DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/2/2024 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/2/2024 are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claim 28-47 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-11, 14, 15, 17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,985,500. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader in every instance than the patented claims.
Instant claims 28, 29, 31 and 33 are broader than patented claims 1, 2, 1 and 1.
Instant claims 30, 32 and 34 are broader than patented claims 4, 5 and 7.
Instant claims 35, 38 and 40 are broader than patented claim 14.
Instant claim 36, 37 and 41 are broader than patented claims 15, 17 and 20.
Instant claims 42, 45 and 47 are broader than patented claim 9.
Instant claims 43, 44 and 46 are broader than patented claims 10, 11 and 11.
Claims 28-30, 33-36, 40-44, 46 and 47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 28-30, 33, 35-37, 42, 43, 46 of copending Application No. 18/613,240 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the copending claims in every instance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims 28 and 33 are broader than copending claim 28.
Instant claims 29, 30 and 34 are broader than copending claims 29, 30 and 33
Instant claims 35 and 40 are broader than copending claim 42.
Instant claims 36 and 41 are broader than copending claims 43 and 46.
Instant claims 42 and 47 are broader than copending claim 35.
Instant claims 43, 44 and 46 are broader than copending claims 36 and 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jakobsson (US-11,005,989).
Regarding claim 28, Jakobsson teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 [120]), comprising:
one or more processors; (Fig. 1 [152]) and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Page 1 [0020]), cause one or more components of the system to perform operations comprising:
obtaining an authenticator indicating that the caller information associated with a communication request has been authenticated; (Col. 18 lines 32-33 “If the information is validated, the device/app is then enrolled”, Col. 18 lines 7-35 and Fig. 3B)
storing the authenticator; (Col. 18 lines 32-35 i.e. the status of the enrolled app is stored at the verification server)
receiving a verification request from a network; (Fig. 2B [222]) and
transmitting the authenticator to the network in response to the verification request. (Col. 20 lines 32-35 and Fig. 2B [230])
Regarding claim 29, Jakobsson teaches wherein obtaining an authenticator comprises generating the authenticator. (Col. 22 lines 61-64 i.e. creating and conveying assurance or failure)
Regarding claim 30, Jakobsson teaches wherein the authenticator is generated in response to a certificate management and validation procedure for cryptographic authentication. (Col. 23 Claims 4 and 9 with the included dependence upon Claim 1 and Col. 9 lines 10-16)
Regarding claim 31, Jakobsson teaches wherein transmitting the authenticator comprises appending the authenticator to a message. (Col. 17 lines 29-32, Col. 20 lines 32-35 and Fig. 8 [824])
Regarding claim 32, Jakobsson teaches wherein obtaining an authenticator comprises receiving the authenticator as part of a certificate management and validation procedure for cryptographic authentication. (Col. 23 Claims 4 and 9 with the included dependence upon Claim 1 and Col. 9 lines 10-16)
Regarding claim 33, Jakobsson teaches wherein the communication request is associated with a first communication protocol. (Col. 15 lines 16-29)
Regarding claim 34, Jakobsson teaches wherein the verification request is received via a second communication protocol. (Col. 15 lines 41-48)
Regarding claims 35-41, the limitations of claims 35-41 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 28-34.
Regarding claims 42-47 the limitations of claims 42-47 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 28-33.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11,997,230 to Milligan et al. which discloses a call origination validation method in a wireless communication network.
/Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646