Drawings
The drawings were received on October 2nd 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on November 21st 2024.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of Claims
This Non-Final rejection is in response to the applicant’s filing on March 30th 2026;
Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 30th 2026 with respect to non-final rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn, as used prior art Tzarnotzky (Patent No. US20250145306A1) is not a valid prior art reference; However, upon further consideration a new ground of rejection is made for claim 1-20 over Tighe (Patent No. US12162625B2) in view of Evans (Patent No. US20230015158A1) and Rajan (Patent No. US20250157345A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tighe (Patent No. US12162625B2) in view of Evans (Patent No. US20230015158A1) and Rajan (Patent No. US20250157345A1).
Regarding claim 1 Tighe teaches, a system comprising: a smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone configured to support operation of an aerial mobility device, that lands in the vertiport zone, and a ground mobility device; and a managing device comprising; (See Tighe column 3, line 30-45; “…vertiport system with efficient space utilization. The vertiport system may be efficient and compact …when an electric aircraft is being moved from a landing zone to a takeoff zone, one or more batteries of the electric aircraft may also be charged simultaneously. Also, passenger exchange may take place while the aircraft is being moved (e.g., in a slow, steady, safe manner). As a result, compact vertiport systems may fit into smaller spaces (e.g., tops of buildings, car parking areas, or other smaller plots of land)… efficient configuration of different zones of a vertiport system may further improve the usage of limited space. As an example, a landing zone may connect directly to a transition zone (e.g., for recharging batteries and/or passenger exchange), and the transition zone may connect directly to a takeoff zone. This can enable an aircraft to be delivered directly from the end of a landing zone to the beginning of a takeoff zone…”);
set the movement route information to comprise a layover point of a charging site in the vertiport zone and control the aerial mobility device to move to the charging site according to the set movement route information and to be charged; (See Tighe column 18-19, column 65-7 and column 20, line 4-13; “FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a vertiport system 805 with interconnected sets of zones, according to various embodiments. As shown, multiple versions of each zone can be interconnected in a single vertiport system 805. This example uses transition zones with multiple single-aircraft pathways, similar to the transition zone 615 shown in FIG. 6, but embodiments allow other configurations to be interconnected as well (e.g., the configurations shown in FIGS. 1, 3, 4, and 5). The vertiport system 805 of FIG. 8 allows fixed chargers to be placed at each of the pathways 816A-H. Because each aircraft 812 can charge while stationary in one location, the carts may not need to be equipped with charging equipment. Instead, an aircraft 812 can be coupled to fixed charging equipment located within a designated charging area in a pathway 816A-H of a transition zone 815A-D. Simplifying the carts in this way may provide a more resilient and efficient vertiport system 805.”; also see Tighe column 10, line 45-55;” n some embodiments, if multiple aircraft 112 finish charging before the next passenger arrives, each of the multiple aircraft 112 may be deposited by their respective carts in an extra waiting/storage area of the takeoff zone 120 (e.g., at the beginning of the takeoff zone 120). As a result, the carts 150 and space in the transition zone 115 may be made available for additional arriving aircraft 112. Once the takeoff zone 120 and/or waiting area become fully occupied, additional aircraft(s) may wait in the transition zone 115, where carts 150 may stop moving toward the takeoff area 120, but may continue charging the aircraft 112.”); and based on the movement route information indicating to move the aerial mobility device to the complex zone, control the aerial mobility device to move to an exit area, of the vertiport zone, approaching the complex zone; (See Tighe column 4, line 15-19;” …the aircraft 112 may be moved across the transition zone 115 continuously or iteratively. FIG. 1 illustrates several example positions of the aircraft 112 as it is moved from the landing zone 110 to the takeoff zone 120.”).
