DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• JANG ET AL (US 2015/0342099),
in view of JP 2008-196006 (YOSHIZAWA-JP ‘006),
and in view of JP 2014-151496 (KINOSHITA-JP ‘496),
and in view of NIENART (US 4,174,419),
and in view of CN 1340585 A (QIU-CN ‘585).
JANG ET AL ‘099 discloses an electromagnetic (EM) wave absorbing sheet which provides EM shielding (corresponding to the recited “magnetic shield sheet”), wherein the sheet comprises:
• a resin film (11) (corresponding to the recited “first resin layer”) (e.g., polyethylene terephthalate (PET) film; polyimide film; polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) film, etc.) with a typical thickness of 1-50 microns;
• a first adhesive layer (12);
• a thin-film magnetic sheet (2, 2a) comprising a Fe-based nanocrystalline alloy, wherein the magnetic sheet has a typical thickness of 15-35 microns, and wherein the magnetic sheet can be in the form of a single piece (2) or a plurality of magnetic sheet pieces (20), wherein said individual magnetic sheet pieces have a width which is smaller than the overall width of the EM shielding sheet;
• a second adhesive layer (33);
• a base film (32) (corresponding to the recited “second resin layer”);
wherein the EM shielding sheet has a typical overall thickness of 30-300 microns.
(entire document, e.g., Figure 1, 6, 9, etc.; paragraph 0001, 0004-0005, 0064-0079, 0083, 0092, 0095, 0098, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically discuss magnetic materials with specific magnetostriction constants, or melting points of resin layers or adhesive layers.
YOSHIZAWA-JP ‘006 discloses that it is well known to form magnetic components (e.g., amorphous magnetic alloy thin strips, etc.) for magnetic products (e.g., magnetic shields, etc.) from Fe-based nanocrystalline soft magnetic alloys with superior toughness, wherein the Fe-based magnetic alloy has magnetostriction constant values of -3.5x10-6 to +3.5x10-6 in order to reduce vibration and noise issues caused by dimensional changes caused by exposure to magnetic fields, thereby facilitating miniaturization and thinner components compared to magnetic materials with higher magnetostriction constants. (paragraph 0001-0002, 0006, 0008, 0010-0011, 0013, 0018, etc.)
KINOSHITA’JP ‘496 disclose that it is well known in the art to utilize heat-resistant, dimensionally stable polymer films at elevated temperatures (e.g., 200 °C or higher) with typical thicknesses of 1-200 microns.in electronic and optical applications, wherein the heat-resistant, dimensionally stable polymer films can exhibit heat-shrinkages of less than 1% at temperatures of 150 °C or higher (e.g., 180 °C, etc.). The reference further discloses that the heat-resistant polymer films comprise polymer films with a melting point (Tm) of 220 °C or higher -- for example: polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Tm = 266 °C); polyetherimide (PEI) (Tm = 275 °C); polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) (Tm = 280 °C); polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) (Tm = 270 °C); etc. (paragraph 0001-0002, 0011-0012, 0015, 0043, 0049, 0056, 0085, etc.)
NIENART ‘419 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize heat-curable adhesives (e.g., applied from hot melt, etc.) as bonding layers for magnetic shield materials and laminates. The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize punching to shape magnetic shield materials. (line 13-25, col. 1; line 9-33, col. 5; line 1-17, col. 6; line 54-64, col. 6; etc.)
QIU-CN ‘585 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize curable high melting point polyester hot melt adhesive (e.g., 160 °C or more) in bonding applications wherein heat resistance, fast crystallization speed, and/or fast curing speed is desired and/or required. (paragraph 0003, 0015-0016, 0022, etc.).
Regarding claims 1, 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known Fe-based nanocrystalline magnetic alloys with small magnetostriction constant values (as suggested in YOSHIZAWA-JP ‘006) as the thin-film magnetic sheet (2, 2a) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 in order to reduce vibration and noise issues caused by dimensional changes caused by exposure to magnetic fields, which facilitates miniaturization and thinner components compared to magnetic materials with higher magnetostriction constants.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known polymer films which are heat-resistant and dimensionally stable at elevated temperatures (e.g., 200 °C or higher) formed from resins with melting points above 250°C (as disclosed in KINOSHITA’JP ‘496) as both resin film (11) and base film (32) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 in order to produce heat-resistant, dimensionally stable EM shielding sheets capable of functioning and retaining shape at elevated use temperatures.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known hot melt-type adhesives (as suggested in NIENART ‘419) with high melting points (as disclosed in QIU-CN ‘585) as both first adhesive layer (12) and second adhesive layer (33) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 in order to produce delamination-resistant EM shielding sheets which can be rapidly produced.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the thicknesses of the first adhesive layer (12) and second adhesive layer (33) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 to be the minimum thickness needed to provide desired performance properties (e.g., adhesive strength, flexibility, strength, etc.) in order to facilitate the production of thin EM shielding materials suitable for incorporation in smaller and/or thinner electronic devices.
