DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on October 2, 2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on October 2, 2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the parking position" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note claim 1 refers to "multiple parking positions". Since no singular "parking position" is previously introduced, it is unclear whether claim 2 refers to one of the multiple parking positions, a selected parking position, or some other parking position.
Claims 3-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependency on claim 2.
Appropriate correction or clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (Chinese Publication No. CN116022126A; machine translation obtained from Espacenet).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a parking assistance device comprising processing circuitry connected to a memory (see e.g., Fig. 8; para. [0037]-[0040], [0057] & [0156]-[0159]: an electronic device/controller comprising at least one processor and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; the electronic controller storing and using learned parking track and semantic map information in memory) and configured to:
register, during learning travel, a map (see e.g., para. [0003], [0066]-[0068], [0074] & [0150]: “The basic function of autonomous learning parking is that the driver sets a starting point and drives the vehicle to the target parking space. Then, the parking space is set as the learning endpoint. The vehicle analyzes and learns data collected by sensors on the vehicle and automatically forms a semantic map, i.e., the learning trajectory. The next time the user drives to the starting point, the autonomous learning parking function can be used. The vehicle will drive itself from the starting point to the endpoint without human intervention.”) including multiple routes from one parking start position to multiple parking positions (see e.g., para. [0055], [0058] & [0149]: The system learns a route from the starting point to the destination, e.g., parking spaces P1-P4. Each P1-P4 is a distinct route from the same start to a different parking position; and para. [0150]: “After forming a semantic map, all parking spaces along the entire route are included in the map. When in use, as long as there are empty parking spaces on the route, i.e., P1-P4 in the diagram, parking can be performed.”);
cause, during automatic parking, a vehicle to perform autonomous travel based on the map (e.g. para. [0061]-[0065] & [0077]-[0081]: “If the user selects "parking along the route" as the parking route type, the vehicle is controlled to travel along the self-learned parking trajectory. During the vehicle's movement, parking spaces along the self-learned parking trajectory are identified based on the recorded parking space information. If a parking space along the self-learned parking trajectory is identified as vacant, the vehicle is controlled to park in that vacant space.”); and
select, during automatic parking, a route on which the vehicle is to travel from among the multiple routes (see e.g. para. [0061]-[0065] & [0097]: the system or the user selects a parking space and the vehicle drives to the selected parking space. Selection of parking space results in selection of corresponding path portion of the learned track).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, in a case where a different parking position other than the parking position is set after the learning travel, generate a different route from the parking start position of the learning travel to the different parking position, and register the generated different route in the map (e.g., para. [0057]-[0058] & [0079]-[0080]: “…if the user selects a dedicated parking space, and the target parking space is vacant, the vehicle can automatically drive to the parking space to complete the parking...If the parking process fails, the system can automatically try to find the next available parking space until the vehicle reaches the destination parking space.”; when the user selects a dedicated parking space or next available parking space, the controller must determine path portion to that space, which path is effectively registered in the map; also see para. [0150]-[0151]: “Once the system has learned the parking routes along the way, it can automatically find parking spaces when the user tries to park. If parking fails, the system can continue to control the vehicle to automatically search for empty parking spaces along the learned routes instead of directly indicating that parking has failed.”).
As per claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set, as the different parking position, a parking position at which an occupant of the vehicle drives and parks the vehicle by manual driving from a parking position at which the vehicle is parked in the learning travel (see e.g., para. [0057]-[0058]: “Specifically, the vehicle is continuously sampled when the driver manually parks, and each sample records a parking learning trajectory point. Based on multiple parking learning trajectory points, an autonomous learning parking trajectory is planned.”).
As per claim 6, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to collect detection information around a vehicle during the learning travel, and set the different parking position based on the detection information when the vehicle is parked in the learning travel (see e.g., para. [0057]: “The vehicle analyzes and learns from the data collected by sensors installed on its body, automatically forming a semantic map and obtaining an autonomously learned parking trajectory. Specifically, the vehicle is continuously sampled when the driver manually parks, and each sample records a parking learning trajectory point. Based on multiple parking learning trajectory points, an autonomous learning parking trajectory is planned. At the same time, by recognizing the surrounding environment through cameras, when teaching the route, the camera collects data on the surrounding parking spaces, and after forming a semantic map, all parking spaces along the entire route are included in the map.”).