Tighe does not teach but Evans teaches, configures the at least one processor to: generate, based on management information, movement route information of the aerial mobility device in the vertiport zone; (See Evans paragraph 0166; “FIG. 17 shows the setting up of the dronepods, trampods, and railpods relative to their podways. During set up of CNC[#], TSC calculates the best droneways if a dronepod, or best combination of tramways, overhead rail, or road if a carpod. In this case ‘best’ means best for the type of journey requested by a passenger P or a parcel operator [PO], i.e., cheapest, or fastest, or best views, or safest, or most comfortable, or to avoid bad weather, or what type of transport vehicle is not acceptable etc. The Fig. shows three different routes, green, blue, and red, starting at PP[1], PP[2], PP[3] respectively. They are set up by 3 different CNC’s, CNC[1], [2], [3], and share some of the same PPs and PCs at similar times. While setting up these routes, each podport creates a list of PCs, PSs, and markers for the hop to PPn+1. The list includes podway designations, the true heading of each podway, and estimated ETA for each xpod at each PC or marker. Upon preparing to leave PPn, the PPn downloads to the parting xpod this list for the hop to reach PPn+1. As each xpod approaches a PC, PS, or marker, it checks its list to monitor its position in the list. There is no need for CNC[#] to be involved between markers but it can be informed when an xpod is passing a marker.”);
wherein the management information is associated with management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information indicating at least one designated area of the vertiport zone and on a charging permission condition being satisfied; (See Evans paragraph 0078-0079; “The podport transfer path can be configured to have two parallel charging slider rails, positive and negative, to be fitted to one side of the transfer path. This allows the pods to charge while traversing the transfer path as shown in FIG. 2, alleviating the need for a charger in the exit bay to do the charging, thereby speeding up the time a pod traverses through the podport. The pod’s battery could be fully charged along the transfer path such that no delay is needed in the exit bay due to charging. To ensure this, taking the worst case, if a podport’s system control has determined that the incoming carpod’s battery is just about fully discharged upon arrival at an entry bay, this carpod could be sent to the furthest distance available exit bay to give the carpod enough time to become fully charged along the transfer path. Or the carpod could be slowed down to ensure its battery is fully charged by the time it has reached the end of its transfer path… This is important because it allows transport system control (TSC) and the assigned cluster network controller CNC[#] to assume that any carpod or dronepod departing a podport is fully charged… It is possible that batteries may be of different capacities making this relevant information, requiring that TSC must know the battery capacity of each pod. And that it can select a pod with enough capacity for the maximum distance of the pod’s planned route. Also, the pod’s battery can be checked at the start of charging to ensure the amount of charge remaining after the last hop is what was expected. This checks that the battery is functioning correctly…”).
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Tighe does not explicitly teach but Rajan teaches, at least one processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor; (See Rajan paragraph 0029; “…controller 202 may include any one or more of a processor, microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field program gate array (FPGA), or equivalent discrete or integrated logic circuitry…Memory 210 may include computer-readable operating instructions … executed by the controller 202 …”).
Both Tighe and Rajan are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Rajan processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, controlling the aerial mobility device to move to the charging site; and controlling the aerial mobility device to move to the exit area after completion of the charging; (See Tighe column 10, line 19-27 and 42-43; “; “…an air traffic controller or an automated aircraft communication network may coordinate the arrival times of different aircraft 112. In this scenario, each arrival may be spaced apart in time (e.g., at least 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 minutes apart) so that there is always a space available in the landing zone 110 and/or the transition zone 115 for an arriving aircraft 112. As a result, each arriving aircraft 112 may immediately become coupled to a cart 150 and moved from the landing zone 110 to the transition zone 115, as well as immediately begin charging… the cart 150 may deposit the aircraft into the takeoff zone 120 when finished charging…”).
