DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: It has been held that an element is "capability" performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and manage independently' are intended use and typical of claim limitation which may not distinguish over the prior art. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Knaappila (20190037419).
Regarding claim 1, Knaappila discloses, a proximity ranging method for use in a networked ecosystem, the networked ecosystem having an initiator node (404/504, fig. 4/fig. 5) a plurality of relay nodes (402/502a-b, fig. 4/fig. 5), and a target node (402c/502c/d, fig. 4/fig. 5), the ranging method comprising (fig. 1-7, abstract):
accessing a recorded activation profile in a computer storage medium as a desired action or service of the target node (¶ 0009, 0051-0053, 0068-0071, 0086, a designated control node may store measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics read out from each of the other given nodes of the mesh network, e.g., by direct wireless communication broadcast or connection with each other given node during system installation, or by user-placement of the control node within wireless communication of each other node for long enough to read out or measure the inter-node signal transmission characteristics from each corresponding other node. In any case, a control node may use the one or more measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics to determine optimized or optimum non-broadcast connection paths between the individual nodes of the wireless network.);
estimating, via the initiator node using a proximity ranging protocol, respective proximity ranges to one or more neighboring nodes of the plurality of relay nodes within a range limit of the initiator node, wherein the target node is located outside of the range limit of the initiator node (¶ 0051-0055, 0061, 0064, 0069-0070, may proceed by then combining the known relative position samples of nodes 504, 502a and 502c with the remainder of the relative angle measurements made between AoA vector pairs at each of control node 504 and 502c to determine the position of all nodes in the network 500 relative to each other with the exception of node 502d which is out of wireless communication range of all but node 502b and determine optimal routing pairs for communication with that given node. Table 1 below illustrates an example of a communication range table that indicates with an “X” which nodes are in wireless communication range with each other in FIG. 5I. In the case of Table 1, nodes 504 and 502d are out of wireless communication range with each other. However, each other node 500a, 500b and 500c is capable of communicating with each other node of network 500, although this may not always be the case where some pairs of noes are out of wireless communication range with each other.);
dynamically determining an internodal distance between the initiator node and the target node based at least in part on the respective ranges to the one or more neighboring nodes (¶ 0065-0067, 0070 and 0073, the AoA sample data made at three nodes 504, 502c and 502b may be used together with inter-node distance-indicative measurements of signals received at nodes 504, 502c and 502b (e.g., such as RSSI, received signal dBm measurement, etc.) to create four interesting triangles 550, 560, 570 and 580 that may be combined to create a three-dimensional (x-y-z) graph (or mathematical node position representation) of network nodes with known distance (spacing), angle, and direction between each pair of individual nodes of network 500 as illustrated in FIG. 5H. Thus, both the relative position and distance spacing of nodes 504, 502a, 502b, 502c and 502d to each other may then be determined in step 606 by virtue of the intersection of combined triangles 550 and 560 as shown in FIG. 5H, including the position of node 502d which may now be located due to two AoA samples of its signal that are made at nodes 502b and 502c. Thus, AoA samples and inter-node distance-indicative measurements taken at three or more nodes (e.g., 504, 502b and 502c) are sufficient to determine relative position of, and spacing between, all five nodes 504 and 502a-502d in network 500, from which a three-dimensional (x-y-z) communication range relationship (graph or mathematical position representation) may be determined in step 610 as shown in FIG. 5I where the node topology has been “scaled” to proper size using inter-node distance-indicative measurements. In this regard, where relative distance between nodes 504 and 502c was not previously known, it may now be determined in step 608 as well as relative position of node 502d based on two AoA samples for node 502d.); and
triggering the desired action or service upon determining that the internodal distance between the initiator and the target node is not greater than an activation threshold (0068-0070, minimum communication range distance may be pre-defined (e.g., by empirical measurement of similar wireless node devices of the same wireless protocol such as BLE protocol during testing), and stored in non-volatile memory of control node 504. Mesh configuration logic 275 of control node 504 may then compare this predefined minimum communication range distance to the determined spacing between each pair of network nodes that is determined in step 608 to determine that a pair of network nodes is in wireless communication range where the determined pair spacing is less than or equal to the predefined minimum communication range distance. For example in FIG. 5I, node 502c is in wireless communication range to allow direct wireless communication with node 502a even though node 502b is positioned between nodes 502c and 502a. Moreover, it may be determined from FIG. 51 that node 502a is within wireless communication range to allow wireless communication with node 502d.).
