Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa et al. (hereafter Hayakawa) (US PgPub 2020/0339147) and in view of Izumi et al. (hereafter Izumi)(US PgPub 2023/0191911).
Regarding claim 1, Hayakawa discloses a display device for a vehicle (Figure 14, Element 1100 and Paragraph 0166 where the vehicle includes a HUD display) that is provided at a vehicle and that, when a detecting device detects a relative moving body, which is positioned at a periphery of the vehicle, in a predetermined detection range (Figure 14, Elements 6, 7 and Paragraphs 0084 and 0166 where the camera and radar detect objects in proximity to the vehicle), can display a moving image representing the relative moving body (Figure 16, Ca1 and Paragraphs 0172, 0176 and 0177 where the moving double rectangle image surrounds a moving vehicle object) by control by a processor (Figure 14, Element 3), wherein: in a case in which a relative distance of the relative moving body from the vehicle is in a usual range, the usual range being within the predetermined detection range, the processor changes a display condition, which is at least one of a size of or a displayed position of the moving image, in accordance with the relative distance, (Figure 16 and Paragraph 0177 where the size of the image Ca1 is inversely proportional to a distance from the vehicle within a detection range. The closer the detected object, the larger the image becomes and vice versa). Hayakawa does not specifically disclose and in a case in which the relative distance is outside of the usual range, the processor does not change the display condition. Namely, Hayakawa is silent with respect to the functionality of the moving double rectangle image surrounding a moving vehicle object when the moving vehicle object is outside the usual range (detection range). In the same field of endeavor, Izumi discloses a vehicle system with a vehicle display apparatus where the vehicle system includes a surrounding monitoring sensor, including a camera, that detects objects proximate to the vehicle. The surrounding monitoring sensor can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a set detection range. Outside of the detection range, detection of the moving objects and stationary objects does not occur (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the set detection range monitoring and tracking of Izumi to the vehicle system of Hayakawa, thereby only detecting moving objects and changing display conditions within a set detection range, motivation being to conserve system resources and remove clutter on the vehicle display by only changing display sizes for objects within the detection range of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Hayakawa discloses wherein: in a case in which the relative distance is in the usual range, the processor gradually makes the moving image smaller as the relative distance becomes longer, and given that a size of the moving image, of a time when the relative distance becomes a maximum value in a case in which the relative distance is in the usual range, is defined as a minimum dimension, the processor makes the size of the moving image, of a time when the relative distance is outside of the usual range and has become greater than the maximum value, be the minimum dimension (see rejection for claim 1 and Figure 16 and Paragraph 0177 where the size of the image Ca1 is inversely proportional to a distance from the vehicle within a detection range. The closer the detected object, the larger the image becomes and vice versa. Outside of a vehicle detection range, the vehicle processor does not change a display condition and an image size has a dimension of zero. At a maximum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. At a minimum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. The dimensions for the image change dynamically).
Regarding claim 3, Hayakawa discloses wherein: in a case in which the relative distance is in the
usual range, the processor gradually makes the moving image smaller as the relative distance becomes
longer, and given that a size of the moving image, of a time when the relative distance becomes a
maximum value in a case in which the relative distance is in the usual range, is defined as a minimum
dimension, the processor makes the size of the moving image, of a time when the relative distance is
outside of the usual range and has become greater than the maximum value, be the minimum
dimension (see rejection for claim 1 and Figure 16 and Paragraph 0177 where the size of the image Ca1 is inversely proportional to a distance from the vehicle within a detection range. The closer the detected object, the larger the image becomes and vice versa. Outside of a vehicle detection range, the vehicle processor does not change a display condition and an image size has a dimension of zero. At a maximum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. At a minimum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. The dimensions for the image change dynamically).
Regarding claim 5, Hayakawa discloses wherein: the display device for a vehicle can display a
vehicle image representing the vehicle, in a case in which the relative distance is in the usual range, the
processor gradually makes a displayed distance, which is a distance between the vehicle image and the
moving image, longer as the relative distance becomes longer, and given that the displayed distance, of
a time when the relative distance becomes a maximum value in a case in which the relative distance is in
the usual range, is defined as a maximum distance, the processor makes the displayed distance, of a
time when the relative distance is outside of the usual range and has become greater than the
maximum value, be the maximum distance (see rejection for claim 1 and Figure 16 and Paragraph 0177 where the size of the vehicle image Ca1 is inversely proportional to a distance from the vehicle within a detection range. The closer the detected object, the larger the image becomes and vice versa. Outside of a vehicle detection range, the vehicle processor does not change a display condition and an image size has a dimension of zero. At a maximum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. At a minimum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. The dimensions for the image change dynamically. The size of the image relative to the vehicle is indicative of relative distance).
Regarding claim 6, Hayakawa discloses wherein: the display device for a vehicle can display a
vehicle image representing the vehicle, in a case in which the relative distance is in the usual range, the
processor gradually makes a displayed distance, which is a distance between the vehicle image and the
moving image, longer as the relative distance becomes longer, and given that the displayed distance, of
a time when the relative distance becomes a minimum value in a case in which the relative distance is in
the usual range, is defined as a minimum distance, the processor makes the displayed distance, of a
time when the relative distance is outside of the usual range and has become smaller than the minimum
value, be the minimum distance (see rejection for claim 1 and Figure 16 and Paragraph 0177 where the size of the vehicle image Ca1 is inversely proportional to a distance from the vehicle within a detection range. The closer the detected object, the larger the image becomes and vice versa. Outside of a vehicle detection range, the vehicle processor does not change a display condition and an image size has a dimension of zero. At a maximum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. At a minimum detection range, the image will have a maximum dimension for said range. The dimensions for the image change dynamically. The size of the image relative to the vehicle is indicative of relative distance).
Regarding claim 8, Hayakawa discloses wherein: the vehicle can execute drive assist control, and
the processor changes a size of the usual range in accordance with a level of the drive assist control
(Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0022 and 0134-0142 where detection and display criteria are changed based
on a level of driver assist of the vehicle. A detection zone is increased in a fully autonomous mode).
Regarding claim 9, Hayakawa discloses wherein the processor expands the usual range as the
level of the drive assist control increases (Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0022 and 0134-0142 where detection and display criteria are changed based on a level of driver assist of the vehicle. A detection zone is
increased in a fully autonomous mode).
Regarding claim 10, Hayakawa discloses wherein the processor makes a maximum value of the
usual range larger as the level of the drive assist control increases (Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0022 and
0134-0142 where detection and display criteria are changed based on a level of driver assist of the
vehicle. A detection zone is increased in a fully autonomous mode).
Method claim 11 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claims
1-3, 5-6 and 8-10. Therefore method claim 11 corresponds to apparatus claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-10 and is
rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 12, see rejections for claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-10 which disclose all of the claimed
limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686