DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because "The present disclosure relates to" is an implied phrase. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: REVERSIBLE CUTTING TOOL AND TOOL HOLDER FOR A ROTARY DRUM OR DISC.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 lines 1-2 “comprises cutting tool support platform” should be --comprises a cutting tool support platform--.
Claim 6 line 7 “when reversible coupled thereto” should be --when reversibly coupled thereto--.
Claim 10 line 3 “when reversible coupled” should be --when reversibly coupled--.
Claim 10 line 5 “when reversible coupled” should be --when reversibly coupled--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the given one of the opposing relief surfaces on the second side and the given one of the opposing support surfaces on the first side" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Note that only “a given one of the opposing relief surfaces on the first side” and “a given one of the opposing support surfaces on the second side” is positively set forth in claim 14 lines 12-15. For purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this portion of the claim as reading --a--.
By virtue of its dependence on claim 16, this basis of rejection also applies to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacLennan et al. (US 20070193428 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MacLennan discloses a cutting tool system (11, Fig. 1) comprising:
- a tool holder (12) comprising a base (18) for mounting onto a rotary drum or disc (15) and a body (16) (Fig. 2); and
- a cutting tool (10) for size-reducing a material, the cutting tool having a first side (26) and a second side (28) and being configured to couple to the body of the tool holder, the cutting tool comprising a plurality of cutting edges (34) that are selectively moveable into and out of a cutting path of the rotary drum or disc, wherein the first side and the second side each have at least one of the plurality of cutting edges (Fig. 3), such that each of the first side and the second side are configured to be a leading side of the cutting tool (para. [0073] “once all four cutting edges 34 on a first one of the first and second cutting faces 26,28 have been dulled and/or damaged…the tooth can subsequently be…reversed…in order to dispose the other one of the cutting faces 26,28 in an outward or exposed position relative to the tooth holder 12, thereby providing four new cutting edges 34 for use”).
Regarding claim 2, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 1, wherein each of the first side (26) and the second side (28) comprise:
- a cutting side (outward-facing side distal from transverse plane 41, Fig. 3) having cutting surfaces (36) and an abutting surface (33) positioned between the cutting surfaces;
- a side (inward-facing side proximal to transverse plane 41, Fig. 3) opposing the cutting side;
- opposing relief surfaces (top and bottom faces 30 of the first side 26, and left and right faces 30 of the second side 28) adjacent to the cutting side (Fig. 3); and
- opposing support surfaces (left and right faces 30 of the first side 26, and top and bottom faces 30 for the second side 28) extending between the opposing relief surfaces (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of cutting edges comprises opposing cutting edges (34) at an apex (i.e. intersection) of a given one of the opposing relief surfaces and an adjacent one of the cutting surfaces (36) on the first side and the second side (as seen in Fig. 3, cutting edges 34 are provided at the apex/intersection where faces 30 meet cutting surfaces 36).
Regarding claim 4, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 2, wherein the side opposing the cutting side of the first side and the side opposing the cutting side of the second side i.e. the inward-facing sides adjacent center plane 41) are adjacent and coupled at 90° relative to each other such that a given one of the opposing relief surfaces (e.g. top face 30 of the first side 26) on the first side is on a same side of the cutting tool as a given one of the opposing support surfaces (e.g. top face 30 of the second side 28) on the second side of the cutting tool.
Note: since the first and second sides 26, 28 of the tooth 10 have mirror symmetry about transverse plane 41 with cutting edges 34 disposed along all 4 edges of each side, the second side 28 can be interpreted as offset 90° from the first side 26 by interpreting the relief surfaces of the first side 26 as coplanar with the support surfaces of the second side 28, and vice versa, as described above).