Regarding claim 2, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, wherein the one or more neighboring nodes are within a range limit of the target node (¶ 0059-0061,0068, FIG. 5A, control node 504 is within wireless communication range of each of other nodes 502a-502c, but is not within wireless communication range of node 502d. However, each of nodes 502a-502d are in wireless communication range of each other).
Regarding claim 3, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, wherein determining the internodal distance between the initiator node and the target node is further based on estimating an angle-of-arrival of a signal exchanged between the initiator node and a neighboring node, and estimating an angle-of-arrival of a signal exchanged between the target node and the neighboring node (¶ 0065-0067, 0070 and 0073, the AoA sample data made at three nodes 504, 502c and 502b may be used together with inter-node distance-indicative measurements of signals received at nodes 504, 502c and 502b (e.g., such as RSSI, received signal dBm measurement, etc.) to create four interesting triangles 550, 560, 570 and 580 that may be combined to create a three-dimensional (x-y-z) graph (or mathematical node position representation) of network nodes with known distance (spacing), angle, and direction between each pair of individual nodes of network 500 as illustrated in FIG. 5H. Thus, both the relative position and distance spacing of nodes 504, 502a, 502b, 502c and 502d to each other may then be determined in step 606 by virtue of the intersection of combined triangles 550 and 560 as shown in FIG. 5H, including the position of node 502d which may now be located due to two AoA samples of its signal that are made at nodes 502b and 502c. Thus, AoA samples and inter-node distance-indicative measurements taken at three or more nodes (e.g., 504, 502b and 502c) are sufficient to determine relative position of, and spacing between, all five nodes 504 and 502a-502d in network 500, from which a three-dimensional (x-y-z) communication range relationship (graph or mathematical position representation) may be determined in step 610 as shown in FIG. 5I where the node topology has been “scaled” to proper size using inter-node distance-indicative measurements. In this regard, where relative distance between nodes 504 and 502c was not previously known, it may now be determined in step 608 as well as relative position of node 502d based on two AoA samples for node 502d.).
Regarding claim 5, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, further including upon estimating the range to a neighboring node, instructing the neighboring node to estimate the range between itself and the target node, wherein the instructing includes sending a signal to the neighboring node (0051-0052, 0068-0070, mesh configuration logic 275 of a control node 304 may determine position and/or orientation of each of nodes 304 and 302 within the mesh network 300 relative to each other and use this information to determine optimized or optimum non-broadcast BLE connection paths or inter-node broadcast routing paths between pairs of individual BLE device nodes of the wireless mesh network. Mesh configuration logic 275 of control node 304 may implement the determined optimized or optimum non-broadcast BLE connection paths or inter-node broadcast routing paths by providing mesh communication control information in packets transmitted from control node 304 to mesh configuration logic 275 of each of other nodes 302a-302e, as illustrated by the dotted line arrows in FIG. 3. Where necessary, packets containing mesh communication control information may be relayed (e.g., using BLE mesh broadcast signals) by intermediary nodes 302a and 302c from control node 304 to target nodes 302d and 302e that are out of communication range of control node 304. Otherwise packets containing mesh communication control information may be transmitted directly by (e.g., BLE broadcast signals) to target nodes 302a to 302c that are in wireless communication range with control node 304).
Regarding claim 6, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, wherein the dynamically determining an internodal distance between the initiator node and the target node further includes recursively determining an internodal distance between a first node and a second node using an intermediate node, wherein the second node is outside the range limit of the first node, wherein the intermediate node is in range limit of both the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node, the second node, and the intermediate node are nodes on a determined ranging route between the initiator node and the target node (¶ 0065-0067, 0070 and 0073, the AoA sample data made at three nodes 504, 502c and 502b may be used together with inter-node distance-indicative measurements of signals received at nodes 504, 502c and 502b (e.g., such as RSSI, received signal dBm measurement, etc.) to create four interesting triangles 550, 560, 570 and 580 that may be combined to create a three-dimensional (x-y-z) graph (or mathematical node position representation) of network nodes with known distance (spacing), angle, and direction between each pair of individual nodes of network 500 as illustrated in FIG. 5H. Thus, both the relative position and distance spacing of nodes 504, 502a, 502b, 502c and 502d to each other may then be determined in step 606 by virtue of the intersection of combined triangles 550 and 560 as shown in FIG. 5H, including the position of node 502d which may now be located due to two AoA samples of its signal that are made at nodes 502b and 502c. Thus, AoA samples and inter-node distance-indicative measurements taken at three or more nodes (e.g., 504, 502b and 502c) are sufficient to determine relative position of, and spacing between, all five nodes 504 and 502a-502d in network 500, from which a three-dimensional (x-y-z) communication range relationship (graph or mathematical position representation) may be determined in step 610 as shown in FIG. 5I where the node topology has been “scaled” to proper size using inter-node distance-indicative measurements. In this regard, where relative distance between nodes 504 and 502c was not previously known, it may now be determined in step 608 as well as relative position of node 502d based on two AoA samples for node 502d.).