As per claim 9, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the generation of the different route on the basis of a reference route being a route registered in the map or a route having been set (see e.g., para. [0058], [0060], [0078]-[0080] & [0151]: uses learned autonomous parking track as a reference. All subsequent parking follows that learned track).
As per claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein data of each route is an aggregate of data of sections constituting the route, and the processing circuitry is configured to, when generating the different route based on the reference route, generate data of sections of the different route by copying, processing, or sharing data of reference sections (e.g., para. [0057] & [0150]-[0151]: “Specifically, the vehicle is continuously sampled when the driver manually parks, and each sample records a parking learning trajectory point. Based on multiple parking learning trajectory points, an autonomous learning parking trajectory is planned.”; Although Zhang does not describe copying explicitly, any stored route is composed of trajectory points).
As per claim 13, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to collect information on feature points around the vehicle during the learning travel, and, when the different route is registered in the map, register, in the map, at least information on a feature point located near the different parking position (see e.g., para. [0057] & [0150]: semantic maps which use feature points).
As per claim 14, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to collect information on feature points around the vehicle when an occupant of the vehicle drives the vehicle by manual driving after the learning travel, and, when the different route is registered in the map, register, in the map, at least information on a feature point located near the different parking position (see e.g., para. [0057] & [0150]-[0151]: semantic maps which use feature points; updating map when driving).
As per claim 16, claim 1 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the route includes a branch point, and the processing circuitry is configured to detect a parking position or a parking route when the vehicle approaches the branch point, and select a route on which the vehicle is to travel in accordance with a result of the detection (see e.g. para. [0061]-[0065]: describes detecting idle parking spaces and automatically parking in the first available one. If the attempt fails, the system proceeds to the next space. That represents automatic route selection at a decision point. Additionally, approaching different parking space positions creates branch points in the route).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kohara (WIPO Publication No. WO2023027039A1; machine translation obtained from Espacenet).
As per claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set, as the different parking position, a parking position at which an occupant of the vehicledescribes fully automatic parking and driver’s manual intervention).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose switching between the automatic parking and manual driving.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: a parking position at which an occupant of the vehicle switches the automatic parking to manual driving and drives and parks the vehicle by the manual driving (see e.g., para. [0147]: “the parking assistance device 5 recommends to the user to park at a possible location other than the planned parking position SEP if it is not possible to park at the planned parking position SEP after automatic parking has started.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to provide switching between the automatic parking and manual driving. Doing so allows the driver to cancel the automatic parking process if the vehicle is unable to park in the intended parking space, as recognized by Kohara (para. [0147]).
As per claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set, as the different parking position, a parking position at which an occupant of the vehicle drives and parks the vehicle by manual driving from a parking position at which the vehicle is parked in the automatic parking.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set, as the different parking position, a parking position at which an occupant of the vehicle drives and parks the vehicle by manual driving from a parking position at which the vehicle is parked in the automatic parking (see e.g., para. [0147]: “the parking assistance device 5 recommends to the user to park at a possible location other than the planned parking position SEP if it is not possible to park at the planned parking position SEP after automatic parking has started.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to provide setting different parking position when occupant manually parks after automatic parking. Doing so enables the driver to manually take control while the vehicle is performing automatic parking, as recognized by Kohara (para. [0147]).
As per claim 7, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, when the vehicle is parked in the learning travel,
parking space information sent to user; the user selects parking space and the vehicle drives accordingly).
Zhang discloses user interaction and parking space selection but does not explicitly disclose propose an occupant of the vehicle to add a parking position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: propose an occupant of the vehicle to add a parking position (see e.g., para. [0041]-[0043] & [0090]-[0092]: describes HMI proposal/approval interactions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to provide proposing an occupant of the vehicle to add a parking position. Doing so enables the system to propose a candidate parking position to the driver via the vehicle’s HMI for selection, as recognized by Kohara (para. [0092]).
As per claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated and Zhang in view of Kohara teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to collect detection information around a vehicle during the learning travel, set a parking position candidate based on the detection information, and propose the parking position candidate to the occupant of the vehicle (see Zhang, e.g. para. [0061]-[0065] & [0077]-[0081]; Kohara, e.g., para. [0090]-[0092]).
