DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Amendment, filed 09-14-2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 20 has/have been amended. Claim(s) 8 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 21 has/have been added by amendment. Therefore, claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Man, US 20190333576 A1.
As to claim 1, Man discloses an apparatus (see Man Fig 1), comprising:
a read signal output terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NOUT); a read signal input terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NR) to be in a precharge state prior (see Man Fig 3 time before Ref T1 and Para [0036] ) to a read cycle (see Man Fig 3 Refs T1, T2, T3, and T4) and to be in a discharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref VR and T1, and Para [0034]) during the read cycle to indicate a first signal value (see Man Para [0034]);
a latch (see Man Fig 1 Refs 110, 120 and 103, and Para [0027]) comprising a latch input/output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 120 connected to N5); a transmission gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 110) comprising a transmission gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 10 connected to N1) coupled to the read signal input terminal and a transmission gate output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 110 connected to N2; Coupled does not imply directly coupled.) coupled to the latch input/output terminal; and
a combinatorial gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130) comprising a gate output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N4) coupled to the read signal output terminal, a first gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N1) coupled to the read signal input terminal, and a second gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N5) coupled to the latch input/output terminal; wherein
the first gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N1) is to drive the read signal output terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NOUT) during the read cycle responsive to the read signal input terminal in the discharge state (see Man Paras [0034] - [0037]) prior to receiving a sense signal (see Man Fig 1 Ref CLK at T3).
As to claim 2, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
a bitline (see Man Para [0030]) coupled to the read signal input terminal, wherein
the bitline is to be in a high voltage state while the read signal input terminal is in the precharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref T3 and Para [0036]) and to be in a low voltage state while the read signal input terminal is in the discharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref T1 and Para [0034]).
As to claim 3, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the combinatorial gate comprises a NAND gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130).
As to claim 4, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising an inverter coupled between the read signal input terminal and the latch input/output terminal (see Man Fig 5 Ref 551).
As to claim 6, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, responsive to
the sense signal (see Man Fig 1 Ref CLK at T3) received during the read cycle: the transmission gate is to switchably couple the read signal input terminal to the latch input/output terminal, and the latch to retain the precharge state or the discharge state from the read signal input terminal during the read cycle after receiving the sense signal (see Man Paras [0035] and [0037]).
As to claim 9, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the latch (see Man Fig 1 Refs 110, 120 and 103, and Para [0027]) is to drive the read signal output terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NOUT) during the read cycle after retaining the discharge state (see Fig 3 Refs VOUT and T1; The discharge state is retain throughout T1.).
As to claim 11, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the read signal input terminal is to remain in the precharge state during the read cycle to indicate a second signal value (see Man Para [0036]).
As to claim 12, Man discloses a method, comprising:
sensing a state (see Man Paras [0034] and [0036]) of a read signal input terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NR) during a read cycle (see Man Paras [0034] - [0037]), the state comprising a precharge state or a discharge state (see Man Paras [0034] and [0036]); retaining the state in a latch (see Man Fig 1 Refs 110, 120 and 103, and Para [0027]) during the read cycle (see Man Paras [0035] and [0037]) responsive to a sense signal received during the read cycle (see Man Fig 1 Ref CLK at T3); and
driving a read signal output terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NOUT) via the read signal input terminal during the read cycle responsive to the discharge state (see Man Paras [0034] - [0037]) prior to receiving the sense signal (see Man Fig 1 Ref CLK at T3).
As to claim 13, Man discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
driving the read signal output terminal via the latch during the read cycle responsive to the precharge state (see Man Para [0037]).
As to claim 14, Man discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising:
driving the read signal output terminal via the latch responsive to the discharge state during the read cycle after receiving the sense signal (see Man Para [0034]).
As to claim 15, Man discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising
driving the read signal output terminal to the precharge state during the read cycle after receiving the sense signal (see Man Para [0035]).
As to claim 16, Man discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising
driving the read signal output terminal via a combinatorial gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130) connected to the read signal output terminal and the latch.
As to claim 17, Man discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the combinatorial gate comprises a NAND gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130).
As to claim 19, Man discloses the method of claim 12, wherein:
the read signal input terminal is connected to a bitline (see Man Para [0030]); and the precharge state corresponds to a high voltage on the bitline (see Man Fig 3 Ref T3 and Para [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man, US 20190333576 A1.
As to claim 5, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the combinatorial gate comprises a NAND gate.
Man does not appear to explicitly disclose a NOR gate.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that NAND gate could be configured to be a NOR gate using standard CMOS technology. Different Boolean operations can be derived from each other using De Morgan's laws and thus are obvious variations of one another.
As to claim 7, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the first gate input terminal is to drive the read signal output terminal during the read cycle (see Man Para [0036]) after to the latch retaining the discharge state.
Man does not appear to explicitly disclose prior to the latch retaining the discharge state.
However would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that clock signal are repeated and that prior reading cycles are prior to the retention of data (see Man Fig 3 Ref VR in low state between Refs 3 and 4). The repetition of operations is obvious and the claim language does not overcome the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
As to claim 18, Man discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the combinatorial gate comprises a NOR gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130; De Morgan's laws make substituting logic obvious.).
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man, US 20190333576 A1, in view of Robinson, US 20190189196 A1.
As to claim 20, Man discloses an apparatus (see Man Fig 1) comprising: a read signal output terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NOUT); a read signal input terminal (see Man Fig 1 Ref NR) to be in a precharge state prior (see Man Fig 3 time before Ref T1 and Para [0036]) to a read cycle (see Man Fig 3 Refs T1, T2, T3, and T4) and to be in a discharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref VR and T1, and Para [0034]) during the read cycle to indicate a first signal value (see Man Para [0034]);
a latch (see Man Fig 1 Refs 110, 120 and 103, and Para [0027]) comprising a latch input/output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 120 connected to N5); a transmission gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 110) comprising a transmission gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 10 connected to N1) coupled to the read signal input terminal and a transmission gate output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 110 connected to N2; Coupled does not imply directly coupled.) coupled to the latch input/output terminal; and
a combinatorial gate (see Man Fig 1 Ref 130) comprising a gate output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N4) coupled to the read signal output terminal, a first gate input terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N1) coupled to the read signal input terminal, and a second gate input terminal coupled to the latch input/output terminal (see Man Fig 1 terminal of Ref 130 connected to N5); wherein
the first gate input terminal is to drive the read signal output terminal during the read cycle responsive to the read signal input terminal in the discharge state (see Man Paras [0034] - [0037]) prior to receiving a sense signal (see Man Fig 1 Ref CLK at T3).
Man does not appear to explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable code for fabrication of an apparatus.
Robinson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable code for fabrication of an apparatus (see Robinson Para [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that an apparatus, as disclosed by Man, may be fabricated with a machine using a particular code, as disclosed by Robinson. The inventions are well known variants of circuits for pre-charging bit lines and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Robinson’s attempt to minimize current spikes (see Robinson Para [0007]).
As to claim 21, Man and Robinson disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, further storing computer-readable code for fabrication of the apparatus comprising
a bitline (see Man Para [0030]) coupled to the read signal input terminal, wherein the bitline is to be in a high voltage state while the read signal input terminal is in the precharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref T3 and Para [0036]) and to be in a low voltage state while the read signal input terminal is in the discharge state (see Man Fig 3 Ref T1 and Para [0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
All of the indicated allowable subject matter of the previous action has not been amended into the independent claim and the amended language does not overcome the broadest reasonable interpretations of the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 10):
the latch comprises a tri-state latch to be in a high impedance state while receiving the sense signal and to be in a low impedance state after receiving the sense signal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 10/26/2026