Tighe dos not teach but Evans teaches, move to the exit area by: setting, based on the charging permission condition being satisfied, the movement route information to comprise the charging site as a layover point for charging the aerial mobility device; (See Evans paragraph 0224; “The length 116 of the transition zone 115 may be configured based on the time needed to charge an aircraft 112, the number of aircraft 112 desired to be accommodated on the vertiport system 105 at any given point in time, and/or the space needed for each aircraft 112 and cart 150. For example, if the vertiport system 105 is designed to accommodate a new aircraft arrival every 5 minutes, and it takes 30 minutes to charge an aircraft 112, then after the first aircraft 112 arrives and begins a charging process, five additional aircraft may arrive while the first aircraft 112 is still undergoing the charging process. If each aircraft/cart system has a length of 10 meters (e.g., including a buffer space between aircraft and/or carts), then the transition zone may be designed to have a length 116 of at least 60 meters. That would allow enough space for all six aircraft to be charging and moving between across the transition zone 115 at the same time without any delay for any of the aircraft upon arrival at the landing zone 110.”); wherein the movement route information indicates the at least one designated area in the vertiport zone, and wherein the charging permission condition is determined by checking a charge state of the aerial mobility device based on charge state information and identifying whether or not the charge state is equal to or less than a threshold value; (See Evan paragraph 0078-0079; “he podport transfer path can be configured to have two parallel charging slider rails, positive and negative, to be fitted to one side of the transfer path. This allows the pods to charge while traversing the transfer path as shown in FIG. 2, alleviating the need for a charger in the exit bay to do the charging, thereby speeding up the time a pod traverses through the podport. The pod’s battery could be fully charged along the transfer path such that no delay is needed in the exit bay due to charging. To ensure this, taking the worst case, if a podport’s system control has determined that the incoming carpod’s battery is just about fully discharged upon arrival at an entry bay, this carpod could be sent to the furthest distance available exit bay to give the carpod enough time to become fully charged along the transfer path. Or the carpod could be slowed down to ensure its battery is fully charged by the time it has reached the end of its transfer path. This is important because it allows transport system control (TSC) and the assigned cluster network controller CNC[#] to assume that any carpod or dronepod departing a podport is fully charged, and can be guaranteed to travel a certain distance, and therefore can calculate whether it can or cannot reach the next podport or podcharger, or the final destination and return the empty pod back to a podport. Once charging is complete the amount of charge is checked with the amount specified for that pod that TSC has that information. It is possible that batteries may be of different capacities making this relevant information, requiring that TSC must know the battery capacity of each pod. And that it can select a pod with enough capacity for the maximum distance of the pod’s planned route. Also, the pod’s battery can be checked at the start of charging to ensure the amount of charge remaining after the last hop is what was expected. This checks that the battery is functioning correctly.”)
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Tighe does not explicitly teach but Rajan teaches, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the at least one processor to control of the aerial mobility device to; (See Rajan paragraph 0047; “…Controller 202 based on operating instructions…guide the vehicle 100 to the … guide fixed wing vehicles to desired regions.”);
wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor; (See Rajan paragraph 0029; “…controller 202 may include any one or more of a processor, microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field program gate array (FPGA), or equivalent discrete or integrated logic circuitry…Memory 210 may include computer-readable operating instructions … executed by the controller 202 …”).
Both Tighe and Rajan are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Rajan processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, to be charged by: receiving, from the aerial mobility device, the management information associated with a charge state and an aerial vehicle state controlling, based on the charge state, the aerial mobility device to be charged in the charging site; (See Tighe column 8, line 50-54 and column 9, line 8-17; “The length 116 of the transition zone 115 may be configured based on the time needed to charge an aircraft 112, the number of aircraft 112 desired to be accommodated on the vertiport system 105 at any given point in time, and/or the space needed for…For example, an aircraft 112 may arrive that still has some amount of charge/power left after the previous flight, and therefore does not need the full time to under a recharge process. As a result, that aircraft 112 may become ready for a subsequent flight before another aircraft 112 that is further ahead in the line to the takeoff zone 120. Using the surplus width in the transition zone 115, whichever aircraft 112 is nearer to being sufficiently charged may be moved around one or more other aircraft 112 and thereby placed closer to the front of the line.”); and controlling, based on the aerial vehicle state, the ground mobility device to perform maintenance of the aerial mobility device in the charging site; (See Tighe column 16, line 10-17; ”… For example, a second portion of the transition zone 515A located between the passenger deplaning zone 530A and the passenger boarding zone 535A can be used for cleaning the aircraft 512A, preconditioning the aircraft cabin environment, recharging, maintenance, and/or otherwise preparing or resetting aircraft 512A for a subsequent flight. This second portion of the transition zone 515A can be referred to as a reset zone 537A…”).
Tighe does not explicitly teach but Rajan teaches, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the at least one processor to control the aerial mobility device; (See Rajan paragraph 0047; “…Controller 202 based on operating instructions…guide the vehicle 100 to the … guide fixed wing vehicles to desired regions.”).