As per claim 12, claim 2 is incorporated and Zhang does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform notification related to registering of the different route in the map, and, in a case where an occupant of the vehicle switches the automatic parking to manual driving, suppress the notification or not to perform the notification as compared with a case where the occupant of the vehicle starts manual driving from the parking position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform notification related to registering of the different route in the map (e.g., para. [0110]: “A message to the effect that the target route will be changed to an avoidance route may be displayed on the touch panel display unit 46”), and,
in a case where an occupant of the vehicle switches the automatic parking to manual driving, suppress the notification or not to perform the notification as compared with a case where the occupant of the vehicle starts manual driving from the parking position (see e.g., para. [0147]: describes switching automatic/manual; and para. [0150]-[0151]: the device may be configured not to notify the user of any fact).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to provide notification when registering route and suppress when switching from automatic to manual driving. Doing so enables the system to provide different notification modes depending on whether user alerting is required.
As per claim 15, claim 1 is incorporated and Zhang discloses: wherein the route includes a branch point, and the processing circuitry is configured to describes detecting idle parking spaces and automatically parking in the first available one. If the attempt fails, the system proceeds to the next space. That represents automatic route selection at a decision point. Additionally, approaching different parking space positions creates branch points in the route).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose inquire of an occupant of the vehicle about a parking position, and select a route on which the vehicle is to travel in accordance with a response of the occupant.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: inquire of an occupant of the vehicle about a parking position, and select a route on which the vehicle is to travel in accordance with a response of the occupant (see e.g., para. [0041]-[0043] & [0090]-[0092]: describes user interaction before selecting parking route).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to inquire of occupant about a parking position, and select route based on response. Doing so enables the system to ask the driver about a candidate parking position through the vehicle’s HMI, as recognized by Kohara (para. [0092]).
As per claim 17, claim 1 is incorporated and Zhang does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, in a case where an occupant of the vehicle stops the vehicle, or in a case where the vehicle cannot be parked at a parking position registered in the map, propose, to the occupant of the vehicle, that the automatic parking is switched to manual driving and parking.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, in a case where an occupant of the vehicle stops the vehicle, or in a case where the vehicle cannot be parked at a parking position registered in the map, propose, to the occupant of the vehicle, that the automatic parking is switched to manual driving and parking (see e.g., para. [0147]: “the parking assistance device 5 recommends to the user to park at a possible location other than the planned parking position SEP if it is not possible to park at the planned parking position SEP after automatic parking has started.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Kohara to propose, to the occupant of the vehicle, that the automatic parking is switched to manual driving and parking. Doing so allows the driver to cancel the automatic parking process if the vehicle is unable to park in the intended parking space, as recognized by Kohara (para. [0147]).
As per claim 18, claim 4 is incorporated and Zhang in view of Kohara teaches: wherein the automatic parking is switched to manual driving when the occupant of the vehicle performs a predetermined operation, and the predetermined operation is an operation of a predetermined button, or an operation of a brake, a steering wheel, a blinker, or a hazard lamp (see Kohara, e.g., para. [0090]-[0092] & [0147]: HMI control buttons and automatic/manual modes).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Watahiki (WIPO Publication No. WO2024157435A1; machine translation obtained from Espacenet).
As per claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated and Zhang discloses semantic map stores parking spaces along route (e.g., para. [0150]) but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the data of the route includes a link serving to jump to data of the different route, and the link jumps to data of the different route contained in a same map as a map containing the route, or data of the different route contained in a different map other than the map containing the route.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Watahiki teaches: wherein the data of the route includes a link serving to jump to data of the different route, and the link jumps to data of the different route contained in a same map as a map containing the route, or data of the different route contained in a different map other than the map containing the route (see e.g., Fig. 3; para. [0016]-[0018] & [0021]: “The map update unit 120 also generates a parking lot link 1323 that connects the lane link 1321 and the lane link 1322 with the parking space 135. The parking lot link 1323 has information corresponding to the parking method in the parking space, specifically, information on the shape information start point and shape information end point, and connection information with other lane links. The map update unit 120 adds information about the parking lot link 1323 to the high-precision map information 131”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Watahiki to provide route data including link to jump to different route. Doing so provides the parking assistance device with high-precision map information, including an optimal parking lot map according to the situation, as recognized by Watahiki (para. [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Douwa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0157965) teaches a driving assistance device and a driving assistance method.
Grimm et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0085637) teaches a method for assisting a driver of a motor vehicle when parking in a parking space, especially in a garage, using a driver assistance device of the motor vehicle.
Beaurepaire et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0063947) teaches generating an indication of the favorability of a parking location through presentation of a representation of a route to a final destination based on a parking location.
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 adnan.aziz@uspto.gov