DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220141824 A1 (hereinafter Bao).
Regarding Claim 1, Bao discloses a method for managing carriers (e.g., FIGS. 1, 2; ¶ [0040] CA parameter configuration method), applicable to a first terminal, the method comprising: performing carrier management on at least two carriers with a second terminal in carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication (e.g., ¶ [0041] Step 201: A first device sends first information to a second device, where the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter [carrier aggregation is associated with multiple carriers] configured for a sidelink service; e.g., ¶ [0046] sidelink transmission used by the first device and the second device may be unicast, groupcast, or broadcast [i.e., groupcast or multicast also implies association with multiple carriers]; e.g., ¶ [0049] Manner 1: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier configuration list, at least one second carrier configuration list, or first indication information corresponding to each service; e.g., ¶ [0052] Manner 2: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier activation list, the number of carriers for CA, or second indication information).
Regarding Claim 2, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1.
Bao discloses wherein the at least two carriers are not distinguished as primary and secondary carriers, or the at least two carriers have a same status (e.g., ¶ [0095] if the first information in the target information does not indicate primary carrier of CA, the target carrier(s) are all of the carriers corresponding to the target CA parameter [i.e., no target carriers have a primary status]).
Regarding Claim 3, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1.
Bao discloses wherein the at least two carriers are selected by the first terminal and/or the second terminal based on at least one of self-implementation, a first mapping relationship, a first selection rule, or a first selection configuration (e.g., ¶ [0005] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this disclosure provides a CA parameter configuration method. The method may be applied to a first device. The method may include: sending first information to a second device, where the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter configured for a sidelink service, and the sidelink service is a sidelink service between the first device and the second device; e.g., ¶ [0053] The first carrier activation list corresponds to a target service. The number of carriers for CA corresponds to the target service. The second indication information may be used to indicate whether CA transmission is to be performed for the target service. The target service may be all services or a specified service [selection based on a service property may broadly interpreted, not just as a configuration, but instead as a rule, policy, or mapping relationship]); wherein the first mapping relationship is a mapping relationship for selecting a carrier involved in the carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication (e.g., ¶ [0005] target CA parameter configured for a sidelink service), the first selection rule is a selection rule for selecting a carrier involved in the carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication (e.g., ¶ [0149] first device selects (e.g., ¶ [0148]) the number of carriers for CA according to a preset rule, e.g., ¶ [0168] first device may enable CA transmission for the service, select the first carrier activation list according to a preset rule), and the first selection configuration is a selection configuration for selecting a carrier involved in the carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication (e.g., ¶ [0033] first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter configured for a sidelink service; e.g., ¶ [0168] first device may enable CA transmission for the service, select the first carrier activation list according to a preset rule).
Regarding Claim 4, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 3.
Bao discloses wherein the at least two carriers are selected based on at least one of: a service type (e.g., ¶ [0005] the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter configured for a sidelink service, and the sidelink service is a sidelink service between the first device and the second device); an application type; a data transmission type; a transmission attribute (e.g., ¶ [0033] CA data transmission may be performed between the first device and the second device based on the target CA parameter, to improve a transmission rate and a reception effect for the sidelink service); quality of service (QOS) (e.g., ¶ [0033] CA data transmission may be performed between the first device and the second device based on the target CA parameter, to improve… service experience of the user); a layer 2 identity (ID) (e.g., ¶ [0056] For example, if the L2 data packet or the L2 control signaling carries a target field and a value of the target field is determined collectively based on a pair of destination ID and source ID, the value of the field is used as the number of carriers used for transmission for all services between a pair of UEs); logical channel mapping (e.g., ¶ [0058] For example, if the L2 data packet or the L2 control signaling carries a target field and a value of the target field is determined based on a logical channel identifier (LCID) of a pair of destination ID and source ID, the value of the LCID may be used as the number of carriers used for transmission for a specified service between a pair of UEs); a resource pool; a radio bearer; a resource pool congestion degree; a data priority; or link quality or channel condition of a candidate carrier.
Regarding Claim 12, Bao discloses a first terminal (e.g., FIG. 8, device 100), comprising: a processor; a transceiver, communicably connected to the processor; and a memory (e.g., FIG. 8, processor 110, RF unit 101, memory 109), configured to store one or more executable instructions (e.g., FIG. 8, memory/application/OS 109), which when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations that are functionally similar to the first terminal of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, Bao discloses all the limitations of the first terminal according to claim 12.
The functional limitations of Claim 13 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, Bao discloses all the limitations of the first terminal according to claim 12.
The functional limitations of Claim 14 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 3 shall be applied to claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, Bao discloses all the limitations of the first terminal according to claim 14.
The functional limitations of Claim 15 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 4 shall be applied to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 20, Bao discloses a chip, comprising: one or more programmable logic circuits and/or one or more program instructions (e.g., ¶ [0009], FIG. 8, memory/application/OS 109), wherein the chip is configured to perform operations that are functionally similar to the first terminal of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Xu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200178213 A1 (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 5, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1.
