DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as the outstanding application does not include the occupancy code in the first information corresponding to the plurality of sub-encoded data, only the number of layers.
Application No. 18/904,438 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 12,143,634 Claim 1
A three-dimensional data encoding method, comprising:
A three-dimensional data encoding method, comprising:
occupancy encoding a plurality of three-dimensional points using a hierarchical structure having a plurality of layers to generate a plurality of sub-encoded data; and
encoding the items of geometry information on a per first layer basis to generate items of first encoded data each for a different one of the first layers; and generating a bitstream including items of second encoded data which are items of encoded data for respective second layers,
generating first information each corresponding to the plurality of sub-encoded data, wherein each of the plurality of sub-encoded data corresponds to a grouped layer formed by grouping one or more layers from the plurality of layers, and the first information each indicates the number of layers included in the grouped layer corresponding to one of the plurality of sub-encoded data.
wherein the bitstream includes an item of second information indicating a total number of first layers included in each of the second layers, and each of the items of first encoded data includes an occupancy code.
Claims 2-12 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,634 as being directed towards the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh et al (2019/0379884, provided by applicant) [Oh].
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11, and 12, Oh discloses a three-dimensional data encoding method, comprising:
occupancy encoding a plurality of three-dimensional points (paragraphs 0336 and 0409-0410) using a hierarchical structure having a plurality of layers to generate a plurality of sub-encoded data (paragraph 0082); and
generating first information each corresponding to the plurality of sub-encoded data, wherein each of the plurality of sub-encoded data corresponds to a grouped layer formed by grouping one or more layers from the plurality of layers, and the first information each indicates the number of layers included in the grouped layer corresponding to one of the plurality of sub-encoded data (paragraph 0299).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Oh discloses the three-dimensional data encoding and decoding method according to Claims 1 and 6, further comprising: encoding attribute information of the plurality of three-dimensional points (paragraph 0333) using the hierarchical structure having a plurality of layers to generate a plurality of sub-encoded attribute data, wherein the hierarchical structure used for the plurality of sub-encoded data is the same as the hierarchical structure used for the plurality of sub-encoded attribute data (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Oh discloses the three-dimensional data encoding and decoding method according to Claims 1 and 6, wherein the plurality of sub-encoded data includes a first sub-encoded data that is encodable independently and a second sub-encoded data that is non-encodable independently (certain overlays are essential to rendering and thus independently encoded, whereas others are not, paragraphs 0335-0337).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Oh discloses the three-dimensional data encoding and decoding method according to Claims 3 and 8, wherein the first sub-encoded data is encoded before encoding the second sub-encoded data (certain overlays are essential to rendering and thus independently encoded, whereas others are not, paragraphs 0335-0337).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Oh discloses the three-dimensional data encoding and decoding method according to Claims 1 and 6, further comprising: storing second information into each header of the plurality of sub-encoded data, wherein the second information each includes identification information corresponding to one of the plurality of sub-encoded data (table 4, paragraph 0285).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Graziosi (2020/0195967).
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421