DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 15 January 2026.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in light of the new rejection(s) below are found moot.
A new grounds for rejection is included in this Office Action.
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and in light of the new rejection(s) below are found moot.
A new grounds for rejection is included in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wheeler et al (US 4995786), here after referred to as Wheeler.
Regarding Claim 1, Wheeler discloses the following:
A guide blade adjusting device for a turbomachine configured to twist multiple guide blades (24) grouped into a guide blade ring about axes (not labeled, FIG. 2) of rotation of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring extending in a radial direction, wherein each guide blade (24) comprises a front blade part (36) and a rear blade part (44) each of which can be twisted relative to one another (see Col. 3, lines 15-22), comprising:
a first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) coupled to a first drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1) and configured to be driven via the first drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1);
a first control ring (42), which transmits a twisting of the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) for twisting the front blade parts (36) of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring to the front blade parts (36);
a second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) coupled to a second drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1) and configured to be driven via the second drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1); and
a second control ring (50), which transmits a twisting of the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) for twisting the rear blade parts (44) independently of the twisting of the front blade parts (36) of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring to the rear blade parts (44).
Regarding Claim 2, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 1,
wherein the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is directly coupled to one of the front blade parts (36) of one of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring such that the front blade part (36) of this guide blade of the guide blade ring, emanating from the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1), can be directly twisted without interposition of the first control ring (42)(Col. 3, lines 0-22 disclose FIG. 3 shows the required vane drive arms extending to the synchronization rings from a single vane in order to control each vane row or stage.), and
wherein the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is indirectly coupled to the front blade parts (36) of other guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring such that the front blade parts (36) of the other guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring, emanating from the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1), are indirectly twistable subject to the interposition of the first control ring (42)(Col. 3, lines 0-22 disclose FIG. 3 shows the required vane drive arms extending to the synchronization rings from a single vane in order to control each vane row or stage.).
Regarding Claim 3, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 1,
wherein the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is directly coupled to one of the rear blade parts (44) of one of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring such that the rear blade part (44) of this guide blade of the guide blade ring, emanating from the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) can be directly twisted without interposition of the second control ring (50)(Col. 3, lines 0-22 disclose FIG. 3 shows the required vane drive arms extending to the synchronization rings from a single vane in order to control each vane row or stage.), and
wherein the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is indirectly coupled to the rear blade parts (44) of other guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring such that the rear blade parts (44) of the other guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring, emanating from the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1), are indirectly twistable subject to the interposition of the second control ring (50)(Col. 3, lines 0-22 disclose FIG. 3 shows the required vane drive arms extending to the synchronization rings from a single vane in order to control each vane row or stage.).
Regarding Claim 4, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 1,
wherein the first control ring (42) is coupled via a first blade lever (40; FIG. 3) each to a bearing pin (38; FIG. 2) of the front blade part (36) of a respective other guide blade, and
wherein the second control ring (50) is coupled via a second blade lever (48) each to a bearing pin (46; FIG. 2) of the rear blade part (44) of a respective other guide blade.
Regarding Claim 5, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 4,
wherein in a region of each guide blade (24) one of the bearing pins of front and rear blade part (44) is formed as solid pin (46; FIG. 2; Col. 2, lines 50-65) and the other of the bearing pins of front and rear blade part (44) is formed as hollow pin (38; FIG. 2; Col. 2, lines 50-65), the axes (not labeled, FIG. 2) of rotation of which extend coaxially in the radial direction.
Regarding Claim 7, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 1
wherein the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is coupled to the first control ring (42) via a first drive lever (40), and
wherein the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) is coupled to the second control ring (50) via a second drive lever (48).
Regarding Claim 9, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claims 1,
wherein the first control ring (42) is arranged on a first axial side of the guide blade ring, which faces the front blade parts (36) of the guide blades (24), and the second control ring (50) is arranged on a second axial side of the guide blade ring, which faces the rear blade parts (44) of the guide blades (24).
Regarding Claim 10, Wheeler discloses the following:
A turbomachine (FIG. 1), comprising:
a rotor (12) comprising moving blades (14, 16, 18);
a stator comprising guide blades (24), wherein the guide blades (24) form at least one guide blade ring (Col. 2, lines 35-45); and
a guide blade adjusting device configured to adjust at least the guide blades (24) of at least one guide blade ring, comprising:
a first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) coupled to a first drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1) and configured to be driven via the first drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1);
a first control ring (42), which transmits a twisting of the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) for twisting front blade parts (36) of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring to the front blade parts (36);
a second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) coupled to a second drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1) and configured to be driven via the second drive motor (synonymous with control means connected to each adjusting means; see claim 1); and
a second control ring (50), which transmits a twisting of the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) for twisting rear blade parts (44) independently of the twisting of the front blade parts (36) of the guide blades (24) of the guide blade ring to the rear blade parts (44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler et al (US 4995786), here after referred to as Wheeler, in view of Leopold (US 20180100407), hereafter referred to as Leopold.
Regarding Claim 6, Wheeler discloses the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 4,
wherein the respective first blade lever (40; FIG. 3) and the respective second blade lever (48) comprise a single piece lever.
Wheeler does not disclose the following:
wherein the respective first blade lever and the respective second blade lever comprise two lever portions configured as a lever portion acting on the respective bearing pin of the respective blade part and a lever portion acting on the respective control ring, and
wherein the respective first blade lever and the respective second blade lever comprise two lever portions configured as a lever portion acting on the respective bearing pin of the respective blade part and a lever portion acting on the respective control ring, and
wherein the two lever portions of the respective blade lever are interconnected in an articulated manner.
However Leopold teaches the following:
it is well known in the art for a vane lever to comprise two lever portions (31, 32; see [0040]) configured as a lever portion acting on the respective bearing pin (26) of the respective blade part and a lever portion acting on the respective control ring (27), and
wherein the two lever portions of the respective blade lever are interconnected in an articulated manner (see [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the known one piece lever, as taught by Wheeler, with the known articulated lever, as also taught by Leopold, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a known lever to connect the bearing pin of a vane to a control ring. The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the one piece lever of Wheeler with the articulated lever of Leopold yields the predictable result of providing a lever (i.e. substituting one known means to provide a lever for another known means to provide a lever). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler et al (US 4995786), here after referred to as Wheeler.
Regarding Claim 8, Wheeler teaches the following:
The guide blade adjusting device according to Claim 7,
wherein the first drive lever (40) is arranged in a first circumferential position and the second drive lever (48) are arranged in a second other circumferential position of the guide blade ring (as seen in FIG. 3).
Wheeler does not teach the following:
wherein the first drive hub is arranged in a first circumferential position and the second drive hub together is arranged in a second other circumferential position of the guide blade ring.
However the Examiner notes the following:
It would have been obvious to try installing the second drive hub in a second other circumferential position, since there are only a finite number of predictable positions the second drive hub can be installed, either at the same or a different circumferential position as the first drive hub. This rationale supports a conclusion of obviousness because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. And in this instance doing so leads to the anticipated success of installing a second drive, thus it is likely that product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (See MPEP 2143, I. E.).
Wheeler as modified above teaches the following:
wherein the first drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) together with the first drive lever (40), are arranged in a first circumferential position and the second drive hub (synonymous with means connected to the shaft like projection of each edge section for adjusting; see claim 1) together with the second drive lever (48) are arranged in a second other circumferential position of the guide blade ring (as seen in FIG. 3).
Conclusion
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745