Regarding claim 7, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, further comprising: in response to failing to estimate the respective range to one of the neighboring nodes, as an undetected node, reattempting to estimate the respective range to the undetected node, or selecting an alternative nodal route from the initiator node to the target node (¶ 0005, 0009-0010, BLE devices have been configured to communicate with each other for the Internet of Things (IoT) in a mesh network environment that is broadcast-based. In such a mesh network, a BLE broadcaster device may broadcast advertising packet data to another BLE observer device that is in wireless communication range with the broadcaster device. The BLE observer device receives and re-broadcasts the advertising packet data to other BLE devices that are not in wireless communication range with the original broadcaster device, and thus extends the communication range of the BLE network to BLE observer devices that would otherwise not receive the advertising packet data broadcast from the originating BLE broadcast device. In addition to re-broadcasting an advertising packet, each BLE observer device may also act on the received advertising packet data, such as to perform an action. Broadcasting is a relatively inefficient way of transmitting data, as there are only a limited number of available BLE broadcast channels and the exact transmission time for a broadcast advertising packet from a BLE broadcaster device is not guaranteed, which means a BLE observer device is required to listen a relatively long time before receiving a broadcast advertising packet).
Regarding claim 11, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, using a shortest distance algorithm to determine a nodal path from the initiator node to the target node through the one or more neighboring nodes (¶ 0035, 0070, 0082, The determined RSSI may also be used, e.g., for approximating the distance between two BLE devices. When a packet is received from another BLE device by BLE module 100, a RSSI value may be determined from it, and used for determining the distance between BLE module 100 and the BLE device by using known distance determination algorithms. Further information on RSSI determination and distance determination may be found).
Regarding claim 14, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, further comprising: periodically checking a status and connectivity of the one or more neighboring nodes at a sampling frequency; and adjusting the sampling frequency based on a characteristic of the one or more neighboring nodes (¶ 0004, 0067-0070, 0090, To let the master know about the slave devices before connection, the slave devices (or at that point “advertisers”) periodically, at pseudo-random intervals, pass advertising packets which the master device (also known as scanner device, i.e. “scanner”) is scanning. Depending on the type of advertising packet sent by an advertiser device, the scanner device may respond to the received advertising packet by requesting a connection with the advertiser device, or may respond by requesting further information from the advertiser device. Beacons are a particular type of BLE advertiser device that transmit advertising packets with a unique identifier to nearby portable electronic devices such as smart phones).
Regarding claim 15, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, further comprising: rank-ordering the one or more neighboring nodes in a table based on predetermined criteria; and dynamically updating the table to thereby prioritize the one or more neighboring nodes for the action or service (¶ 0069-0073, used by mesh configuration logic 275 of control node 504 to create a communication range table, e.g., that may be optionally passed from mesh configuration logic 275 of node 504 for storage in non-volatile memory and use by respective mesh configuration logic 275 of each given one of other nodes 502a-502d during mesh communications to determine optimal routing pairs for communication with that given node. Table 1 below illustrates an example of a communication range table that indicates with an “X” which nodes are in wireless communication range with each other in FIG. 5I. In the case of Table 1, nodes 504 and 502d are out of wireless communication range with each other. However, each other node 500a, 500b and 500c is capable of communicating with each other node of network 500, although this may not always be the case where some pairs of noes are out of wireless communication range with each other).