Both Tighe and Rajan are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Rajan processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 4 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, wherein the vertiport zone further comprises a rotator placed in front of the charging site on a movement route to the charging site; (See Tighe column 21-222, line 53-32; “FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a carousel-style vertiport system 1005. In this example, instead of a stationary, elongated pathway (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3-5), the surface of the transition zone can take the form of a circular platform 1023. The circular platform 1023 can be configured to physically rotate (for example, counter-clockwise). Due to the rotation, aircraft 1012 and/or coupled carts 1050 located on edges of the circular platform 1023 can be transported from the landing zone 1010 on a first side of the circular platform 1023 to the takeoff zone 1020 on a second side of the circular platform 1023.
…rotation of the circular platform 1023 can continue moving the cart 1050 and aircraft 1012 toward the takeoff zone 1020. Thus, the cart 1050 and circular platform 1023 may together cause an aircraft 1012 to travel the indicated route 1028 from the landing zone 1010 to the takeoff zone 1020. In addition to being part of the transition zone, the circular platform 1023 can also be considered part of the transport equipment, as it assists in movement of the aircraft 1012.
As mentioned above, chargers can be installed on the carts 1050 or installed in other location at the transition zone. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the chargers may be coupled to the circular platform 1023 of the transition zone. “);
.”); based on the aerial mobility device entering the rotator, rotating the aerial mobility device to make a predetermined portion of the aerial mobility device directed to the charging site; (See Tighe, column 22, line 49-65; The circular platform 1023 can rotate, for example, counter-clockwise. Once the circular platform 1023 has rotated far enough (and/or charging is complete), the aircraft 1012 can detach from the electrical coupler 1022 and then the cart 1050 can move or be moved into the takeoff zone 1020. In some embodiments, the circular platform 1023 may rotate 270 degrees, 180 degrees, 90 degrees, or any other suitable rotational distance (e.g. clockwise or counter-clockwise) before the aircraft 1012 and/or cart 1050 depart. Once the aircraft 1012 is at the takeoff zone 1020, the aircraft 1012 can depart by initiating flight. The now available position on the circular platform 1023 can be filled by another cart and/or aircraft once that position rotates back to be aligned with the landing zone 1010. In some embodiments, an aircraft 1012 may stay on the platform 1023 for one or more additional revolutions in order to have more charging time, to wait for passengers, or for any other suitable purpose.”).
Tighe does not teach but Evans teaches, configures the at least one processor to control the aerial mobility device to move to the charging site by; (See Evans paragraph 0182; “…The easiest is to use sensors already in the pod and transport vehicle that control the transport vehicle drive motors to prevent collisions and maintain the pod on its prescribed course. The sensors must be able to determine the distance between the pods so that a calculation can be made for the amount to slow down. On-board camera sensors will need to be able to determine distance to the pod in front. Lidar sensors will give much better accuracy if installed”).
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Tighe does not teach but Rajan teaches, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor; (See Rajan paragraph 0029; “…controller 202 may include any one or more of a processor, microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field program gate array (FPGA), or equivalent discrete or integrated logic circuitry…Memory 210 may include computer-readable operating instructions … executed by the controller 202 …”).
Both Tighe and Rajan are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Rajan processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, wherein the complex zone comprises a zone configured for at least one of cargo handling or maintenance of the aerial mobility device, and the management information comprises at least one of: handling information associated with the cargo handling; an aerial vehicle state; or a charge state; and wherein the at least one instruction; control, based on the handling information, loading or unloading of the cargo in the complex zone, and control, based on the aerial vehicle state and the charge state, performance of at least one of maintenance or charging of the aerial mobility device in the complex zone; (See Tighe column 8, line 17-29; ”… the transition zone 115 can include one or more surfaces (e.g., which may be paved) each of which can include one or more pathways, one or more platforms (e.g., which may rotate), and/or any other suitable surface that can be used when transporting a cart and/or aircraft from the landing zone 110 and the takeoff zone 120. The transition zone 115 may provide space outside of the landing zone 110 and the takeoff zone 120 for completing flights (e.g., passenger unloading), starting new flights (e.g., passenger loading), and/or resetting the aircraft 112 for a subsequent flight (e.g., relocating the aircraft, charging batteries, cleaning, etc.). The transition zone 115 may host equipment that assists in performing these tasks, such as transport equipment and/or chargers); Also see Tighe column 7, line 24-66; “Referring back to FIG. 1, the landing zone 110 can include a first space or surface (e.g., a first aircraft runway) configured to receive an incoming aircraft 112. The takeoff zone 120 can include a second space or surface (e.g., a second aircraft runway) configured to allow the aircraft 112 to depart. The landing zone 110 and the takeoff zone 120 can each support an aircraft 112, and can provide sufficient space for the aircraft 112 to land from flying and/or depart from the ground. The landing zone 110 and the takeoff zone 120 can each can include any suitable materials, such as asphalt, concrete, tarmac, wood, metal, and/or natural surface materials (e.g., grass, dirt, gravel, ice, sand, salt). Further, the landing zone 110 and/or takeoff zone 120 may include heating elements on or below the surface (e.g., to prevent ice from forming), draining systems, markings and indicators, and/or any other suitable elements.
