DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because “elctronic” (l. 1) should be amended to read - - electronic - - and “barametric” (l. 1) should be amended to read - - barometric - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by the language “is collected when the electronic system, and/or (iii) is put into operation and/or is continuously recalibrated” (ll. 2-3).
Claim 19 is indefinite because of its dependence from claim 18, and additionally, it is not known what is meant by the language “eliminated by other measures” (l. 3). Applicant’s specification merely repeats this language (Published Application, ¶¶ [0019, 0036]) but does not define “other measures.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 17, 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 8,770,035 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada et al. discloses a method for detecting contamination of a measuring device (400; fig. 5) by a fluid and/or particles for an electronic system, comprising the following steps: generating mechanical stimulus for accelerating the measuring device (an AC voltage is applied to piezoelectric element 414 to generate vibrations for accelerating pressure sensor 400; c. 14, ll. 64-67); determining a signal response of the measuring device (400) in response to the mechanical stimulus (an output waveform of pressure sensor 400 is detected; c. 14, l. 67 – c. 15, l. 4); and comparing the signal response with a predetermined reference response with respect to the stimulus (self-diagnosis of pressure sensor 400 is performed by comparing the output waveform of pressure sensor 400 and some prescribed waveform range; c. 14, ll. 37-42 and c. 14, l. 67 – c. 15, l. 4), wherein possible contamination of the measuring device (400) causes a deviation of the signal response from the reference response (contamination of pressure sensor 400 would cause a deviation of the output waveform of pressure sensor 400 from an expected output).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the electronic sensor (400) is a barometric pressure sensor (pressure sensor 400 may be a barometric pressure sensor; c. 28, ll. 31-33) for a consumer electronics device (semiconductor pressure sensors are used in consumer equipment; c. 1, ll. 20-24) having a vibration mechanism (414).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the stimulus is generated by a vibration mechanism (414) of the electronic system (the stimulus is generated by piezoelectric element 414 of the system; c. 14, ll. 64-67).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the stimulus is generated specifically for carrying out the method or during use of the vibration mechanism in another application (piezoelectric element 414 is vibrated at least for carrying out a self-diagnosis method; c. 14, ll. 64-67).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the signal response (output waveform) is compared based on signal parameters including a frequency-dependent amplitude and/or a root mean square and/or a frequency response and/or a pressure accuracy in comparison with a non-stimulated signal (the output waveform of pressure sensor 400 is based on at least a frequency response of an AC voltage applied to piezoelectric element 400 and a determination of pressure accuracy of the output waveform (c. 14, ll. 37-42 and c. 14, l. 67 – c. 15, l. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the stimulus has a constant form or a variation of stimulus parameters including a variation of a frequency and/or an amplitude (an AC voltage applied to piezoelectric element 414 has a variation of amplitude; c. 14, ll. 64-67).
Regarding claim 18, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the predetermined reference response: (i) originates from production data of a manufacturer or user, and/or (ii) is collected when the electronic system, and/or (iii) is put into operation and/or is continuously recalibrated (a prescribed range of a diagnostic reference output waveform that is not faulty must be originated at least from production data of the manufacturer and is collected by the system; c. 14, ll. 42-46).
Regarding claim 20, Yamada et al. discloses electronic system, comprising: a measuring device (400; fig. 5); and a vibration mechanism (414) for generating a mechanical stimulus for accelerating the measuring device (an AC voltage is applied to piezoelectric element 414 to generate vibrations for accelerating pressure sensor 400; c. 14, ll. 64-67); wherein the electronic system is configured to: generate the mechanical stimulus for accelerating the measuring device (an AC voltage is applied to piezoelectric element 414 to generate vibrations for accelerating pressure sensor 400; c. 14, ll. 64-67), determine a signal response of the measuring device (400) in response to the mechanical stimulus (an output waveform of pressure sensor 400 is detected; c. 14, l. 67 – c. 15, l. 4), and compare the signal response with a predetermined reference response with respect to the stimulus (self-diagnosis of pressure sensor 400 is performed by comparing the output waveform of pressure sensor 400 and some prescribed waveform range; c. 14, ll. 37-42 and c. 14, l. 67 – c. 15, l. 4), wherein possible contamination of the measuring device causes a deviation of the signal response from the reference response (contamination of pressure sensor 400 would cause a deviation of the output waveform of pressure sensor 400 from an expected output).
Regarding claim 21, Yamada et al. discloses wherein the measuring device is a barometric pressure sensor (pressure sensor 400 may be a barometric pressure sensor; c. 28, ll. 31-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 8,770,035 B2) in view of Steiner (US 10,935,565 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 11.
Yamada et al. is silent on providing an acceleration sensor for verification.
Steiner teaches determining contamination of a pressure sensor (104) by utilizing an acceleration sensor (102) to verify a measurement signal (steps 610 and 620; fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yamada et al. with the acceleration sensor verification of Steiner to provide accurate detection of contamination of a pressure sensor (Steiner, c. 1, ll. 20-28).
Regarding claim 19, Yamada et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 11 and 18.
Yamada et al. is silent recalibrating the sensor response over time.
Steiner teaches a pressure sensor response is corrected according to a temperature (c. 4, ll. 23-41), and is therefore, continuously recalibrated when a change over time: (i) is expected or detected, and (ii) is not eliminated by other measures (a pressure sensor response is continuously recalibrated when a change over time is at least detected based on a change in temperature and is not eliminated by other measures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yamada et al. with the continuous recalibration as taught in Steiner to ensure a reliable determination of contamination of the pressure sensor (Steiner, c. 4, ll. 35-41).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852