DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because lines, numbers & letters are not uniformly thick and well defined, clean, durable, and black (poor line quality). See figures 1-4, 7-8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota (8,382,609).
Claim 1, Yokota discloses a golf club head comprising:
a toe portion; a heel portion opposite said toe portion; a topline; a sole opposite said topline; a hosel located at said heel portion configured to receive a shaft; and a striking face having a front surface configured to contact a golf ball and a rear surface opposite said front surface (these features are shown in figures 1-4); and
wherein said front surface of said striking face includes a plurality of scorelines (grooves 11g, 12g; figure 10) extending in a heel-to-toe direction,
wherein said rear surface of said striking face comprises:
a central region (thick parts 13 and 14 which correspond/overlap with the center or sweet spot SS of the club face) overlapping at least a portion of a face center of said striking face (2);
a perimeter region (as shown in figures 9 and 10 the club face and back include a perimeter region) formed along an outer perimeter of said rear surface of said striking face;
as shown in figure 10 the club face includes first, second, third and fourth transition regions extending from the center region;
wherein said central region has a constant thickness measured from said front surface of said striking face to said rear surface of said striking face (column 7, lines 31-37), and
wherein said first transition region, said second transition region, said third transition region, and said fourth transition region each decrease in thickness from said central region towards said perimeter region (column 7, lines 31-37).
Claim 2, Yokota shows said central region has a height in a sole-to-topline direction that increases in a toeward direction (column 11, lines 20-22 which shows the invention is suitably applied to wood-type hollow golf club heads and also iron-type golf club heads. As it is well understood iron-type golf club heads (similar to the claimed invention) include a central region which has a height in a sole-to-topline direction that increases in a toeward direction).
Claim 3, Yokota shows said central region has a thickness less than 2.2 mm (column 7, lines 37-53).
Claim 4, Yokota shows said first transition region has a minimum thickness less than 1.75 mm, said second transition region has a minimum thickness less than 1.6 mm, said third transition region has a minimum thickness less than 1.95 mm, and said fourth transition region has a minimum thickness less than 1.95 mm.
Claim 5, Yokota shows said central region defines a maximum thickness of said striking face (column 7, lines 31-37).
Claim 11, Yokota discloses a golf club head comprising:
a toe portion; a heel portion opposite said toe portion; a topline; a sole opposite said topline; a hosel located at said heel portion configured to receive a shaft; and a striking face having a front surface configured to contact a golf ball and a rear surface opposite said front surface (these features are shown in figures 1-4);
wherein said front surface of said striking face includes a plurality of scorelines extending in a heel-to-toe direction (grooves 11g, 12g; figure 10),
wherein said rear surface of said striking face comprises:
a central region thick parts 13 and 14 which correspond/overlap with the center or sweet spot SS of the club face) overlapping at least a portion of a face center of said striking face;
a perimeter region (as shown in figures 9 and 10 the club face and back include a perimeter region) formed along an outer perimeter of said rear surface of said striking face;
as shown in figure 10 the club face includes first, second, third and fourth transition regions extending from the center region;
wherein said central region has a constant thickness measured from said front surface of said striking face to said rear surface of said striking face (column 7, lines 31-37), and
wherein said first transition region, said second transition region each decrease in thickness from said central region towards said perimeter region (column 7, lines 31-37).
Claim 12, Yokota shows said central region defines a maximum thickness of said striking face (column 7, lines 31-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota (8,382,609).
Claim 6, Yokota shows a minimum thickness of said first transition region is greater than a minimum thickness of said second transition region (as noted in claim 4 the thickness of the transition regions are between a predetermined range. Therefore, it is within the scope of Yokota’s teaching that one transition region would have a greater thickness than another transition region).
Claim 7, Yokota shows a minimum thickness of said third transition region and a minimum thickness of said fourth transition region are both greater than said minimum thickness of said first transition region (as noted in claim 4 the thickness of the transition regions are between a predetermined range. Therefore, it is within the scope of Yokota’s teaching that one or more transition regions would have the same thickness but be a greater thickness than another transition region).
Claim 8, Yokota shows said first transition region (11g) has a constant taper which creates a first transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face,
wherein said second transition region (12g) has a constant taper which creates a second transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face,
wherein said third transition region (upper 10a region) has a constant taper which creates a third transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face,
wherein said fourth transition region (lower 10a region) has a constant taper which creates a fourth transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face,
wherein said second transition angle is greater than said first transition angle, and wherein said fourth transition angle is less than said third transition angle (column 8, lines 24-38 As noted in claim 4 the thickness and angles of the transition regions are between a predetermined range. Therefore, it is within the scope of Yokota’s teaching that one transition region would have a greater thickness/angle than another transition region).