In some embodiments, the width of the landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 may be at least twice the size of the aircraft 112. For example, the width may be 3 meters, 5 meters, 10 meters, 20 meters, or any other suitable width. The length of the landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 can be configured based on the space needed for accelerating to takeoff and/or decelerating when landing. For example, the length may be 10 meters, 20 meters, 30 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, or any other suitable length.
In some embodiments, the vertiport system 105 may be configured for aircraft that utilize horizontal takeoff and landing (HTHL). For example, length of the landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 can take the form of runways that are configured to accommodate HTHL aircraft.
In other embodiments, the vertiport system 105 may be configured for aircraft capable of vertical takeoff and landing (VTOL). In this case, less space may be needed for takeoff and landing, and the lengths of the landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 can be reduced relative to typical runways. Instead of a runway, such a landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 may take the form of a pad (e.g., a landing pad or a takeoff pad). For example, the shape and size (e.g., length and width) may be configured to be smaller than a typical runway, but may be at least twice the size (e.g., corresponding length or width) of the aircraft 112. Embodiments allow the landing zone 110 and/or the takeoff zone 120 to have dimension sizes of runways, pads, hybrid runway-pads, and any other suitable sizes.”).
when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to; (See Rajan paragraph 0029; “…controller 202 may include any one or more of a processor, microprocessor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field program gate array (FPGA), or equivalent discrete or integrated logic circuitry…Memory 210 may include computer-readable operating instructions … executed by the controller 202 …”).
Both Tighe and Rajan are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Rajan processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding processor, and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, wherein the vertiport zone and the complex zone are vertically arranged; wherein the smart building further comprises an elevator configured to transfer the aerial mobility device between the vertiport zone and the complex zone;( See Tighe column 5, line 13-22 and column 9, line 44-49; “the cart 150, which may be automated, may mechanically lift and/or support the aircraft 112 (e.g., using the mechanical couplers 152 and/or platform 151), and then transport the aircraft 112 across the transition zone 115 while it is in the lifted and/or supported position. The mechanical couplers 152 can include support beams, a forklift, tension lines, hooks, mechanical contacts, or any other suitable tools for lifting (e.g., moving in vertical direction), holding, and/or moving the aircraft 112… According to various embodiments, the passenger exit point 175 and/or passenger entry point 170 may include any suitable type of access portal, such as stairs, escalators, elevators, and/or walkways. The access portals may connect to corridors located underneath the surface level of the vertiport system 105…”); wherein the elevator is equipped with a weight measurement device configured to acquire a weight measurement of cargo loaded in the aerial mobility device and a weight distribution associated with the aerial mobility device; and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to: based on the weight distribution not satisfying a weight balance, create arrangement information configured to cause the weight distribution to satisfy the weight balance, wherein the arrangement information comprises at least one of cargo arrangement information or passenger arrangement information; and cause, based on the arrangement information and in the at least one designated area, placement of at least one of cargo or a passenger in a designated location in the aerial mobility device; (See Tighe column 6-7, line 54-5; “the cart 150 may additionally include a scale module 156 that may determine the total weight and/or balance (e.g., center of gravity) of the aircraft 112. For example, after a new set of passengers boards the aircraft 112 (e.g., with or without luggage), the cart 150 may use one or more on-cart scale modules 156 to calculate a new total weight and/or balance of the aircraft 112. The calculated weight and/or balance data may then be provided to the aircraft 112 (e.g., an aircraft computer) for use in the next flight. In some embodiments, the cart 150 and/or aircraft 112 may use the weight and balance information to determine needed or recommended changes to passenger and/or luggage positioning within the aircraft 112 to improve balance and weight distribution. Incorporating a scale function into the cart may advantageously eliminate the need for a separate scale, a separate process of weighing passengers and/or luggage before boarding the aircraft 112, and a separate determination of optimal passenger and/or luggage placement within the aircraft 112.”).
