the network side device in the target mode (as show in fig. 6/fig. 7A, the network device is in target mode), related information of an SSB before the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using an SSB location indication field (fig. 7A, S701/S702, in which, located at a first/second frequency domain position is location indication field), and related information of an SSB after the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using a target indication field (fig. 7A, S703, in which, indication information of RACH occasion corresponding to the first frequency domain position is a target indication field) ; or in a case that the SSB comprises all candidate SSBs of the network side device, related information of an SSB before or after the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using an SSB location indication field
Regarding claim 5, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the receiving, by UE, first indication information sent by a network side device comprises: receiving, by the UE, the first indication information sent by the network side device by using any one of the following: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information block (SIB), downlink control information (DCI), or a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) (paragraph 0028, … the sending status of the SSB at the second frequency domain position and/or an index of the second synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block are/is included in the RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, PAN further discloses that receiving, by the UE, first configuration information sent by the network side device (as shown in fig. 8, 804, 806, 808 are first configuration information sent by the network side device), wherein the first configuration information is configuration information enabled by the network side device after the network side device enters a target mode (as shown in fig. 1D, the network device 104 RAN enter target mode to a UE) , wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a specific RACH configuration in the target mode (fig. 8, 804 and 806, 808 are a specific RACH configuration in the target mode) , indication information that there is a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship between a disabled SSB and at least one SSB enabled in the target mode, a default reference SSB in the target mode, a specific SSB pattern in the target mode, a configuration of a specific SSB location indication field in the target mode, a specific preamble in the target mode, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource of a target random access message in the target mode, a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold in the target mode, or a target mapping relationship; and the target mapping relationship is a mapping relationship from a combination of RACH occasions to a PUSCH resource unit (PRU) set, or a mapping relationship from a combination of preambles to a PRU set.
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 6 as discussed above. In addition, PAN further discloses that the RACH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a resource configuration of an RACH occasion, an RACH repetition number, a mapping relationship between an SSB and an RACH occasion, or a preamble related parameter reallocated by the network side device to the UE (as shown in fig. 8, 804, 806, 808 are a resource configuration of an RACH occasion).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, PAN further discloses that the resource configuration of the RACH occasion is associated with the default reference SSB in the target mode; or the resource configuration of the RACH occasion is associated with an SSB enabled in the target mode (as shown in fig. 8, 804, 806, 808 are the resource configuration of the RACH occasion is associated with an SSB enabled in the target mode).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 6 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the first configuration information comprises the PUSCH resource of the target random access message (paragraph 0101, …When determining the RACH occasions corresponding to the second frequency domain position, the terminal device may consider a subcarrier spacing of a RACH and/or a subcarrier spacing of a physical uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH); which is PUSCH resource of the target random access message);
and a PUSCH occasion resource of the target random access message is associated with an RACH resource in a first mode; or a PUSCH occasion resource of the target random access message is associated with an RACH resource in a second mode (paragraph 0101, … differences/a difference between frequency domain positions and/or time domain positions of RACH occasions corresponding to different frequency channel numbers may be an expression, where the expression is related to the subcarrier spacing of the RACH and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PUSCH; which means a PUSCH occasion resource of the target random access message is associated with an RACH resource in a first mode).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that determining, by the UE, a target location based on the first indication information (fig. 7A, step 704, in which, the first frequency domain position is a target location based on the first indication information), wherein the target location is a location of an SSB actually transmitted by the network side device (fig. 7A, S701) ; and performing, by the UE, the target-related operation based on the target location (fig. 7B, step S712); wherein the target-related operation comprises at least one of the following: stopping, by the UE, sending a preamble on an RACH resource corresponding to an SSB disabled in a first mode; updating, by the UE, a mapping relationship between an SSB and an RACH occasion (fig. 7B, S710, in which, a mapping relationship between an SSB and an RACH occasion is updated); canceling, by the UE, monitoring a target control resource set multiplexed with an SSB; determining, by the UE, validity of an RACH occasion; sending, by the UE, a specific preamble in a target mode; sending, by the UE, a preamble on a specific RACH occasion resource in the target mode; updating, by the UE, a mapping relationship between a physical random access channel (PRACH) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); determining, by the UE, validity of a PUSCH occasion; sending, by the UE, a PUSCH of a target random access message at a specific PUSCH occasion in the target mode; or skipping sending, by the UE, a PUSCH associated with an SSB disabled in a first mode.