Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muscarella et al (US Patent No. 5,860,793).
Muscarella teaches:
limitations from claim 33, a method of controlling a pump (10), comprising: providing a pump (FIG. 1); providing an input device (DLC 610 including keypad 604 and display 608; C. 3 Lines 21-39 and C. 25 Lines 36-45) connected to the pump, wherein the input device is configured to provide an input signal (“analog input signal”; C. 26 Lines 10-12) to control the pump; generating a first input signal having a first value (4 milliamps for example); generating a second input signal having a second value (20 milliamps for example), wherein the first value is smaller than the second value; setting the pump to run at a speed in the range of 0-20% speed when the input signal is at the first value (C. 26 Lines 31-33, 4 mA as the 0% prompt); and setting the pump to run at a speed in the range of 80-100% speed when the input signal is at the second value (C. 26 Lines 33-34, 20 mA as the 100% prompt); not running the pump when the input signal is higher than the second value (the high end of the signal - 20mA is set at 100% flow rate, it follows that signals above 20mA would not run the pump above 100%, see also split ranges in which the high value is 12mA for example and signals up to a high value are controlling input values);
limitations from claim 34, further comprising: not running the pump when the input signal is lower than the first value (the low end of the signal - 4mA is set at 0% flow rate, it follows that signals below 4 mA do not run the pump);
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims to include the limitation “…and not running the pump when the input signal is higher than the second value.”. Applicant argues that Muscarella does not teach this limitation; in particular that the office has not established that Muscarella does not teach that the pump would not run above 20mA.
The examiner maintains that Muscaralla teaches a range of signals at which a pump is controlled (4-20mA, 4-12mA, or a rationed control at 50% maximum for example). Muscarella teaches 4-12mA as a full scale and further, at C. 26 Lines 43-44, recites “All analog input up to 20 milliamps would adjust pump flow up to 50%”. Therefore, the examiner maintains that Muscarella, for example at startup, is not intended to operate at signal values outside of a full-scale range, or higher than an upper threshold allowed (20 milliamps). Further, it is noted that the examiner has interpreted the new limitations to claim 33 to require providing a minimum and maximum value to an operating range of the pump such that the pump operated within this range (see for example paragraph 16 of the disclosure), and not that the pump is explicitly shut off at any value over that range or is intentionally provided signals above the range to stop operating the pump (it does not appear that the disclosure supports control outside of the minimum and maximum thresholds).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S BOBISH/Examiner, Art Unit 3746