Regarding claim 7 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 6, Tighe further teaches, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to create the arrangement information to cause the weight distribution to reflect at least one of: a plurality of unloading regions associated with a flight route of the aerial mobility device, or a passenger boarding state associated with an arrangement of seated passengers in the aerial mobility device; (See Tighe column 6-7, line 54-5; “the cart 150 may additionally include a scale module 156 that may determine the total weight and/or balance (e.g., center of gravity) of the aircraft 112. For example, after a new set of passengers boards the aircraft 112 (e.g., with or without luggage), the cart 150 may use one or more on-cart scale modules 156 to calculate a new total weight and/or balance of the aircraft 112. The calculated weight and/or balance data may then be provided to the aircraft 112 (e.g., an aircraft computer) for use in the next flight. In some embodiments, the cart 150 and/or aircraft 112 may use the weight and balance information to determine needed or recommended changes to passenger and/or luggage positioning within the aircraft 112 to improve balance and weight distribution. Incorporating a scale function into the cart may advantageously eliminate the need for a separate scale, a separate process of weighing passengers and/or luggage before boarding the aircraft 112, and a separate determination of optimal passenger and/or luggage placement within the aircraft 112.”).
Regarding claim 8 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 1, Tighe further teaches, wherein the ground mobility device comprises a robot and a carrier configured to carry a transport object between the vertiport zone and another zone, and the management information comprises at least one of an aerial vehicle state, a charge state, handling information associated with cargo handling for the aerial mobility device, flight information, or boarding information of a passenger; (See Tighe column 4-5, line 58-12; “An example cart 150 is shown in FIG. 2A, according to embodiments. As shown, the cart 150 can include a support structure such as a platform 151. The platform 151 can include a weight-bearing surface configured to physically support one or more aircraft 112, upon which an aircraft 112 can rest. The cart 150 can further include one or more mechanical couplers 152 which may couple to the aircraft 112 to provide additional stability and support to the aircraft 112 during transit. The cart 150 can also include mobility components, such as a motor 153 (e.g., which may be powered by a power source) and/or wheels 154. The motor 153 can be coupled to the set of one or more wheels 154 and configured to cause the set of one or more wheels 154 to rotate so that the cart 150 moves (and therefore the platform 151 moves). In some embodiments, the cart 150 may include components that assist in passengers boarding the cart 150 and/or aircraft 112, such as stairs 155 and/or ladders. Components that assist in passengers boarding the cart 150 and/or aircraft 112, such as stairs 155 and/or ladders, may be retractable and extendable. For example, stairs 155 may extend for passenger loading and unloading, and may retract when the cart 150 and/or aircraft 112 are moving.”).
Tighe does not teach but Evans teaches, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to: control the robot and the carrier to be parked in a storage zone, receive information about at least one of the aerial vehicle state, the charge state, the handling information, the flight information, or the boarding information of the aerial mobility device; (See Evans paragraph 0135 and 0171; “In the commute example shown in FIG. 10, the final segment for the pod is too long for the storage capability of the pod’s battery so the battery must be charged to enable the dronepod to reach the main podport. The cluster network controller CNC[#], designated to control this journey, was aware of this when initiating the journey and determined that the dronepod must be charged at the 3-level podcharger on the return segment. This podcharger comprises three heights of charging sliders for each of dronepod, railpod and trampod. The podcharger charges the dronepod sufficiently more than is needed for the dronepod to be able to reach the main podport. Alternately, instead of a hardwired slider, a wireless power charger can be used if it can supply the power required and the pod supports wireless charging…Podport PPn has already been primed for arrival of Pod[id] by CNC[#] and has been provided with info on the next PPn+1. PPn knows the PCs between the two PPs. PPn will also know if Pod[id] has enough battery charge to reach PPn+1 safely, including charging at PCs, and taking into consideration local weather. PP[1] awaits CNC[#] to start Pod[id]. Each PPn+1 awaits PPn to signal Pod[id] has started the hop. The last PP knows to inform CNC[#] when Pod[id] has completed the journey.”).