Regarding claim 16, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, wherein: the initiator node includes a smartphone or a vehicle and the target node includes a smart home device (¶ 0046, user device such as smart phone or tablet computer); and accessing the recorded activation profile includes accessing a recorded light, door, appliance, and/or vehicle charging station setting of the smart home device (¶ 0040, 0091, Application layer 210 may include, for example, apparatus-related application/s 212 (e.g., heart rate, proximity, blood pressure, time update, temperature, battery, lighting control, home automation control, etc.), smart profiles 214, and script and application programming interface (API) 216. Host layer 220 includes protocols running over the connection. Host layer 220 also includes data to be used in advertisement profile or Generic Attribute Profile (GATT) 222, generic access profile (GAP) 229, attribute protocol (ATT) 224, security manager (SM) 226 and logical link control and adaptation protocol (L2CAP) 228. Together GATT 222 and ATT 224 provide services 225 for Bluetooth smart module 200 that define an interface with other BLE devices connected to Bluetooth smart module 200 for reading and/or writing data for applications 212.).
Regarding claim 17, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, a networked ecosystem comprising:
an initiator node; a plurality of relay nodes, including at least one transit node and at least one smart node; a target node that is located outside of a range limit of the initiator node (initiator node 404/504, fig. 4/fig. 5, a plurality of relay nodes 402/502a-b, fig. 4/fig. 5, and a target node 402c/502c/d, fig. 4/fig. 5, fig. 1-7, abstract); and
computer storage medium containing a recorded activation profile, the recorded activation profile including a desired action or service of the target node (¶ 0009, 0051-0053, 0068-0071, 0086, a designated control node may store measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics read out from each of the other given nodes of the mesh network, e.g., by direct wireless communication broadcast or connection with each other given node during system installation, or by user-placement of the control node within wireless communication of each other node for long enough to read out or measure the inter-node signal transmission characteristics from each corresponding other node. In any case, a control node may use the one or more measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics to determine optimized or optimum non-broadcast connection paths between the individual nodes of the wireless network.);
wherein the networked ecosystem is configured to use a proximity ranging protocol to detect respective ranges to one or more neighboring nodes of the plurality of relay nodes within a range limit of the initiator node (¶ 0051-0055, 0061, 0064, 0069-0070, may proceed by then combining the known relative position samples of nodes 504, 502a and 502c with the remainder of the relative angle measurements made between AoA vector pairs at each of control node 504 and 502c to determine the position of all nodes in the network 500 relative to each other with the exception of node 502d which is out of wireless communication range of all but node 502b and determine optimal routing pairs for communication with that given node. Table 1 below illustrates an example of a communication range table that indicates with an “X” which nodes are in wireless communication range with each other in FIG. 5I. In the case of Table 1, nodes 504 and 502d are out of wireless communication range with each other. However, each other node 500a, 500b and 500c is capable of communicating with each other node of network 500, although this may not always be the case where some pairs of noes are out of wireless communication range with each other.), to dynamically determine an internodal distance between the initiator node and the target node based at least in part on the respective ranges to the one or more neighboring nodes (¶ 0065-0067, 0070 and 0073, the AoA sample data made at three nodes 504, 502c and 502b may be used together with inter-node distance-indicative measurements of signals received at nodes 504, 502c and 502b (e.g., such as RSSI, received signal dBm measurement, etc.) to create four interesting triangles 550, 560, 570 and 580 that may be combined to create a three-dimensional (x-y-z) graph (or mathematical node position representation) of network nodes with known distance (spacing), angle, and direction between each pair of individual nodes of network 500 as illustrated in FIG. 5H. Thus, both the relative position and distance spacing of nodes 504, 502a, 502b, 502c and 502d to each other may then be determined in step 606 by virtue of the intersection of combined triangles 550 and 560 as shown in FIG. 5H, including the position of node 502d which may now be located due to two AoA samples of its signal that are made at nodes 502b and 502c. Thus, AoA samples and inter-node distance-indicative measurements taken at three or more nodes (e.g., 504, 502b and 502c) are sufficient to determine relative position of, and spacing between, all five nodes 504 and 502a-502d in network 500, from which a three-dimensional (x-y-z) communication range relationship (graph or mathematical position representation) may be determined in step 610 as shown in FIG. 5I where the node topology has been “scaled” to proper size using inter-node distance-indicative measurements. In this regard, where relative distance between nodes 504 and 502c was not previously known, it may now be determined in step 608 as well as relative position of node 502d based on two AoA samples for node 502d.), and
triggering the desired action upon determining that the internodal distance between the initiator and the target node is not greater than an activation threshold (0068-0070, minimum communication range distance may be pre-defined (e.g., by empirical measurement of similar wireless node devices of the same wireless protocol such as BLE protocol during testing), and stored in non-volatile memory of control node 504. Mesh configuration logic 275 of control node 504 may then compare this predefined minimum communication range distance to the determined spacing between each pair of network nodes that is determined in step 608 to determine that a pair of network nodes is in wireless communication range where the determined pair spacing is less than or equal to the predefined minimum communication range distance. For example in FIG. 5I, node 502c is in wireless communication range to allow direct wireless communication with node 502a even though node 502b is positioned between nodes 502c and 502a. Moreover, it may be determined from FIG. 51 that node 502a is within wireless communication range to allow wireless communication with node 502d.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-10, 12-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knaappila (20190037419) in view of Nguyen et al (20220201434).
