DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action for serial number 18/904,795, Movement Control Locking Mechanism, filed on October 2, 2024.
Applicant is advised that the Notice of Allowance mailed January 14, 2026 is vacated. If the issue fee has already been paid, applicant may request a refund or request that the fee be credited to a deposit account. However, applicant may wait until the application is either found allowable or held abandoned. If allowed, upon receipt of a new Notice of Allowance, applicant may request that the previously submitted issue fee be applied. If abandoned, applicant may request refund or credit to a specified Deposit Account.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed April 14, 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the profile" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 8-17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 1525366B1 by Denco.
Denco ‘366 discloses a movement control locking mechanism (Fig. 1) comprising: a locking shaft (36) including a right hand threaded portion and a left hand threaded portion (col. 6, lines 16-19); a first bracing fastener (28 - left) engaged with the right head threaded portion; a second bracing fastener (28 – right) with the left hand threaded portion; a first bracing footing (48 – left) including a first bracing fastener receiving opening (opening under 48) and a second bracing footing (48 – right) including second bracing fastener receiving opening (opening under 48); wherein the first bracing fastener receiving opening faces the second bracing fastener receiving opening; wherein the first bracing fastener is configured to move towards the first bracing fastener receiving opening and the second bracing fastener is configured to move towards the second bracing fastener receiving when the locking shaft is rotated in a first direction (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Denco ‘366 discloses wherein the first bracing fastener is threadingly engaged with the right hand threaded portion; and the second bracing fastener is threadingly engaged with the left hand threaded portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 3-4, Denco ‘366 discloses a first locking shaft seat (58) and a second locking shaft seat (58) wherein the first bracing footing is positioned between the first locking shaft seat and the first bracing fastener; wherein the second bracing footing positioned between the second locking shaft seat and the second bracing fastener.
Regarding claim 5 Denco ‘366 discloses wherein the first bracing fastener (28) includes a tapered portion (Fig. 3) and the first bracing footing (48) includes a first bracing fastener receiving junction (49) having a first fastener receiving junction profile complementary (49 – surface) to the profile of the tapered portion.
Regarding claim 6, Denco ‘366 discloses a receiving lock (40) coupled with an end portion of the locking shaft, the receiving lock including: a receiving clasp (67), a reinforcing key (39) configured to engage with the receiving clasp.
Regarding claim 7, Denco ‘366 discloses a first locking shaft seat (58) configured to receive the locking shaft; wherein the locking shaft extends through the locking shaft seat, the first bracing footing and the first bracing fastener; wherein at least a portion of right hand threaded portion is position within the first bracing footing; and the first bracing fastener is threadingly engaged with the right hand threaded portion.
Regarding claim 8, Denco ‘366 discloses a workpiece movement confining system (Fig. 1) comprising: a workpiece body (21); a support plate (22) positioned relative to the workpiece body; a locking shaft (36) including a right hand threaded portion and a left hand threaded portion (col. 6, lines 16-19); a first bracing fastener (28 - left) engaged with the right head threaded portion; a second bracing fastener (28 – right) with the left hand threaded portion; a first bracing footing (48 – left) including a first bracing fastener receiving opening (opening under 48) and a second bracing footing (48 – right) including second bracing fastener receiving opening (opening under 48); wherein the first bracing fastener receiving opening faces the second bracing fastener receiving opening; wherein the first bracing fastener is configured to move towards the first bracing fastener receiving opening and the second bracing fastener is configured to move towards the second bracing fastener receiving when the locking shaft is rotated in a first direction (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claims 9-17, the claims repeat the features of claim 2-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denco ‘366.
Concerning method claims 18-20, in view of the structure discloses by Denco ‘366, the method of reducing movement of a workpiece would have been obvious, since it is the normal and logical manner in which the device would be used. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would be necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of new references on April 14, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 July 20, 2026