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 9 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 8, Tighe further teaches, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to: control the robot to move to the complex zone comprising the aerial mobility device; and send, to the robot, the instruction configured to control the robot to perform the processing; (See Tighe column 3, line 30-45;; “…vertiport system with efficient space utilization. The vertiport system may be efficient and compact …when an electric aircraft is being moved from a landing zone to a takeoff zone, one or more batteries of the electric aircraft may also be charged simultaneously. Also, passenger exchange may take place while the aircraft is being moved (e.g., in a slow, steady, safe manner). As a result, compact vertiport systems may fit into smaller spaces (e.g., tops of buildings, car parking areas, or other smaller plots of land)… efficient configuration of different zones of a vertiport system may further improve the usage of limited space. As an example, a landing zone may connect directly to a transition zone (e.g., for recharging batteries and/or passenger exchange), and the transition zone may connect directly to a takeoff zone. This can enable an aircraft to be delivered directly from the end of a landing zone to the beginning of a takeoff zone…”).
Regarding claim 10 Tighe in view of Evans and Rajan teaches, the system of claim 8, Tighe does not teach but Evans teaches, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, further configures the at least one processor to, based on a degree of congestion caused by the aerial mobility device in the vertiport zone exceeding a threshold value, control at least one of the robot or the carrier to move, based on the degree of congestion, in the vertiport zone; (See Evans paragraph 0135 and 0171; “In the commute example shown in FIG. 10, the final segment for the pod is too long for the storage capability of the pod’s battery so the battery must be charged to enable the dronepod to reach the main podport. The cluster network controller CNC[#], designated to control this journey, was aware of this when initiating the journey and determined that the dronepod must be charged at the 3-level podcharger on the return segment. This podcharger comprises three heights of charging sliders for each of dronepod, railpod and trampod. The podcharger charges the dronepod sufficiently more than is needed for the dronepod to be able to reach the main podport. Alternately, instead of a hardwired slider, a wireless power charger can be used if it can supply the power required and the pod supports wireless charging…Podport PPn has already been primed for arrival of Pod[id] by CNC[#] and has been provided with info on the next PPn+1. PPn knows the PCs between the two PPs. PPn will also know if Pod[id] has enough battery charge to reach PPn+1 safely, including charging at PCs, and taking into consideration local weather. PP[1] awaits CNC[#] to start Pod[id]. Each PPn+1 awaits PPn to signal Pod[id] has started the hop. The last PP knows to inform CNC[#] when Pod[id] has completed the journey.”).
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
With respect to independent claim 11, please see the rejection above with respect to claims 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 11, with claim 1 being drown to the system, claim 11 being drawn to a corresponding method.
With respect to dependent claims 12-19, please see the rejection above with respect to claims 2-10 which is commensurate in scope to claims 12-19, with claims 2-10 being drown to the system and claims 12-19 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tighe (Patent No. US12162625B2) in view of Evans (Patent No. us20230015158A1).
Regarding claim 21, Tighe teaches, a method for managing a smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone configured to support operation of an aerial mobility device and a ground mobility device, wherein the method comprises; (See Tighe column 3, line 30-45; “…vertiport system with efficient space utilization. The vertiport system may be efficient and compact …when an electric aircraft is being moved from a landing zone to a takeoff zone, one or more batteries of the electric aircraft may also be charged simultaneously. Also, passenger exchange may take place while the aircraft is being moved (e.g., in a slow, steady, safe manner). As a result, compact vertiport systems may fit into smaller spaces (e.g., tops of buildings, car parking areas, or other smaller plots of land)… efficient configuration of different zones of a vertiport system may further improve the usage of limited space. As an example, a landing zone may connect directly to a transition zone (e.g., for recharging batteries and/or passenger exchange), and the transition zone may connect directly to a takeoff zone. This can enable an aircraft to be delivered directly from the end of a landing zone to the beginning of a takeoff zone…”).