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that sending, by the network side device, the first indication information to the UE in a case that a working mode of the network side device is switched to a target mode (fig. 3 shows network device in working mode to work with multiple UEs; fig. 4 shows network device in target mode in which network device talks with only a target UE, i.e. target mode); and the first indication information is used to indicate that the transmission state of the SSB is changed; or the first indication information is used to instruct the UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB (fig. 7A, in which, S601 and S602 means the transmission state of the SSB is changed and it instruct UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB in S604-S607).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the receiving, by UE, first indication information sent by a network side device comprises: sending, by the network side device, the first indication information to the UE by using any one of the following: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information block (SIB), downlink control information (DCI), or a medium access control-control element (MAC CE ) (paragraph 0028, … he sending status of the SSB at the second frequency domain position and/or an index of the second synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block are/is included in the RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, PAN further discloses that sending, by the network side device, first configuration information to the UE (as shown in fig. 8, 804, 806, 808 are first configuration information sent by the network side device), wherein the first configuration information is configuration information enabled by the network side device after the network side device enters a target mode (as shown in fig. 1D, the network device 104 RAN enter target mode to a UE) , wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a specific RACH configuration in the target mode (fig. 8, 804 and 806, 808 are a specific RACH configuration in the target mode) , indication information that there is a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship between a disabled SSB and at least one SSB enabled in the target mode, a default reference SSB in the target mode, a specific SSB pattern in the target mode, a configuration of a specific SSB location indication field in the target mode, a specific preamble in the target mode, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource of a target random access message in the target mode, a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold in the target mode, or a target mapping relationship; and the target mapping relationship is a mapping relationship from a combination of RACH occasions to a PUSCH resource unit (PRU) set, or a mapping relationship from a combination of preambles to a PRU set.
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 11’s rejection.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 15 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the first indication information is sent in a case that a working mode of the network side device (fig. 3 shows network device in working mode to work with multiple UEs) is switched to a target mode (fig. 4 shows network device in target mode in which network device talks with only a target UE); and the first indication information is used to indicate that the transmission state of the SSB is changed; or the first indication information is used to instruct the UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB (fig. 6, in which, S601 and S602 means the transmission state of the SSB is changed and it instruct UE to perform operations related to the transmission state of the SSB in S604-S607).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 16 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the SSB comprises any one of the following: an SSB actually transmitted by the network side device in the target mode (as shown in fig. 7A, fig. 6), or all candidate SSBs of the network side device
Regarding claim 18, the combination of and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 17 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that In addition, XUE further discloses that in a case that the SSB comprises the SSB actually transmitted by the network side device in the target mode (as show in fig. 6/fig. 7A, the network device is in target mode), related information of an SSB before the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using an SSB location indication field (fig. 7A, S701/S702, in which, located at a first/second frequency domain position is location indication field), and related information of an SSB after the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using a target indication field (fig. 7A, S703, in which, indication information of RACH occasion corresponding to the first frequency domain position is a target indication field) ; or in a case that the SSB comprises all candidate SSBs of the network side device, related information of an SSB before or after the network side device is switched to the target mode is indicated by the network side device by using an SSB location indication field.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of XUE and PAN teaches the limitations recited in claim 15 as discussed above. In addition, XUE further discloses that the receiving, by UE, first indication information sent by a network side device comprises: receiving the first indication information sent by the network side device by using any one of the following: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information block (SIB), downlink control information (DCI), or a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) (paragraph 0028, … he sending status of the SSB at the second frequency domain position and/or an index of the second synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block are/is included in the RRC signaling).
17. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
18. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488