DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on October 2, 2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2024, April 29, 2026 and July 15, 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (TW 200610374, a copy of English machine translation has already been placed in the record, hereinafter as “Lin”), and further in view of Xu (CN 115550515, a copy of English machine translation has already been placed in the record, hereinafter as “Xu”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a document scanner with a dynamic adjusting function (see Lin, i.e. 1-3 and etc., disclose the scanner 200), the document scanner comprising:
a document detector detecting a transmission rate of a document, and outputting a transmission rate signal (see Lin, i.e. abstract and etc., discloses that “a light emitting device is used in an image capturing device. The light emitting device includes a light source and a switch. The light source is used to provide light for sensing a document to be captured…”);
a penetrating light source being disposed downstream of the document detector and outputting original penetrating light, wherein the original penetrating light penetrates through the document and becomes to-be-detected penetrating light (see Lin, i.e. abstract, para. 4-7 and etc., disclose that “a light emitting device is used in an image capturing device. The light emitting device includes a light source and a switch. The light source is used to provide light for sensing a document to be captured… ”);
an image sensor being disposed downstream of the document detector, receiving the to-be-detected penetrating light and generating an image signal (see Lin, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 8-9 and etc., disclose the light-sensing element 230, and “[0009] When the user turns on the scanner 200, the scanner 200 will first preview the file 211 to be captured, for example, first capture a scan line image, and the light sensing element 230 will send the scanned image to the control unit 220. The control unit 220 determines whether the file 211 to be captured needs normal light source brightness or stronger light source brightness….”); and
a controller electrically connected to the document detector, the penetrating light source and the image sensor, wherein the controller controls the penetrating light source to output a light-emitting amount of the original penetrating light according to the transmission rate signal, and to assist in defining an edge, a hole or a contour of the document (see Lin, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc., disclose that “[0004] In view of this, the purpose of the present invention is to provide a light emitting device that utilizes a special design of a switch to switch between at least two voltage sources when turned on to provide more than two light source brightnesses to meet the light source brightness requirements for scanning various different documents to be captured. [0005] According to the purpose of the present invention, a light emitting device is provided, and the device is briefly described as follows: the light emitting device is used in an image capturing device. The image capturing device is used to capture the image of the document to be captured. The light emitting device includes a light source and a switch. The light source is used to provide light for sensing the document to be captured. The switch can selectively input a first voltage or a second voltage to the light source to generate a corresponding first light source brightness or a second light source brightness. Therefore, the required light source brightness can be provided for different brightness of the document to be captured, so as to achieve the effect of consistent image quality.”).
The teachings of Lin merely lacks in explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “a document detector detecting a transmission rate of a document, and outputting a transmission rate signal”.
However, Xu discloses an analogous invention relates to oversheet detection method and device for high-speed scanner. More specifically, in Xu, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 2-20 and etc., disclose that a photoelectric multi-feed detection method, specifically the basic principle of photoelectric multi-feed detection is to detect the amount of light transmitted after the light passes through the original paper via a photoelectric receiver to determine whether multi-feed delivery has occurred. As shown in Figure 1, when the scanned original manuscript passes through the transport path, light emitted from the light source illuminates the original manuscript perpendicularly, and the photoelectric receiver placed behind the original manuscript receives the transmitted light. Since there is a certain relationship between the transmittance of light and the thickness of the paper, it is possible to determine whether a double-sheet or multi-sheet feeding situation has occurred. Thus, the teachings of Xu reveals the suggestion of detecting paper penetrability through a detector. Based on the above disclosure, in order to accurately and efficiently determine whether the penetrable manuscript in Lin is a "penetrable manuscript with low penetrability" or a "penetrable manuscript with high penetrability," employing the penetrability measurement method from Xu is a reasonable combination. Furthermore, the arrangement of the document detector and the definition of document edges and holes in a scanning device are conventional settings in this field.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Xu, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document reading and processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin by the teachings of Xu, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Xu, thereby “… at least solve the problem of misjudgment in the prior art, and propose a double-sheet detection method and its device for high-speed scanners, which use laser triengulation to directly measure the thickness of the scanned original, and judge through the thickness measurement data Whether double-sheet conveying occurs, SQ as to avoid the influence of the color, material, surface quality and light absorption characteristics of different areas of the scanned original on the detection results” (see Xu, i.e. para. 4-20 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the document scanner according to claim 1, further comprising: a second penetrating light source outputting second original penetrating light, which penetrates through the document and becomes second to-be-detected penetrating light; and a second image sensor receiving the second to-be-detected penetrating light and generates a second image signal, wherein the controller is further electrically connected to the second penetrating light source and the second image sensor, and further controls the second penetrating light source to output a light-emitting amount of the second original penetrating light according to the transmission rate signal (the teachings of Lin, i.e. para. 1, 4, 6, 13 and etc. disclose: a light source, used to provide sensing light for the document to be captured, and the optical sensing element 230 sends the scanned image to the control unit 220. Furthermore, based on the above disclosure, setting two sets of penetrative light sources and sensing elements to accurately measure penetrative image signals is a conventional setting for a person skilled in the art).