Regarding claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected: (i) the materials used in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099; and (ii) the individual and overall thickness of EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099; in order to produce flexible EM shielding materials which can be easily wound into a conventional intermediate form such as a roll for convenient handling and/or easy dispensing for subsequent manufacturing operations (e.g., cutting, shaping, laminating, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, the use of punching is a product-by-process limitation and is not further limiting in as so far as the structure of the product is concerned. "[E]even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." [emphasis added] In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. Once a product appearing substantially identical is found, the burden shifts to applicant to show a unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally and/or alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known, conventional shielding material shaping methods (e.g., punching, etc. as suggested in NIENART ‘419) to form the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 for specific applications and incorporating into particular products.
Regarding claim 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilized known polymer films which are heat-resistant and highly dimensionally stable at elevated temperatures (e.g., 200 °C or higher) with very low heat shrinkage values (e.g., less than 1% at 180°C or more, as disclosed in KINOSHITA’JP ‘496) as both resin film (11) and base film (32) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 in order to produce EM shielding sheets which are highly dimensionally stable (as represented by a low AxB value of 30%*µm or less) after exposure to elevated temperatures (e.g., curing temperatures used to thermally cure known hot melt-type adhesives with high melting points (as disclosed in QIU-CN ‘585) used as both first adhesive layer (12) and second adhesive layer (33) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• JANG ET AL (US 2015/0342099), in view of JP 2008-196006 (YOSHIZAWA-JP ‘006), and in view of JP 2014-151496 (KINOSHITA-JP ‘496), and in view of NIENART (US 4,174,419), and in view of CN 1340585 A (QIU-CN ‘585).
as applied to claim 1 above,
and further in view of WO 2014/054499 (YAMADA-WO ‘499).
YAMADA-WO ‘499 discloses that it is well known in the art to form magnetic sheets having a shorter lateral width (W, W1) and a longer longitudinal width (W2) using individual magnetic alloy strips or ribbons arranged in parallel to form magnetic sheets with lateral widths (W, W1) which are greater (e.g., 100 mm or more) than the width (L) of individual magnetic alloy strips or ribbons (2, 2a, 2b, 2c) (e.g., having a width L of 3-90 mm) in order to facilitate the production of larger magnetic sheets while avoiding manufacturing and quality issues related to producing wide (e.g., greater than 100 microns) magnetic strips or ribbons, wherein the individual magnetic strips (2, 2a) are arranged in parallel across the desired lateral width (W1) of the magnetic sheet so that the longer length of the magnetic strips or ribbons runs lengthwise along the longitudinal length (W2) (which not particularly limited) of the magnetic sheet (corresponding to the recited “arranged in parallel in a longitudinal direction of the elongated body”), wherein the magnetic strips (2, 2a) are sandwiched between two adhesive layers (3) and two resin films (4).
The reference further discloses that adhesive layers (e.g., applied as hot melt, etc.) used in the magnetic sheets have a typical thickness of 5-15 microns. (Figure 1-2, etc.; pages 2-7 of English machine translation)
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize relatively narrow strips or ribbons (e.g., having typical widths of 3-90 mm as suggested in YAMADA-WO ‘499) as the individual magnetic sheet pieces (20) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099, and arrange said individual pieces (20) in parallel across the desired width (W1) of a magnetic sheet and running lengthwise along the length of the magnetic sheet (corresponding to the recited “arranged in parallel in a longitudinal direction of the elongated body”) in order to facilitate the production of larger magnetic sheets while avoiding manufacturing issues related to producing wide (e.g., greater than 100 microns) magnetic strips or ribbons (as suggested in YAMADA-WO ‘499).
Regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the thicknesses of the first adhesive layer (12) and second adhesive layer (33) in the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 to be the minimum thickness needed to provide desired performance properties (e.g., adhesive strength, flexibility, strength, etc.) (e.g., 5-15 microns, as suggested by YAMADA-WO ‘499) in order to minimize the overall thickness of the EM shielding sheet of JANG ET AL ‘099 and thereby facilitate the production of thin EM shielding materials suitable for incorporation in smaller and/or thinner electronic devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WAKAYAMA ET AL (US 2005/0003079) disclose laminated magnetic sheets.
SHIMADA ET AL (US 5,135,818) disclose magnetic materials with small magnetostriction constants.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
June 13, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787