DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 10/02/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-18 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 10/02/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The recitation “a first connection point” in line 5 is considered vague because it’s confused with “a first connection point” in line 4. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anguera et al (US 8237615), hereinafter Anguera.
Regarding claim 1,
Anguera discloses a wireless device (a device 100, Fig 1a) comprising a radiating system (a radiating system 260, Fig 2c) that comprises:
a radiating structure (a radiating structure 201, Fig 2c) that operates in at least two frequency regions (col 5, lines 48-67), the radiating structure comprising:
a ground plane layer (a ground plane layer 206, Fig 2c) having a first connection point (a connection point 207, Fig 2c);
a single radiation booster (a radiation booster 204, Fig 2c) having a first connection point (a connection point 205, Fig 2c);
a radiofrequency system (a radiofrequency system 262, Fig 2c) comprising a first input port (a first port 209, Fig 2c), a plurality of external output ports (a plurality of external ports 203 and 263, Fig 2c), wherein each of the plurality of external output ports provides operation in at least one of the at least two frequency regions of operation (Fig 2c; col 5, lines 48-67); and
a first internal port (an internal port 208, Fig 2c) defined between the first connection point of the radiation booster and the first connection point of the ground plane layer (Fig 2c), the first internal port being connected to the first input port of the radiofrequency system (Fig 2c).
Anguera does not teach the radiofrequency system 262 comprising a plurality of branches, at least some of the plurality of branches being connected to a common point connected to the first input port.
However, Anguera teaches a radiofrequency system 500 (Fig 5) comprising a plurality of branches (a plurality of branches of a combiner/splitter 508, Fig 6b), at least some of the plurality of branches being connected to a common point (a common point P5081, Fig 6b) connected to the first input port.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiofrequency system comprising a plurality of branches, at least some of the plurality of branches being connected to a common point connected to a first input port in Anguera, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
[AltContent: textbox (Anguera (US 8237615))]
[AltContent: textbox (Anguera (US 8237615))]
[AltContent: textbox (P5081)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Anguera (US 8237615))]
Regarding claim 2,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the radiofrequency system comprises at least three external output ports.
However, Anguera teaches the radiating system 260 is to provide operation in at least one cellular communication standard and at least one wireless connectivity standard. In one example, the external port 203 may provide the GSM 900 and GSM 1800 standards, while the external port 263 may provide an IEEE802.11 standard (col 20, lines 11-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider the radiating system 260 may provide operation in two or more cellular communication standards provided with two or more external ports, and in two or more wireless connectivity standards provided with two or more additional external ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiofrequency system comprising at least three external output ports in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 3,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the radiofrequency system comprises at least four external output ports.
However, Anguera teaches the radiating system 260 is to provide operation in at least one cellular communication standard and at least one wireless connectivity standard. In one example, the external port 203 may provide the GSM 900 and GSM 1800 standards, while the external port 263 may provide an IEEE802.11 standard (col 20, lines 11-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider the radiating system 260 may provide operation in two or more cellular communication standards provided with two or more external ports, and in two or more wireless connectivity standards provided with two or more additional external ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiofrequency system comprising at least four external output ports in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 4,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera does not explicitly teach at least one of the branches of the radiofrequency system includes a reject-band filter.
However, Anguera teaches at least one of the branches of the radiofrequency system includes a band-pass filter (a band-pass filter 506, Fig 6b). It is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one of branches of a radiofrequency system including a reject-band filter in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 5,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera does not explicitly teach at least two of the branches of the radiofrequency system include a reject-band filter.
However, Anguera teaches at least one of the branches of the radiofrequency system includes a band-pass filter (a band-pass filter 506, Fig 6b). It is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least two of branches of a radiofrequency system including a reject-band filter in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 6,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera does not explicitly teach each of the branches of the radiofrequency system includes a reject-band filter.
However, Anguera teaches each of the branches of the radiofrequency system includes a band-pass filter (a band-pass filter 506, 507, Fig 6b). It is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use each of branches of a radiofrequency system including a reject-band filter in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 7,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera teaches the radiofrequency system (a radiofrequency system 1600, Fig 16) comprises a diplexer (a diplexer 1603, Fig 16).
[AltContent: textbox (Anguera (US 8237615))]
Regarding claim 8,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 7.
Anguera teaches the diplexer comprises a bank of filters (col 16, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 9,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 8.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the bank of filters comprises at least one reject-band filter.
However, Anguera teaches a band-pass filter (a band-pass filter 506, 507, Fig 6b). It is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a bank of filters comprising at least one reject-band filter in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 10,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 8.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the bank of filters comprises at least two reject-band filters.
However, Anguera teaches a band-pass filter (a band-pass filter 506, 507, Fig 6b). It is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a bank of filters comprising at least two reject-band filters in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 11,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera teaches the radiofrequency system comprises at least one filtering circuit (a filter circuit 506, Fig 6b).
Regarding claim 12,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the at least one filtering circuit comprises at least one reject-band filter.
However, it is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one filtering circuit comprising at least one reject-band filter in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 13,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Anguera does not explicitly teach the at least one filtering circuit comprises at least two reject-band filters.
However, it is well known in the art that a band-pass filter includes a band-pass frequency band, a reject low-band frequency band and a reject high-band frequency band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one filtering circuit comprising at least two reject-band filters in Anguera as modified, in order to provide a slim and low-cost wireless portable device having a good radioelectric performance and a low specific absorption rate (SAR).
Regarding claim 14,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera teaches the radiating structure (a radiating structure 231, Fig 2b) comprises a second internal port (a second internal port 238, Fig 2b) defined between a second connection point (a connection point 235, Fig 2b) of a radiation booster (a second radiation booster 234, Fig 2b) and a second connection point (a connection point 207, Fig 2b) of the ground plane layer.
[AltContent: textbox (Anguera (US 8237615))]
Regarding claim 15,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Anguera teaches the second internal port is connected to a second input port (a second port 239, Fig 2b) of the radiofrequency system (a radiofrequency system 232, Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 16,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera teaches the radiofrequency system (a radiofrequency system 500, Fig 5) comprises at least one matching network (a first matching network 504, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 17,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Anguera teaches the radiofrequency system further comprises at least as many matching networks as frequency regions of operation of the radiating system (col 13, lines 64-67, col 14, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 18,
Anguera as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Anguera teaches a device 100 (Fig 1b) comprising a processing module (a processing module 102, Fig 1b), a memory module (a memory module 103, Fig 1b), and a display (a user interface module 101 comprises a display, Fig 1b, col 5, lines 33-36) and a communication module (a communication module 104, Fig 1b) for tracking the position of the wireless device.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845