DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pursuant the previously filed restriction requirement, the Applicant has elected claims 1-12 and 17-20 for examination and has withdrawn claims 13-16. The Applicant has made this election without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6,7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MCMICHAEL et al. (US 20170093042 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MCMICHAEL discloses
An annular antenna system (see Figs. 3A-3C), comprising:
a first ring assembly (see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”) comprising:
(i) a first annular conductor (see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”);
(ii) a second annular conductor (see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”);
(iii) a first shorting wall that electrically couples the first annular conductor to the second annular conductor (see paragraph 0085, “Shorting ring 310 is a conductive pathway (or set of conductive pathways) that extends from ground plane 304 to radiating layer 306. Shorting ring 310 forms a ring about axis 303 that is substantially perpendicular to the antenna (i.e., perpendicular to the radiating layers). In some embodiments, the ring may be concentric with circular radiating layer 306.”); and
(iv) at least two radio-frequency (RF) ports, each of the at least two RF ports configured to receive an RF signal and apply the RF signal across the first annular conductor and the second annular conductor (see paragraph 0087, “Shunted pathways 316 and 318 can be formed from metal vias that extend from ground plane 304 through the thickness of substrate 302 to radiating layer 306.”).
Regarding claim 2, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 1, wherein
the first annular conductor comprises a first top surface, a first bottom surface, a first inner periphery and a first outer periphery (see Figs. 3B and 3B where the substrate 302 separates the top surface from the bottom surface, further see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”),
the second annular conductor comprises a second top surface, a second bottom surface, a second inner periphery and a second outer periphery (see Figs. 3B and 3C where the substrate 322 separates the top surface from the bottom surface, further see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”), and
the shorting wall electrically couples the first inner periphery to the second inner periphery (see Fig. 3D, shorting ring 310).
Regarding claim 3, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 2, wherein the first top surface is substantially parallel to the second top surface (see FIGS. 3B-3C).
Regarding claim 4, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 2, wherein the first annular conductor is separated from the second annular conductor by a dielectric material (see paragraph 0106, “According to some embodiments, the L1 substrate (e.g., substrate 322) and L2 substrate (e.g., substrate 302) are about 0.125 inches thick and have dielectric constants of about 2.33 and loss tangents of about 0.009.”).
Regarding claim 6, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 2, wherein a distance from the first inner periphery to the first outer periphery is λ/4, where λ is a wavelength at an operating frequency of the annular antenna system (see paragraph 0054, “In antenna 100 of FIG. 1A, feed pin 112 is collinear with shunted stub 118. Antenna 100 is configured to resonate in a first linear mode determined, in part, by the outer radius of radiating layer 106 and the radius of the end of the shunted stub (e.g., the radial distance from the end of the shunted stub to the outer radius of the radiating layer may be proportional to a quarter-wavelength of the center frequency of the operating frequency band).”).
Regarding claim 7, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 1, further comprising a second ring assembly comprising a third annular conductor, a fourth annular conductor, and a second shorting wall electrically coupling the third annular conductor to the fourth annular conductor (see Figs. 3B and 3C and shorting wall 330, further see paragraph 0082, “Antenna 300 includes a first radiator formed of ground plane 304, first substrate 302, and first radiating layer 306, and a second radiator formed of first radiating layer 306 (which can function as a ground plane at the resonant frequency of the second radiator), second substrate 322, and second radiating layer 326, in a stacked configuration, as illustrated in FIGS. 3B-3D.”).
Regarding claim 9, MCMICHAEL further discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 7, wherein a row of at least two electrically conductive posts is disposed such that each of the electrically conductive posts is electrically coupled to the first annular conductor and to the second annular conductor (see Fig. 3D where feed conductors 312 are two “electrically conductive posts” that are coupled to the first and second annular conductors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MCMICHAEL et al. (US 20170093042 A1) in view of Parrow et al. (US 11349201 B1).
Regarding claim 5, MCMICHAEL discloses [Note: what MCMICHAEL fails to disclose is strike-through]
The annular antenna system of claim 2,
Parrow discloses,
wherein the first ring assembly is integrated with a projectile such that the first outer periphery and the second outer periphery are substantially flush with an outer surface of the projectile (see Col. 5, line 61 - Col. 6, line 5,” Referring again to FIGS. 3-7, in an embodiment, munition antenna system 102 comprises a microstrip antenna system. In such an embodiment, substrate 172 comprises substantially-rigid substrate, such as that used in a printed-circuit board (PCB), with antenna transmit system 174 and antenna receive system 176 supported by, adhered to, and/or constructed on substrate 172, as is typically accomplished with known microstrip antenna production techniques. In another embodiment, substrate 172 may comprise a flexible substrate allowing munition antenna system 102 to bend or flex to conform to the shape of a surface onto which munition antenna system 102 is mounted.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Parrow into the invention of MCMICHAEL. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose annular antenna systems. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a compact and efficient munition antenna system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MCMICHAEL et al. (US 20170093042 A1).