Regarding claim 5, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 2, wherein the body (16) of the tool holder (12) further comprises cutting tool support platform having a support face (25) configured to engage with a rotary drum or disc facing side of the cutting tool (10) and a protrusion (upwardly extending portion of 16) having an abutting face (48) configured to engage with the abutting surface (33) on a trailing side of the tool holder (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 5, wherein at least one of:
- when coupled to the tool holder (12), a given one of the opposing support surfaces (e.g. top face 30 for the second side 28) and a top side of the protrusion (upwardly extending portion of 16) are coplanar (as seen in Fig. 1, top surface of 16 and top surface of cutting tool 10 are coplanar);
- the protrusion comprises a tool holder aperture (“holder 12…provided with an aperture”, para. [0062]) extending through the protrusion and the cutting tool further comprises a cutting tool aperture (38) extending between the abutting surface (33) on the first and second side (26, 28) wherein, when reversibly coupled thereto (methods of reversibility described in para. [0070, 0073]), the tool holder aperture and the cutting tool aperture are configured to align to define a central axis (40, 42) of the cutting tool system and receive a fastener (13) to reversibly couple the cutting tool (10) to the tool holder (12) on the rotary drum or disc (para. [0075] “the bolt 13…used to releasably secure…the saw tooth 10 to the holder 12…in alignment with the aperture 38 defined in the saw tooth 10 and the aperture extending through the holder 12”);
- the support face (25) on the cutting tool support platform is configured to engage with a given one of the opposing support surfaces (e.g. bottom face 30 for the second side 28) of the cutting tool (10) (Fig. 2); and
- the support face and the abutting face are provided at an angle of between about 90° and about 120° or between about 90° and about 100° (in the embodiments of Figs. 29-30 and/or Figs. 31-32, it can be seen that the equivalent support face and abutting faces are disposed at 90° angles).
Regarding claim 7, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 6, wherein at least one of:
- the cutting tool (10) is configured to be rotated around the central axis (40, 42) to selectively move the plurality of cutting edges (34) into and out of the cutting path (para. [0070] “saw tooth 10 is rotatable about the central axis 42 in order to selectively position one of the cutting edges 34 in an operable cutting position…Thus…the tooth 10 can be rotated in increments of 90°…about the central axis 42 in order to position any one of the other three cutting edges 34 of the respective cutting face in the operable cutting position”); and
- the cutting tool (10) is configured to be rotated around an axis (29, Fig. 2) perpendicular to the central axis to selectively move the plurality of cutting edges (34) into and out of the cutting path (para. [0073] “the tooth can…be…reversed…about reversing axis 29…in order to dispose the other one of the cutting faces 26,28 in an outward or exposed position…thereby providing four new cutting edges 34 for use”).
Regarding claim 12, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 1, further comprising the rotary drum (2008, Figs. 35-37) or disc (15, Fig. 2), wherein the tool holders (12) are coupled to an outer surface of the rotary drum or disc in a spaced apart manner configured to limit an amount of the material a given one of the plurality of cutting edges (34) in the cutting path has access to (spaced apart cutting tooth holders 2022 in Figs. 35-37 is the same as the saw tooth holders 12, para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 13, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool system of claim 12, wherein the tool holders (12) are spaced apart in a spiral or helical configuration (implicit from alternate configurations described in para. [0111] “cutting teeth 10…may be arranged in an angled row, such that each tooth is stepped apart from the next longitudinally adjacent tooth…Thus, the cutting teeth 10 mounted to the drum 2008 can be staggered, and can be more or less widely spaced apart, both longitudinally and circumferentially”).
Regarding independent claim 14, MacLennan discloses a cutting tool (10) for mounting onto a rotary drum (2008, Figs. 35-37) or disc (15, Fig. 2) for shredding a material, the cutting tool having a first side (26) and a second side (28) each configured to be a leading side of the cutting tool, each of the first side and the second side comprising:
- a cutting side (outward-facing side distal from transverse plane 41, Fig. 3) having cutting surfaces (36) and an abutting surface (33) positioned between the cutting surfaces;
- a side (inward-facing side proximal to transverse plane 41, Fig. 3) opposing the cutting side;
- opposing relief surfaces (top and bottom faces 30 for the first side 26, and left and right faces 30 for the second side 28) adjacent to the cutting side;
- opposing support surfaces (left and right faces 30 for the first side 26, and top and bottom faces 30 for the second side 28) extending between the opposing relief surfaces; and
- opposing cutting edges (34) at an apex (i.e. intersection) of a given one of the opposing relief surfaces and an adjacent one of the cutting surfaces (as seen in Fig. 3, cutting edges 34 are provided at the apex/intersection where faces 30 meet cutting surfaces 36).;
wherein the side opposing the cutting side of the first side and the side opposing the cutting side of the second side (i.e. the inward-facing sides adjacent center plane 41) are adjacent and coupled at 90° relative to each other such that a given one of the opposing relief surfaces (e.g. top face 30 of the first side 26) on the first side is on a same side of the cutting tool as a given one of the opposing support surfaces (e.g. top face 30 of the second side 28) on the second side of the cutting tool.
