DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/11/2026, in which claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, 22-28, and 31-38 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-3, 11-12, 20-21, and 29-30 are currently canceled. Claims 1, 10, 19, and 28 are currently amended.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, the Applicant argues, see Pg. 11 of Remarks filed on 05/11/2026, that Chen does not teach the amended features “ determine a first prediction candidate according to a first CCP mode … determining a second prediction candidate according to a second CCP mode …, wherein the first CCP mode is a different CCP mode than the second CCP mode … ” by stating that Chen in Para. [0115] states that “when the cross-component model modes of a portion of the CCP merge candidates are identical to each other, the portion of CCP merge candidates may be selected … for deriving … the at least one combination candidate”, which indicate that only the same mode is used.
Examiner cannot concur. The teaching of Para. [0115] illustrates the process of determining one CCP candidate, i.e. combination candidate, by using a portion of all CCP merge candidates of identical mode, and, at the meantime, indicates the fact that a different portion of the CCP merge candidates is of a non-identical mode. In Para. [0118, 144], the teaching further indicates that the CCP merge candidate list includes at least one or more CCP merge candidates, being associated with at least one or more models and/or modes since one or more combination models are derived, wherein at least a first prediction block and a second prediction block are selected from the candidate list and weighted combined based, see Para. [0132].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, 22-28, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen (US Pub. 20250016343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses, in a first embodiment, a method of decoding encoded video data, the method comprising (Chen; Fig. 2, Para. [0115]. A video decoding system/method is used.):
determining that a chroma block of the encoded video data is coded in a cross-component prediction (CCP) mode (Chen; Para. [0115]. A chroma block of coded video data is determined to be coded in a cross-component prediction mode.);
generating a merge candidate list for the chroma block, wherein the merge candidate list includes at least two prediction candidates generated by different CCP modes and a third prediction candidate, wherein the third prediction candidate comprises a fusion prediction candidate (Chen; Para. [0115, 118]. A merge list for a chroma block is determined, wherein a merge list includes at least two prediction candidates of different CCP modes, and a third prediction candidate of a combined/fusion mode, also see Para. [0178].), but wherein generating the merge candidate list comprises: determining a first prediction candidate according to a first CCP mode determining a second prediction candidate according to a second CCP mode, wherein the first CCP mode is different CCP mode than the second CCP mode; determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate and the second prediction candidate: and including the fusion prediction candidate in the merge candidate list.
However, Chen teaches, in a second embodiment, wherein generating the merge candidate list comprises: determining a first prediction candidate according to a first CCP mode (Chen; Para. [0130-132]. At least a first prediction based on a first CCP mode is determined.);
determining a second prediction candidate according to a second CCP mode (Chen; Para. [0130-132]. At least a second prediction based on a second CCP mode is determined.), wherein the first CCP mode is different CCP mode than the second CCP mode (Chen; Para. [0118, 130-132]. The teaching further indicates that the CCP merge candidate list includes at least one or more CCP merge candidates, being associated with at least one or more models and/or modes since one or more combination models are derived, wherein at least a first prediction block and a second prediction block are selected from the candidate list and weighted combined based, see Para. [0132].);
determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate and the second prediction candidate (Chen; Para. [0130-132]. A combination/fusion prediction is determined based on a first prediction and a second prediction.): and
including the fusion prediction candidate in the merge candidate list (Chen; Para. [0118]. A combination/fusion prediction is added to a merge list.);
receiving, in the encoded video data, a syntax element set to a value (Chen; Para. [0128]. A syntax element of a value is received in a coded video data.);
selecting a prediction candidate from the merge candidate list based on the value of the syntax element (Chen; Para. [0128]. A prediction candidate is selected from a merge list in accordance with a syntax element.);
determining a prediction block for the chroma block based on the selected prediction candidate (Chen; Para. [0130-132]. A prediction block of a chroma block is determined in accordance with a selected candidate.);
determining a decoded block of video data based on the prediction block for the chroma block (Chen; Para. [0130-132]. A decoded block of video data is determined in accordance with prediction block of a chroma block.); and
outputting a decoded picture of video data that includes the decoded block of video data (Chen; Para. [130-132]. A decoded picture of video data is generated, including decoded block of video data.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen further teaches determining the first prediction candidate according to the first CCP mode comprises selecting the first prediction candidate from a first plurality of candidates based on template matching for each of the first plurality of candidates (Chen; Para. [115, 125]. A first prediction candidate from different candidates is selected in accordance with template matching for different candidates.); and