Regarding claim 4, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044).
Knaappila does not specifically disclose time-of-arrival of a signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, time-of-arrival of a signal (¶ 0154-0157). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claims 8, 19, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044).
Knaappila does not specifically disclose Wi-Fi router.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, Wi-Fi router (¶ 0032, 0058, 0060, 0069, 0074 and 0193). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claim 9, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044).
Knaappila does not specifically disclose time-of-arrival of a signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, time-of-arrival of a signal (¶ 0154-0157). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claims 10, 18, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044).
Knaappila does not specifically disclose signal is performed using an ultra-wideband (UWB)-capable node..
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, signal is performed using an ultra-wideband (UWB)-capable node (¶ 0032, 0058, 0060, 0069, 0074 and 0193). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claim 12, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044) and This means that the devices exchange long term keys or other encryption info to be stored for future connections. In another case, the master device may request pairing with the slave device, in which case the connection may be encrypted only for the duration of the current connection, during which short term keys are exchanged between the master device and slave device (¶ 0086)
Knaappila does not specifically disclose time-of-arrival of a signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, time-of-arrival of a signal (¶ 0154-0157). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claim 13, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, AoA of a received signal may be determined by AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique, e.g., such as by using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques to measure the delay and/or or by measuring difference in received phase, of the received signal at each antenna element 199.sub.1 to 199.sub.N in the antenna array 197 relative to another antenna element/s 199 in the antenna array 197 and which may include, for example, using switch 195 of FIG. 1 to switch through the different elements 199 of the array. At least a portion of such a received signal may be constant frequency to aid measurement of phase shift or TDOA between antenna elements of the array. In some embodiments direction of arrival (DOA) processing techniques such as MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC), Estimation of Signal Parameters Via Rotational Invariance Techniques (ESPRIT), etc. may be employed depending on the particular system configuration (¶ 0044) and This means that the devices exchange long term keys or other encryption info to be stored for future connections. In another case, the master device may request pairing with the slave device, in which case the connection may be encrypted only for the duration of the current connection, during which short term keys are exchanged between the master device and slave device (¶ 0086)
Knaappila does not specifically disclose time-of-arrival of a signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, time-of-arrival of a signal (¶ 0154-0157). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Regarding claim 20, Knaappila discloses in claim 1 further, Knaappila discloses, a networked ecosystem comprising:
an initiator node, the initiator node including a smartphone or a vehicle and having an capability; a plurality of relay nodes, including at least one transit node and at least one smart node, the at least one smart node including the (initiator node 404/504, fig. 4/fig. 5, a plurality of relay nodes 402/502a-b, fig. 4/fig. 5, and a target node 402c/502c/d, fig. 4/fig. 5, (fig. 1-7, abstract);
a target node that is located outside of a range limit of the initiator node, the target node being configured as a smart home device (¶ 0040, 0091, Application layer 210 may include, for example, apparatus-related application/s 212 (e.g., heart rate, proximity, blood pressure, time update, temperature, battery, lighting control, home automation control, etc., smart profiles 214, and script and application programming interface (API) 216. Host layer 220 includes protocols running over the connection. Host layer 220 also includes data to be used in advertisement profile or Generic Attribute Profile (GATT) 222, generic access profile (GAP) 229, attribute protocol (ATT) 224, security manager (SM) 226 and logical link control and adaptation protocol (L2CAP) 228. Together GATT 222 and ATT 224 provide services 225 for Bluetooth smart module 200 that define an interface with other BLE devices connected to Bluetooth smart module 200 for reading and/or writing data for applications 212);
