DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshii et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0186224).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshii et al. disclose a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) apparatus for a vehicle, comprising: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 18; a hot air pocket extraction duct 22 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-122); and one or more suction intakes 21, 25 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 22, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 22 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in the vehicle through the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 into the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-122).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshii et al. disclose the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 comprise at least one roof suction intake 21 configured to be mounted in a roof 14 of the vehicle (see Figure 2; Paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshii et al. disclose the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a recirculation inlet 25 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 124).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshii et al. disclose the HVAC apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a circulation fan 30 disposed in the plenum 18 and configured to create suction pressure to draw air through the recirculation inlet 25 and the hot air pocket extraction duct 22 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 121-124 and 132-133).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshii et al. disclose the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more heating or cooling coils 29, 31 disposed in the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 130, 132 and 142).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshii et al. disclose the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an actuator (not shown) configured to selectively open and close the one or more suction intakes 25 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 124).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshii et al. disclose a vehicle HVAC system, comprising: an HVAC apparatus including: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 18; a hot air pocket extraction duct 22 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-122); and one or more suction intakes 21, 25 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 22, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 22 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in a vehicle through the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 into the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-122); one or more air outlets 57-60 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 149-153); and one or more air director valves 61-63 configured to selectively direct conditioned air from the plenum 18 to the one or more air outlets 57-60 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 150).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshii et al. disclose the vehicle HVAC system of claim 8, wherein the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 comprise at least one roof suction intake 21 configured to be mounted in a roof 14 of the vehicle (see Figure 2; Paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshii et al. disclose the vehicle HVAC system of claim 9, wherein the one or more air outlets 57-60 comprise at least one of: one or more dashboard vents 59, 60; one or more instrument panel vents 57a, 57b; and one or more footwell vents 58 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 149-153).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshii et al. disclose a method of controlling climate in a vehicle cabin 10, the method comprising: activating a suction HVAC unit 18 to create suction pressure (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 116, 118, 155-158); drawing hot air from a hot air pocket in the vehicle cabin through one or more suction intakes 21, 25 connected to a hot air pocket extraction duct 22 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 158 and 161); cooling the drawn hot air in the suction HVAC unit 18 (see Figures 3A-B: Paragraphs 158-159); and distributing the cooled air back into the vehicle cabin 10 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 159-160 and 172).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshii et al. disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 comprise at least one roof suction intake 25 configured to be mounted in a roof 14 of the vehicle cabin 10 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshii et al. disclose the method of claim 13, further comprising: detecting a temperature in the vehicle cabin 10; and activating the suction HVAC unit 18 based on a detected temperature (see Figure 14; Paragraph 233-236).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshii et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a vehicle having a climate control system, the method comprising: installing a suction HVAC apparatus in the vehicle, the suction HVAC apparatus comprising: a suction HVAC unit including a plenum 18; a recirculation inlet 25 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 124); a hot air pocket extraction duct 22 connected to the plenum 18 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-122); and one or more suction intakes 21, 25 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 22 (see Figure 2; Paragraphs 121-124); positioning the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 in regions prone to hot air pocket formation in a vehicle cabin 10 (see Figure 2; Paragraph 121); connecting the suction HVAC unit to a vehicle climate control system; and configuring the vehicle climate control system to selectively activate the suction HVAC unit to draw hot air from hot air pockets through the one or more suction intakes 21, 25 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 157-159 and 233-236).
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voss (DE 3714771).
Regarding claim 1, Voss discloses a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) apparatus for a vehicle, comprising: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 2; a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-16); and one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 6, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in the vehicle through the one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 into the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-16). The numeral 6 describes the duct, as well as the nozzle positioned on the dashboard of the vehicle and will be referenced as such throughout the claim mapping of this section to match the description found in the translation provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 2, Voss discloses the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 comprise at least one dashboard suction intake 6 configured to be mounted in a dashboard 1 of the vehicle (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 4, Voss discloses the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a recirculation inlet 10-11 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-15).
Regarding claim 5, Voss discloses the HVAC apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a circulation fan 3 disposed in the plenum 2 and configured to create suction pressure to draw air through the recirculation inlet 9 and the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 6, Voss discloses the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more heating or cooling coils 5 disposed in the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 7, Voss discloses the HVAC apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an actuator 17 configured to selectively open and close the one or more suction intakes 10 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 8, Voss discloses a vehicle HVAC system, comprising: an HVAC apparatus including: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 2; a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 connected to the plenum 2; and one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 6, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in a vehicle through the one or more suction intakes 6 into the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 16); one or more air outlets 7a, 7b, 8 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14); and one or more air director valves 14, 15 configured to selectively direct conditioned air from the plenum 2 to the one or more air outlets 7a, 7b, 8 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 9, Voss discloses the vehicle HVAC system of claim 8, wherein the one or more suction intakes comprise at least one dashboard suction intake 6 configured to be mounted in a dashboard of the vehicle (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-15 and 18).