determining the second prediction candidate according to the second CCP mode comprises selecting the second prediction candidate from a second plurality of candidates based on template matching for each of the second plurality of candidates (Chen; Para. [0115, 125]. A second prediction candidate is selected in accordance with template matching for different candidates.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen further teaches determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate and the second prediction candidate comprises determining a weighted combination of the first prediction candidate and the second prediction candidate (Chen; Para [0132]. A fusion prediction candidate is determined in accordance with a first prediction candidate and a second prediction candidate by determining weight combination.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen further teaches a weighting for the weighted combination is an equal weighting (Chen; Para. [0097, 211]. Weighted combination is an equal weighting, also see, Para. [0211].).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen further teaches the first CCP mode comprises a convolutional cross-component intra prediction model mode and the second CCP mode comprises a cross-component linear model mode (Chen; Para. [0120]. A first CCP mode includes a CCCM mode, and a second CCP mode includes a CCLM mode.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen further teaches generating a fusion candidate list for the chroma block, wherein the fusion candidate list includes at least two fusion candidates (Chen; Para. [0115]. A fusion list is determined for a chroma block, including at least two candidates.); and
selecting the third prediction candidate for the merge candidate list from the fusion candidate list (Chen; Para. [0115]. A third prediction candidate is selected for a merge list from a fusion list.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen further teaches selecting the third prediction candidate for the merge candidate list based on a comparison of template matching costs for the at least two fusion candidates (Chen; Para. [0211, 213]. A third prediction candidate is selected for a merge list in accordance with template matching cost for fusion candidates, also see Para. [0115, 125].).
Claims 10, 13-18 are directed to a device for decoding encoded video data, the device comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-9, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claims 19, 22-27 are directed to a method of encoding video data, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps that are in symmetric/reciprocal manner with the steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-9, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Clam 28 is directed to a device for encoding video data, the device comprising: a memory configured to store video data; one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps that are in symmetric/reciprocal manner with the steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-3, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 31, modified Chen further teaches receiving a flag for the chroma block, wherein the flag is set to a value indicating that a CCP merge fusion mode is enabled for the chroma block (Chen; Para. [0178]. A flag for a chroma block is received, set to a value indicating a CCP merge fusion mode is used for a chroma block.).
Regarding claim 32, modified Chen further teaches determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate and the second prediction candidate comprises: determining one or more additional prediction candidates (Chen; Para. [0117-118]. A fusion/combination prediction is determined in accordance with a first prediction and a second prediction by determining at least one or more additional prediction.); and
determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate, the second prediction candidate, and the one or more additional prediction candidates (Chen; Para. [0117-118]. A fusion/combination prediction is determined based on a first prediction, a second prediction, and one or more predictions.).
Regarding claim 33, modified Chen further teaches wherein determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate, the second prediction candidate, and the one or more additional prediction candidates comprises: performing a linear combination of the first prediction candidate, the second prediction candidate, and the one or more additional prediction candidates (Chen; Para. [0121]. An average/linear combination of a first prediction, a second prediction, and one or more predictions is performed.).
Regarding claim 34, modified Chen further teaches wherein determining the fusion prediction candidate based on the first prediction candidate, the second prediction candidate, and the one or more additional prediction candidates comprises: selecting prediction candidates to be included in the one or more additional prediction candidates based on template matching (Chen; Para. [0125]. Prediction candidates are selected to be used as one or more prediction candidates in accordance with template matching.).
Claims 35-38 are directed to a device for decoding encoded video data, the device comprising: a memory configured to store video data; one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 31-34, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US Pub. 20230217026 A1) teaches a video coding system that perform fusion of video prediction modes, relevant to the fusion process of the recited subject matter.
Lee (US Pat. 12155826 B2) teaches a video coding system that performs weighted summing of prediction samples, relevant to the fusion process.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485