a computer storage medium containing an activation profile, the activation profile including a desired action or service of the target node, the desired action or service including a light, door, appliance, and/or vehicle setting of the smart home device (¶ 0009, 0040, 0051-0053, 0068-0071, 0086, a designated control node may store measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics read out from each of the other given nodes of the mesh network, e.g., by direct wireless communication broadcast or connection with each other given node during system installation, or by user-placement of the control node within wireless communication of each other node for long enough to read out or measure the inter-node signal transmission characteristics from each corresponding other node. In any case, a control node may use the one or more measured inter-node signal transmission characteristics to determine optimized or optimum non-broadcast connection paths between the individual nodes of the wireless network.);
wherein the networked ecosystem is configured to use a proximity ranging protocol to detect respective ranges to one or more neighboring nodes of the plurality of relay nodes within a range limit of the initiator node, dynamically determine an internodal distance between the initiator node and the target node using the respective ranges to the one or more neighboring nodes (¶ 0065-0067, 0070 and 0073, the AoA sample data made at three nodes 504, 502c and 502b may be used together with inter-node distance-indicative measurements of signals received at nodes 504, 502c and 502b (e.g., such as RSSI, received signal dBm measurement, etc.) to create four interesting triangles 550, 560, 570 and 580 that may be combined to create a three-dimensional (x-y-z) graph (or mathematical node position representation) of network nodes with known distance (spacing), angle, and direction between each pair of individual nodes of network 500 as illustrated in FIG. 5H. Thus, both the relative position and distance spacing of nodes 504, 502a, 502b, 502c and 502d to each other may then be determined in step 606 by virtue of the intersection of combined triangles 550 and 560 as shown in FIG. 5H, including the position of node 502d which may now be located due to two AoA samples of its signal that are made at nodes 502b and 502c. Thus, AoA samples and inter-node distance-indicative measurements taken at three or more nodes (e.g., 504, 502b and 502c) are sufficient to determine relative position of, and spacing between, all five nodes 504 and 502a-502d in network 500, from which a three-dimensional (x-y-z) communication range relationship (graph or mathematical position representation) may be determined in step 610 as shown in FIG. 5I where the node topology has been “scaled” to proper size using inter-node distance-indicative measurements. In this regard, where relative distance between nodes 504 and 502c was not previously known, it may now be determined in step 608 as well as relative position of node 502d based on two AoA samples for node 502d.),
rank-order the one or more neighboring nodes in a table based on predetermined criteria, and dynamically update the table to thereby prioritize the one or more neighboring nodes for the action or service (0068-0070, minimum communication range distance may be pre-defined (e.g., by empirical measurement of similar wireless node devices of the same wireless protocol such as BLE protocol during testing), and stored in non-volatile memory of control node 504. Mesh configuration logic 275 of control node 504 may then compare this predefined minimum communication range distance to the determined spacing between each pair of network nodes that is determined in step 608 to determine that a pair of network nodes is in wireless communication range where the determined pair spacing is less than or equal to the predefined minimum communication range distance. For example in FIG. 5I, node 502c is in wireless communication range to allow direct wireless communication with node 502a even though node 502b is positioned between nodes 502c and 502a. Moreover, it may be determined from FIG. 51 that node 502a is within wireless communication range to allow wireless communication with node 502d.).
Knaappila does not specifically disclose UWB capability, a Wi-Fi router and a border router.
In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen et al discloses, UWB capability (¶ 0048, 69-0070), a Wi-Fi router (¶ 0047, fig. 1, 120) and a border router (¶ 0166-0172, fig. 9, 902). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Knaappila by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing coverage extension through collaborative ranging in an effective manner. The method allows the electronic device to receive signals from the other electronic device that are used for determining the location of the target device, so that the electronic devices are prevented from receiving signals from other electronic devices that are not within the field of view of the user device, thus preventing the user devices from receiving the signals transmitted by the other devices, and hence preventing the users of the devices from incorrectly determining the locations of other devices within a given environment as taught by Nguyen et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643