Bao does not expressly disclose wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises: independently transmitting carrier configuration information over each of the at least two carriers.
Xu discloses wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises: independently transmitting carrier configuration information over each of the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0049] The terminal may send the resource allocation information corresponding to each carrier and the service data over each carrier respectively; or may select a single or several carriers to send scheduling information indicating resource allocations of several or all carriers over the single or several carriers, and send the service data over each carrier. For example, the terminal may determine one carrier as a main carrier, and send scheduling information indicating resource allocation of each of the at least two carriers and service data over the main carrier; the terminal sends service data over each carrier except the main carrier; and the service data on different carriers may be the same or different).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of performing carrier management on at least two carriers with a second terminal in carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication, as disclosed by Bao, with the disclosure of independently transmitting carrier configuration information over each of the at least two carriers, as disclosed by Xu. The motivation to combine would have been to support effectively management and comprehensive services (Xu: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Zhang et al, US 20230292295 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 6, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 2.
Bao does not expressly disclose wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises: transmitting carrier control information to the second terminal over a sidelink message, wherein the carrier control information is used for performing at least one of an add operation, a delete operation, or a modify operation on the at least two carriers.
Zhang discloses wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises: transmitting carrier control information to the second terminal over a sidelink message, wherein the carrier control information is used for performing at least one of an add operation, a delete operation, or a modify operation on the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0169] It should be noted that the Rx UE 130 may further perform setting based on the second multi-carrier configuration information received from the Tx UE 110, to perform sidelink communication on the at least one corresponding secondary carrier. For example, the Rx UE 130 may add, based on the parameter configuration of each of the at least one of secondary carrier, each secondary carrier corresponding to each secondary carrier identifier. [0170] S311: The Tx UE 110 sends the multi-carrier configuration complete indication information to the network device 120, to indicate, to the network device 120, that the Tx UE 110 and the one or more Rx UEs 130 have completed the multi-carrier configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of performing carrier management on at least two carriers with a second terminal in carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication, as disclosed by Bao, with the disclosure of transmitting carrier control information to the second terminal over a sidelink message, wherein the carrier control information is used for performing modifications associated with the carriers, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to activate or deactivate a plurality of carriers used for multi-carrier sidelink communication (Zhang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 7, Bao in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 6.
Zhang discloses wherein the first terminal is a transmitter terminal, or the first terminal is a receiver terminal (e.g., ¶ [0169] Rx UE 130… Tx UE 110… sidelink communication …the Rx UE 130 may add, based on the parameter configuration of each of the carriers.. [associated with] carrier identifier).
Regarding Claim 8, Bao in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 6.
Zhang discloses wherein the carrier control information is generated by the first terminal; or the carrier control information is configured for the first terminal by a network device carrier control information to the second terminal over a sidelink message, wherein the carrier control information is used for performing at least one of an add operation, a delete operation, or a modify operation on the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0169] It should be noted that the Rx UE 130 may further perform setting based on the second multi-carrier configuration information received from the Tx UE 110, to perform sidelink communication on the at least one corresponding secondary carrier. For example, the Rx UE 130 may add, based on the parameter configuration of each of the at least one of secondary carrier, each secondary carrier corresponding to each secondary carrier identifier. [0170] S311: The Tx UE 110 sends the multi-carrier configuration complete indication information to the network device 120, to indicate, to the network device 120, that the Tx UE 110 and the one or more Rx UEs 130 have completed the multi-carrier configuration).
Regarding Claim 9, Bao in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 6.
Bao discloses wherein the carrier control information is carried over each of the at least two carriers for independent transmission; or the carrier control information is carried over a first carrier among the at least two carriers for transmission (e.g., ¶ [0041] Step 201: A first device sends first information to a second device, where the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter [carrier aggregation is associated with multiple carriers] configured for a sidelink service; e.g., ¶ [0046] sidelink transmission used by the first device and the second device may be unicast, groupcast, or broadcast [i.e., groupcast or multicast also implies association with multiple carriers]; e.g., ¶ [0049] Manner 1: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier configuration list, at least one second carrier configuration list, or first indication information corresponding to each service; e.g., ¶ [0052] Manner 2: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier activation list, the number of carriers for CA, or second indication information), and the carrier control information indicates a carrier controlled by the carrier control information in a case of cross-carrier transmission of the carrier control information over the first carrier, wherein the first carrier is at least one carrier selected from the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0041] Step 201: A first device sends first information to a second device, where the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter [carrier aggregation is associated with multiple carriers] configured for a sidelink service; e.g., ¶ [0046] sidelink transmission used by the first device and the second device may be unicast, groupcast, or broadcast [i.e., groupcast or multicast also implies association with multiple carriers]; e.g., ¶ [0049] Manner 1: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier configuration list, at least one second carrier configuration list, or first indication information corresponding to each service; e.g., ¶ [0052] Manner 2: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier activation list, the number of carriers for CA, or second indication information).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Li et al, US 20240260066 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 10, Bao discloses all the limitations of the method according to claim 1.