Note: since the first and second sides 26, 28 of the tooth 10 have mirror symmetry about transverse plane 41 with cutting edges 34 disposed along all 4 edges of each side, the second side 28 can be interpreted as offset 90° from the first side 26 by interpreting the relief surfaces of the first side 26 as coplanar with the support surfaces of the second side 28, and vice versa, as described above).
Regarding claim 15, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool of claim 14, further comprising an aperture (38) extending between the abutting surfaces (33) on the first and second side (26, 28), the aperture being configured to receive a fastener (13) to reversibly couple the cutting tool (10) to the rotary drum (2008) or disc (15) or a tool holder (12) on the rotary drum or disc (Fig. 2), wherein the aperture defines a central axis (40, 42) of the cutting tool, and wherein at least one of:
- the cutting tool is configured to be rotated around the central axis (40, 42) of the aperture to selectively move the opposing cutting edges of the first side or the second side into and out of a cutting path of the rotary drum or disc (para. [0070] “saw tooth 10 is rotatable about the central axis 42 in order to selectively position one of the cutting edges 34 in an operable cutting position…Thus…the tooth 10 can be rotated in increments of 90°…about the central axis 42 in order to position any one of the other three cutting edges 34 of the respective cutting face in the operable cutting position”); and
- the cutting tool is configured to be rotated around an axis (29) perpendicular to the central axis of the aperture to selectively move the opposing cutting edges of the first side or the second side into and out of a cutting path of the rotary drum or disc (para. [0073] “the tooth can…be…reversed…about reversing axis 29…in order to dispose the other one of the cutting faces 26,28 in an outward or exposed position…thereby providing four new cutting edges 34 for use”).
Regarding claim 16, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool of claim 14, further comprising a recess surface (38) between a given one of the opposing relief surfaces (e.g. left face 30 for the second side 28) on the second side and a given one of the opposing support surfaces (e.g. right face 30 for the first side 26) on the first side (recess 38 is disposed between left and right faces of cutting tool 10).
Regarding claim 18, MacLennan discloses the cutting tool of claim 14, wherein the abutting surface on each of the first and second side protrude past an edge of the support surface to form a protruding abutment (see embodiment of Figs. 29-30 teaches protruding abutment 1443 for each of the first and second sides 1426, 1428).
Regarding independent claim 20, MacLennan discloses a cutting tool (10, Fig. 1) for mounting onto a rotary drum (2008) or disc (15) for size-reducing a material, the cutting tool comprising a plurality of cutting edges (34), wherein the cutting tool is configured to be reversible and rotatable, such that each of the plurality of cutting edges are configured to be a cutting edge in the cutting path (Figs. 2-3, para. [0073] “once all four cutting edges 34 on a first one of the first and second cutting faces 26,28 have been dulled and/or damaged…the tooth can subsequently be…reversed…in order to dispose the other one of the cutting faces 26,28 in an outward or exposed position relative to the tooth holder 12, thereby providing four new cutting edges 34 for use”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weinberg et al. (US 20200016602 A1) discloses a rotary reducing component. Stanley et al. (US D835680 S) discloses a land clearing tool interface. Fredsall (US 20170203302 A1) discloses a cutter assembly. Mac Lennan (US 20160288228 A1) discloses a saw tooth. MacLennan et al. (US 20100180735 A1) discloses a tooth for a circular saw or mower drum. Davis (US 20060196982 A1) discloses a reversible hammer insert. Roozeboom et al. (US 20060043226 A1) discloses staggered cutters. Roozeboom et al. (US 20020190148 A1) discloses a rotary grinder. Roberts (CA 1249985 A) discloses a reversible cutting tooth. Fritsch et al. (US 4546929 A) discloses a rotary cutting tool.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671