DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, filed July 8th, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered and are accepted.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed July 8th, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, the instant Office action has been made final.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments and / or remarks filed on July 8th, 2026. Claims 1-33, 35, and 37-38 are cancelled. Claims 34, 36, 39-41 remain pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 36, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20160366995 A1), in view of Erfinder (DE 102018101653 A1), and further in view of Chang (US 20190077193 A1).
Regarding Claim 34, Yeh et al. teaches a wheel assembly (105) for a stabilized luggage article (100), the stabilized luggage article (100) comprising having a bottom wall (3 in Annotated Figure 3 below), a top wall (4 in Annotated Figure 3 below), opposed first and second major faces (2 in Annotated Figure 3 below), and opposed first (5 in Annotated Figure 3 below) and second side walls (6 in Annotated Figure 3 below) that define a cavity for storage space (wherein Yeh et al. teaches in claim 1 “a main body comprised of first and second shells operably connected to form a storage cavity when closed”), the wheel assembly (105) configured to be mounted on the bottom wall (3 in Annotated Figure 3 below) proximate the first major face (1 in Annotated Figure 3 below) of the luggage article (100) and comprising: a pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below) configured to extend downwardly from the bottom wall (3 in Annotated Figure 3 below), the pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below) having a vertical axis of rotation (wherein Yeh et al. teaches “one or more of the wheels are designed to be able to spin about the vertical axis of the main body when the luggage is in an upright position thus making the luggage easily steerable in all directions”) that is projected toward but not beyond the first major face (1 in Annotated Figure 3 below) of the luggage article (100); one or more wheels (105) mounted to the pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below), the one or more wheels (105) rotatable (wherein the wheels roll) around a horizontal axis (H in Annotated Figure 3 below) and rotatable around the vertical axis (V in Annotated Figure 3 below), the horizontal axis (H in Annotated Figure 3 below) spaced laterally (lateral displacement indicated by L in Annotated Figure 3A below) from the vertical axis (V in Annotated Figure 3 below) of the pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 below). (Figs. 1-3C; [0021], [0025])
Yeh does not teach the pivot member is a pivot post which is substantially perpendicular to the bottom wall and extends downwardly beyond the horizontal axis of wheel rotation; or a base and a shoulder plate forming a corner portion from which the pivot member and its vertical axis of rotation is projected toward but not beyond the first major face of the luggage article, the base perpendicular to the pivot member and configured for attachment to the bottom wall of the luggage article and the shoulder plate extending upwardly from the base and configured for attachment to a respective side wall.
Erfinder further teaches wherein, the pivot member (2) is a pivot post (2) which is substantially perpendicular (as seen in Figure 13) to the bottom wall (5) and extends downwardly beyond the horizontal axis of wheel rotation (as indicated in Annotated Figure 13 below). (Fig. 13; [0028])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Yeh et al., and provide for the pivot post extending beyond the horizontal axis as taught by Erfinder. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a pivot post extending beyond the horizontal axis of wheel rotation, in order to enhance stability of the luggage.
Regarding the shoulder plate, Chang further teaches a base (11 in Annotated Figure 8 below) and a shoulder plate (10) forming a corner portion (as seen in Figure 9) from which the pivot member (30) and its vertical axis of rotation (aligned with pivot member 30) is projected toward but not beyond the first major face (sidewall of luggage 1) of the luggage article (1), the base (11 in Annotated Figure 8 below) perpendicular to the pivot member (30) and configured for attachment to the bottom wall (as seen in Figure 9) of the luggage article (1) and the shoulder plate (10) extending upwardly from the base (11 in Annotated Figure 8 below) and configured for attachment to a respective side wall (sidewall of luggage 1). (Figs. 1-10, [0018]-[0021])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Yeh et al., modified above, and provide for a corner plate with a base and perpendicular axis for a pivot post as taught by Chang. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a pivot post extending perpendicular from the base of a shoulder plate, in order to further reinforce the luggage corners.
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 36, Yeh et al., modified above, further teaches wherein the one or more wheels (105) are mounted orthogonally (as seen in Annotated Figure 3 above) to the pivot member (7 in Annotated Figure 3 above). (Figs. 1-3C; [0021], [0025])
Regarding Claim 39, Yeh et al., modified above, further teaches wherein the wheel assembly (105) comprises a stem portion (8 in Annotated Figure 3 above) that projects the pivot post (7 in Annotated Figure 3 above) toward the first major face (1 in Annotated Figure 3 above). (Figs. 1-3C; [0021], [0025])
Claims 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20160366995 A1), in view of in view Erfinder (DE 102018101653 A1), further in view of Chang (US 20190077193 A1), further in view of Meersschaert et al. (US 20150130148 A1), and further in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 40, Yeh et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 33 above except; wherein the lateral spacing of the horizontal axis of wheel rotation and the vertical axis of the pivot post is between about 5 mm and about 30 mm.
Meersschaert et al. further teaches an offset (dimension X in Figure 4B) between a horizontal axis of wheel rotation (170’) and the vertical axis (168) of the pivot post (5 in Annotated Figure 5 below). (Wherein Meersschaert et al. teaches “The spinner wheel axis is positioned between the leading edge of the ledge structure and the offset position of the front edges 165, 169. The offset dimension X may be selected according the desired improvement in stability, and may include factors such as the general size of luggage case, the specific height, depth or width dimension…) (Figs. 4A-5; [0044]-[0045])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Yeh et al., and provide for an offset between the vertical rotational axis and wheel axis as taught by Meersschaert et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for an offset between the vertical rotational axis and wheel axis, in order to enhance the stability of the luggage. Yeh et al., modified above, remains silent regarding the lateral distance being from about 5mm to 30mm.
Although Yeh et al., modified above, does not specifically disclose this dimension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a lateral distance between the vertical axis and horizontal axis of about 5mm and 30mm. Since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Yeh et al., modified above, would not operate differently with the claimed dimensional constraints, as this example would be suitable for demonstrating an offset between the vertical and horizontal rotational axes.
Regarding Claim 41, Yeh et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 40 above except; wherein the distance is about 17 mm.
Wherein Yeh et al. teaches a lateral spacing (L in Annotated Figure 3A above) between the horizontal axis (H in Annotated Figure 3A above) of wheel rotation and the vertical axis (V in Annotated Figure 3A above) of the pivot post (7 in Annotated Figure 3 above). (Figs. 1-3C; [0025])
Yeh et al. does not explicitly teach the horizontal axis of wheel rotation is laterally spaced from the vertical axis of the pivot post by a distance of about 17 mm.
Meersschaert et al. further teaches an offset (dimension X in Figure 4B) between a horizontal axis of wheel rotation (170’) and the vertical axis (168) of the pivot post (5 in Annotated Figure 5 above). (Wherein Meersschaert et al. teaches “The spinner wheel axis is positioned between the leading edge of the ledge structure and the offset position of the front edges 165, 169. The offset dimension X may be selected according the desired improvement in stability, and may include factors such as the general size of luggage case, the specific height, depth or width dimension…) (Figs. 4A-5; [0044]-[0045])
Yeh et al., modified above, remain silent regarding the lateral distance being from about 17 mm.
Although Yeh et al., modified above, does not specifically disclose this dimension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a lateral distance between the vertical axis and horizontal axis of about 17mm. Since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Yeh et al., modified above, would not operate differently with the claimed dimensional constraints, as this example would be suitable for demonstrating an offset between the vertical and horizontal rotational axes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Wu (US 8020679 B2), teaches luggage with a shoulder plate for wheels.
Kuo (US 6134748 A), teaches luggage with shoulder plates.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 2 September 2026