Tighe does not teach but Evans teaches, generating, based on management information, movement route information of the aerial mobility device indicating at least one designated area in the vertiport zone; (See Evans paragraph 0166; “FIG. 17 shows the setting up of the dronepods, trampods, and railpods relative to their podways. During set up of CNC[#], TSC calculates the best droneways if a dronepod, or best combination of tramways, overhead rail, or road if a carpod. In this case ‘best’ means best for the type of journey requested by a passenger P or a parcel operator [PO], i.e., cheapest, or fastest, or best views, or safest, or most comfortable, or to avoid bad weather, or what type of transport vehicle is not acceptable etc. The Fig. shows three different routes, green, blue, and red, starting at PP[1], PP[2], PP[3] respectively. They are set up by 3 different CNC’s, CNC[1], [2], [3], and share some of the same PPs and PCs at similar times. While setting up these routes, each podport creates a list of PCs, PSs, and markers for the hop to PPn+1. The list includes podway designations, the true heading of each podway, and estimated ETA for each xpod at each PC or marker. Upon preparing to leave PPn, the PPn downloads to the parting xpod this list for the hop to reach PPn+1. As each xpod approaches a PC, PS, or marker, it checks its list to monitor its position in the list. There is no need for CNC[#] to be involved between markers but it can be informed when an xpod is passing a marker.”).
wherein the management information is associated with management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device; based on the movement route information indicating the at least one designated area in the vertiport zone and on a charging permission condition being satisfied; (See Evans paragraph 0078-0079; “The podport transfer path can be configured to have two parallel charging slider rails, positive and negative, to be fitted to one side of the transfer path. This allows the pods to charge while traversing the transfer path as shown in FIG. 2, alleviating the need for a charger in the exit bay to do the charging, thereby speeding up the time a pod traverses through the podport. The pod’s battery could be fully charged along the transfer path such that no delay is needed in the exit bay due to charging. To ensure this, taking the worst case, if a podport’s system control has determined that the incoming carpod’s battery is just about fully discharged upon arrival at an entry bay, this carpod could be sent to the furthest distance available exit bay to give the carpod enough time to become fully charged along the transfer path. Or the carpod could be slowed down to ensure its battery is fully charged by the time it has reached the end of its transfer path… This is important because it allows transport system control (TSC) and the assigned cluster network controller CNC[#] to assume that any carpod or dronepod departing a podport is fully charged… It is possible that batteries may be of different capacities making this relevant information, requiring that TSC must know the battery capacity of each pod. And that it can select a pod with enough capacity for the maximum distance of the pod’s planned route. Also, the pod’s battery can be checked at the start of charging to ensure the amount of charge remaining after the last hop is what was expected. This checks that the battery is functioning correctly…”).
modifying the movement route information to comprise a layover point of a charging site in the vertiport zone and controlling the aerial mobility device to move to the charging site according to the modified movement route information and to be charged, wherein the charging permission condition is determined by checking a charge state of the aerial mobility device based on charge state information and identifying whether or not the charge state is equal to or less than a threshold value; and based on the modified movement route information indicating the charging site and indicating the complex zone, controlling the aerial mobility device to move to an exit area, of the vertiport zone, approaching the complex zone after completion of charging at the charging site;(See Evans paragraph 0135 and 0171; “In the commute example shown in FIG. 10, the final segment for the pod is too long for the storage capability of the pod’s battery so the battery must be charged to enable the dronepod to reach the main podport. The cluster network controller CNC[#], designated to control this journey, was aware of this when initiating the journey and determined that the dronepod must be charged at the 3-level podcharger on the return segment. This podcharger comprises three heights of charging sliders for each of dronepod, railpod and trampod. The podcharger charges the dronepod sufficiently more than is needed for the dronepod to be able to reach the main podport. Alternately, instead of a hardwired slider, a wireless power charger can be used if it can supply the power required and the pod supports wireless charging…Podport PPn has already been primed for arrival of Pod[id] by CNC[#] and has been provided with info on the next PPn+1. PPn knows the PCs between the two PPs. PPn will also know if Pod[id] has enough battery charge to reach PPn+1 safely, including charging at PCs, and taking into consideration local weather. PP[1] awaits CNC[#] to start Pod[id]. Each PPn+1 awaits PPn to signal Pod[id] has started the hop. The last PP knows to inform CNC[#] when Pod[id] has completed the journey.”).
Both Tighe and Evans are in the same field of system and method for vertiport. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Tighe smart building comprising: a vertiport zone, and a complex zone with Evans management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Tighe by adding management of at least one of: a transport object for transport by the aerial mobility device, or flight of the aerial mobility device, based on the movement route information, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666