DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US2007/0213586) in view of Kato (US6,170,167).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses a coupler for coupling an endoscope to an endoscopic camera head (Fig. 19: body portion/camera adapter 12H for coupling endoscope 13 to camera head 11; ninth embodiment shown in Fig. 18 and 19 have the same configuration as the sixth embodiment shown in Figs. 12 and 13 [0285-0286]; sixth embodiment shown in Figs. 12 and 13 have the same configuration as the fourth embodiment shown in Figs. 7, 8, and 9 [0234]), the coupler configured for removably mounting to a portion of the camera head that houses at least one imaging sensor (Fig. 19: on the base end side of the camera adapter 12, the camera head 11 is optically and detachably connected [0059]; camera head 11 comprises image pickup device 11a [0040]), the coupler comprising: a housing assembly (body portion/camera adapter 12H [0285]) comprising: a clamp for releasably clamping an eyepiece of the endoscope to the coupler (Fig. 19: first mounting portion 12a is detachably attached to camera connection portion 13 [0051]), a coupling portion configured for coupling to the portion of the camera head (reference numeral not shown in Fig. 19; Fig. 8: camera mounting portion 12c for coupling with fitted with connection portion 11b of camera head 11 [0059]), and a cylindrical wall defining at least a portion of a chamber that houses at least one optical component for focusing light for the at least one imaging sensor (reference numeral not shown in Fig. 19, see Annotated Fig. 19 below; Fig 8: camera adapter 12H comprises a cylindrical wall that defines a chamber that houses focus lens 36a [0164]). Hirose fails to explicitly teach the coupler comprising at least one desiccant component positioned in the chamber for absorbing moisture in the chamber.
In the same field of endeavor, Kato teaches a similar optical component (lens barrel 10), the optical component comprising a cylindrical wall defining at least a portion of a chamber that houses at least one optical component for focusing light for at least one imaging sensor (lenses 12 and 14 disposed in lens barrel 10, but interior of lens barrel can comprise more lenses [col. 2, lines 57-62]; lens barrel 10 may be used for TV camera [col. 2, line 61]; cylindrical wall of barrel 10 partially forms the chamber, which is the enclosed space), and at least one desiccant component positioned in the chamber for absorbing moisture in the chamber (drying agent unit 20 is attached to lens barrel, air flow between the inside of the lens barrel 10 and container 24 of the drying agent unit 20 dehumidifies the inside of lens barrel [col. 3, lines 1-7]). In view of Kato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one desiccant component, such as the one taught by Kato, within the chamber of Hirose, to dehumidify the chamber and prevent condensation or fog from clouding the lenses [col. 3, lines 6-7].
Regarding claim 2, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Kato further teaches wherein at least a portion of the at least one desiccant component is shaped as a ring (ring-shaped drying agent unit 30 [col. 5, lines 24-25]).
Regarding claim 3, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1, further teaching wherein the at least one desiccant is positioned at an end of the chamber that is proximate the clamp (Kato teaches wherein the drying agent is positioned at an end of the chamber, Hirose teaches wherein all ends of the chamber would be proximate to first mounting portion 12a, analogous to clamp).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1, further teaching wherein the at least one desiccant is disposed between an end of the cylindrical wall and a retainer of the housing assembly connecting the clamp and the cylindrical wall (Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit of Kato, teaches wherein the drying agent would be along an end of the cylinder wall, somewhere along the double-arrowed line, such as a longitudinal center of the chamber as seen in Fig. 1 of Kato; first fixing member 12b, analogous to retainer, connects the first mounting portion 12a to the more proximal cylindrical wall).
Regarding claim 5, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 4, further teaching wherein the at least one desiccant component is at least partially surrounded by the retainer (Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit of Kato, teaches wherein the drying agent unit, attached to along the end of the cylinder wall between the arrowed line annotated in Fig. 19, is partially surrounded by the first fixing member 12b around a lateral axis).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Kato further teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component is at least partially covered by at least one covering that prevents desiccant particulates from entering the chamber (drying agent, which may be a powder or grains, may be partially contained by a bag [col. 3, lines 7-9]).
Regarding claim 7, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Kato further teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component is formed as a single solid (drying agent 26 appears to be a single solid, such as a tablet [col. 3, lines 7-9]).