Claim 9, Yokota discloses the claimed device with the exception of said first transition angle is between 0.2° and 0.8°, wherein said second transition angle is between 0.6° and 1.2°, and wherein said third transition angle is between 3° and 8°, and wherein said fourth transition angle is between 1° and 3°. It has been held [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13, Yokota shows a minimum thickness of said first transition region is greater than a minimum thickness of said second transition region (as noted in claim 4 the thickness of the transition regions are between a predetermined range. Therefore, it is within the scope of Yokota’s teaching that one transition region would have a greater thickness than another transition region).
Claim 14, Yokota shows said central region has a thickness less than 2.2 mm (column 7, lines 37-53).
Claim 15, Yokota shows said first transition region has a minimum thickness of less than 1.75 mm, said second transition region has a minimum thickness less than 1.6 mm.
Claim 16, Yokota shows said first transition region (11g) has a constant taper which creates a first transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face,
wherein said second transition region (12g) has a constant taper which creates a second transition angle between said front surface of said striking face and said rear surface of said striking face.
Claim 17, Yokota shows wherein said second transition angle is greater than said first transition angle, and wherein said fourth transition angle is less than said third transition angle (column 8, lines 24-38 As noted in claim 4 the thickness and angles of the transition regions are between a predetermined range. Therefore, it is within the scope of Yokota’s teaching that one transition region would have a greater thickness/angle than another transition region).
Claim 18, Yokota discloses the claimed device with the exception of said first transition angle is between 0.2° and 0.8°, and wherein said second transition angle is between 0.6° and 1.2°. It has been held [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 10, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota (8,382,609) in view of Wahl et al (8,157,668) hereinafter (Wahl).
Claim 10, Yokota discloses the claimed device with the exception of said striking face comprising a ledge forming at least a portion of said sole, wherein a radiused portion is formed between said rear surface of said striking face and said ledge, wherein said radiused portion comprises: a central radiused region; a toeward radiused region located toeward of said central radiused region; and a heelward radiused region located heelward of said central radiused region, wherein said central radiused region defines a maximum radius of said radiused portion between 1.5 mm and 2.5 mm, wherein said toeward radiused region has a decreasing radius from said central radiused region toward said toe portion, wherein said heelward radiused region has a decreasing radius from said centra radiused region toward said heel portion, wherein said toeward radiused region has a minimum radius less than 1.6 mm, and wherein said heelward radiused region has a minimum radius less than 1.6 mm. However, Wahl (figures 3A-B, 4A; column 6, lines 49-57; column 8, lines 34-54; column 9, lines 42-67 and column 10, lines 1-25) it is known in the art to provide a ledge which forms a portion of the sole having maximum and minimum radius. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided such a ledge for Yokota’s striking face given that Wahl teaches the ledge helps control how the golf club interacts with the turf after impact and guides the club into the ground at the right moment and angle, ensuring clean ball contact and proper turf interaction.
Claim 19, Yokota discloses the claimed device with the exception of said striking face comprising a ledge forming at least a portion of said sole, wherein a radiused portion is formed between said rear surface of said striking face and said ledge, wherein said radiused portion comprises: a central radiused region; a toeward radiused region located toeward of said central radiused region; and a heelward radiused region located heelward of said central radiused region, wherein said central radiused region defines a maximum radius of said radiused portion between 1.5 mm and 2.5 mm, wherein said toeward radiused region has a decreasing radius from said central radiused region toward said toe portion, wherein said heelward radiused region has a decreasing radius from said centra radiused region toward said heel portion, wherein said toeward radiused region has a minimum radius less than 1.6 mm, and wherein said heelward radiused region has a minimum radius less than 1.6 mm. However, Wahl (figures 3A-B, 4A; column 6, lines 49-57; column 8, lines 34-54; column 9, lines 42-67 and column 10, lines 1-25) it is known in the art to provide a ledge which forms a portion of the sole having maximum and minimum radius. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided such a ledge for Yokota’s striking face given that Wahl teaches the ledge helps control how the golf club interacts with the turf after impact and guides the club into the ground at the right moment and angle, ensuring clean ball contact and proper turf interaction.
Claim 20, Yokota shows said central region has a height in a sole-to-topline direction that increases in a toeward direction (column 11, lines 20-22 which shows the invention is suitably applied to wood-type hollow golf club heads and also iron-type golf club heads. As it is well understood, iron-type golf club heads (similar to the claimed invention) include a central region which has a height in a sole-to-topline direction that increases in a toeward direction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Imamoto et al (US2007/0066420 A1); Willett et al (6,997,820); Takehara et al (12,485,319); Carr et al (US2026/0091277 A1); Antonious (6,454,665).
/MITRA ARYANPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/ma/
31 August 2026