Bao discloses wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises: transmitting a plurality of pieces of sidelink data to the second terminal over the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0041] Step 201: A first device sends first information to a second device, where the first information is used to indicate a target CA parameter [carrier aggregation is associated with multiple carriers] configured for a sidelink service; e.g., ¶ [0046] sidelink transmission used by the first device and the second device may be unicast, groupcast, or broadcast [i.e., groupcast or multicast also implies association with multiple carriers]; e.g., ¶ [0049] Manner 1: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier configuration list, at least one second carrier configuration list, or first indication information corresponding to each service; e.g., ¶ [0052] Manner 2: The target CA parameter may include at least one of: a first carrier activation list, the number of carriers for CA, or second indication information).
Bao does not expressly disclose wherein performing the carrier management on the at least two carriers with the second terminal comprises detecting a plurality of physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCHs) transmitted by the second terminal over a target carrier, wherein the plurality of PSFCHs carry feedback information of the plurality of pieces of sidelink data, the target carrier is each of the at least two carriers or a third carrier, wherein the third carrier is at least one carrier selected from the at least two carriers; and transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) report to a network device over an uplink carrier and/or transmitting an RLF report to the second terminal over the target carrier in a case that a detection result indicates that an RLF has occurred.
Li discloses detecting a plurality of physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCHs) transmitted by the second terminal over a target carrier (e.g., ¶ [0074] As shown in FIG. 3, for example, terminal equipment UE1 transmits the PSSCH transmission on the first SL carrier (e.g. carrier 2), and terminal equipment UE1 receives the PSFCH for the PSSCH on the second SL carrier (e.g. carrier 2) identical to the first SL carrier (e.g. carrier 2), and performs SL RLF detection), wherein the plurality of PSFCHs carry feedback information of the plurality of pieces of sidelink data, the target carrier is each of the at least two carriers or a third carrier, wherein the third carrier is at least one carrier selected from the at least two carriers (e.g., ¶ [0077] In implementation A, the first SL carrier may be: [0078] a carrier in all SL carriers in more than one SL carrier, that is, for each SL carrier used by the terminal equipment (e.g. UE1) for SL communication, the PSFCH to which the PSSCH transmitted on the SL carrier corresponds is received on an SL carrier identical to the SL carrier, and the HARQ-based SL RLF detection method in the scenario of using a single carrier for sidelink communication is used to perform SL RLF detection on the carrier; [0079] or, a primary component carrier (PCC) in more than one SL carrier, that is, for a primary component carrier used by the terminal equipment (e.g. UE1) for SL communication, the PSFCH to which the PSSCH transmitted on the primary component carrier corresponds is received on the primary component carrier, and the HARQ-based SL RLF detection method in the scenario of using a single carrier for sidelink SL communication is used to perform SL RLF detection on the PCC); and transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) report to a network device over an uplink carrier and/or transmitting an RLF report to the second terminal over the target carrier in a case that a detection result indicates that an RLF has occurred (e.g., ¶ [0080] licensed carrier in more than one SL carrier, that is, for each SL carrier in a licensed carrier more than one licensed carrier used by the terminal equipment (e.g. UE1) for SL communication, the PSFCH to which the PSSCH transmitted on the licensed carrier corresponds is received on the licensed carrier, and the HARQ-based SL RLF detection method in the scenario of using a single carrier for sidelink SL communication is used to perform SL RLF detection on the licensed carrier; [0081] or, one carrier in more than one SL carrier for receiving the PSFCH, for example, for SL carriers used by the terminal equipment (e.g. UE1) for SL communication, an SL carrier is used for receiving the PSFCH, then the terminal equipment transmits the PSSCH on the SL carrier, and receives the PSFCH for the PSSCH on the carrier, and the HARQ-based SL RLF detection method in the scenario of using a single carrier for sidelink SL communication is used to perform SL RLF detection on the PSFCH carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of performing carrier management on at least two carriers with a second terminal in carrier aggregation-based sidelink communication, as disclosed by Bao, with the disclosure of transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) report to a network device over an uplink carrier and/or transmitting an RLF report to the second terminal over the target carrier in a case that a detection result indicates that an RLF has occurred, as disclosed by Li. The motivation to combine would have been to support carrier aggregation for sidelink communication, sidelink RLF detection and maintain quality of the sidelink carriers (Li: e.g., ¶ [0009]).
Regarding Claim 16, Bao discloses all the limitations of the first terminal according to claim 12.
The functional limitations of Claim 16 are similar to claim 10. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 10 shall be applied to claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 11 and 17, dependent from claim 10 and 16, respectively, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations wherein a configuration message includes at least one bit, the bit indicating whether at least one transmission precoding matrix corresponding to the bit in a codebook belongs to the codebook subset, and if a value of the bit is equal to a preset value, the at least one transmission precoding matrix corresponding to the bit in the codebook belongs to the codebook subset.
Claims 18 and 19, dependent from claim 17, are also objected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471