Regarding claim 9, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Hirose further teaches wherein the coupler is sterilizable when dismounted from the portion of the camera head (although disclosure does not explicitly teach the camera adapter 12H to be sterilized, camera adapter 12H is capable of being sterilized).
Regarding claim 10, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Kato further discloses wherein the chamber is at least partially sealed by at least one elastomeric seal (chamber of Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit 30 of Kato in Fig. 3, includes an o-ring 40 for attaching the unit 30 to the lens barrel/adapter, and sealing the drying agent 26 to the chamber within the lens barrel/adapter).
Regarding claim 11, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Hirose further discloses the coupler comprising a focus ring for engagement by a user for adjusting focus by moving the at least one optical component within the chamber (focus dial 36d provided as part of the focus-lens moving mechanism for moving the focus lens 36a in a direction along the optical axis O1 [0164]).
Regarding claim 12, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1. Hirose further discloses the coupler comprising a first light transmissive component at a first end of the chamber and a second light transmissive component at a second end of the chamber (reference numeral not illustrated in Fig. 19; Fig. 8: group zoom lens 37a at a first end of the chamber; Fig. 19: half mirror 40, at a second of the chamber, transmits the luminous flex from the observation portion so that the image pickup luminous flux toward the image pickup means of the camera unit is not disturbed [0245]).
Regarding claim 13, Hirose discloses an endoscopic camera head assembly comprising: a main housing that houses at least one imaging sensor (camera head 11 comprises image pickup device 11a [0040]); and a coupler removably mounted to the main housing and configured for coupling an endoscope to the endoscopic camera head (Fig. 19: body portion/camera adapter 12H for coupling endoscope 13 to camera head 11; ninth embodiment shown in Fig. 18 and 19 have the same configuration as the sixth embodiment shown in Figs. 12 and 13 [0285-0286]; sixth embodiment shown in Figs. 12 and 13 have the same configuration as the fourth embodiment shown in Figs. 7, 8, and 9 [0234]), the coupler comprising: a housing assembly (body portion/camera adapter 12H [0285]) comprising: a clamp for releasably clamping an eyepiece of the endoscope to the coupler (Fig. 19: first mounting portion 12a is detachably attached to camera connection portion 13 [0051]), a coupling portion that is coupled to the main housing of the endoscopic camera head (reference numeral not shown in Fig. 19; Fig. 8: camera mounting portion 12c for coupling with fitted with connection portion 11b of camera head 11 [0059]), and a cylindrical wall defining at least a portion of a chamber that houses at least one optical component for focusing light for the at least one imaging sensor (reference numeral not shown in Fig. 19, see Annotated Fig. 19 below; Fig 8: camera adapter 12H comprises a cylindrical wall that defines a chamber that houses focus lens 36a [0164]). Hirose fails to explicitly teach the coupler comprising at least one desiccant component positioned in the chamber for absorbing moisture in the chamber.
Regarding claim 14, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Kato further teaches wherein at least a portion of the at least one desiccant component is shaped as a ring (ring-shaped drying agent unit 30 [col. 5, lines 24-25]).
Regarding claim 15, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13, further disclosing wherein the at least one desiccant is positioned at an end of the chamber that is proximate the clamp (Kato teaches wherein the drying agent is positioned at an end of the chamber, Hirose teaches wherein all ends of the chamber would be proximate to first mounting portion 12a, analogous to clamp).
Regarding claim 16, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13, further teaching wherein the at least one desiccant is disposed between an end of the cylindrical wall and a retainer of the housing assembly connecting the clamp and the cylindrical wall (Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit of Kato, teaches wherein the drying agent would be along an end of the cylinder wall, somewhere along the double-arrowed line, such as a longitudinal center of the chamber as seen in Fig. 1 of Kato; first fixing member 12b, analogous to retainer, connects the first mounting portion 12a to the more proximal cylindrical wall).
Regarding claim 17, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 16, further teaching wherein the at least one desiccant component is at least partially surrounded by the retainer (Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit of Kato, teaches wherein the drying agent unit, attached to along the end of the cylinder wall between the arrowed line annotated in Fig. 19, is partially surrounded by the first fixing member 12b around a lateral axis).
