DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindassamy et al. (US 10,212,667 B1)(hereinafter “Govindassamy”) in view of Ding et al. (US 2022/0264470 A1)(hereinafter “Ding”) and further in view of Ali et al. (US 2011/0222469 A1)(hereinafter “Ali”).
Regarding claim 1, Govindassamy discloses an electronic device (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 39-42: user device 500), comprising:
a communication module (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 39-52: WWAN modem 510, WLAN modem 516, and/or Bluetooth modem 530) comprising communication circuitry configured to perform wireless communication;
a sensor module including at least one sensor configured to detect a state related to the electronic device and generate sensor monitoring information corresponding to the detected state (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 53-56: the user device 500 comprises one or more proximity sensor 520 for sensing proximity between the user and user device and a CPU for overall control of the device.); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, electrically connected to the communication module and/or the sensor module (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 56-59: the user device 500 also comprises the SAR Control Unit 524 and the Proximity Sensor Advanced Control Unit 522; CPU 518) to control power consumption in the electronic device ((4) the Proximity Sensor Control Unit may perform proximity detection by controlling the proximity sensor, making measurements and outputting proximity detection results. The SAR Control Unit accepts the inputs from Proximity Sensor Control Unit and determines whether any reduction in RF transmit power is required.),
wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to, based on a… connection with an external electronic device being maintained by the communication module (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.), stop state identification for at least one sensor until a cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR) reaches a specified threshold (Fig, 9A, col. 12, lines 42-: at processing stage 908, the total transmit power PTX_TOTAL is compared against the threshold THR1. If the power PTX_TOTAL is less than the threshold THR1, the processing continues to stage 916 where the proximity sensor is placed into Idle state. The examiner notes that placing of the proximity center in the idle state is equivalent to stopping state identification by the sensor. col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR). The SAR is a measure of the rate at which energy is absorbed by a human body when exposed to a Radio Frequency (RF) electromagnetic field. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and other regulatory agencies require electronic devices to reduce the RF transmit power of a user device when in close proximity to a human body to keep SAR at or below allowed levels.) ….
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection with an external electronic device being maintained by the communication module is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection to an external electronic device within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection with an external electronic device ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with the external electronic device being maintained by the communication module, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and the external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Neither Govindassamy nor Ding explicitly discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band. However, Ali discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band ([0041]: the nominal power level pn, the nominal number of transmission slots tn, and the nominal specific absorption rate SARn(f) are used to linearly extrapolate values for the other possible given power levels and given numbers of transmission slots at which the data may be transmitted by the portable communication device. That extrapolation uses the equation: {Equation omitted} where SARext(f,p,t) is the extrapolated specific absorption rate value for a particular transmission configuration, f is the frequency of the radio frequency signal, while p is the given power level and t is the given number of transmission slots for the particular transmission configuration. For each given power level, the value of the given number of transmission slots is varied to find the maximum number at which the calculation yields an extrapolated SAR value that does not exceed the specific absorption rate limit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR), as taught by Govindassamy, to be a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band, as taught by Ali. Doing so provides for a more accurate determination of the cumulative specific absorption rate.
Regarding claim 2, Govindassamy in view of Ding and further in view of Ali discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Govindassamy further discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to initiate the state identification for the at least one sensor at a time based on the cumulative specific absorption rate reaching the specified threshold (col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR)) based on the… connection being maintained (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.).
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection with an external electronic device being maintained by the communication module is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection to an external electronic device within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection with an external electronic device ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with the external electronic device being maintained by the communication module, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and the external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Govindassamy discloses a method for controlling power consumption in an electronic device (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 39-42: user device 500), the method comprising:
based on a… connection being maintained (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.), stopping state identification for at least one sensor until a cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR) reaches a specified threshold (Fig, 9A, col. 12, lines 42-: at processing stage 908, the total transmit power PTX_TOTAL is compared against the threshold THR1. If the power PTX_TOTAL is less than the threshold THR1, the processing continues to stage 916 where the proximity sensor is placed into Idle state. The examiner notes that placing of the proximity center in the idle state is equivalent to stopping state identification by the sensor. col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR). The SAR is a measure of the rate at which energy is absorbed by a human body when exposed to a Radio Frequency (RF) electromagnetic field. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and other regulatory agencies require electronic devices to reduce the RF transmit power of a user device when in close proximity to a human body to keep SAR at or below allowed levels.) ….
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection being maintained is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with device being maintained, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and an external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Neither Govindassamy nor Ding explicitly discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band. However, Ali discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band ([0041]: the nominal power level pn, the nominal number of transmission slots tn, and the nominal specific absorption rate SARn(f) are used to linearly extrapolate values for the other possible given power levels and given numbers of transmission slots at which the data may be transmitted by the portable communication device. That extrapolation uses the equation: {Equation omitted} where SARext(f,p,t) is the extrapolated specific absorption rate value for a particular transmission configuration, f is the frequency of the radio frequency signal, while p is the given power level and t is the given number of transmission slots for the particular transmission configuration. For each given power level, the value of the given number of transmission slots is varied to find the maximum number at which the calculation yields an extrapolated SAR value that does not exceed the specific absorption rate limit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR), as taught by Govindassamy, to be a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band, as taught by Ali. Doing so provides for a more accurate determination of the cumulative specific absorption rate.
Regarding claim 9, Govindassamy in view of Ding and further in view of Ali discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Govindassamy further discloses initiating the state identification for the at least one sensor at a time based on the cumulative specific absorption rate reaching the specified threshold (col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR)) based on the… connection being maintained (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.).
