DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu (US-20190053177) in view of Li (US-20210051683).
As to claim 1, 4: Niu teaches a method for receiving a synchronization signal block (SSB) on an unlicensed spectrum, comprising at least one of: receiving, by a terminal device, at least one of K SSBs of X SSBs, the K SSBs being transmitted by a network device at K SSB positions within a first transmission opportunity (TXOP) ([0026, 32, 49, 52, 53] With respect to UE side, in some embodiments, the UE in connected mode always detects the transmission of PSS and SSS; In other words, a channel occupancy time related to success of the LBT is not smaller than duration of the SS burst.), wherein the first TXOP includes the K SSB positions capable of being used to transmit SSBs, where K is less than a number X of SSBs configured by the network device for transmission on an unlicensed carrier, and K and X are both positive integers ([0048, 52, 53] the LBT is performed repeatedly until success of the LBT is obtained, a portion of the SS blocks of the SS burst, which is expected to be transmitted from the time point up to a moment of the success of the LBT, is skipped from being transmitted, and a remaining portion of the SS blocks of the SS burst is transmitted); or, receiving, by the terminal device, at least one of remaining X-K SSBs of the SSBs, the remaining X-K SSBs being transmitted by the network device within a second TXOP after the first TXOP, wherein each of the X SSBs is transmitted at a candidate SSB position corresponding to the SSB, and different SSBs correspond to different candidate SSB positions, wherein a Listen Before Talk (LBT) interval is between the first TXOP and the second TXOP, wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the at least one of the remaining X-K SSBs of the X SSBs comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the at least one of the remaining X-K SSBs transmitted by the network device from a (K+1)-th SSB within the second TXOP until the (K+1)-th SSB to an X-th SSB are sequentially transmitted ([0026, 58] the LBT procedure is re-performed in the second half frame of the radio frame, in order to perform the transmission of the remaining SS burst, which was not completed in the first half frame. Specifically, the one or more processors of the baseband circuitry of the RAN are to configure the data containing information regarding LBT to enable the LBT to be initiated in a first half frame of a radio frame, and when it is determined that not all of the SS blocks of the SS burst can be transmitted in the first half frame, the LBT is performed once again in a second half frame of the radio frame in order to perform the transmission of a portion of the SS blocks of the SS burst not completed in the first radio frame).
Niu may not explicitly teach wherein the K SSBs already transmitted within the first TXOP are no longer transmitted by the network device at K SSB positions within the second TXOP that correspond to the K SSB positions within the first TXOP. However, Li teaches wherein the K SSBs already transmitted within the first TXOP are no longer transmitted by the network device at K SSB positions within the second TXOP that correspond to the K SSB positions within the first TXOP ([0145, 163] If SSB 0 is transmitted in time occasion k but SSB 1 cannot be transmitted in time occasion k+1. The remaining SSB burst (SSB 1, SSB 2, SSB 3) is shifted and gNB performs LBT for SSB 1 in the next time occasion (time occasion k+2). This procedure is repeated until all the SSBs in the burst are transmitted or until the STTC window is expired.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement withholding SSB transmissions, taught by Li, into the communication system, taught by Niu, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and prevent redundant transmissions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Li and Niu in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu (US-20190053177), Li (US-20210051683) in view of Kwak (US-20180084432).
As to claim 2, 5: Niu teaches the method of claim 1.
Niu may not explicitly teach wherein the first TXOP and the second TXOP are within a same Discovery Reference Signal (DRS) window. However, Kwak teaches wherein the first TXOP and the second TXOP are within a same Discovery Reference Signal (DRS) window ([0162, 170] DMTC always has two DRS transmission opportunities. That is, the DMTC may always have two LAA DRS occasions based on a time window of 5 ms).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement multiple transmit opportunities, taught by Kwak, into the communication system, taught by Niu, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable another transmission and prevent delays . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Niu and Kwak in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu (US-20190053177), Li (US-20210051683) in view of Chen (US-20180084593).
As to claim 3, 6: Niu teaches the method of claim 1.
Niu may not explicitly teach wherein the candidate SSB position corresponds to an SSB index. However, Chen wherein the candidate SSB position corresponds to an SSB index ([0392, 416] the slot timing is jointly encoded to SS block index).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement map SSB position to index, taught by Chen, into the communication system, taught by Niu, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and to identify SSB for detection and reception. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chen and Niu in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466