Regarding claim 18, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Kato further teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component is at least partially covered by at least one covering that prevents desiccant particulates from entering the chamber (drying agent, which may be a powder or grains, may be partially contained by a bag [col. 3, lines 7-9]).
Regarding claim 19, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Kato further teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component is formed as a single solid (drying agent 26 appears to be a single solid, such as a tablet [col. 3, lines 7-9]).
Regarding claim 21, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Hirose further discloses wherein the coupler is sterilizable when dismounted from the portion of the camera head (although disclosure does not explicitly teach the camera adapter 12H to be sterilized, camera adapter 12H is capable of being sterilized).
Regarding claim 22, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Kato further teaches wherein the chamber is at least partially sealed by at least one elastomeric seal (chamber of Hirose, modified to include the drying agent unit 30 of Kato in Fig. 3, includes an o-ring 40 for attaching the unit 30 to the lens barrel/adapter, and sealing the drying agent 26 to the chamber within the lens barrel/adapter).
Regarding claim 23, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Hirose further discloses the coupler comprising a focus ring for engagement by a user for adjusting focus by moving the at least one optical component within the chamber (focus dial 36d provided as part of the focus-lens moving mechanism for moving the focus lens 36a in a direction along the optical axis O1 [0164]).
Regarding claim 24, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13. Hirose further discloses wherein the coupler comprises a first light transmissive component at a first end of the chamber and a second light transmissive component at a second end of the chamber (reference numeral not illustrated in Fig. 19; Fig. 8: group zoom lens 37a at a first end of the chamber; Fig. 19: half mirror 40, at a second of the chamber, transmits the luminous flex from the observation portion so that the image pickup luminous flux toward the image pickup means of the camera unit is not disturbed [0245]).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Kato and Buerk (US2012/0283515).
Regarding claim 8, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the coupler of claim 1, but fails to disclose further details of the desiccant thus failing to disclose the desiccant material. In the same field of endeavor, Buerk teaches a housing assembly comprising a cylindrical wall defining at least a portion of a chamber that houses at least one optical component for focusing light (Fig. 1: fluid-tight eyecup sleeve 2 is formed from the cylindrical wall [0023], positioned in the interior of eyepiece unit 1 is an optical system 6 that comprises at least one lens 5 [0023]), and at least one desiccant component positioned in the chamber for absorbing moisture in the sealed chamber (Figure 1: drying agent arrangement 8 equipped with hygroscopic substance 7 mounting inside instrument housing/eyecup sleeve 2 [0025]). Further, Buerk teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component comprises at least one of silica gel, activated charcoal, calcium chloride, charcoal sulfate, activated alumina, Montmorillonite clay, and molecular sieve (synthetic zeolites or other clay minerals, for example, or else silica gels are used as materials for producing the hygroscopic substance 7 [0025]). Since Kato fails to provide the particular material of the desiccant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable hygroscopic material known in the art, including that shown by Buerk, to provide the predictable result of forming the desiccant.
Regarding claim 20, Hirose, modified by Kato, discloses the endoscopic camera head assembly of claim 13, but fails to disclose further details of the desiccant thus failing to disclose the desiccant material. In the same field of endeavor, Buerk teaches a housing assembly comprising a cylindrical wall defining at least a portion of a chamber that houses at least one optical component for focusing light (Fig. 1: fluid-tight eyecup sleeve 2 is formed from the cylindrical wall [0023], positioned in the interior of eyepiece unit 1 is an optical system 6 that comprises at least one lens 5 [0023]), and at least one desiccant component positioned in the chamber for absorbing moisture in the sealed chamber (Figure 1: drying agent arrangement 8 equipped with hygroscopic substance 7 mounting inside instrument housing/eyecup sleeve 2 [0025]). Further, Buerk teaches wherein the at least one desiccant component comprises at least one of silica gel, activated charcoal, calcium chloride, charcoal sulfate, activated alumina, Montmorillonite clay, and molecular sieve (synthetic zeolites or other clay minerals, for example, or else silica gels are used as materials for producing the hygroscopic substance 7 [0025]). Since Kato fails to provide the particular material of the desiccant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable hygroscopic material known in the art, including that shown by Buerk, to provide the predictable result of forming the desiccant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Hirose et al. (US2007/0213586).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See reference cited in the PTO-892.
/LI-TING SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
10/23/2026