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection being maintained is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection to an external electronic device within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection with an external electronic device ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with the external electronic device being maintained by the communication module, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and the external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Govindassamy discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor individually or collectively, cause an electronic device to perform operations (Fig. 11, col. 14, line 63 – col. 15, line 14: aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented in firmware of the controller 108 of the application processor in FIG. 11 and/or the controller 118 of the baseband subsystem in FIG. 12. In another alternative, aspects of the present disclosure may also be implemented as a combination of firmware and hardware of the application processor subsystem 101 and/or the baseband subsystem 102. For instance, a signal processing entity of any or all of the FIG. 12 may be implemented in firmware, hardware and/or software. It may be part of the baseband subsystem, the receiver subsystem or be associated with both subsystems. In one example, the controller 118 and/or the signal processor 110 may include or control the protocol entity circuitry. The software may reside in internal or external memory and any data may be stored in such memory. The hardware may be an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), field programmable gate array (FPGA), discrete logic components or any combination of such devices. The terms controller and processor are used interchangeably herein.) the operations comprising:
based on a… connection being maintained (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.), stopping state identification for at least one sensor until a cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR) reaches a specified threshold (Fig, 9A, col. 12, lines 42-: at processing stage 908, the total transmit power PTX_TOTAL is compared against the threshold THR1. If the power PTX_TOTAL is less than the threshold THR1, the processing continues to stage 916 where the proximity sensor is placed into Idle state. The examiner notes that placing of the proximity center in the idle state is equivalent to stopping state identification by the sensor. col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR). The SAR is a measure of the rate at which energy is absorbed by a human body when exposed to a Radio Frequency (RF) electromagnetic field. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and other regulatory agencies require electronic devices to reduce the RF transmit power of a user device when in close proximity to a human body to keep SAR at or below allowed levels.) ….
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection being maintained is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with device being maintained, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and an external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Neither Govindassamy nor Ding explicitly discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band. However, Ali discloses wherein the cumulative specific absorption rate is a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band ([0041]: the nominal power level pn, the nominal number of transmission slots tn, and the nominal specific absorption rate SARn(f) are used to linearly extrapolate values for the other possible given power levels and given numbers of transmission slots at which the data may be transmitted by the portable communication device. That extrapolation uses the equation: {Equation omitted} where SARext(f,p,t) is the extrapolated specific absorption rate value for a particular transmission configuration, f is the frequency of the radio frequency signal, while p is the given power level and t is the given number of transmission slots for the particular transmission configuration. For each given power level, the value of the given number of transmission slots is varied to find the maximum number at which the calculation yields an extrapolated SAR value that does not exceed the specific absorption rate limit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the cumulative specific absorption rate (SAR), as taught by Govindassamy, to be a specific absorption rate accumulated by transmission power transmitted within a time interval corresponding to a time slot using a specific frequency band, as taught by Ali. Doing so provides for a more accurate determination of the cumulative specific absorption rate.
Regarding claim 17, Govindassamy in view of Ding and further in view of Ali discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Govindassamy further discloses initiating the state identification for the at least one sensor at a time based on the cumulative specific absorption rate reaching the specified threshold (col. 13, lines 3-6: if the power PTX_TOTAL is not less than the threshold THR4, the processing continues to stage 914 where the proximity sensor is placed in Active state. The processing then continues to stage 922. Col. 1, lines 12-25: the proximity sensing is done for several purposes, some of which may include to: (1) reduce display power consumption by turning it off when holding a user device near a human body, (2) disable the touch screen to avoid inadvertent touches by a human body when holding a user device near it and (3) reduce transmit power of a user device to reduce the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR)) based on the… connection being maintained (Fig. 9B, col. 13, line 55 – col. 14, line 4: at processing stage 940, two determinations may be made: (1) whether the user device is tethered to any host device or whether an accessory device is connected to it and (2) whether the user device is in a voice call using speakerphone. For example, the first determination can be made when an accessory device is connected to the peripheral 503 or a Bluetooth device is connected over Bluetooth modem 530 in the user device 500 illustrated in FIG. 5. The second determination can be made based on the state of the user device. If both the determinations are false, the processing continues to processing stage 944. If either one of the determinations are true, the processing continues at processing stage 942 where the various parameters of the present disclosure…are adapted according to the two determinations made in processing stage 940.).
Govindassamy does not disclose that the connection being maintained is a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Ding discloses maintaining a connection to an external electronic device within the context of controlling transmit power to meet a SAR specification based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection with an external electronic device ([0016]: with reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some embodiments, the first information may be carried in a system message (for example, a SIB 1), or may be carried in a higher layer message (for example, an RRC message), or may be carried in a PDCCH (for example, a DCI message). [0129]: S213: after receiving the RRC connection setup message, the terminal sends an RRC connection setup complete message to the network device. At this point, an RRC connection is set up, and the terminal enters the RRC connected mode from the RRC idle mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the connection of the user device with the external electronic device being maintained by the communication module, as taught by Govindassamy, to comprise an RRC connection, as taught by Ding. Doing so allows for communication between the user device and the external electronic device to be compliant with existing communication standards to improve the interoperability of devices in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sambhwani et al. (US 2023/0370107 A1) - Electronic Devices With Application-Based Radio-Frequency Exposure Management – discloses a SAR/MPE scheduler to generate RF exposure budgets for radios based on sensor data.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463