Regarding claim 10, Voss discloses the vehicle HVAC system of claim 9, wherein the one or more air outlets comprise at least one of: one or more dashboard vents 6; one or more instrument panel vents 7a, 7b; and one or more footwell vents 8 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 11, Voss discloses the vehicle HVAC system of claim 9, further comprising a valve 17 configured to selectively connect the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 to either an inlet or an outlet of the suction HVAC unit (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 12, Voss discloses a vehicle comprising: a cabin; a dashboard; a windshield (see annotated Figure 2 below); and a vehicle HVAC system comprising: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 2; a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14); one or more suction intakes 6 positioned in a region between the windshield and the dashboard and connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 6, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in the region through the one or more suction intakes 6 into the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 2 below; Paragraphs 14 and 18); one or more air outlets 7a, 7b, 8 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14); and one or more air director valves 14, 15 configured to selectively direct conditioned air from the plenum 2 to the one or more air outlets 7a, 7b, 8 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 13, Voss discloses a method of controlling climate in a vehicle cabin, the method comprising: activating a suction HVAC unit to create suction pressure (see Paragraph 14); drawing hot air from a hot air pocket in the vehicle cabin through one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 connected to a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-17); cooling the drawn hot air in the suction HVAC unit; and distributing the cooled air back into the vehicle cabin (see Paragraphs 14 and 17).
Regarding claim 14, Voss discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 comprise at least one dashboard suction intake 6 configured to be mounted in a dashboard of the vehicle cabin (see Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 2 above; Paragraphs 16 and 18).
Regarding claim 17, Voss discloses a method of manufacturing a vehicle having a climate control system, the method comprising: installing a suction HVAC apparatus in the vehicle, the suction HVAC apparatus comprising: a suction HVAC unit including a plenum 2; a recirculation inlet 11 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-16); a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 16); and one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14); positioning the one or more suction intakes 6 in regions prone to hot air pocket formation in a vehicle cabin (see Paragraph 17); connecting the suction HVAC unit to a vehicle climate control system; and configuring the vehicle climate control system to selectively activate the suction HVAC unit to draw hot air from hot air pockets through the one or more suction intakes 6 (see Paragraphs 6 and 18).
Regarding claim 19, Voss discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising: installing a valve 16, 17 configured to selectively connect the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 to either an inlet or an outlet of the suction HVAC unit, thereby enabling the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 to be used for both hot air extraction and windshield defrosting (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-15 and 18).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dage et al. (US Pat 5,755,378).
Regarding claim 20, Dage et al. disclose a method of optimizing a vehicle HVAC system, comprising: identifying regions in a vehicle cabin prone to hot air pocket formation (see Col. 3, lines 64-67); installing a hot air pocket extraction duct 38 and suction intake 38 configuration to target the identified regions (see Figure 1; Col. 6, lines 22-30); integrating the installed hot air pocket extraction duct 38 and suction intake 38 configuration with a suction HVAC unit 20 (see Figure 1; Col. 6, lines 22-42; testing the integrated system to measure temperature gradients in the vehicle cabin (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 3-29); and adjusting the suction HVAC unit configuration based on the measured temperature gradients to maximize thermal comfort and minimize energy consumption (see Col. 6, lines 30-53; Col. 7, lines 3-20; Col. 8, lines 31-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii et al. in view of Voss.
Regarding claim 18, Yoshii et al. disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising: installing at least one roof suction intake 21 in a region of a roof 14 of the vehicle.
Yoshii et al. fail to disclose installing at least one dashboard suction intake in a region between a windshield and a dashboard of the vehicle.
Voss discloses a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) apparatus for a vehicle, comprising: a suction HVAC unit comprising a plenum 2; a hot air pocket extraction duct 6 connected to the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-16); and one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 connected to the hot air pocket extraction duct 6, wherein the hot air pocket extraction duct 6 is configured to draw hot air from a hot air pocket in the vehicle through the one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 into the plenum 2 (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 14-16). The one or more suction intakes 6, 9-11 comprise at least one dashboard suction intake 6 configured to be mounted in a dashboard 1 of the vehicle (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 14) because the greatest heating occurs above the dashboard due to solar radiation and this significantly improves the climate control of the vehicle interior (see Paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the method of Yoshii et al. the step of installing at least one dashboard suction intake in a region between a windshield and a dashboard of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve climate control of the vehicle interior because of the solar radiation that occurs between the dashboard and the windshield, as taught by Voss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DeGrazia, Jr. et al. (US Pat 6,314,949) disclose an HVAC apparatus for a vehicle having a suction HVAC unit with a plenum, a hot air extraction duct, suction intakes, and outlet vents. Feltham (US PG Pub 2023/0191873) discloses an HVAC apparatus having a suction HVAC unit with a plenum, a suction intake, and outlet vents. Huang et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0065389) disclose an HVAC apparatus for a vehicle having a suction HVAC unit with a plenum, a suction intake, outlet vents, and a dashboard vent. Lee et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0290517) disclose a suction HVAC unit having a blower and an extraction duct.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612