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the document scanner according to claim 1, wherein the document detector comprises: a light emitter outputting a first penetrating light, which penetrates through the document and becomes first to-be-detected light; and an optical receiver receiving the first to-be-detected light and generating the transmission rate signal, wherein the light emitter and the optical receiver are disposed on two opposite sides of the document (see discussions of Xu set forth above, in addition, Xu discloses the basic principle of photoelectric multi-feed detection is to detect the amount of light transmitted after the light passes through the original paper via a photoelectric receiver to determine whether multi-feed delivery has occurred; as shown in Figure 1, when the scanned original manuscript passes through the transport path, light emitted from the light source illuminates the original manuscript perpendicularly, and the photoelectric receiver placed behind the original manuscript receives the transmitted light. Since there is a certain relationship between the transmittance of light and the thickness of the paper, it is possible to determine whether a double-sheet or multi-sheet feeding situation has occurred. Based on the above disclosure, text data (such as video keywords) is also key information commonly used for video segmentation).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the document scanner according to claim 1, wherein the document detector detects different transmission rates of multiple sections of the document and outputs the transmission rate signal, so that the original penetrating light outputs different light-emitting amounts to the document (see Lin, has already disclosed setting different light intensities for manuscripts with different transmittance; on this basis, it is a conventional usage scenario that different sections of the same document have different transmittances, and applying the above method to different sections of the same document is a reasonable application method).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of Lin and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (CN-113612896A, a copy of English machine translation has already been placed in the record).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the document scanner according to claim 1, further comprising a visible light source, wherein the document reflects visible light, outputted from the visible light source, to the image sensor, and the image sensor further generates a visible light signal.
The teachings of Lin and Xu do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “further comprising a visible light source, wherein the document reflects visible light, outputted from the visible light source, to the image sensor, and the image sensor further generates a visible light signal”.
However, Chen discloses an analogous invention relates to multi-mode scanning device performing platform-type scanning. More specifically, in Chen, i.e. in fig. 1B, 1C, para. 56 and etc., disclose that: “FIG. 1A is a schematic view of a scanning device according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Fig. 1B to fig. 1D are schematic diagrams illustrating the visible light image scanning, the visible light correction and the invisible light image scanning performed by the scanning device of fig. 1A, respectively. Since scanning in the visible light mode, the invisible light mode, and the like can be performed, the scanning device of the present embodiment can be referred to as a multi-mode scanning device. As shown in fig. 1A to 1D, a multi-mode scanning apparatus 100 is used for scanning an original D, and includes a non-transparent member 10, a first light source 20, a second light source 30, and an optical module 40. The non-transparent element 10 is directed to light visible to the human eye and may also be referred to as a reference element. The above-described structure can be applied to both the feed type and the platen type document scanning. It should be noted that the upper side and the lower side of the original document D may be respectively provided with glass sheets (glass substrates) to protect the non-transparent member 10 and the optical module 40 from being interfered by foreign substances brought in by the original document D. in 8 feed scanner, the term "non-transparent" is used herein to refer to a correction sheet relative to a transparent glass substrate, and non-transparent can be any color; in a flatbed scanner, the non-transparent component is the background sheet”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lin and Xu to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Chen, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document scanning art. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lin and Xu by the teachings of Chen, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Chen, thereby “provide a scanning device which not only has the function of scanning the visible light image of a document, but also can obtain the contour information, even repair the image of a hole is the problem to be solved by the present invention” (see the section of “Background” of Chen).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claims 4-5 and 7-9, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, the closest prior arts of record, Lin, Xu and Chen, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the document scanner according to claim 3, wherein the controller controls, in a pulse width modulation manner, the document detector to output the first penetrating light, and controls the document detector to receive the first to-be-detected light and generate an analog voltage signal, and the controller converts the analog voltage signal into the transmission rate signal representative of the transmission rate of the document”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior art(s) of record.
With regard to claim 5, the claim is depending directly or indirectly from the independent Claim 4, each encompasses the required limitations recited in the independent claim discussed above.
With regard to claim 7, the closest prior arts of record, Lin, Xu and Chen, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “…the document scanner according to claim 1, wherein the document detector comprises: a first optical transceiver outputting a first penetrating light which penetrates through the document and becomes first to-be-detected light; and a second optical transceiver outputting second penetrating light which penetrates through the document and becomes second to-be-detected light, wherein the first optical transceiver receives the second to-be-detected light and generates a first sub-signal, the second optical transceiver receives the first to-be-detected light and generates a second sub-signal, the transmission rate signal comprises the first sub-signal and the second sub-signal, and the first optical transceiver and the second optical transceiver are disposed on two opposite sides of the document”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior art(s) of record.
With regard to claims 8-9, the claims are depending directly or indirectly from the independent Claim 7, each encompasses the required limitations recited in the independent claim discussed above.
Therefore, claim 4-5 and 7-9 are objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2015/0256704 A1) disclose an invention relates to provide a multi-purpose scanner capable of performing a simplex scan or even a duplex scan on a bound document (or even any other angled document) and an ordinary document to establish a convenient, rapid and user friendly scan environment, save the cost for purchasing different types of scanners, save the cost and provide multiple functions (para. 7 and etc.).
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681