DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing dated 10/2/2024. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/2/2024 is acknowledged and has been received by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/2/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “holding mechanism” in claim 1, line 4; claim 11, line 1; and claim 13, line 4 and “the hooking mechanism” in claim 10, line 2.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a holding mechanism” in line 4; claim 11 recites the limitation “a holding mechanism” in line 1; and claim 13 recites the limitation “a holding mechanism” in line 4. The recitation of “a holding mechanism” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/2/2024 indicates that the recitation of “a holding mechanism” includes “a hook, clasp, gripping jaws, or other engagement means designed to interact with the hooking bracket of the container” (see paragraph [0031]).
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the hooking mechanism” in line 2. The recitation of “the hooking mechanism” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/2/2024 indicates that the recitation of “the hooking mechanism” includes “a hooking bracket” (see paragraph [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the chain retaining hook” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should be “a chain retaining hook” to provide appropriate antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the chain guide” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should be “a chain guide” to provide appropriate antecedent basis.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the hooking mechanism” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Should this limitation be “the hooking bracket” or “a hooking mechanism”? It appears that this limitation should be either “the hooking bracket” or “a hooking mechanism” in order to provide appropriate antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a holding mechanism” in line 1. Claim 11 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a holding mechanism” in line 4. Does the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 11 refer to the same structural element as the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 1? Does the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 11 refer to a different structural element than the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 1? It appears that the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 11 refers to the same structural element as the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 1. Therefore, it appears that the recitation of “a holding mechanism” in claim 11 should be “the holding mechanism”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the hooking bracket” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should be “a hooking bracket” to provide appropriate antecedent basis.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the hook” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should be “a hook” to provide appropriate antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Babbitt, III (US 6494065).
Regarding claim 1, the Babbitt, III reference discloses a system for controlling an industrial valve (chain wheel 12 operates a valve; see col. 2, lines 4-6) actuated by a chain loop (14), the system comprising:
a container (20) configured to retain the chain loop (it is considered that the container 20 holds the chain loop 14 within the boundary of the container to prevent the chain loop 14 from widening), the container having an opening (it is considered that the end of the container 20 at the end 24 includes an opening through which the chain loop 14 is received; see figure 1) and a peripheral funneling lip (it is considered that the rim around the opening of the container 20 at the end 24 provides a lip that would perform the function of funneling the chain loop 14 into the container 20) around the opening; and
a holding mechanism (it is considered that the securing portions 42 of the hasp 40 constitutes a holding mechanism in as much as the securing portions 42 provide “engagement means designed to interact with the hooking bracket 30 of the container 20”) configured to removably secure the container (it is considered that the securing portions 42 of the hasp 40 are able to be removed and are able to secure the chain loop 14 to the container 20).
In regards to claim 2, the Babbitt, III reference discloses wherein the container further comprises locking holes (34) configured to receive a lock (it is considered that the hasp 40 and the lock 50 are secured to the locking holes).
In regards to claim 3, the Babbitt, III reference discloses wherein the container further comprises a hooking bracket (30) configured to releasably engage a hook (it is considered that the hook / securing portions 42 constitute a hook of the holding mechanism).
In regards to claim 5, the Babbitt, III reference discloses wherein [a] chain retaining track (it is considered that the track surrounding the chain wheel 12 constitutes a chain retaining track) is curved (see figure 1 for the chain wheel 12 being curved around the periphery).
In regards to claim 6, the Babbitt, III reference discloses wherein the hook (it is considered that the hook / securing portions 42 constitute a hook of the holding mechanism) engaged by the hooking bracket (30) is located on [a] chain guide (it is considered that the inner wall of the container 20 constitutes a chain guide).
Regarding claim 7, the Babbitt, III reference discloses a container (20) for retaining a chain loop (14) used to actuate an industrial valve (chain wheel 12 operates a valve; see col. 2, lines 4-6), the container comprising:
an opening (it is considered that the end of the container 20 at the end 24 includes an opening through which the chain loop 14 is received; see figure 1);
a peripheral funneling lip (it is considered that the rim around the opening of the container 20 at the end 24 provides a lip that would perform the function of funneling the chain loop 14 into the container 20) around the opening;
an interior chain retaining track (it is considered that the inner wall of the container 20 constitutes a chain retaining track that provides the structure to provide a passage for the chain loop to transverse within the container 20); and
a hooking bracket (30).
In regards to claim 8, the Babbitt, III reference discloses locking holes (34) configured to receive a lock (it is considered that the hasp 40 and the lock 50 are secured to the locking holes).
In regards to claim 10, the Babbitt, III reference discloses a cover plate (it is considered that the sidewall of the container 20 constitutes a cover plate in as much as the cover plate would cover the passage / chain retaining track through which the chain loop 14 extends) covering the chain retaining track, [a] hooking mechanism (it is considered that the hooking bracket 30 constitutes a hooking mechanism) fixedly attached to the cover plate (the hooking bracket 30 is secured to the cover plate / sidewall of the container 20 by the fastener 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbitt, III (US 6494065) in view of Beaudoin et al. (US 7000292).
In regards to claim 4, the Babbitt, III reference does not disclose wherein the container has a generally triangular prism shape.
However, the Beaudoin et al. reference teaches a container (chain keeper 1) for supporting and retaining a chain (3) wherein the container (1) includes a pair of plates (7) that are slanted relative to the longitudinal axis of the container (see col. 4, lines 39-46) such that the container (1) has a generally triangular prism shape (see figure 1) wherein the container is shaped and sized to slidably and removably receive therein a segment of the chain (see at least col. 4, lines 46-59).
The substitution of one known element (the container being shaped to have a generally triangular prism shape as shown in Beaudoin et al.) for another (the shape of the container as shown in Babbitt, III) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the shape of the container having a generally triangular prism shape shown in Beaudoin et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely, a shape for the container which narrows from the top in order to support the chain in a slidable and removable manner of the Babbitt, III.
In regards to claim 9, the Babbitt, III reference does not disclose wherein the container has a generally triangular prism shape.
However, the Beaudoin et al. reference teaches a container (chain keeper 1) for supporting and retaining a chain (3) wherein the container (1) includes a pair of plates (7) that are slanted relative to the longitudinal axis of the container (see col. 4, lines 39-46) such that the container (1) has a generally triangular prism shape (see figure 1) wherein the container is shaped and sized to slidably and removably receive therein a segment of the chain (see at least col. 4, lines 46-59).
The substitution of one known element (the container being shaped to have a generally triangular prism shape as shown in Beaudoin et al.) for another (the shape of the container as shown in Babbitt, III) would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art since the substitution of the shape of the container having a generally triangular prism shape shown in Beaudoin et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely, a shape for the container which narrows from the top in order to support the chain in a slidable and removable manner of the Babbitt, III.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “a pole having a holding mechanism at its distal end” with “the holding mechanism configured to engage with the container for maneuvering the container between a stored position and an operational position” and in combination with the other limitations of claim 1.
Claim 12 depends from claim 11, and, therefore, claim 12 is allowable for containing the indicated allowable subject matter of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest:
“a method” comprising:
“using a pole with a holding mechanism to remove the container from a hook, allowing the chain loop to extend from the container”;
“using the pole to maneuver the container back to the hook, with the funneling lip guiding the chain loop back into the container”; and
in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sutton et al. (US 9422751), Semke (US 7523920), Christensen (US 4883191), Adamson, Jr. (US 4114855), Robins et al. (US 2859937), Smith (US 2286388), Knutson (US 1239110), and Hopkins (US 1450176) disclose various lockout devices for storing a chain.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753