Regarding claim 8, MCMICHAEL discloses
The annular antenna system of claim 7, wherein the first ring assembly is characterized by a first set of physical dimensions, the second ring assembly is characterized by a second set of physical dimensions, and the first set of physical dimensions is substantially the same as the second set of physical dimensions (see paragraph 0081, “For the second radiator, the size of the radiating layer, diameter of the shorting ring, location of the feed conductor, and length of the shunted stubs can be tailored independently of that of the first radiator for operation at a second frequency band.”).
It would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to design antenna system of MCMICHAEL where the first radiator and second radiator are of substantially the same size and dimensions. MCMICHAEL discloses in paragraph 0081, “the size of the radiating layer, diameter of the shorting ring, location of the feed conductor, and length of the shunted stubs can be tailored independently of that of the first radiator for operation at a second frequency band”. Furthermore, MPEP § 2141 provides that an invention may render a claimed limitation obvious when it would be “obvious to try” to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. In such an instance it would be obvious to try to design the first radiator and second radiator assemblies to be of the same size and dimension to create a more compact system.
Claim(s) 10 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MCMICHAEL et al. (US 20170093042 A1) in view of Klemes (US 20180366825 A1).
Regarding claim 10, MCMICHAEL discloses [Note: what Klemes fails to disclose is strike-through]
The annular antenna system of claim 1, wherein four RF ports are distributed on a top surface of the first annular conductor at about ninety-degree intervals (see Fig. 1 C, four ports 118 disposed at ninety-degree intervals),
Klemes discloses,
wherein each of the RF ports includes a housing electrically connected to the first annular conductor and a center conductor electrically connected to the second annular conductor (see Fig. 1, where ports (i.e. waveguide 106) includes a housing and center conductor which is electrically conducted to the plurality of annular conductors).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Klemes into the invention of MCMICHAEL. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose annular antenna systems. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an antenna system protected from external forces which providing an and efficient distribution of the signals.
Regarding claim 17, the same cited section and rationale as claims 1, 3 and 10 are applied.
Regarding claim 18, the same cited section and rationale as claims 1 and 7 are applied.
Regarding claim 19, the same cited section and rationale as claims 1 and 2 are applied.
Regarding claim 20, the same cited section and rationale as claims 1 and 4 are applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In reference to dependent claims 11 and 12, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claims 11 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Celik (US 20200083608 A1) discloses,
An annular antenna system (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a first ring assembly comprising:
(i) a first annular conductor (see Fig. 1, circular patch 106, further see paragraph 0039, “The circular patch 106 and the conductive ring 104 may comprise a conductive material such as a metal or alloy.”);
(ii) a second annular conductor (see Fig. 1, circular patch 104, see paragraph 0039, “The circular patch 106 and the conductive ring 104 may comprise a conductive material such as a metal or alloy.”);
Zhang (US 20170352960 A1) discloses,
An annular antenna system (see Fig. 7), comprising:
a first ring assembly comprising:
(i) a first annular conductor (see Fig. 7);
(ii) a second annular conductor (see Fig. 7);
(iii) a first shorting wall that electrically couples the first annular conductor to the second annular conductor (see paragraph 0041-0042, “Advantageously, The integrated use of an array of top (circular) and an array of bottom (shorted annular ring) patches is novel for the Ka band phased array satellite communication. The organization of the via walls with the top and bottom patches provides a great performance when the substrate of low dielectric constant is required to cut the fabrication cost….The inner arc of annular ring patches are optionally shorted to ground because the shorting vias don't affect the operation of this lower patch. However, it has the additional benefit of offering better isolation of the feeding vias of upper patch”); and
(iv) at least two radio-frequency (RF) ports, each of the at least two RF ports configured to receive an RF signal and apply the RF signal across the first annular conductor and the second annular conductor (see paragraph 0077, “. Signal vias 755p0 755p9 connected to the circular antenna patch pass through the interior of the annular antenna patch. Signal vias 745p0 745p9 are connected to the annular antenna patch. All signal via are connected to leads 784 785 from the hybrid circuits that provide phase controlled signals at the two operating frequencies. The invention is distinguished by providing a steered beam by an array of antenna patches.”),
Rentz (US 20200006847 A1) discloses an annular antenna system with a plurality of annular conductors (see Figs. 1 and 4).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648